Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Facebook Buys WhatsApp For $19 Billion

Friday, February 21, 2014

Facebook Buys WhatsApp For $19 Billion

Facebook Has bought WhatsApp for $19 billion, which includes retention bonuses.

This acquisition shows the lengths that Facebook will go to preserve their market share as the platform for the social web.

“WhatsApp is on a path to connect 1 billion people. The services that reach that milestone are all incredibly valuable,” said Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook founder and CEO. “I’ve known Jan for a long time and I’m excited to partner with him and his team to make the world more open and connected.”

40 comments:

1. Errrr am not sure I like d idea esp if fb will change stuff abt watsapp.

2. chai...now whatsapp will turn to little children playground....i just hope facebook doesnt connect ur facebook frnds to ur whatsapp frnds....it will be sooo crazy...i no want....#choco princess

3. Acquisition would be the best business strategy for facebook as new social media crop up almost everyday, facebook is fast going obsolete! Mark too the right decesion,' buy them off and u will be left with no competitor'.

4. Thank God, we probably wont ve to pay for whatsapp...

5. That is a whole lot of Money..Facebook is really a Social Media Giant..
    Stella,why did u remove the red lingerie(pants and Bra) this blog was wearing.
    Please don't leave our blog naked,get those lingerie back.

6. Madam Linda . . . . . . den u r stale? r u just hearing? ? ? ? ?

1. Pls,you people should stop mentioning my name anyhow....afi Linda

7. Ok i agree . . . . . . .

8. This what am talking about. Hustle is the motto I believe in, and creativity is the food I love most. " What you know will make you known".... Cheers. Engr E.

9. Replies
    1. Oloshi with dis ur mumu tor! Dirty egun girl!!!smthceeeeeeewwww.....

OKIJA WIFE

10. And to think the man was once a penniless immigrat; what an amazing turnaround.
    *Off to califonia for my own share, lol

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

11. C as oyibo dem de invent tins wey go beta life in general.naija de de pack money 4 dia next generation.bastards sons an daughters of a thousand fathers

12. Okay so wot are d changes we should expect? I hope u won't start chatting on fb wif whatsapp oh like they had on 2go then? Cos I won't want that @all.

13. The acquisition is yet to be made, and what's with facebook buying all these apps that won't fetch them money, first IG then whatsapp

1. Control...they want access to so much info and like you said, the issue is WHY?

14. Hmm... Okies

15. Facebook is very intrusive...no such thing as privacy.
    So they plan on extending their obsessive quest for peoples personal information to whatsapp too?
    In the past BlackBerry Messenger was encrypted on all BB phones countries fought them to a stand still so they could have access to peoples personal information...
    Suddenly Research-In-Motion stops producing old telephone models, Android phones have BBM installed on them, but now, the catch is it has to be registered with your mail address... So finally the encryption mystique is broken.

My own be say.....why is oyibo so absorbed with the "entire worlds" personal information....besides terrorism what else could it be?

1. End time things....they are pushing for a central integrated database.

16. Good to hear..first to comment this time...yippee

17. Good to hear..first to comment this time...yippee

1. You are so dense dearie...please you need an upgrade of your frontal lobe

2. Lmaaaao Orela

18. Mark in Nigeria we can't account for a missing 20billion in Nigeria, you just bought an application for 19billion in that same week,we know who owns Whatsapp,Congratulations Mark,My President has invested well.

1. I advise you visit synagogue (T.B Joshua) pretty soon
      #doctorbobby

19. That is a lot of money mehn!

20. Where is Linda here and who told you these apps don't fetch them money?

21. i heard this news last week and i was shocked. Facebook has already begun majing changes. I've had to upgrade my whatsapp recently and the fonts are smaller with notifications while you are chatting. Wonder what the other changes will be. But really facebook is becoming boring for me. I suppose Mark has to come up with a fun stragtegy.

22. Adenike idiot no you are not.

23. Mark Zuckerberg hates competition... You wanna compete? He pays you off! That's a true business man... But Mark you should know there'll always be competition. How far are you willing to go?*shrugs*
    #doctorbobby

24. Facebook has bought WhatsApp to take over our phone books. Facebook has wanted access to our phone books for years and now with WhatsApp it will scoop our phone numbers and upload them to its servers all for free.

Surveillance! Edward Snowden was right after all.

A friend on Twitter said this "Your contacts and phone book have been sold for $19 BN and you didn't get a penny."

25. Great news validating OTT communication market as it is being disrupted with new technology. No need to be a Cisco / Microsoft / AT&T to build powerful social / business communication technology anymore. There is a number of emerging platforms such as QuickBlox http://quickblox.com/, Twilio, TokBox etc enabling you to build functionality such as WhatsApp / Viber / Skype / FaceTime literally in days. We shall expect to see more success stories from the likes of WhatsApp.

26. You guys can not understand very soon whatsapp is gonna star costing more money especially in African country because here in America we pay monthly no matter how much u use.

27. Good to hear..first to comment this time...yippee