Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PHANTOM PREGNANCY-Docs Perform C-S On Lady And The Baby Was Not Inside!

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

PHANTOM PREGNANCY-Docs Perform C-S On Lady And The Baby Was Not Inside!

Phantom Pregnancy is a rare condition which occurs when a non-pregnant woman convinces herself she is pregnant, often even exhibiting all the classic symptoms of pregnancy.

According to DailyM Doctors performed an emergency C-section on a 'heavily pregnant' woman who was 'in labor'- only to find that her womb was empty, it was reported on Tuesday.
The 37-year-old woman had been accompanied by midwives from Cabo Frio, south-east Brazil, since the beginning of her pregnancy and arrived at the hospital claiming sharp pains.
She reportedly arrived at the town's women's hospital with a large belly and proof of her pre-natal treatment, which showed she was 41 weeks' pregnant.

When doctors were unable to detect the baby's heartbeat, they rushed her to into the operating room for a caesarean, according to the hospital's director, Rosalice Almeida.
She told Brazil's Globo G1 website: ‘She'd done her whole pre-natal and was already overdue.

Because the doctors couldn't pick up the heartbeat, they decided there wasn't time to request an ultrasound.

‘They did the surgery then had the great shock of not finding any baby at all.’

The woman's husband, 23, told doctor's this was the second 'pregnancy' his wife had in a year.
Last year she claimed she got pregnant only to go the hospital and lose the child, but she never showed him a death certificate.
The case was registered as a phantom, or false pregnancy.

She was released from the hospital and referred to psychiatric care.
This follows a case in December last year when another Brazilian woman accused a hospital of stealing her baby from her womb after she woke up for a C-section to be told her pregnancy had been ‘psychological’.
Layane Santos, 19, claimed she was in her 38th week of pregnancy when she was rushed to a maternity hospital in Sao Paulo, south east Brazil, with abdominal pain and blood loss.
She had received pre-natal treatment during her entire pregnancy, with nurses recording the growing size of her baby and even measuring the foetal heart beats.
According to Ultimo Segundo, Ms Santos, a kitchen assistant, even had an ultra-sound scans in the final week of her pregnancy, which showed she was carrying a baby girl who weighed 7lbs and measured 42cm.
She and her husband Lourival Alves, 28, had already named their daughter Sofia, and had moved to a larger house and had spent pounds £2,000 on clothes and furniture for their first child, according to Brazil's Tribunal Hoje newspaper.

*Maybe this happens in Nigeria and some people will cry witches have eaten their babies from their stomach..this really explains a lot ooooh.

*Nobody has yet come up with an explanation as to why a very small percentage of women actually exhibit all the classic symptoms of pregnancy such as weight gain, breast enlargement and abdominal distension when they are not pregnant at all. 
The fact that a woman actually looks pregnant makes the job of her GP even more difficult when he has to try to explain to her that all her urine samples are testing negative for pregnancy.

Phantom pregnancy or pseudocyesis cannot just be dealt with from a medical or gynaecological perspective without taking due consideration of the severe underlying emotional distress and turmoil which has led to the diagnosis of such a condition in the first place.

59 comments:

1. name diz one Yorubaz dey call o mu omi eran yo...meaning e drink water wey dey use boil meat finish con bellyful.... but its saddening at d same tym....nine months no b beans oh

1. Dis one na village tinz..... Ndi amosu..... #Alinko #Gaylord #Yerima #Smallprick #Wanker #Sisterfucker

2. Lolade plz, I can't laff ooo!Abeg.
      Afi omi eran.
      To tink omi eran dey sweet well well.

White ppl n dia complicated ish.
      If u see a black wman doing dis sh is purposely decievin her family.

3. My dear u nvr know all this oyibo people thy have a lot of psychos,thy convince themselfs that thy are pregnant,evn wen the lab result proves negative,thy hide it frm the man,and kip sayn thy are pregnant,wen thy start wit their labour pain,the docs wld tel dem there is no baby inside you,thy ll start saying they stole the baby, then get obssesed wit that supossed baby,beging to admire anoder persons child calling the child their supose childs name. Befor u knw them go thief that person pikin say na their pikin that was taken away from them.its a spritual thing to me,a deamon has possesed such women making them belv what is not.but too bad oyibo no belv in deamon.all na psycho

4. Yeah, its a psychological problem, the body is following what the brain and mind thinks, that's why they say the mind is a very powerful tool...

