Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Naomi Mac - 'Kene Ebe Otu'

Tuesday, October 01, 2013

Naomi Mac - 'Kene Ebe Otu'

Uncertain as it may seem for winners of most musical reality shows organized in Nigeria, there is a great twist to the coin in the case of this vocal and lyrical idol, Naomi Mac! Her emergence as the first runner-up of the Nigerian Idol Season 1 organized by Etisalat Nigeria, earned her a unique fanship and acceptance to the general public during and after the competition especially with reference to her extraordinary performances of Shania Twain’s ‘From this Moment on’, the
late Christie Essien’s‘Omo Mi Seun Rere’, and of course one of the greatest songs of all time, the late Michael Jackson’ssong; ‘Heal The World’, which she delivered with such extreme musical ability and originality during the competition and also led to the performance being referred to as Naomi heals the world!
The Bayelsa-born third child of a singing family of seven, started singing at the tender age of six (6), and started performing on stages at seven (7) alongside her sisters – Grace Mac (of MTN project fame 2012) and Layefa Mac – in local churches in and around Lagos and the western region of Nigeria for over 10 years.
Right after her success at the Idols in 2011, she has continued to make appearances in shows organized by Etisalat Nigeria including the popular Easycliq Festival “Cliq-Fest” organized in universities across Nigeria, concerts, product launches, press conferences, amongst others, and alongside doing studio recordings.
As an ice breaker, the vibrant singer has upped her game with the video shoot of her debut single“KENE EBE OTU”, a song which is written in both Ijaw and English language addressing the core and critical issues of strife, distrust, disharmony and wars across the Nation and beyond, urging Nigerians and everyone to Love!
In a close interview when Naomi MAC was asked why her choice of a peace, love and change song for her debut single, she says, ‘‘I am inspired to sing songs like this because I know my roots, I know where I am coming from and I CANNOT PRETEND not to see the ills in the society and our country”. Undeniably, we need a change and who knows maybe this could just be that message to heal the world as Michael Jackson has earlier told us, and restore love so we can live together as one.
While thanking her fans for holding on, she urges them to be on the lookout for the video which would be enjoying media flights immediately after the premier on the popular TV channel, X2D.
As she shares her experiences, she also remarks, ‘…A lot of work is in progress and we would prefer to keep them as a process and only announce them when they become products. But one thing is sure; there is so much to give to my fans and this world; that we MUST achieve…’

17 comments:

1. Hian. Stella. This kind copy and paste of epistle

2. She was robbed of that title...go girl and make your dreams come true.

3. Nice one naomi...al d best

4. Damn! She sings with the whole of her being.. I c her going far!

5. Nice one ɑ̤̥̈̊м̣̣̣̥ triping for it.

6. Snorrrrrriiiiiiiinnnggg!!
    Billie jean

7. Lovely song and lovely voice. what language is this

8. This story looooooong o. Shuo!!!!

9. Goose Pimples all ova ma body....she was truly robbed of d title dat d judge Yinka Davis was shocked wen d result was finally announced...Naomi I see u soaring higher.Welldone.

10. I have had this song Kene be otu on my fone for the past one year, and I haven't gotten tired of it *doubt I would sef*..... The girl is pure talent. She was robbed of that title cos idiotic etisalat decided to give the one whose vote brought in the most money. Which in the sense of it is stupid!!! Cos if it was actually a talent show, Naomi won hands down. Etisalat didn't care if the voting was done from one or two fones... Their daft brains didn't make dem realise that an investor can just load 5 mill naira worth of credit on 10 fones and ask people to finish it voting. Afterall d winning doh was 7.5 mill, car and all expense paid trip, not to talk of the plasma and oda gifts..... So yes, it was a worthy investment for whoever made the croaky voice Yeka win....... Naomi, no body go ever fit dull ur shine sha.

11. Naomi you are Grammy material........the top is waiting for you girl..you should have won that title

12. Damn!!!!!!! She reeks of pure talent. Soar higher dear

13. Nice vocal, nice lyric + na only NTA fit play this kind song!
    Keep it up dear..

14. Naomi Mac......she was cheated,,she was robbed of the title....."the first Nigerian idol" but she wasnt robbed of her talent.......Naomi,,the sky is ur starting point jare.......where is Yeka now??? no one eva heard of her again....

15. Naomi Mac......she was cheated,,she was robbed of the title....."the first Nigerian idol" but she wasnt robbed of her talent.......Naomi,,the sky is ur starting point jare.......where is Yeka now??? no one eva heard of her again....