Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rekana Ojong Interview''Kokomansion Opened Doors For Me''

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Rekana Ojong Interview''Kokomansion Opened Doors For Me''

Rekana is the only housemate from kokomansion whos name has just refused to go away...This industrious young lady is all over making sure that the doors opened for her via the Reality show does not close.

I am sure you remember kokomansion...Read what Rekana says and how she has managed to stay on top.
Interesting read if you have time.

Hi Rekana, how have you been? After Kokomansion, you have been seen on a number of red carpets. you have been active on the entertainment scene. What really have you been up to?

-I have been minding my own business. And by that I mean running my company D.E.E.V.A.S. and staying focus on my grind. I’ve been seen on a number of red carpets because as my job requires, I have to stay updated with events, red carpet and street style as well as reporting them on my blog and other media platforms I contribute on.

You mentioned you run a company D.E.E.V.A.S., what does D.E.E.V.A.S. do?

-D.E.E.V.A.S. is an emerging Fashion and wardrobe, online and print content services, image and PR Consulting brand based in Lagos, Founded by me in 2011 with a team of creative, dynamic and highly skilled consultants from diverse professional backgrounds who bring their unique strengths and outlooks to the table.

Which of the kokolets are you still in touch with?

-I was friends with Chidinma till she passed on. May her soul rest in peace. Bolanle, Bidemi, Chinwe, Rita and Chioma still keep in touch but the closest person to me is Chinwe even though we were on each other’s neck in the house. Chinwe and I talk/chat like everyday. We are like best friends. Rita and Chioma are married now, although unfortunately I couldn’t make it to their marriage ceremonies as I was working on those dates.

How did participating in Kokomansion help you?

-First, it opened a door for me that I refused to close afterwards even though they left us outside the door. Secondly, the experience of living with strangers, being at loggerheads all the time and becoming friends with them afterwards has helped my personal life.

What were you doing before Kokomansion?
-I had just finished my first degree in University of Calabar  and was waiting for my next step. My dad wanted me to go on and do a masters degree immediately but I wanted to pursue my acting career and fashion entrepreneur dreams badly. He supported me 100% when I told him I had been shortlisted to be in a reality show. And when I got accepted, he bought a Hi-Tv decoder just so everyone at home can watch.

You recently announced on twitter that you will be launching your own show – GLAM EYE WATCH. What is that all about?
-GLAM EYE WATCH(the eyes that sees all the panache and fashion misuse) is a fashion and lifestyle show hosted by me and *name withheld* and a surprise guest which will be aired on our own online platform for now… With three major segments – red carpet interviews, fashion police live show and street style updates.

I came up with the idea of GLAM EYE WATCH about 3 years ago. As at then, it pained me that our celebrities wore all sorts of trash in the name of fashion. And honestly that was when E! network started their fashion police and I thought, we should have something like this in Nigeria and call these celebs to order but spice it up the Nigerian way, put in our own unique concept and ideas, add some juice to it and host it in our own motherland. I wrote down every idea I had then, sat down with some business developers/advisers who compiled a professional business plan/proposal for me, I shot a pilot and approached a few TV stations but I didn’t like what they were offering. Then someone asked me an honest question, ‘what authorizes you to be a fashion critic, what experience do you have and why should people listen to you’. I took that as a constructive criticism and decided to pause that project until I have learned enough. I interned for FAB, assisted on every set I was called on, observed, worked hard with my eyes, ears and mouth open to learn, relearn and unlearn. But kept it as a column on our blog –www.naijadeevas.com until recently, I got producers who believed in it and were ready to shoot. Thanks to the Naij.com team!

1. 8.     Is that what you are working on right about now?
-Yes! We are shooting already… And I am also using this opportunity to recreate new priorities for myself and my brand as well as setting new goals.

Did you feel disappointed not winning the N5million naira and car?
-Disappointed ke! It was a win or not win game. I understood that before I got into the game. I don’t feel disappointed when things don’t go how I wish. I feel blessings… Maybe if I had won the money or had the car, I would have been relaxed and not motivated to start my own business. You see?

Any regrets and challenges after Kokomansion? Would you do reality TV again?
-The industry is a tough one. I regret nothing and have faced lots of challenges which only made me more focused. Yes I would, I applied for BBA even till this year. But I had just gotten producers for my G.E.W. show when I got the email from the BBA team to come for an audition. I had to make a choice and I chose GLAM EYE WATCH.

