Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: 'Mama':- A Tribute To Fran Kuboye From Her Kids.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

'Mama':- A Tribute To Fran Kuboye From Her Kids.

Really emotional song..if you have lost your mum,you will understand
this song better....really emotional for me as i remember my mama as
well.

On this day 16 years ago, famous TV personality and jazz singer Fran Kuboye passed away. Her death was both unexpected and a shock - as the family was still in the throes of mourning the loss of Fela Anikulapo Kuti who had passed away a few weeks earlier.

As if the death Fela & Fran was not hard enough, the Kuti’s had to grapple with the tragic scenario of burying a 34 year old Sola Anikulapo Kuti. With 3 deaths in the space of a few months, it is fair to say that 1997 was a very difficult year for the Kuti’s & Kuboye’s.

MAMA is a heartfelt video tribute to Fran Kuboye, who also ran the popular Jazz 38 club in the 1980s with her husband Tunde Kuboye. It was written and performed by her 3 children Tami, Baba & Kiibaati Kuboye. Shot in the UK & directed by JJC & highly acclaimed director Mr Moe Musa, best known for Wande Coal’s “Go Low”, Wizkid’s “Caro” & May D’s “Django” to name a few.

9 comments:

1. This song brought tears to my eyes

2. Continue to Rest in Peace. D song sef make me remember my mama.

3. Beautiful. May she continue to rest in peace. Amen.

4. Touching,brought memories of my late mom. Died 21 years ago.

5. Fran Kuboye was the most beautiful and touching soul. I met her when she visited Australia, and I consider it an honour to have known her .. her sudden passing from this world was so incredibly sad. My dearest friend Olive Dunlop had great affection for her, as I did. Fran was someone who touched you in a way few ever do.

With deep respect, Stephen Allnutt.

6. Stephen Allnutt16 April 2015 at 21:07

Fran Kuboye was the most beautiful and touching soul. I met her when she visited Australia, and I consider it an honour to have known her .. her sudden passing from this world was so incredibly sad. My dearest friend Olive Dunlop had great affection for her, as I did. Fran was someone who touched you in a way few ever do.

Stephen Allnutt.

7. Stephen Allnutt.16 April 2015 at 21:21

To Fran Kuboye's children,

may I say this is a most beautiful, touching tribute to your beloved mother .. you have brought tears to my eyes.

Where she is now, she would be so very proud of you.

I don't know you, but my best wishes I send to you.

Stephen Allnutt (I knew your mother .. I met her when she visited Australia).