Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Centenary - Rejecting A National Award...

Friday, February 28, 2014

Centenary - Rejecting A National Award...

The Kuti's ,Wole Soyinka and the Fawehinmi's recently rejected the Centenary awards  for various reasons.

Professor Wole Soyinka said that:  “I would have preferred that the entire day of infamy be ignored altogether. I’m even thinking favourably of just ignoring the obscenity, then turning up at the counter-event.”

The family of late Afro Beat legend and human activists Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, via femi said the family would not honour the awards unless the government first of all apologies for the murder of their grandmother and the burning down of their father’s house Kalakuta Republic…….The apologies never came.

The family of Late human activist and lawyer Chief Gain Fawehinmi, also rejected the award because of the inclusion of the former Nigeria head of state Ibrahim Babangida.....amongst other reasons stated.

Each time prominent citizens reject awards, they point to cause of protest, and use the publicity of that rejection to further strengthen the message of their campaign,however the excuses from the above mentioned rejections seem to be personal and do not point towards any message....well,i may be wrong.

Soyinka rejected the award on his own behalf but do you think the other two were right in rejecting the awards on behalf of the dead?

Why reject a National award when accepting it can be used as a stepping stone to get your message across?

59 comments:

1. Lolest Gobe.... If Chinua Achebe been dey alive now, em still go reject tooo... Wat a country.... Sterra plz send one of ur several seats 2 Goodluck via Abati...#alinko

1. If only the guys who call themselves our government could think straight! The flag should be flying @ half mast in honour of many of our slain brothers n sisters instead of holding a party to celebrate incompetence.

2. Halton God bless u. I concur the flag should be made to fly at half mast. Ahh there's something terribly wrong with us as individuals and as a nation. God must be angry too. I don't have anything to say, because most people have said it all. All I know is that one day, God will arise for Nigeria.

2. Stella they did well to reject d award on behalf of the dead. We all know d 2 deceased they would hv done same. The reasons they gave no matter how personal or otherwise r wot they thot their dead would hv done. It goes to show that they r still carrying on wit d gud works n names of d deceased. I think we need more of these individuals/families in Nigeria. Consistency not ass licking today u r of 1 view 2moro its another. Long live d Federal Republic of Nigeria!

3. They are not serious.....NEXT please

1. Olodo @ Lindaeze!! Ur comments r always dumb. Do u ever contribute with anything meaningful? *smh* Nne get well soon!!!

4. Stella leave yoruba people and their yeye politics o jare. Dem too do gra gra. I throughout they rejected it because of the recent occurrences in yobe and borno and not for this petty reason. IBB shouldn't be given any award tho he should be in jail. I wonder why we keep celebrating these thieves. This centenary celebration is just stupid in my IMO. The Almagation of the North and Southern Nigeria was a huge mistake and we are still struggling to get over. The whole "One Nigeria" theme is a hoax. The unity of this country is a complete joke. We are better of as different regions. "Nigeria" should be morning those slain innocent kids, everyone should be wearing black. They should be immortalised. Their lives were cut short for this hoax called Nigeria... As for whole soyinka, if Amaechi gave him the award, he wouldn't have rejected it. He is anti GEJ. It didn't come as a surprise....xoxoxo

5. I am happy we still have people who are not fazed about awards..
    I support Soyinka n Gani's rejection.
    The celebration was been celebrated with killings in Adamawa yday,slain Yobe students two days ago,and murders in Plateau this morning... It was really an infamy..

Gani's rejection was proper,Ibb? Included in the celebrations? This is a man who has ordered the killings of many Nigerians and yet he lives!

As for the Kuti family,na dem know.

6. An angry Countryman28 February 2014 at 07:40

I support their rejecting the awards . . . . . . y even are they recycling these awardees, same set of people everyday, and y d celebration after the calamity that befell the nation. i dongerit at all. this country is really annoying i swear, the things our leaders do! very appalling

7. Lady of All Fucks28 February 2014 at 07:40

What fucked up message Stella? Are you shitting me now WOMAN!!!!
    For fucks sake, take what award. From Who? The nation should be in sorrow and cancel the shit sake called an award. Children were murdered in their sleeps and our government fucking go ahead with a fucking award party?
    What the bloody fucked up piss of shit they all are.
    The Kuti's are not bastard children. Felaa would have rolled over in his grave if the award was accepted. Till his death he never wanted anything to do with them. So it must remain so.
    Soyinka? Common Stella why the fucksake should he have collected the award? Would it help our obviously fucked up nation? HELL NO!!
    The Fawehinmi's fuck sake better not be collecting any award either. Chief would have ignored it just like they did if he Ws alive.