In the house, you mentioned you loved acting. Have you been featured in any movie or acting platform?
-Yes! Immediately after Kokomansion, I started going for all audition calls. I was on Nollywood Hustlers and did a few bits on Tinsel. I am putting acting on hold for now, the business of fashion is needed right now as the Nigeria fashion industry is fast growing and needs all the creativity it can get.

You are into fashion. Who is your favourite designer, your fashion icon and style influences (home and abroad)?
-I’m loving Suchille at the moment. A young fashion designer in Nigeria. She understands me. And abroad, Duro Olowu… My all time fashion icon is Jackie O. Kennedy and at home, Denrele. Rihanna, Victoria Beckham, Jennifer Lopez, Madonna, Gwen Stefani and my own wardrobe influences my style.

What are your dreams now?
-My dream is to empower young people through the influence of my work, help them achieve their own dreams, provide for them in whatever ways I can and to be a great philanthropist.

I wish you all the best Rekana…
-Thank you Stella!

53 comments:

1. Shamazing ur def goin places boo,God bless ur hustle n grind lurv ya,Hilda

2. Sharon's fashion sense is honestly to die for ,she's just fab . following her footsteps :) Glam eye watch is what nigeria needs.

3. Sharon is doing such a lovely job . You go girl

4. Yea I remember shar wow .Go sharon go sharon go

5. Sharon is a lovely person

6. Sharon is such an amazing person she's really doing an awesome job . Luv u shar

7. She's def gonna turn our fashion sense in nigeria around .

8. Hola baby! Hola. Hola hola! Very intelligent responses. Sharon. U r. Definately. A DEEVA to watch out for anyday. Or time. Wish u all d best

9. Finally someone to save our fashion sense and shar is the best person to handle this job .she's def going big luvv u .

10. Sharon dear I love ur determination, d spirit to go ahead nd neva look bk. I love dht. Bt pls ooooo mk I ask which derenle are we talkn about here, d Derenle I knw or anoda Derenle? Abeg if is d Derenle I knw, derez absolutely nthng to write home about concerning his fashion sense. I knw sharp tongues wl attack me, dhts deir own I just said my mind. Sefini

1. Hey hun! Thanks a lot. I will choose denrele over and over again. And I will give u 3 out of many reasons.
      1. He defines style. Style is an expression of who you are, how you feel and what you feel good in. And if you have ever met Denrele, you will know what I mean here.
      2. He is fashion in the sense that before even Lady Gaga came with her eclectic fashion, Denrele had already created that for himself.
      3. His style is consistent! Not changing or predictable according to trends or what's in/out. He's been crazy from the beginning til date.

11. Go gal I'm so happy 4 u,I'm so sure of a good job! Go gal. Edu

12. I believ na only one person dey comment wit diff names & anonymous, pls get a life copy-cat rekana or whteva(fashion police mtcheeeeew)

13. Anon 6:03pm u are so right!!!!! Sharon is the same and only person commenting under all the anonymouses and replying herself.

14. Sharon is doing a lovely job . God would make you bigger dear

15. Yayy Sharon! You've always inspired me though I've never told u this. Keep it going dear,the sky is the limit!God will see you through always.xxx

16. Sharmazingggg!
    Weldone maama
    Your going all d way up
    Its all about progression
    Don't mind d ratchet haters
    They gon' learn
    Loveyou!:*

17. My opinion 2 ur already flopped show# ur likes hv don tins dey tink is berra and it turn 2 a flop,talk of ur copy-cat wannabe show, just go bk 2 ur shell, & continue ur aristo biz, wit ur frnd aristo chinwe

18. My opinion dot matter in dead tins dat dot exist, if u wnt shag more producers,

19. My opinion 2 ur already flopped show# ur likes hv don tins dey tink is berra and it turn 2 a flop,talk of ur copy-cat wannabe show, just go bk 2 ur shell, & continue ur aristo biz, wit ur frnd aristo chinwe

20. This loose calabar chic that goes around sleeping with people's hubby. She's the same person commenting under anonymous:) its good you have relocated I pray you and your aristo clique can get a dinified life there

21. Rekana Ojong! have you or have you not kept former Abia State governor Orji Uzor Kalu company before???? (you know what I mean) One more word from you and I will open you here!!!! Stop making all these anonymous comments oo!

