Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: URINARY TRACT INFECTION......Do You Know What This Is?

Thursday, December 05, 2013

URINARY TRACT INFECTION......Do You Know What This Is?

Woman do you know anything about UTI?are you having the symptoms but self medicating for malaria and typhoid?okay read this and educate yourself and please if you are a doctor in the house help us with loose terms to describe these and how a woman can locally detect if she has one.
Are there local ways to treat UTI's without seeing a doctor?is UTI a sexually transmittable disease? are men prone to it as well?Doctors wey una oh!
Someone sent me a mail that she has UTI and has read on google but she has been tagging locally cooked herbs (agbo) and its not going away….i was like WTF?

Read this…..

A UTI is an infection in the urinary tract. Infections are caused by microbes—organisms too small to be seen without a microscope. Bacteria* are the most common cause of UTIs. Normally, bacteria that enter the urinary tract are quickly removed by the body before they cause symptoms. But sometimes bacteria overcome the body’s natural defenses and cause infection.Most UTIs are not serious, but some infections can lead to serious problems. Chronic kidney infections—infections that recur or last a long time—can cause permanent damage, including kidney scars, poor kidney function, high blood pressure, and other problems. Some acute kidney infections—infections that develop suddenly—can be life threatening, especially if the bacteria enter the bloodstream, a condition called septicemia.

You should see your health care provider if you have any of these signs or symptoms:
  • a burning feeling when you urinate
  • frequent or intense urges to urinate, even when you have little urine to pass
  • pain in your back or side below the ribs
  • cloudy, dark, bloody, or foul-smelling urine
  • fever or chills .....culled

97 comments:

1. Tract not track

1. Omo! D first time I wld ever hv any pain in my V was ds infection! Jeez,just can't forget it. Started by peeing on my body n other annoyin symptoms. Was so scared I thot it was smthn else. Had to get some antibiotics n after 4 days,I was free. Wasn't a good experience at all.

2. D above tohtoh looked like an ova used tokunbo.looked quite unattractive

3. Ova used tokunbo???from a simple diagram! Mshewww must u talk

2. Its very important for women to pay utmost attention to their body! Go for general test every 3months!
    Prevention is better dan cure!
    Lmao @uti!
    Stella u eh?!

1. Asin Stella of the world,she too dey alright juh...
      Kai Stella my bf just recently had this o,omg he said he got it from a public rest room he used recently ,pls for a frmale whats the cure?both herbal and english bcs i am scared i might get it too at least from using the same toilet as him

2. Its so damn painful had it for a week nd I had fever, headache, back and side aches, cloudy urine, blood in my pee nd pain whilst passing urine. The doctor in d walk in centre gave me antibiotics for 4days nd nothing changed crazy abdominal pain mehn had to go to minor injuries department and they got a doctor on emergency call cuz dey said it had gone up to my kidneys. Worst 1 week of my life. Doc gave me another antibiotics and it worked d magic. I kinda knew what caused mine my hubby used a cock ring directly on my clitoris and d doctor said sex can also cause it.
      He advised to pee before and after sex to release bacteria trapped during sex.

3. I think that should be tract,never had it

4. I know @UTI(Alex Ekubo's girlfriend)

But for ds ''UTI'' i dont know...pls doctors in the house,,,,tell me what it is pls....thanks

1. dead comment....no humour! Plz find another hobby!...thank me later

2. Very funny, Alex's girlfriend indeed! Uti ko Nwachuckwu ni! This is a serious discussion for female "UTI"

3. Omg! Galore,I swear u don craze. Lmao ...........
      Bemi

4. Stella dont you have headache from reading this Galore's comment?pls fellow SDK lovers lets keep complaining till stella blocks his comment...he lows my IQ for real

5. @anon 11:40, galore is not a dude she's a M.I.L.F = mum I'lld love to f*ck

6. Galore u r so funny..betw I think u r a male..only males have this level of humour

7. Funny ke! Abeg don't indulge his stupidity,dead comment.

5. Its tract not track

6. M not a doctor o but Agbo ke??? Nawa o for ds pple. Cough-agbo,cattargh-agbo,fibroid-agbo,hpv-agbo,UTI-agbo! Agbo don suffer for una hand..

