Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Toke Makinwa's Wedding Gown Designer Kumbi Contradicts Her On Moments With MO.

Wednesday, February 05, 2014

Toke Makinwa's Wedding Gown Designer Kumbi Contradicts Her On Moments With MO.

This episode of Moments with MO aired on Monday night and was replayed yesterday Tuesday february 4,2014 in the afternoon from 12:30-1:30pm
Guests list of this episode were Kumbi and Jennifer Olise 

The picture above is the babe that designed Toke Makinwa's wedding Gown and her name is Kumbi.Kumbi's brand is called APRIL BY KUMBI.

She told the Hostesses Bolanle and Dolapo that Toke called her three days to the wedding and asked her to design a wedding dress.

She said Toke called her up and said ''I'm getting married''.she asked when and Toke said ''in three days'' so she (Kumbi) had to work towards a short deadline.

BUT ……..

Toke's exact words on her surprise wedding was

"we would have loved to have all our loved ones there with us but this was our registry and so much had happened between Maje and I in the last 3 months. Plus, it was such a huge surprise, I had no clue. I hate surprises but I must say, this one knocked me out of my elements because I usually suspect something is happening. Hehehehe! I am not fully over it yet."

Isn't this somewhat a contradiction?I am not calling Toke out oh,just asking questions which need answering.

Why would Kumbi come out on TV to make such  statement contradicting her client?
Did anyone else watch? i have confirmed what Kumbi said from several others who watched the replay yesterday and are shocked to their marrow because they love Toke and feel somewhat bad that she misled the public on her supposed surprise wedding.

Hmmm...Kumbi,please next time,check with what your client says before you grant interviews referring to them because this kind of contradiction kinda makes one look like a liar....
...That said,i still  got nothing but Love forToke and i think she is a strong woman.....enough said

please feel free to correct my stupidity,naivity or foolishness on this matter.

109 comments:

1. We all knew it wasn't a surprise na. Biko let them enjoy their lives as husband and wive abeg.

1. squada30@gmail.com5 February 2014 at 10:09

Stella, actually, Kumbi just justified that Toke told the truth when she said it wasn't planned. Which bride orders for a wedding gown just 3days to her marriage? I mean, that alone explains that the whole thing was impromptu and there's no way you can start sending out invitations just 5 or 4 or 3 days to your wedding. People will be like, is she crazy? How can she notify us this late? Does she think we don't have activities to attend to? Is she trying to form A-class celeb or break a record by giving people a late invitation and yet the wedding will be star studded. She probably considered all those and decided it's best she just flows along with the surprise wind her hubby blew.

2. Stella, 3 days is a huge surprise! Who plans a wedding in that short period of time? The Naija culture l know takes at least 6 months to plan a wedding. Mine took a year from introduction to the actual day due to the large families on both sides.
      Please, they are married now. Let's leave them to enjoy their union.

3. Anon 10 09 you are intelligent, i just hate daft people,three days to a wedding is a huge surprise,who orders for a gown three days to her day

4. You are a proper human being jare! Of course 3 days notice is a HUGE surprise for a wedding! Fresh

5. squada in ur mind, you just portrayed toke's thoughts ba?

Toke e ka bo ooo

6. Naturelle Osasere5 February 2014 at 10:27

We all know toke can lie for africa,it wasn't a surprise,it was something she had desperately wanted though won't blame her who won't be at that age.

7. Exactly squada. U are very right. I personally although am not a celebrity, would also feel dat way if a supposed friend tells me about her wedding 3 days to the day. U can then imagine celebrities with their crazy schedules. It was indeed a surprise.

8. @Squada, ur comment is the best i have ever seen! U are such an intelligent person! That Toke said it came as a surprise doesnt mean she just woke up in the morning and was dragged to the altar. What she meant is that she was taken unaware. She just had little time to prepare! My own wedding is in May, and right now, everything i need for it is ready including my wedding gown. This Kumbi woman just justified what Toke said cos no bride orders her gown just 3days before the wedding. HML Toke!

9. Reason b4 posting5 February 2014 at 10:32

Yea I have d same opinion with u, cos wat else do de call impromptu, if she ordered for a wedding gown 3 days to her wedding shows she wasn't prepared. I'm sure if u want to go for a party u Wld have being preparing for wat u will wear rite form d day u got d iv

10. I agree with you @squada30. even if she knows a week before it's still a impromptu and thus took Toke by surprise. Stella pls stop being foolish and stupid. This post isnt necessary.

11. @squada... yeah you are on point,@ naturelle osasere that sounded really bitter...

