Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How British American Tobacco Company Killed Mr Alliyu..An Innocent Man!

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

How British American Tobacco Company Killed Mr Alliyu..An Innocent Man!

THESE ARE THE THREE CHILDREN ORPHANED BY BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO COMPANY

On Friday August 24,2012 around 9pm,a young man,Monsoor Abidoye Alliyu was knocked down by a bus belonging to British American Tobacco company on challenge road in Ibadan.

The driver of the bus was reversing at a very top speed and hit Mr Alliyu who began bleeding from every part of his body from the impact of his body hitting the road.The driver and other occupants of the bus instead of rushing him to the hospital, took him to a police station and waited endlessly for a police report and after taking him to two hospitals finally landed with his almost lifeless body at The University College Hospital(UCH) Ibadan.

By the time they got to the hospital,he had lost a lot of blood .The officials of the British American Tobacco left the sum of Five thousand naira with the dying man and promised to come back the next morning...but that was a big lie from the pit of hell.
The bus was the official vehicle of the company's Chief security officer Mr Paul Tawo who was also at the hospital with the victim around 2am.

Unfortunately,Mr Alliyu didn't get fast medical attention and the delay at the police station had caused untold damage. fell into a deep coma from his injuries....his injuries so bad that his head had been crushed in.

His relatives quickly arrived Ibadan from Lagos and all necessary arrangements were made for the quick surgery he needed to survive.
He was finally scheduled for surgery around 10pm the next day August 25,2012 .....

Media friends of Mr Alliyu had made efforts to contact the management of the company whose vehicle was responsible for the accident and they showed up at the hospital on Monday August 27,2012,apologizing and asked that all bills be forwarded to them.

Unfortunately and sadly Mr Alliyu did not come out of coma as he gave up the ghost on Wednesday 29th August 2012 leaving behind a wife and three young sons...Its been a year but the pain og going on without a breadwinner lingers.....The boys miss Daddy!

Since the young man died,his lawyers have made series of efforts to contact British American Tobacco for compensation to the deceased family.
British American Tobacco demanded for series of documents which were provided,but alas they have just  notified deceased son and three sons via the lawyers that'' the company only helped the victim with the hospital bill and since he is dead,they have no obligation to make any compensation''-WTF!.

What sort of wickedness is this?Mr Alliyu left behind a family with three young sons aged  10years,9years and 4years old. ...who will take care of them?who will pay their school fees?feed them...
Their Father Mr Alliyu was their sole provider and they have no one else to help.

Please help me spread this on so that at least that company will pay the deceased family compensation,they cannot bring him back and their delay in seeking medical attention for him after the bus had hit him led to his death.
Please lend your voice,this company needs to wake up to what they have done!
God is not sleeping!

45 comments:

1. Stella,Ur headline is misleading.......mention the name of the driver and not drag an entire company into it

1. Its the company's responsibility my dear

2. Her headline is not misleading. D company is vicariously liable 4 d deeds of der employee insofaras d deed ws done in d pprocess of carryin out his employment. In dis case driving d company bus.

3. Ur very senseless for that statement! Haven't u heard of vicarious liability before? U don't always have to comment if u hv nufing sensible to say,u might as well shut ur trap!

4. He works for the company, using the official vehicle, so invariably they are involved.

2. Understandably, the driver made an attempt which wasn't good enough.

BAT is by extension the culprit as it was one of their vehicles involved.

Driver should be held accountable but BAT should be sensitive at this point to provide corporate responsibility towards the family.

A sad tale it is!

3. WTF.. you are talking about Anonymous 1....bcos the man is in no way related to you ? please feel the pain of the young kids...for crying out loud...the driver was operating an equipment belonging to that company..therefore they have to take full responsibility...

4. Wow!!! pinacle of wickedness.I feel for d family...If that 'igbo making coy' don't do smthn good fast,fire wl roast them like shicken..

5. At anon 4:36 PM, you call it misleading??? Did you read towards the end of the post what the management of the company said? May God's mercy be upon Aliyu and his family. May God rest him in peace.
    Foreign companies will always get away with their mess in our country. However, we will never be able to commit the kind of evil perpetrated by these companies in their original countries. Unfortunately, many Nigerians are the cause for this kind of maltreatment.

6. stella i just want to say u are my numero uno blogger now. Secondly the company should be sued. Simple.

7. Anonymous 4:36 is d driver not the agent of the company,if you cannot contribute sensibly why not keep shut, a man has been killed over a year and nothing was done to compensate his family and u are yarning dust, does it mean a company like BAT does not have insurance policy on their vehicles.

8. It pains my heart when these aliens do things like this and think they can get away with it because of the way our is run.

9. Abeg she should drag whoever biko! Good work Stella @michelleogo

10. Very right! A reckless driver did the harm not BTA. Come on Stel! U know better.

1. Go back to school and learn!BAT is very much responsible

2. U be mumu o
      Who/what is d company?
      Do u think d company is something out of this world? Abstract? The driver is part of d coy. Stop ds myopic insensitivity of urs abeg

11. no haven't you heard of vicarious-liability, as long as the driver was on an official duty for the company, He was representing the company. Lord fej

12. whoever the driver was, he was driving a bus that belonged to the said company.

13. It was an accident and whoever is spreading this story can take time and institute a case in the law courts. Leave God out of this.

There are laws and if the laws are not adequate, then make a push at the legislature to write new laws. It is the procedure in Nigeria for hospitals to request police report before treating certain individuals. Why blame the BAT for the ineptitude of the Police?