Stella it's so obvious our president is delusional. This man is high on Cognac all day and night, and only manages to pry his eyes open for visitors and the TV.
    He's a ticking time bomb and needs to be off.
    Reno Omokri and his equally fucked up shameless counterpart Reuben Abati are both nothing but hungry slimy worms.
    The people surrounding the president are fucked up bastards!
    Oh less I forget the man am inlove with is so fucking close to the president, they both dine daily.
    He has the ears of Jonathan but had fucking not done anything about it. And now I hate him, I am bloody fucked up repulsed by him!
    Common everyone is bloody greedy! Oh I am a lady for those who think my F-word is ridiculous, I am a fucking LADY!! I am just so fucked up about our president and his gang I feel we need a Samuel Doe to wipe them all out. That includes my man. Oh yeah I was at the fucked up award too. I was fucking dragged their. Guess what was in my head the whole time, POISON! NUCLEAR WEAPON. To wipe out all these monsters.
    Put them all in a room and wipe them all. Oh including you my love! No I don't hate my man. I just hate what these greedy monsters are doing to the country.
    Children, mothers, fathers, friends, families, homeless, faceless and nameless people have been killed by these bastards called BOKO HARAM! Yet Mr president decided to go ahead with a fucked up concert!!!
    It can't be fucking worse than that.

1. Lady of all fucks,how I so love u. I said it all. I rest.

2. I share your sentiments! Yesterday I asked "A 100years of what exactly are we celebrating?". These people did the right thing! Why receive awards from mediocre people? Worse of all to be honoured along side people who have made this country the way it is? People who oppressed the masses and even imprisoned some of them! Stella sometimes your disappoint me!

3. You are so fucking right.

8. I think it's wrong to reject an award in public. Forget who the person presenting it to you is, if you think you have earned it, then go for it. Its sending a wrong message to us. I honestly don't buy this idea at all. Why not collect the award, climb the podium and say your mind? The media will eventually twist the story and no one will hear the actual message u r tryna pass. Its an award, not a gun or money to bribe you. The Kutis r joking ryt? After all the government has bin tryna do for them, I am sure even God has forgiven the perpetrators or don't they believe in God and his messages? Forgiveness is key. I am even tired of typing.

9. Stella , you got it wrong in your analysis.

If Fela and Gani fawehinmi were to be alive, they will reject the award.

So the family did the right thing.

What useless award are we sharing when our children are being killed everyday. Officials are no longer corrupt but Corruption is official.

10. Its up to the family to accept it or not,if I feel the goverment has treated my poorly I won't accept an award from them either.

11. Good morning Stella, I think they did the right thing, it's amazing how people just die in Nigeria, like I always say 'This country as a long way 2 go' God bless Nigeria

12. The Gani and Fela I read about would have rejected it anyway. I think the money and all that would be wasted on the celebrations should have been used for something that will profit all and sundry

13. Nne, I thought u said u are a journalist? Govt "apologies" abi na "apologise"? Okbye........Odinga

14. Hnmmmm Anty Stella,this is deep oh and it takes only a true disciplined believer of his or her religion to reject a national award.
    Most people who reject this awards are seen as activist and do not conform to the corruption in the system, or stand against what they preach;but rejecting an award means you do not care about it,you are not corrupt, any curse on the land doesn't concern you or your household and you totally don't want to be part of the corrupt system.
    The truth is Obasanjo was once the president of Nigeria and he had alot of friends during his regime,who also collected the centenary award and today they just live normal life's, some the curses of the land(El-rufai,FFK etc)are already affecting their brains and their household, so that's what you should keep in mind,the person honouring me with this award,the moments he steps down,am i also useless?how do my creator see this,he's he going to be happy that i also joined the corrupt practises in government, then if you have a clear heart without guilt, go for it and make your nation proud.
    Some receive these awards as breakthrough towards their carrier and their hustle,that's what poverty causes, it changes your orientation and all you think of is,how to make it and when the opportunity like receiving these awards come, you grab it.
    Children are dying and yet they honour you,not for saving the country but for giving him grand patron of your dead organisation,soon the president will end his term and what becomes of you? when the blood of those kids start war.....hehehehe!

15. With all these killings??? Soulless government with misplaced priorities!

16. Wole Soyinka though..
    LOL
    That man is a real weirdo.

17. But wot are dey honouring babaginda for? Brutality?or d atrocities he committed while in office? Abi for d innocent souls he snt to d gr8 beyond during his regime? I dnt gerrit..what a country! Na dem sabi sha..