22. lol i have her list....what rubbish fashion nah to sleep with big boys in lagos and governors

23. On your way to stardom, you definitely meet dream killers, ppl who hv never in their lives tried something daring, they tell u lots: it won't work, not in this place, ur likes hv done it. To move ahead,u push past such negativity, even jesus has mingled with so many prostitutes in the bible to prove that no one Ȋ̝̊̅ڪ completely condemned, he used Rehab the prostitute, she later even married from the root of David, the family of Jesus, meaning she was Jesus's Granny, who are you to speak... Even if Sharon has been all that why come up here to say it just because she came up with a dream, I pity humanity.

24. Well done with your bleaching. What kinda silly name is GEW? Smh

25. See dis our uncial runs babe. U hv stepped up oh! Dts nice. Wasn't it news in town that ur dad ddnt support ur crazy ways? Nw u say he bought hi-tv decoder? Ok o! He watched u getting hight in d house d whole time? U were so boring and full of ur self in kokomansion. Well, it's obv u r desperate for d spotlight. It usu works ou well for d likes of u, so good luck. But remember, ur past always comes knocking and u sure hv ALOT. Minh, it really obvious dt u r d one commenting as 'anonymous' stop am!
    Hw ont u and Edu be forming friendship here? Hehehe. Birds of a feather! Mscheeewwww

26. WOW see ehat jelousy and being envious can cause.
    if coming up under anonymous to cuss out this hard working girl will help ur illness then by all means do it.
    it took an interview to bring out your vomit?pls wash out all u know here,at least she will be free from u once u do right?

as u no see governor to date u...stupid bad belle.

i decided to become voltron for sharon after reading all d wicked anon comments..i am sure its one person and so bloody what if sharon comes under anon to praise herself..hw does it change d price of pepper in the market?
    all celebs do it in Nigeria and its the new trend.

27. Chai dis sharon, u mumu o

28. Listen guy, aristo oo bleaching oo runz babe oo... Whatever crap u wana say,this gal is got an ambition, what d fuck? If she wasn't doing anyfin y'all are gona b chating shit about her now she's trying to pursue somfin and y'all r here saying crap, pls wat wld u gain after all d negativity?? Why are we blak ppl so evil and wicked to each ova? Wen wld we start appreciating each ova? Allow this gal mahn wat d fliping fuckk????? Aristo or no aristo shey its ur pussy she's using ni??? Let any of uz that doesn't av skeleton under der bed b d first to throw a stone at her. If u follow this gal carefuly u wil know she is a very focused and dedicated gal. Lev her the fuck alone if u aint gona appreciate and surport her abegg. And this isn't sharon this is phummy y'all shld go fucking fuck urselves and ride on some fucking dicks abegggggg go suck some dick and shut ur trap.una never reach go bak and pack well and try again cos y'all can't stop her rising to the top mtchewwww goshhhh nigerians are so shallow minded reading ppls comments and I'm so fucking disgusted at the level of stupidity smhhh for us oshisko.com mtcheww

29. LMAO and having a blast.

Thank you SO much for ALL your comments. It just made me more stronger. God bless you for me!

Biko, mbok, since we are together in this, go check out my personal blog - www.sharonojong.com(for my styling memoir, style diary, features), visit www.naijadeevas.com(for all your fashion, entertainment, celebrity style, red carpet, lookbooks, features and trend reports.) And to contact The D.E.E.V.A.S. Team, go to www.deevasworld.com.

Twitter - @SharonOjong
    @DeevasWorld
    @GlamEyeWatch

Instagram: @SharonOjong
    FacebookPage: RekanaSharonOjong
    Keek: @SharonOjong

~ Get inspired by D.E.E.V.A.S. ~

1. Well sharon I knew u 4rm Unical dayz & its gud u've stepped up ur game. Plz b focus in lasgidi & dnt bcome popular bcos ur sleepin wit pple's husband(lyk in calabar),b famous 4 ur talent. Wishin u d best. B4 I 4get hwz Chris Agibe*wink*

30. shut up you bad belles coming here to run sharon down...go get a life.

31. so what if she kept governor busy?who did u keep busy?.....misplaced hating!

32. jeloz bitches.ya all aint got notin on sharon so kip quiet and go get a day job.

abi is it more than this?she buy market for una hand no pay?

33. Lmao. Sharon oyedinma matthew Ojong, pls try and go to fashion school or intern at a proper world class fashion house. Sitting down and watching e! Or being at every lagos party Won't make all of us think u are a fashion wiz. Sometimes u wear clothes that look off on ur muscular body. Take a P from ciara. Class before popularity dear. Putting the later before the former can get u hooked on a nail. Plus, ur attitude stinks. U might be determined, but u need to work on ur PR. u tend to be quite shallow at times.
    From previous comments, u can now understand why u need to be more discrete about ur paroles abi? Abeg, try u hear? It wld help u in d long run.