12. @Squada, ur comment is the best i have ever seen! U are such an intelligent person! That Toke said it came as a surprise doesnt mean she just woke up in the morning and was dragged to the altar. What she meant is that she was taken unaware. She just had little time to prepare! My own wedding is in May, and right now, everything i need for it is ready including my wedding gown. This Kumbi woman just justified what Toke said cos no bride orders her gown just 3days before the wedding. HML Toke!

13. I BOW OOOOOO!!!
      STELLA DID U PLAN UR WEDDING IN 3 DAY???!!!

14. Aunty Stella pls use one of those your sits biko. We ain't talking of bday, it's a wedding. 3days is too much of a surprise. If u don't av any gist for us today pls go n sleep.

15. Normally I love to pick hole in MTN Toke's stories but I think Stella you are interpreting this literally 3 days is really a surprise, lets give this to her

16. Now I agree 3days is a surprise but Toke said she thought she was going to do a photo shoot on the day n it turned out to be her wedding

2. So what's the exact purpose of this post?That she called the woman three days prior should tell you that it was a surprise. What bride arranges for her wedding dress three days before the wedding? When she says surprise must it mean they only told her she was getting married that morning? Let this woman be married in peace please. And it's Kunbi, not Kumbi.

1. Exactly my dear. Just 3 days to make a wedding dress is enof surprise oooo, pls let her be. Everything must not be news. Na wa oooo.

2. Thank you Professor X! If 3 days notice is not surprise enough for you people, I don't know what is! Kmt

3. Prof X thank you o! Pple will just be looking for ways to knock Toke's hustle! Y'all shld let Toke be abeg! Kunbi did not contradict anything Toke said! E be like say Stella's comprehension of English don dey get comma

3. I knew that girl had to be lying. I mean, where did she think ahe was going with d hair, make up and dress? Common!

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

1. Nay she is not lying 3 days is a big surprise,how many months does it take people to prepare for wedding?

2. Mrs cake.. Shut the hell up!! Kunbi just confirmed that it was indeed a surprise.. It takes at least 3months to plan a tiny wedding, she ordered her dress 3days b4..how was that planned?? Mumu we not even buying ur cakes again!! Rubbish!!!

3. u r shallow. jst keep mixing your butter and sugar. if 3days isnt a surprise for a wedding to you, then ur jst clueless. do people order their wedding cakes with you 3days to their wedding?

4. What do you mean she lied?can you actually plan a wedding just 3 days into the day?IT WAS A SUPRISE TO HER,LEAVE HER ALONE.

5. Belloxi your head is dey dere

4. Next!

~JOHN OTEKE~

5. welll.....toke makinwa is not a strange to controversy, not suprised

NaijaGist without Borders

1. She actually brings about her own controversies.What's the purpose of making a wedding sound like a birthday surprise?Even the thousand missed calls after wedding was too fantastic to be true.Hope marriage will calm you down and bring you out o Lala Land?

2. Even u i tot to be very intelligent turned out to be very shallow in thinking...issorai...

3. As in....Wide Eyed's myopia just can't hide sometimes. she gets caught up in the " I must comment" Web. #sympathetic#

4. Gbam.....wide eyed you don't have to always comment......her friends told her it was a photo shoot......as for the 1000 mised calls u can bet toke would have had a lot of missed calls......and everybody including u says stuff like that....a thousand will not necessarily mean she counted up to 1000........haters leave toke alone, u all have been put to shame with her marriage don't start a new controversy where none exist

6. Ehm, i don't see any contradiction here Stella. I love you and understand the need for news.But if you hear you are getting married in 3 days , is that not a surprise? 3 days- i'm not sure that's enough time to inform the whole world. its barely time to do anything apart from your hair and nails. Even Khloe Kardashian who got married to Lamar just like that (snaps) had more than 3 days.Other brides have about a year. most a minimum of 6 months. i don't think she is liar biko. Just leave the girl. ha! is it not her life?

1. I agree with you Anon.
      Who prepares for a wedding under 3 days?
      I don't think Toke lied, I think people misunderstood her. Anyway, happy married life Toke.
      Let's all move on from all these Toke this Toke that...

2. Exactly! He must have surprised her 3 days to the date cos if she knew wouldn't she have taken care of the dress much earlier?!

3. It's very obvious that one particular person have been defending toke on this page, because the story they told everyone was that she was doing a modelling shots for a company , so please let's say the truth... The lied, pure and simple, we shouldn't sugarcoat it

Toke lied

4. @ AnonymousFebruary 5, 2014 at 1:44 PM--- and who is the they that told you she was doing a modelling shot. The Nigerian blogs or Toke herself. Toke never said herself that she was doing any modelling shots. LIB, Ladun, MissPetiteNigeria were the ones that claimed that story.