Ogbeni go hospital and get proper orthodox treatment before it generates to something worse.
    Agbo of life!

1. Olivia, you just cracked me up....lol

2. Lol...tel dem oooo agbo pipo(dai knw demselves)

7. Doctors in the house, pls help enlighten a sis. *chills*

8. SDK its urinary TRACT infection not TRACK biko. Oya Thank me now. It is mostly a feminine issue sha.

9. Good morning stella, I had this fever, back pain and a sharp severe pain at my left rib that won't go away. I started treating malaria but still no result. I went to d Dr after my attempt to make the well with malaria drug failed. Only to discover it was UTI and it was having effect on my kidney which was causing the pain on the left rib. I was given antibiotics and was ask to drink water like a fish to flush my system . So its not a difficult thing to cure but . We always mistake uti for malaria or thypiod cos it comes with fever.

10. Replies
    1. Anty stella my bday is comin oOo

2. Bday in dis same UTI session, nne la wa o.

11. Can urinary tract infections be prevented?
    You can help prevent these infections.

Drink lots of water every day.
    Urinate often. Do not try to hold it.
    If you are a woman, urinate right after having sex.
    Postmenopausal women may want to ask their doctors about using vaginal estrogen to prevent recurrent UTIs.

1. Talk about Honeymoon cystitis dtz d most annoying.

2. Pls wats honey moon cystitis

12. @Galore: don't mind those yabbing and complaining about your ways, u make it interesting and that's d spirit of blogging. Yeah I heard this thing can actually block the fallopian tubes and lead to barreness if not well treated.
    TRINA

13. How are they treated?
    Antibiotics prescribed by your doctor will usually cure a bladder infection. It may help to drink lots of water and other fluids and to urinate often, emptying your bladder each time.

If your doctor prescribes antibiotics, take the pills exactly as you are told. Do not stop taking them just because you feel better. You need to finish taking them all so that you do not get sick again.

14. Women tend to get more bladder infections than men. This is probably because women have shorter urethras, so it is easier for the germs to move up to their bladders. Having sex can make it easier for germs to get into your urethra.

You may be more likely to get an infection if you do not drink enough fluids, you have diabetes, or you are pregnant. The chance that you will get a bladder infection is higher if you have any problem that blocks the flow of urine from your bladder. Examples include having kidney stones or an enlarged prostate gland.

For reasons that are not well understood, some women get bladder infections again and again.

1. You sound like a medical practitioner but no offense, why is your blog name "toh toh lips"?
      It makes people take you very unseriously.....

2. Let us just say toh-toh lips is my blog persona. Lol.

3. Kkkk we v noticed u, oya take 50 naira n go buy kpof kpof

4. Anon 12:23pm didn't u learn anytin? Hmmmmm y d beef?
      Well I learnt!
      Tnx T-Tlips

15. My dear aunty Stella.keep up the good works. I love u plenty plenty.

16. @stella, everytime thanks for the correction u no dey ever make sure say u no do am again? U go still do many more mistakes wey we go correct you for ooo everytime. Anyway we dey hia n cuz we love u even when u yab us, we will continue to correct u with love.
    TRINA

17. UTI.... With the little I was taught during my IT, as a woman your hygiene is very important.
    clean underwear,
    clean toilet,
    most guys contact it from ladies so be careful,
    it can lead to infertility if not treated,
    continuous discharge with foul smell,
    lower abdominal pain,
    back pain,
    smelly and inconsistent menstrual cycle,
    very stubborn and adamant to treatment.
    urethral swab is the sample needed

1. She is correct. It swab. Getting d sample

2. Corrector it is SWAB mmeaning taking a sample from your vagina

3. Actually, it is 'swab'. You're welcome, Brown Sugar.

18. Always having urge to urinate & cld barely hold it 4 long. Can be very embarrasing though cs most times I wee on my body while on motion if d driver refuses to stop. This got most of my trousers damaged. I ad to consult a doctor wen I started feelin pain in my lower abdomen & learnt it was UTI. Got some doze of Gentamicine injection & Nitrofutamine tablet, was also adviced to drink more water & avoid sum highly concentrated citric acid drink & alcohol cs it irritates d bladder.

