Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Surprising Reasons You Should Not Drink Water While Eating

Friday, November 24, 2017

Surprising Reasons You Should Not Drink Water While Eating

One of the most common sights you see on a daily basis is drinking water in between meals. While some people think it is necessary to have a glass of water with your meals, this habit could be highly damaging to your health.

Here are six reasons why you should stop drinking water along with your meals.

Makes digestion difficult

Your stomach contains digestive acids that help in the digestion and breakdown of food. Apart from this, the acids are also responsible for killing any infectious agents that might be ingested along with food. These digestive enzymes are essential for our overall well-being as they also allow the stomach to contract and pulverize the food we eat. 

Makes you add weight

Drinking water with your meals is the fact that you do tend to put on weight. There is a surge in insulin levels and the food is broken down to make fat which is stored. Apart from that, it is believed that a weak digestive system is one of the leading reasons for obesity.

Reduces amount of saliva

Your saliva is the first step to digestion. Not only does it contain enzymes that help break down food, but it also helps stimulate the stomach to release digestive enzymes and ready itself for the process of digestion. When you drink water during your meals, your saliva gets diluted. This not only sends weaker signals to the stomach but also stops the breakdown of food in your mouth.

Increases the amount of insulin in your body

Drinking water while you are eating can also lead to an increase in your insulin levels. This is because when your body is not able to digest foods well enough it tends to convert the glucose filled part of that food into fat and stores it. This process then requires a surge of insulin in the body increasing your overall blood sugar levels.
Article by Adeniyi Ogunfowoke

35 comments:

1. Won tun ti de oooooπŸ˜‚

2. Proudly Anonymous24 November 2017 at 17:42

Ko kuku ni ki a ma jeun mo!
      Ogun maje ti bi maje ti oun yii ti po ju.
      Olorun maje ka ri Ogun maje tibi maje ti oun!

3. Most things I read there are lies
      And for the tribe that eat too much pepper
      Make una no let pepper kill you if you no drink water

2. I have the habit of drinking water while eating.
    I think I have to quit it now especially cos of the fact that they said it makes people add weight.

3. Drinking water while eating is a habit i can't let go and to think i want to lose weight. God help your daughter

4. After everything, he or shouldn't state when the right time is to drink water.

1. I read somewhere that it should be at least 15 minutes before or after meals

5. You people are looking for who will choke abi. There's no way I can eat without drinking water

1. You should have water close to you incase you choke.

2. Dont mind them.
      I can't eat without water at all else i choke. Three spoons into my meal, one gulp of water.

And that adding weight point? Its a lie jor. Why havent i added? Mtchew.

6. You have told us when not to buy didn't tell us when to. Is it immediately after eating, few minutes after eating, etc. What I believe is this, if you are not careful with this "don't drink water while eating" thing, you will end up having a HARD time in the toilet because your poo will be shy and refuse to come out. You will just sit there for hours singing and cracking jokes to yourself.

7. So if I'm choking, won't I drink? Will try cos I don't want to add weight abeg

8. Something must kill a man...Old habit, not stopping. If na that one wan kill me, no wahala.

9. Lol. So if yam hang me for throat make I no carry water push am?
    Jokers!!

10. Pls dont drink water when eating yam.. Mtcheew

11. I thought my habit of waiting until I'm done with food before drinking water was terrible.
    For real,for real????

12. Very true but in case of choking drink water.

I drink water 15-30mins after eating or before eating. The before eating own is difficult for me so I do afyrr eating.

Learnt it from my mum and I'm a pro now.

13. I can't do without drinking water while eating and if that's a way to get fat, I should be on my size 100 now. Still size 8 since decades ago and even after giving birth

1. Me size 10 since oh and I always drink water while eating.

14. So funny that the bad habit(not drinking water while eating) I've been trying to stop is actually helpful to one's health. ..that was how I got choked on the fufu I was eating the other day because I didn't ve any water beside me.πŸ˜•πŸ˜•πŸ˜•..
    Keep this theory to yourself, I must drink water while eating, afterall man go one day one day die.

15. This Una illustration won't workoo, I drink one full pure water before I finish eating, after Eating Eating drink another one, still size 10 since I gave birth...

16. I sip water about 3 times btw chewing & swallowing b4 finally drinking the rest after the meal. Its something i found myself doing right from childhood,I really cannot finish a meal with sips/gulps of water in btw else i choke (mostly if its something like eba/akpun,yam,or any hard food,never had any digestion issue, I'm not overweight nor underweight,I'm fit. For each meal I can finish this 75cl quantity of water...So this claim up here isn't true for my body system.

17. The funniest thing is in Islam, Prophet Muhammed(SAW) adviced to finish eating before drinking water.

1. I think it's divided into 3
      Before, inbetween and after.
      (Allah knows best)

18. I drink water one hour before and after sex, then pee pee

19. DONT BELIEVE ANYTHING IN THIS ARTICLE
    *From an actual doctor

20. Ogun mashu mato tawon dokita ndasile nipa imo iwadi yi ti poju. Gone are does days where people eat whaever they see without much medical advice, they still leave healthier and older than now adays. May God help us all.

21. I can't drink water when I am eating. If I try it, which means I will not be able to continue eating again. I prefer drinking after eating not because of the health implication sha but a habit, just like eating my meat after I finish the food.

22. Hmm! I think this is for people who have made it a constant habit to eat and drink at the same time. Trust there are people like that

But that does not mean you can't drink when the need arises yea.

Again
    Mmm, if it makes one fat, hehehe then lemme come and join them o. I dey find fat.
    Lolz that kind thing