5. It happens to women who have been anticipating the birth of a child, they become so anxious their bodies starts changing
      That's what happned to the wife of the main teacher in glee, all the pregnancy signs were there but she wasn't pregnant

2. Brazil: notorious for acquiring kidneys and vital body organs illegally.... even newborn babies too, phantom ko, alien ni.... dose doctors and thier nurses are thiefs Infact murderers

1. You took those words from my mouth,which is phatom?,after test and scan shows there is a baby,I'm sure they stole the baby

2. The doctors stole the baby..notin like phantom there..

3. What mafe her stomach big then????
      Na serious winchy winchy things.....

1. Shey u nw na blog ashawo, na every blog u dey visit.....mtcheeeww...... #Alinko #Gaylord #Yerima #Smallprick #Wanker #Sisterfucker

2. Wetin concern u stanley,she no go still fuck u wit ur small prick

4. Orishirishi. I'm yet to find any woman who has gone through this.

Oluyomi Odukoya

1. I have seen lots of ladies with this psychological conditions. Mostly ladies who are married and desperately seeking for that special fruit of the womb.

They convince themselves that they are exhibiting the symptoms and are pregnant. The only thing that breaks their heart is a negative lab test result.

May God grant all women seeking for that special fruit of the womb their hearts desires, IJN amen.

2. Is this the same oluyomi? Why are you anonymous? You let these people get to you?? Haba!

3. Evie darling, nah. Trust me, no one born of a woman can get to me. My account was hacked and I'm in the process of recovering it. Thanks for your concern though.

Oluyomi Odukoya

5. S to D K it happens in naija wella

Women go go pump bele dey wait children wey dem wan buy or steal from all those baby factories.

They do it to rule out doubt from the minds of people when they eventually steal or buy babies. Everybody go think say dem don born.

If I hear! All na washhhhh

1. Bloglord bloglord bloglord, thought u were very enlightened, well there is really sometin like pseudocyesis, occurs more in pple who are desperately in search of pregnancy, dey hv d signs and symptoms of preg buh all tests comes out -ve,its just hormones. its mostly a psychological issue

2. But the other woman scan showed she was gonna have a girl

6. Haba! What of scan??? Won't they know there is no baby in her tommy with scan? *confused*

7. Lol...this once happened to me ooo.
    The doctor told me that once you convince urself that u are pregnant, ur body automatically secrets pregnancy hormones . Its phsycological. He even said that some people go for tests and it comes out positive....omo na so fear catch me.

1. If convincing yourself of a pregnancy is what it takes to experience phantom pregnancy, then the incidence should be higher, not 1 occurrence for approx 250 pregnancies.
      That said, I believe your story but just can't come to terms with this condition.

2. @dt chic and others there's pseudo cyesis,there's also Port Harcourt baby,which I have experienced as a doctor myself,they drink herbs pretend to be pregnant to hubby and thereafter travel to the south to collect their baby,and come back to give testimony in church,don't last one I scanned vehemently refused the scan until the hubby forced her,she told me she was asked not to do any scan because the doc will not see any baby there,this was after I had palpated the abdomen and discovered there was no baby there,meanwhile the hubby says he feels the baby kick him when he places his hand there,by the way m a lady too,I doff my hat for baby sellers

3. Lolzzzz, @Lubz: u are as confused as I was. I missed my period and was also feeling nauseous the whole thing seemed so real, I had a strip test it came out positive but when I go for a blood test it comes out negative.

8. So wat is the answer to that?

9. Dis one no be oju lasan......hian

10. What!dis is bizarre!My goodness!
    And why is it common in brazil?is there anything they are eating that causes the disorder or is it a gene mutation disorder?
    I can imagine the trauma of feeling preggers and going thru the stress and stuff only for u to be told 'no baby!'its as gud as having a stillborn.may God keep one far from this kind of sh#t!