18. I wonder o? The thing tire me sef.

19. Stella, don't say what you don't know. Their rejection isn't only for personal reasons. Fela always spoke the truth about the Govt but what did he get from them, terror! Where's the freedom of speech here? Secondly, Gani stood for Youth education. His family rejected the award because all this celebration is happening just when innocent students were killed, it contravenes Gani's message while alive. So Madam Stella, their rejection is not only for personal reasons, but also because of what they stood for!

20. *confused face* What exactly is Babangida's name doing on d list? Or is it a strategy towards 2015?? I agree wif d Gani fam if all I read about 1993 are anything to go by.

On the other hand,make una no vex oh buh I don't understand what exactly we are celebrating. Are we celebrating amalgamation of entities that should never have happened or are we celebrating d pains d amalgamation of different entities that should never have been put together is causing us???

21. This can be related to induce occ am's razor explanation of differential way of counter argumentation of reasoning which allow human to give opinion to matter base on the ground which will look favorable on their state of thinking. Leave this family alone if you can see those three family you will realise they are Yoruba's, and we don't celebrate shame in our household here, if this present government can't produce maximum security for the citizen of this country at a start don't expect the one with higher IQ to be attending one fruitful event that forever leads to doom, we nigerians need to wake up from our slumber and face this our function-less leader and let our voice be heard until then we will remain as we are.

Luda xx

22. @stella you are a coward and ass licker, you claim to unbias but you refuse to post my comment on rita dominic post. Why are you feeling despondent for her with my comment? she can be your friend, but you are not a good friend to her because if you her you would have ditch out all my advice I gave her to her. Drinking my sizzurp jejely here

Luda xx

23. AS WITTY AS Stella s BLOG IS, THERE IS ALWAYS THAT DIRTY SMEAR OF HER IGNORANCE ON MOST OF HER POSTs....PROBABLY BECAUSE SHE WRITES FIRST BEFORE THINKING MOST TIMES.

WHY WOULD ANYBODY WANT TO CELEBRATE WITH A REGIME BLIGHTED WITH CORRUPTION AND MEDIOCRITY? DOOH>>>

24. Stella most times u write so foolishly , like someone with no brains .... How can this award be used as a stepping stone??????......pls try and think before u post

25. I rejected the award too. I don't need it. People are dying n they want to give me an award? Naaah!!

26. President Goodluck Jonathan is the most heartless president so far.
    Why go on with the centenary award when innocent children have just been murdered?
    Why go on with the Centenary celebrations when innocent children abducted have not been found?
    This president just doesn't care
    He doesn't feel the pains of the citizens
    His actions speak louder than words
    What a man
    What a wicked man
    What a president!!!

27. A good way to show they stand for something ;"Justice,equity,good leadership" weither it's personal or nt...
    Nig govt has gone to far and messy..Jonathan is just suffering from effects/results of some of these thns.I pity him big deal.They've completely tied his hands.Imagine fighting a battle u did nt start.

Cry NiGERIa....CRY!!!

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

28. Wen I read d heading I actually tot they were rejecting d awards in regards to all d killings in d north or d instability of d country.....
    .abeg they shd use dis mat______________ .......wole's own was jst d funniest chai....smh

29. Stella I'm with u on this one but Lemmi sit back n read wat odas hv to say

30. Shouldn't we be ashamed of ourselves? Centenary Celebrations when nothing is working in the country and when children have joined in the death toll? I expected these people to reject the awards for national reasons and not personal reasons.
    #teamweneedachange!# and that change starts from the roots.

31. We are all entitled to our own decisions...what difference will the award make by-the-way...

32. Last nyt the idiots even threw fireworks wen I'm sure some of the boys killed in yobe aren't buried yet.

33. I don't understand why they will reject on behalf of the dead though.

34. Stella u are being biased as usual , u didn't publish the full points the fawehinmi'sfamily raised for rejecting the award. Corruption , insecurity and the rest were some of the reasons, so stop misleading pple and making it look like they all rejected the award for selfish reasons. If u like post my comment jonathan goodluck sister.

35. No be by force to accept award na wether d reason make sense or not.

CeeCee

36. Spoken like a typical Nigerian! Rejecting is the better way to go well done to them why would you dine with people who caused your family anguish please that is an insult to the memory of the dead do not make them turn in their graves. The bible asks us to forgive not forgive and be friends

37. the fawehinmis listed good reasons,not only the issue of Babangida.