1. Sefianna U tuk d wrds ryt outta ma mouth. Thank u joor I ope she listens & improves.

2. Sharon my darling, just see how your enemies are helping to boost your rep and career. Thanks to y'all +ve and -ve comments. If people don't talk about you then you are nobody!!!!!!! Sticking ma tongue out @ y'all. Up...up..up you go shazz. Love you too much!

3. Rossie I cn c dt ur a member of runz clique,If shez ur dear frnd advice her & stop encouraging her 2 sleep around. I ope u've stopped as well

34. SMH for you all o! You run Sharon down, you don't run her down, what good does it do you o! You that knows she wAs with d governor what were u looking for dia o! Get busy and get a life.

35. All of you can go and DIE! She don pass you, u are still down low in the gutter busy digging up dirts from the past. Trash packers. Obviously that's where you belong. Gutter rats! mscheeeew

And na one person/friend dey write all these things. Sharon, I don't care who you fuck or who fucks you, my advice to you is be careful of your friends. From what I can see here they are the ones coming to write all this things. Because na who sabi you go get something to hate as you pass their level. Idiots

1. So u agree she has bin fucking arnd. Wen una mama dey advice una 2 close una leg una no gree,nw u wnt 2 b Voltron d defender of d universe. Chics mke una dey careful 4 ds life wey una c so,cos pple r watchin so if u lyk open ya leg 4 evryborri,e go bite una 4 yansh years later

2. Gutter rat! Keep throwing stones as na u holy pass. "Let him who have never sinned be the first to cast stones

3. Ashawo b deceivin urslf dt u've made sense. Sharon am sure dts u.

36. So many vile people here.

37. U no get www.sharondatall,? U berra go and pack wit ur itching yarsh, dat island guy wey u dey fuck nw serously na person hubby, pls leav him alone, I believa na u & ur worthless frnds hilda(actress wannabe) and co hv been hiding under anonymous praising u, u all shld continue ur aristo work,dats wht u ppl r known 4, all dis dotcom work no go suit u, ehee dat reminds me hv u added drug 2 d line of smoke u tk,chain smoker lik u, wht will u teach ur younger ones wen notin Gud comes out of u , get a proper life

38. Hehehehehehe naija girls, laziness will never leave u guys. Sharon is busy utilizing her time n talent n u r there vomiting rubbish, who cares? Look, God is not interested in d qualified... She has redefined her class so u go n get something doing. Life is not abt who u were rather who u are. Some armrobbers of yesterdays r todays pastors so what r u guys all blabing?

39. You foes have no shame to have the nerve to speak of Sharon Ojong in that manner.Sharon Ojong is a focused lady who is ready to build a splendid future for herself.You good for nothing illiterates are here wagging your unbridled tongues about my girl,Sharon Ojong.Anyone who faces her should be ready to face me.If you're so bold,why code your names?Show yourselves,you social misfits so we can treat ur inadequacies.Go and get lives for yourselves and do something your parents will appreciate instead of disgracing them.If you're so successful show your achievements and lay them on the table.I shall be waiting.

1. Ode osheeeee,will u shatap ya mouth dia. Birds of d same feather. Ur nt ashamed of urslf,anybody who messes up wit sharon messes up wit u.Oloriburuki b dia takin panadol 4 sm1's headache.

40. Hey ARISTO faith, shame on u, best of d same feather flocks 2geda, AIDS is real,and is uncurable, u gals shld get a proper life bl4 u die on top of a man,

41. Sharon you don try almost 50 comments if they put some people here they will not even open the post talk less of comment, but why do these pple with ojong surnames always have aristo issues and question marks. Or is it where they come from? One humble advice change your ways, the sky is the limit best of luck

1. Y'right I remember isabella and the most beautiful girl scandal buahaha kilonsele

42. Almost 50comments raise 2 d power nothing, I rather hv 1gud comment dan 50bad comments, she ‎​Íڪ an Aristo dat all she is gud at,,

43. Lmao. Surprised I'm just seeing this. Na aw o! Well, Sharon Oyedinma Matthew Ojong, I like ur packaging sha. U shld try get into product branding. Cos d way u have branded ya self ehn...... Hmmmmm..... For those of you who don't know her and are defending her, no one said she wasn't a nice girl oh! But she sure has lots to work on presentation. Smart girls keep their 'man biz' on d low. Sharon is too loud and hasn't waited for the steam to blow off before trying to seem focused.