Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: iPhone Drama...British Journalist Says Amjad Ali Changed His Story...

Friday, September 13, 2013

iPhone Drama...British Journalist Says Amjad Ali Changed His Story...

Osborne

Simon Osborne, the British  journalist, who reported that the Federal Government of Nigeria ordered 53 customised gold-plated iPhone 5S mobile handsets valued at  N682m from a company based in the  United Kingdom, has said he will stand  by his story.

In an exclusive online interview with our correspondent on Thursday, Osborne said he is “annoyed’’ that the Chief Executive Officer of Gold and Co, Amjad Ali, “changed his story’’ after an online protest had greeted the development from Nigeria.

Osborne who writes for The Independent newspaper in London argued that Ali “stated clearly’’ that the order for the phones came from the Nigerian government as part of the memorabilia for the nation’s 53rd independence anniversary from Britain.

While explaining the circumstances that led to the denial, the British journalist said he pressed Ali for further clarification, after some persons claiming to be spokesmen for the government  challenged him (Osborne) over the report. He said the CEO, however, changed his story.

He said “Ali stated clearly that the order, as described, came from the Nigerian Government. He did not say who, or which department had made the order. I saw denials on Twitter from people purporting to be spokespeople for the (Nigerian) government.

“I emailed Ali to ask for his response. He then said the order was not from the government but from an individual. I sent a correction to our website (the story was online only). They did not deny the report. The company (Ali) only changed his story. This annoyed me, naturally.’’

When asked if he still stands by his initial report about Ali’s claim, Osborne said, “Absolutely, Yes.’’

*Professor Reuben Abati,you need to do us Nigerians another memo informing us on why this Reporter is sticking to his story.....
*I am sure by now with all this brouhaha the orders for the iphones would have been cancelled...lol

38 comments:

1. stella Nigerian government did not buy any phone ,this story was cooked up by the enemies working with some international journalists,remember the same people wrote rubbish about BAMA killings in Borno state last time but when the investigations came out they removed the report from their website.

1. Anon5:43pm u must be delusional to disbelieve this .

2. I dnt believe τ̣̣ђℓ̊s at all. They hve beta things to steal so ordering for iphone no make sense to me. With wat Đє̲̣̣̣y̶̲̥̅̊ loot only an individual can place D̶̲̥̅̊a̶̲̥t̶̲̥̅̊ order.

2. it will not be cancelled oh! a leopard can never change its spots.

they will still by hook or crook bring in those phones. I have never seen a country so filled with greedy, hopeless, insensitive leaders such as the ones in the Nigerian Government.

From the start, I knew the story was true, whether Reuben speaks English or not; that's what he is paid to do anyway. Tell constructed lies on twitter and social media to cover their vain butts.

shame!!!

1. Welcome Back.... Iya Bloglord

3. Each phone costs over N10million! What kind of stupid pple do we have governing us?D hottest part of hell awaits these thieves!

4. This has turned into another drama where "commoners" are denied specific facts.

So, Eze Wanyi, lend me a stool. Na siddon look I dey for this one.

5. Shut Up! Nigerian Govt. did not order the phones!!! They may be dumb but they are not STUPID! pls leave the president Alone! Anyone can claim to REPRESENT the Nigerian Govt. just to discredit President Jonathan. what is wrong with you people???

6. How these foreigners HATE Nigeria and will do everything to make sure we don't progress. Nigerians foolishly support them! SMH!

7. Why nigerians are shocked that d govt will do this is whats annoying me! Its obvious d govt did so, this is not the firstbtime naija govt is spending money that isnt thiers on frivolities and rubbish! After all wasnt it 1 billion that was reported that aso rock spends on food alone for a year? Plsssssssss this is sooo true, they are only denying it becos d citizens are crying foul....they will secretly get someone else to order those phones and sneak it into d country.......case closed....till nigeria battles corruption nothing absolutely nothing will change.......

8. dat hausa girl that blogs13 September 2013 at 18:54

Sterra don't mind abati,every little things he will deny just bcos they ve used moni to wash ur brain.when I first heard this,I believe n suddenly abati came up with long epistle of course denied it. GEJ God is watching all of u.some pple r hungry yet u guys ve d hrt to order gold plated I phone for ur useless desires.

9. With the ferocious effort the Presidency denied the allegation, I knew they were lying!

10. With the ferocious effort the Presidency denied the allegation, I knew they were lying!

11. Nigerians u guys can believe anything sha!!! Aunty stella am pregnant for ur husband.I hope u believe me on this cos you seem to believe anything this days.

12. my friend! if fed govt can allocate 1-billion for feeding in aso rock then am not surprised at this.

mtchewwwwwwww! where is my ladder jor! don't have time for namsense!

13. An ounce of Gold sells for $1,400 in the international market. So at the price quoted, that is roughly 55 ounces of Gold. that includes the $650 for which an i-phone is worth. Hmmmmmmm!

Why am I finding it difficult to believe this story? Who would rather have a gold plated i-phone as against $75,000? This story stinks...of bull shit. Sometimes we need to do some analysis before we believe hook line and sinker what the Foreign media write in order to subvert our country. Remember, its not their country so they do not care.

14. God punish them

15. Shits all over..Nigerians are learners

16. Shits all over..Nigerians are learners

17. I ve neva placed a comment here,but God will punish GEJ $ co. D kingdom has been given to another jus like Saul n David in d Bible. They steal as if tomorrow is in their pocket

18. Thank GOD for social media,its just a shame we will make noise and this will naturally blow over by this time tomorrow

19. Dude needs to whiten those teeth. Yeeez

20. Lolllllssss @ anonymous #13.... Well plus which kain teeth be dis? Lmao...Also Read Interesting stories HERE

21. Replies
    1. Is it your clothes he's washing or your pant??? Blockhead..

22. There is no smoke without fire!
    Some-one or some-body did place an order!

23. End time tins######

24. I don't belive Reuben Abati. He is only trying to cover up deir tracks. He is a liar. Anon 8.11pm, u don't expect stella 2 just believe u are pregnant 4 her husband. D only reason y stella will believe is if her husband was a serial lover and if u can provide her with enough evidence 2 back ur claim. We all know d kind of government we av. Dey are capable of doin it and its plain clear.

25. @anon 24
    you must be or live in the states loool dirty-rotten teeth is a badge of honour for the average british oyibo.i read an article where they said it is unhealthy to shower everyday or brush your teeth daily.

26. Washing? Shakes head!

27. lucabracee that is false. If you don't have the stats don't believe any useless article.

28. If Ordinarly dos in onigbongbo local govt were given laptops den a few wks later dey also shared samsung tablet to dem all.Abegi the order came frm our govt jare!