Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Bags Jail Sentence For Killing Rare Snake

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Man Bags Jail Sentence For Killing Rare Snake

A villager in south China's Guangdong Province on Thursday received a jail term of one year, with a two year suspension, for capturing and killing a rare 2-meter-long snake.

The man surnamed Wu captured the 10-kilogram python in a rural area of Fengkai County with the help of another man at around 11 a.m. on Dec. 15, 2016, the county court said.

Wu paid the man 300 yuan (47 U.S. dollars) to help capture the snake, and killed it later that day.

Police found the suspect after a fellow villager uploaded a photographof Wu catching the snake, on social networking app WeChat.

The python breed is on the first class state protection list.

Located at the border of Guangdong and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Fengkai is home to several rare wildlife species, such as pythons and monitor lizards. The county has two nature reserves.

From xinhua

6 comments:

1. This is rubbish,end time court.

2. Nawaoooooooo Nobe small thing..

3. Going to jail because of a snake? Hahahaha very funny

4. When it's been killed and eating as pepper soup here in Naija... 😂 😂 I think it's only in yankari games resere bauchi that you go to prison if you kill animals there...

5. What if the snake made an attempt to kill him and he defended himself by killing it first... Anyway, not in Nigeria