11. Stella dis one na winches n wizards handiwork.
    Any unexplainable mystery is spiritual

12. How can a woman feel she's pregnant and she's not.. Wonders shall never end

13. Blog lord u go dey form say you go school......phantom pregnancy is not the same as faking pregnancy then going to steal a baby later.....this is a situation where the women actually believe they are pregnant and the baby is already inside them......next time no out of point from you....

14. dat hausa girl that blogs17 December 2013 at 23:21

This one na serious gobe.

15. This happened to a colleague of mine. She had been trying for a baby for a while. Andnthen she finally got preg. All the signs, tummy was getting big, and like 8mths into it, she went for normal pre natal and was told no baby inside.

Too shocking. I really think its psychological. God help us

Na my colleague for lagos o

1. Nigerians sha! How can a woman not see her period nd wait till 8mth b4 going to see a doctor? Dat colleague of urs needs help o cos once I guilty of sex nd I miss my peroid d first tin I do is to see a doctor nd even if he confirms me pregnant we still run a scan. Abeg which part of lagos ur frd frm??? Lol

16. So same way you can convince your body it is pregnant and it displays all the symptoms of pregnancy, then same we should be able to heal our bodies from any ailments.

17. Okkkkkkk! Chai #Olodo mode......

I haff join the two together. i byn go school before o!

At this particular junction, Make I jus go sleep. Be like my eyes no de connect wetin i read to my brain.

#fatigue! Una goodnight

18. Funny how these cases mostly happen in Brazil. Her baby was most likely stolen don't believe those doctors one bit. No wonder my friend always has her mum present in the delivery room with her for all her pregnancies

19. False/fanthom or hysterical pregnancy is often purely psychological, but it is mostly caused as a result of some changes in the ENDOCRINE SYSTEM of the body which causes SECRETION of HORMONES that results into physical changes that are quite similar to those of a pregnant woman.
    Paragon7ven.

20. False/fanthom or hysterical pregnancy is often purely psychological, but it is mostly caused as a result of some changes in the ENDOCRINE SYSTEM of the body which causes SECRETION of HORMONES that results into physical changes that are quite similar to those of a pregnant woman.
    Paragon7ven.

21. 1st time commenter.SDKers welcome me abeg.show some love

22. I believe this story oo. Its real. Just. Read about it. Its not any issue of stealing baby.

23. This women think themselves to pregnancy. And the brain responds by secreting hormones.

Hmmm!!! The mind is the most powerful tool in creating ur reality.

24. Pls an obstetric ulrasound scan is less than 3k in most hosps in Naija.save urself the stress of being cut n go for one
    Cece...

25. while phantom preganancy does exist indeed,i doubt it is the case here.If the lady had an ultrasound and saw a baby girl then her baby was stolen.

26. Mrs Lagbaja from NYC18 December 2013 at 06:24

But if it's psychological wat about the ultrasounds performed on ms santos n the baby weight and measurement given to her? Which baby did they measure? I can't say the condition doesnt exist but not that point, something is just not right or where they measuring the lady's bones in da ultrasound? Hmmmm Im not convinced!wat caused her blood loss?

27. the mind is a very powerful tool.after the sun,its the greatest creation of God.dont mess with it!

28. All these babies, please stop doing ghost mode for your mothers. Ain't finding it funny.
    Thanks.

29. Story.... The one who went for scan and saw a baby gal should hold the hospital well... As long as u saw it,then it was stolen

I know a woman a was pregnant and went for a scan when she was 4months but they saw nothing,she was asked to flush her womb n she refused... Went again 6months and same story,when she was 8months,after so much prayer from church members,pastor,herself n family members,she went again and they saw her baby boy... Same place she had been going to,the des could nt figure out what happened initially.. She gave birth after 6 weeks she went for the last scan... That one what will u call it? And this happened to someone I know,not hear say

30. wonders shall never end

31. Holy Moses!!!...@i_ChoPtas_Not