19. UTI is a type of disease that causes a burning sensation in the vagina when urinating, it makes one feel the urge to urinate even when there is a very small amount of urine. it causes discomfort in the stomach. a feeling like that of menstrual cramps.you can't miss signs because it is instant and get worse without adequate treatment. the use an antibiotic e.g ciprofloxacin, nitrofurantoin, ofloxacin,etc with a pain killer and buscopan. it obviously relieves you after the first dosage but its better to administer the full dosage which is for 5 days. also, ori (Shea butter) can also be applied on the vagina to reduce the redness and pain.
    Stella God bless you real good for the health awareness you bring on your blog daily.

1. Dr. Dami, please clarify a few things for me. I have just one of the symptoms mentioned here but I can't seem to hold my pee. Once I feel the need to pee, if I don't make it to the bathroom, na to pee on myself be that o. I had a child at 17 so I used to think its a mild form of VVF. My question is this: Are there mild forms of VVF? Also, what would you diagnose? UTI? What kind?

2. Shea butter of life.....if u have headache rub ori, if u have cough biko lick ori*eyesrolling

3. Mosun you should be doing kegel throughout the day. Pee and hold, pee and hold. When you are not peeing squeeze and release your vagina muscle many times daily. It will strengthen your vagina wall and muscle so you can hold your urine as long as you naturally can.

20. Anyone with this symptoms should go for urinalysis and also urine m / c / s. But if it is a guy, this symptoms stella mentioned above is caused as a result of enlargement of the prostrate gland which which results to the cancer of the prostrate gland.

21. UTI is not just a female thing !it is both genders! This occur as a result of dehydration in the body thus affecting the urine.

you get confuse,in some cases high temp.

make sure you drink lot of water and also avoid using soap down below

22. UTI is very similar to yeast infection, and i ve had both before...UTI when i was about 16, and yeast about a year ago..Both very annoying, but the itching that comes with yeast..omg.....My gyaenacologist or frauenarzt as we call it here gave me one kind pill to insert in my vagi, and that was it....

1. Please i beg you in the name of God what is the name of the pill?i have had infection for years i am tired of taking drugs please give me the name, I mean the inserting one

2. And if you do reply as I am hoping you will,I am in Nigeria let me know if i can get the drug in Nig. Thanks God bless

3. Get tiocosid or gyno darktrin or gynotiocosid.. Use d applicator and insert every night for 3days..

4. Go to a legit pharmacy and ask for monistat 7 (spell check) vaginal inserts for yeast infection or canesten vaginal (thrush) treatment also an insert. I prefer monistat though.

23. While cleaning up, please watch from front to back cos anus harbour lots of germ which can be harmful to V If washed from back to front.

24. @Trina na true u talk o! Everytime she de alwaz accept our correctnz nt mindin dat she needs 2stp makin dos mistkz..

25. After you urinate or deficate, please WIPE your vagina from

*FRONT to BACK = vagina to nyash always.

If not you will be transfering bacteria ( E.coli) from your shit to your vagina.

*Wipe Toilet seat always or bend like Beckham to do the do.

*Change your panties often

* wash vagina with soap and water only

#backtosleep

26. pls stella i have been sick for going to one month now,treating malaria and typhoid.taken lonart 2time and agumentine full dosage,i dont kown what to do.still haveing headch an fever.i dont know

1. Like stella is a doctor rite?

2. Is stella a doctor? Won't you go to the hospital and run a medical test. Foolish adult be here and be playing ten ten with your health.