7. There's no contradiction here. 3 days is a huge surprise and a very short time to plan a wedding.

8. Hmmmm! Issorai! Toke weldone oh! I still like u sha bur pls try be easy wit d lies. Dey ain't necessary @times.#onelove#

1. How did she lie dafty...this is very simple....and this is how you know the intelligent ones, and the ones dat are stupid and approachin stupidity!

2. Ain't u obviously d daft 1 here? Must u abuse to make a point? Sleazy fool without identity. Idiot saphead..Sdk pls post ds comment oh!

9. Kunbi said 2 days. But then 2 days is short for a wedding dress to be ordered na. It's actually a surprise. Who orders fir their wedding dresses 2 days to the wedding? Abeg, cut Toke some slack jare

10. Well she actually didn't say the Registry was the surprise, now, did she? The proposal was the surprise and the very short time frame. Of course it's a surprise that the guy proposed!

1. But she had been claiming they were engaged already, even on the same show she was flashing her engagement ring. How then did the guy surprise her with a proposal again? Toke is just full of lies

11. She shouldn't have said that even if she was called!! Very unprofessional!! Namsense...

If I hear designer! see the link for the exact dress on Aliexpress!
    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Vestidos-De-Noiva-2014-New-Arrival-Sexy-Long-Sleeves-Sheer-Lace-Mermaid-Wedding-Dresses-Satin-Bridal/613731_1575757908.html?spm=5261.7121333.1996687842.69&promotionId=251087054

Who is deceiving who?

1. I swear I respect you! Chai! $143 for the dress. Abeg people no they follow celebrity hype. Normal people buy wedding dress that are more expensive than this. Let us cut our cloth according to size

2. She needs to say that cos it promotes her biz! If she can come up with such a beautiful wedding gown under such notice, then she is allowed to blow her trumpet.

12. Na wa o...whu wud I believe now

1. Because u have a dull brain u can't see that they are saying d same thing! Who gets a dress 3days to d weddn..olodo.

13. Hml toke...the most important thing is she married her heart throb,they conquered their demons and their love triumphed.regarding the contradiction,fame n celebrities show the public what they want us to see.....nt d real tin....bw if u've neva lied in ur life,cast the first stone.the story is sweeter as a suprise.#nobodyholypass#

14. what are you talking about?the reports said Toke was tricked to a fashion photoshoot and was shocked to find out it was her wedding......thats the contradiction.

1. That is what bloggers said not toke...go to her blog and read what she wrote....nonsense

2. Gtbank spot on! That's the only contradiction

15. There is no contradiction. Toke said it was a surprise and she had no clue but she never said when she got this surprise and started preparing, Maybe she got this surprise d same day she called Kunbi, 3 days before her wedding. Maybe she was not so sure of the wedding really happening for real until it did that is y she said she was surprised.
    Maybe She was uncertain and didn't want to embarrass herself again just if the groom decides not to show up, that is y she didn't invite anyone.
    Common we know women take months shopping for wedding gown, do u think if it wasn't impromptu, she wouldn't do that too, take time to find wedding gown , though she looked good.

16. Well a suprise doesn't mean it was the day of d wedding he surprised her...3 days to d wedding is enough suprise in my opinion. Tho I was like if it was a suprise, how come she had d gown ready but I thot to myself since she already prepared for the 1st weddn wen he turned her down by nt showing up hence the reason she had d gown.

Well it was still a suprise sha to her and her not invitn her pple, maybe she felt the notice was too short plus the ones wey Don Laff am b4. If na me self I won't invite pple cos she probably invited dem d 1st time and nothing happened then dude says our weddn is in 3 days I no go fit call my friends for the second time again to come cos I will still hv doubts in my head, in my mind I will just say ok oh anyhow it turns out cos I don't want disgrace for the second time. I hope u know it's same friends dat used to Laff at her, if not Hw did we hear abt him nt showing up? If ur true friends witness dat dey ought to shame for you and let it end dere rather than spread it.
    Sooo yes it was a suprise. I believe her tho not her fan just my opinion.....

17. SDK pls dont make Kumbi look bad. Toke lies a lot abeg wit her big mouth. Who cares if it was a surprise weddn. Nonsense! If u like dont publish my comment.

1. Stella,you too like to Stoke unnecessary fire .anything within a week of being informed about a wedding is a huge ass surprise. Abeg go siddon jare.

2. Dnt mind stella...with your intelligence you still someway somehow sound daft!

18. Hian..
    I fear nigerians ooo
    Kunbi na person work u name 'April'?
    Dat April dress is a copycat.
    I have d original pic worn by a white model plus d belt sef.
    D oly difference is toke's own is a short sleeve. The lace detailing n all na replica.
    If not for dis interview I wld av tot toke ordered dat dress.
    April ko, september ni.

Taking credit for anoda's sweat.