Was the driver charged with Vehicular manslaughter? Was he convicted? What does the law say about instituting a civil case to seek financial redress? Its unfortunate the man died but putting the picture of his children does not change anything. People killed by Boko Haram have kids too. The people the police killed in Abuja have kid too. Why are you not splashing their pictures on your blog?

1. U only need police report in the case of a gun-shot wound(for them to be sure d victim is not an armed robber) not when u have an accident victim. Ode

14. So sad. May the family find the help they need to move on.

BTW, the kids were not orphaned. Their mother is still alive. And a driver killed the poor man, not BAT.

15. I'm confused please. How can the 'company wake up to what they have done' when the person that hit the man has been identified?

16. That is a very stupid statement coming from a daft man like u. Its the name if the company that shud mentioned and be held responsible. What if its ur Family (God Forbid). Pls this is an issue for matured minds. Ode

17. British American tobacco that maltreat their workers by giving them stipend as salary. Rubbish company.

1. Chai!! Anon 5:46 do u have proof that they pay stipends?! If u don't have anything to say pls just move on!

18. The culprit should be tried for manslaughter, if they cant compensate the family.

19. at anonymous 4:36, u r very wrong.
    d coy is an entity on its own.
    Am not happy with BAT. Just wen I tot it was of international standard. sure its lawyers are definitely Nigerians...Heartless

20. @ ANONYMOUS 1, I DON'T AGREE FULLY WITH YOU O. THE PEOPLE IN THE BUS SHOULD HAVE BLOODY WELL CAUTIONED HIM. I WASN'T THERE, BUT MY SUSPICION IS THEY DIDN'T - AT LEAST NOT WELL ENOUGH. SO THEY ARE ALL IN THE MESS TOGETHER.

NA SO PEOPLE GO DEY SHOUT INSIDE A BUS WHEN SOMEONE IS CAUTIONING THE DRIVER. " LEAVE HIM ALONE, HE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING!!! LET HIM DRIVE THIS THING".
    ALL THE ACCIDENTS THAT HAVE RESULTED IN DEATHS, THE DRIVER DID NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS DRIVING? OR E NOR GET LICENSE. ? MOST DRIVERS ARE UNEDUCATED AND ILLITERATES, AND DON'T UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPT OF VELOCITY, ROAD RISKS, IMPACT FACTORS, ETC, SO A LITTLE IMPACT FROM A CAR CAN CAUSE LIFE CHANGING EFFECTS

21. What does the law say about this? Damn the law! The company should pay some form of compensation. Scholarships for these kids too. If the Tobacco organisation is not liable, in the spirit of corporate social responsiblity, it could cater to these kids. Besides,Tobacco companies need all the good image they can get. BATC,here's your chance to be applauded.Take it ! Young lads need not be stowaways to get free education these days. Signed:wide eyed!

22. Well stella,concerning d police station b4 hospital issue, dey rily dint av a choice bt to take him to the police station b4 d hospital. Cos i kno some hospitals refuse to treat such cases without police report.

23. Everybody is busy talking the driver and the company what about the draconian law that is still being practiced in Nigeria.

THAT AN ACCIDENT VICTIM HAS TO GET A POLICE REPORT?

That man's life could have been saved timely. That law should be abolished fast.

How about save his life first and then get a police report.

The company should compensate the family with immediate effect.
    #tobaccokills

1. That law has ceased to be in existence. Bad/ignorant people just use it as a cover

Sensible doctors never used it anyway.

24. It is the company's responsibility to pay damages to the family!!!! The driver was driving the company's vehicle and as such a representative of the company at the time of the accident.

25. So sad,may God console the family and grant Mr Abidoye Alliyu eternal rest but then BAT u need to do something as soon as possible 13 months gone and u haven't done a thing God is watching all of u

26. D company should be responsible for what d driver did. D driver was drivin d company's car. Atleast compensation will ease deir pain a little though it won't take it off.

27. wow, RIP Mr Alliyu
    Earn extra cash today, visit http://www.Paynized.com/?invite=757
    it only takes a few minute, register and invite others. It really works.

28. Human Right organisation's this is time for you to help, speak for the weak, if our government won't fight for us then we should fight for ourselves, this is disheartening #sad face

29. I will immediately boycott all products of the BATC and l advise Nigerians to do so until the company acts responsibly.

30. Such rubbish can never happen in america,so sad n alarming d way a lot of things happens in Nigeria n dey go away with it..so so sad..dey really need to sue dat fucking company

31. His soul rest in peace.
    I can imagine the pains the family is going through, God please continue to give them the comfort and strength to bear the loss.
    The company should have a kind heart and help out financially.

32. I pity dat annonamous that said stella headlines is misleading. I pray something like this dont happen to.the company is liable n responsible for their workerd did.this happened to me'my mother in law was invovled in an accident by a cowbell company vehicle .they paid out to us .thou it didnt bring her back but it went along way in making things easier at that time, so d btc should do something for this family.

33. It's d company's responsibility,yeah vicarious liability,the driver who hit him was performing his official duty while the accident occurred, bat is liable,at least compensate the family is that too much to ask of?

34. The extreme non-challance of MNCs on der host community nigeria is very disheartening. Wat do u expect, wen we have a purposely govt dat is irresponsive to the plights of its citizens. MTN laid off 1700 graduates last unceremoniously nd d senate cannot indict dem let to say NLC. How long shall we continually b molested by dis multinational companies? I jst wish BAT will b served justice dis time. SMH.