3. Nd u still haven't see a medical doctor? Some of u are just funny? Hisssssssssssssssssss keep asking stella. Rubbish

27. approval my comment is very important to me

28. And its the same anus some men love to lick.. yuck!

Flawless

29. if u want to do the UTI test how and what are u going to tell d doctor.adivce plz

1. It's best to tell the doctor the symptoms u have & ow u feel. The test is Urinalysis & Urine M/C/S. Ur urine sample is required, preferably, 1st urine in d early hours of d day for best results. It takes about 48hours to get an accurate result.

30. Doctors in the house please educate me on dis --> what is the side effect of licking a pussy, bcos my bf loves to lick my pussy and he kisses me after the process(u know men now :( , and am sure he licks so many pussies too ) ...Is it possible I contact any form of disease from kissing him thereafter?

No name!

1. Yes,you may contact diseases,even HIV not from kissing,but from having sex with a guy you're sure has many sexual partners he 'goes down on' condoms or no condoms o,oral sex leads to a lot of STD's. Herpes,HEP B etc. Una no dey fear una life? Ogun state alone has 400,000 people living with HIV and this statistics is only a few days old. I know abt Ogun state cause I live there. Benue has d highest (God knows how much)

31. ikom girl in lagos5 December 2013 at 13:08

my vagina is very sensitive. as in veeerrryy verrryy sensitive. the doctor said the ph isnt balanced, so when its upset by any entry of bacteria it will revolt. lol. if i dare sit on toilet that isnt my toilet at home, i will be finished within 24 hours. at most 48 hours. all sorts of discharges, itches, burning pee, abdominal cramps will come out from nowhere. i don't even do without double condom. no matter how serious the relationship is. because man fit get all these e go hide for him body. but woman own na it go cause wahala.
    so my advice, minimize the was u use public toilets. when i was on nysc camp, i would take nylon and go to d bush. i would rather pee outside than use a toilet of even my best friend, cos u dont know who has been there. and i poo first thing in the morning, so i don't have to poo again till i get home. and if u have to use public toilet, dettol, jik, harpic, izal and a thick bed of tissue on it all, is ur best option. dont mind d money u will spend. ur health is safer.
    then stop sleeping with different ppl. if u want to do without, both of u should run some tests and take medications oohh. but me, i no do. cos 9 days for d thief wey collect d infection, one day for the owner wey carry am come.
    stella baby *mwaaah!*

1. Why did you give us all the gory details? Very disgusting! Please keep your experience to yourself. Nansense!

32. I had UTI while I was pregnant,it was like hell. The pain was something else,especially while I was urinating. I didn't register for ante natal on time,went to d pharmacy to complain,they wouldn't give me any drug because I was just 8weeks gone. I drank water a lot. 2weeks later I lost the pregnancy. If u feel like urinating don't hold back,drink lots of water.

33. stella post my comment oooooooooooooooo

34. how can we tell d doctor dat u want to do d UTI test.i dont know what is worng wit me,treating malaria and typhoid for going to one month now,taken lonart full dosage two times and agumentine.but still having headach and fever inside my body.what will i do?

35. The answer my dears is cranberry. Cranberry juice, extract, pills whatever. It makes the pH in the area uninhabitable for all these mene mene AND is natural too. I gat the BEST tohtoh cos of my CRANBERRY..Hehe he