38. I believe the Kutis, the Fawehinmis and Soyinka all have good reasons for rejecting the award. Note that the causes these men represent(ed) is a product of their personal convictions of what should be. Hence, the 'personal' reason for the rejecting the award. Again, I don't think protesting injustice and bad governance is a personal cause. Moreover, by rejecting it, they unwittingly draw attention to what they stand for and their unwavering belief in their struggles against the establishment.
    If they had accepted the award, it would have indicated that they have compromised their ideologies. Why lump Babangida and Abacha together with the likes of Gani, Fela and Soyinka?

39. Stella tell me why the centenary celebration should even go ahead? Not at this time at all. Any sensitive govt will rather postpone this as other pressing matters are at hand. The awards dont tally with their belief so they have the rights to turn it down.

40. Yes ooo Stella they all have personal reasons why they need an apology from a country tht hurt them personally.I actually thought this centenary finale wld hv been postponed cos of the mourning of the kids tht lost their lives if not anything.Hw can we be partying when ours enemies are attacking us.This Boko issuse shld be given top pirioty after we conquer we can then celebrate.Those hoodlums are becoming more fearless and its scary....Mrs D

41. Stella u fall my mind with this post. The whole centenary celebration is distasteful and giving awards to the likes of Abacha and babangida. How low can we sink in this country? Our thought process as a nation needs to change, we can't persist in this foolishness.

42. No more love in naija as a nation no joy no peace. Until we start loving ourselves the nation will not be good. Whether u reject or u receive na disame thing. People do not want to celebrate Naija but they are celebrating birthdays, eating food and so so much enjoyment. Apportioning blame is not a mature mind. It is only God can save us not GEJ

43. Stella, are u collecting something from Federal Government bcos i don't know why you have to post half of their speeches and labelled it personal.

Soyinka speaks
    But Professor Soyinka said: “I would have preferred that the entire day of infamy be ignored altogether. I’m even thinking favourably of just ignoring the obscenity, then turning up at the counter-event.”
    Professor Soyinka, however, said he will endeavour, to be at the centenary awards planned in London on June 27 during which diasporans will honour 100 outstanding Nigerians in the UK. At a gala dinner due to take place at Waltham Forest Town Hall in East London tagged Nigerian Centenary Awards UK, diasporans will hand out honours to 100 Nigerians who have excelled in various fields in the UK over the last 100 years.

Gani’s family
    Likewise, the family of the late human rights lawyer, Chief Gani Fawheinmi has turned down his nomination for a centenary posthumous award.
    The family cited the nomination of the former military president, General Ibrahim Babangida, for the same award, the unbridled killing of students by insurgents in the North Eastern part of the country and the incessant corruption reeking across the country, including the alleged missing of $20 billion from NNPC as reasons for rejecting the nomination.

44. Stella sometimes I wonder how literate you are!

45. Lady Of All Fucks28 February 2014 at 16:27

Thanks Ugonna Ajike, I love you too.

46. @ lady of all fucks, Apart from the F-WORDS you just said things the way i believe Nigeria should be handled with our leaders both present and past. You are truly an insider you know what u re talking about. SPOT ON.

47. Stella Akuko , you obviously no go school hence your reasoning is very questionable ......How can someone with brains do this write up , Glad to see so many sensible people calling you out on this blog .

48. Lady Of All Fucks28 February 2014 at 18:12

Jay Moore, what can I Say. I know them so much, I never use the f-word in real life, but I have to cover my ass here. I need to be different so am not caught.
    Reuben and Reno both sleep on the internet and trust me, Stella's Blog, Linda's , Olufamous (Blog Activist) are all prowled daily by these two watchdogs.
    They read your comments , all comments. And by the way, because my man is Government, I live above the poverty level, I am amongst the 1% in the world.
    However I give a lot to people and charity. I can never make it right for everyone but I pray God continues to make me an instrument of his peace.
    As for Jonathan and his cohorts FUCK YOU LOT!

49. Stella you can be silly at times. Perhaps you are one of those who will sell your soul for a mere award.

I'm suprised the Abiola's have not followed suit and rejected. It is a mockery to the likes of Gani, Fela, Abiola to have IBB and Abacha on that list. I will receive the same award as my oppressor. Mbanu. Make them carry their award go.

50. stELLA DID u drink Kai Kai b4 u POSTED this SHIT!!!

51. Lady of all fucks, you might wanna be very careful. Dont let reno trace your ip address. I love ur comment. I wish other rich people in power think like you.

1. Lady Of All Fucks2 March 2014 at 08:03

Thanks Military Kid. The very reason I can never register a blogger account. 'am a step above them. Thanks all the same.