1. Im on it thanks

2. Pls wats cranberry nd where can I geet it

36. Uti's are infections in the urinary tract.there are many cause is uti's....poor hygiene,.bacteria mostly implicated include E.COLI,enterobacters,pseudomonas.proteus,klebsilla. .most of the symptomps seen in a patient with uti wld include fever(as a result of d inflammatory process,of the body trying to fight the bacteria),loin pain(back pain)mostly @ the last rib,vaginal itching..body weakness,fatigue,lower urinary tract symptomps like: frequency(increase passage of urine,more dan 7times/day)....urgency(strong n suDden desire to urinate)...dysuria(pain during or after urination.women a more prone to developing uti,cos their urethra s short n also close to the anus.diagnosis can be confirmed,by seeing a doc,and by him ordering for a urinalysis(testing your urine)...urine mcs(checking for red blood cells n white blood cells in your urine),and also if it's positive,then a sensitivity test is done to know what antibiotic the bacteria is sensitive to.before then a broad spectrum antibiotics can be given.drugs used mainly cld either be nitrofurantoin...trimetropin sulphamethazole.note:using of herbs n leave wld nt
    cure ur uti....t wld nly aggraviate it.plz if u have any of this symptomp,plz go see a DOCTOR.thank you.

37. My own case, I dnt ve all dos signs but I urinate more often if I go nw after somtyms wud ve d urge to go again. It startd last wk. Doctors in d house any advise for me. Nid to knw wts up. Tyns

38. Ive had a UTI before and I knew that I had it even before I went to the doc. In fact, I told the doc: I have a UTI. He of course still tested me and when the results came back positive he simply handed me the antibiotics and just like
    That it was gone. I knew I had it because of the burning sensation during urination and sex was painful!

Ladies, it's very important to know our bodies and to be aware of any changes in smell, size and discharge. Have culture samples taken a few times a year just to make sure everything down there is "balanced." Also, be aware that a UTI and a yeast infection have similar symptoms. Forget self medicating and see a doc as soon as possible.

39. Urinary tract infection is an infection that affects any or all of the organs that involve urine formation and expulsion from the body,these are the kidneys,ureters,bladder,and the urethra.It affects both sexes but more common in females because of the shortness of the urethra(ie the urine outlet pipe) which makes it easier for infection to climb up from the perineum(ie the vaginal and anal region) to the bladder,ureters and then kidneys.It is caused mainly by contamination of the urinary outlet pipe eg from wiping forward after defecation,thus bring germs from the anal region to the vagina,fondling of the privates with contaminated hands or objects, and contact with unhygienic toileteries.It is not a sexually transmitted infection,but can still be gotten from such acts as fondling the clitoris with unclean hands,anal sexual act,etc.It manifests with most of the signs and symptoms already mentioned in the opening post---painful urination,frequency,urgency,loin pain,fever and malaise(fgeneral feeling of being unwell).The best approach to treatment is visiting a doctor,have a urine test done to discover the actual bacteria responsible as there are many culpable bacteria,and the best antibiotic for the implicated bacteria will be suggested from the test.Though there are some empiric antibiotics(ie effective antibiotics from experience in dealing with past patients in the same locality) that can be employed where diagnostic resources are scare,nonetheless a visit to the Dr is important and medication used judiciously for a certain period of time to avoid resistance to the antibiotic which can make full treatment difficult thereafter.Self medication is not advisable in this situation,as serious complications like septicemia (general infection of the blood),pus formation in the kidneys etc can arise if not treated well.Can't comment on the herbal medication aspect because I'm not a herbal practitioner.
    Dr.O2

40. ikom girl in lagos5 December 2013 at 15:36

@Anon #52- Aki, you are right! Cranberry has helped me. sometimes i even douche with it! yes oh.
    Another remedy is crushed garlic. My male colleague actually taught me this. U will be amazed at how much some guys know about these things. anyway, his sister is a doctor.
    take a clove or two cloves of garlic, wrap them in a handkerchief and crush them. the handkerchief soaks all d juice. then sprinkle warm water on it and use the crushed garlic in handkerchief to massage ur Vijajay. u can push it in and out if u like, and tighten ur vijayjay while doing so. this will squeeze out d juice on to the walls of ur vijayjay. U might feel a warm sensation on the garlics first contact with the walls of ur vijay. it goes as it comes. i do this immediately after my period. (im embarrased to say i keep one crushed garlic clove in there overnight, sef)
    Now, I don't know if this works for UTI or trush, but i know it helps to keep my vijay sane and stable. I also take garlic supplements that reduce yeast in the body. errr... can't remember the name, but my doctor recommended it. when i get home i will check and send it.
    See, tohtoh matter is very serious. the way i pay attention to mine ehn, u wont believe its just tohtoh. but then, i know that is all that makes me a woman. so i dont joke.
    these are my own remedies, sha.

1. Ok post the name when you get home thanks,and also what drug did you use for your infection?

2. Yoghury as well

41. ikom girl in lagos5 December 2013 at 15:43

i forgot to add.... I have a reduced amount of white blood cells (as compared to the normal qty. in the human body) so i am more likely to get infected in sensitive areas of my body. theres a name for such sickness, but i refuse to give myself that name. IJNA some of u who know the importance of white blood cells in the body and if u dont, google is ya friend. so maybe that is why my vijay catches anything that flies across. i eat healthy and take the necessary supplements. God has been good.
    please drop the cakes and ice creams. they contain lots of milk. take on fruits and veggies in their place. thank me later.

42. clean water & little disinfectant=YES
    SOAP?=NO WAY

43. clean water & little disinfectant=YES
    SOAP?=NO WAY

44. @ikom girl in lagos.....u r most definately immunosuppressed or compromise....kai leukopenia?hope u r not RV exposed?go get ya self screened if u dont knw ya status
    @chy...haba na wa u o from antimalaria to augmentin shuoo..na ppl like u dey increase incidence of drug resistance..
    .quit dis quakery n self med go see a doc n get RV screening while at it.

@all uti encompasses(pyelonephritis..pyelitis..cystitis..urethritis)...n uti can manisfest wit d ff symptoms(frequency..urgency..hesistancy..incontinence..dysuria..haematuria)...go see a GP...cos self medication may take care of d present infection n not d primary aetiology..inasmuch its an infective process uti pathophysiology involves different routes of infection..if its an obstructive lesion leadin to stasis of urine my dears dat uti would be recurrent if u dnt take care of the obstructive lesion.....health is wealth o

45. @ikom girl in lagos.....u r most definately immunosuppressed or compromise....kai leukopenia?hope u r not RV exposed?go get ya self screened if u dont knw ya status
    @chy...haba na wa u o from antimalaria to augmentin shuoo..na ppl like u dey increase incidence of drug resistance..

@all uti encompasses(pyelonephritis..pyelitis..cystitis..urethritis)...n uti can manisfest wit d ff symptoms(frequency..urgency..hesistancy..incontinence..dysuria..haematuria)...go see a GP...cos self medication may take care of d present infection n not d primary aetiology..inasmuch its an infective process uti pathophysiology involves different routes of infection..if its an obstructive lesion leadin to stasis of urine my dears dat uti would be recurrent if u dnt take care of the obstructive lesion.....health is wealth o

46. @ikom girl in lagos.....u r most definately immunosuppressed or compromised....kai leukopenia?hope u r not RV exposed?go get ya self screened if u dont knw ya status

47. cranberry. Too many bush people here. Omo ask Google

1. They are not bush. It's not common in Nigeria. I have been looking for it since I moved back.

2. Go to goodies or park and shop both on the Island don't get the one that is mixed o get the high concentrated one they usually come in a bottle not paper packed use the bottled one for more effectiveness. Natural yogot and honey taken every day is another way to keep your V smelling fresh and clean

48. Pls my fellow Sdkers, where can i get 'Fertilaid Tab' here in Lagos (Egbeda, Ikotun or Ikeja). Thank u all for ur concern.

49. ikom girl in lagos6 December 2013 at 11:37

@orela dimples- i am generally okay. yes, i have been screened and if i maintain a healthy diet, take supplemets and stick to doctor's appointments, i should reproduce more. just have to be careful when i am preggers and subject myself to less stress. which is inevitable in lagos. so, i need to marry oyibo.... hehehe.
    @Anon #94- yes, yoghurt. drinking yoghurt helps alot. i will try honey too, thanks.