1. She gave credit oh cos I hv sn it too its bertabridal design. April wrote on her instagram 'dress inspired by bertabridal'

2. If she dd,
      Den I take back wateva I sed.
      And she dd a very good job
      Toke's dress was stunning!

3. Sad single ladies are wedding dress experts.

19. i love my @Toke....mo marra what

20. haba ,stella ,she wants a wedding gown ready in three days ,that is a surprise,your man just walk up to we getting married on wednesday just get yourself ready,and you just stood there your mouth wide open ,am i dreaming wake up toke wake up toke ,and she called kunbi and can you do this in three days ,she called her makeup artist ,stella this is serious surprise for real

21. Stella nah....she didn't contradict anyting faah,it was stil a suprise if its actualy 3 days b4 d weddin...pls leave toke alone,let ha enjoy ha marriage!

22. Designer??? Visit www.dhgate.com and order the gown . Sold by Kissbridal.LTD $166. to $179 (2014 sheer vintage lace appliqued wedding dress).

All these so called designers that keep sponging off other people's work. Please the world is now pretty small thanks to the internet.

Up WWW, keep exposing the liars.

23. stella get a life.. stop making news out of shitz.. how z dz a contradiction... 3 days is still a surprise nd she misled nobody.. itz her life.. let her live it.. live and let live...

24. But she made it sound as if she had no CLUE abt d wedding
    Making it look as if she's going For a photo shoot
    It's not a surprise biko
    She's has always known abt the Wedding
    Toke pls stop contradicting urself
    U too talk.

1. Bloggers came up with the photoshoot story....go to tomez blog and read her tale...stella get a laif..

2. Toke is here commenting and replying to everyone as she always does. Everyone knows she was lying. Toke could not afford a wedding to compare with the likes of Tiwa and Lola so she came up with a lie like she always does. She claimed that the engagement and wedding was a surprise on the same day and that her friends told her is was a photo shoot. Lie lie, one of these days she will lie her brains off.

25. Common, of course 3 days is a surprise,how many brides do you know that order a wedding dress to be made from scratch in 3 days? Most women buy/make their wedding dresses months in advance. So what's the contradiction here? Abeg,i'm not a Toke fan but let the girl breath jare

26. 3days z too small to plan a wedding........she was as stunned as stella usually is when she takes one of her numerous sits*winks*.....which bride orders her dress 3days to her wedding...and the kumbi gal doesn't have work ethics....must she spill all....well toke is married now and entitled to her private life........shiekena!

27. 3days z too small to plan a wedding........she was as stunned as stella usually is when she takes one of her numerous sits*winks*.....which bride orders her dress 3days to her wedding...and the kumbi gal doesn't have work ethics....must she spill all....well toke is married now and entitled to her private life........shiekena!

28. Reason b4 posting5 February 2014 at 10:45

Kumbi is a copy copy designer.

29. Princess Charming5 February 2014 at 10:51

Stella and sdkers, let's leave her alone abeg.... This babe has gone through a lot for the past 11years what many of us could not go through. Surprise wedding or not, the fact still remains that God gave her the man whom he has destined for her.... shiekena! There's nothing that happens in ones life that God is not awear of. For once, Let's allow her rest and enjoy her home pls.......

1. u have said it all

Leave all ds ''shoe'' shiner

Make dem dey yarn ''ikpata''

30. Stella oya na u go take back seat now biko! Three days is a huge surprise!!!

31. Stella u talk nonsense sometimes. Is three days not enough a surprise. Did u plan ur wedding in 3days? Always in a hurry to condemn pple. Take several seats joor

1. A surprise does not mean it happen on the day. It could also mean that she did not expect they will get back together and do the registry they had registered for. Then from no where the guy burst back in to ask that they go on . That could be a surprise and they did it fast before evil people like u guys can spoil it.

32. Toke! Toke! Toke! Evrywhere u go, u guys shud leave her alone jawe let's read better gist.

33. I thought she didn't know till the last minute, that is what i understood from what she wrote.

34. Stella! Wetin dis girl do you sef! E don do o! Please continue to wish her a very happy married life and let her be. We would like to read about the good things happening to her on this blog. All the best to you too.

35. ok i have heard.now i understand what she meant and i understand that the contradiction didnt come from Toke......i apologise to all her new voltrons,make una no vexs.

1. lol

We haff hear

2. Apology accepted.

I was really surprised at you but not very surprised tho.
      Sometimes its necessary to ask a second opinion before putting up a story.. It goes a lot to tell us who you are since yhur blog is very subjective. Your luvly husband would be a good idea,or any of yhur german friends..

This post wasnt just good..
      Three days?? I cant even handle two weeks..

3. You are too much Stella!!!!!!!!!

4. Love you Stella!! The fact that you even respond to our comments is amazing!

36. Abeggy Stella...whether its 2,3 days 1 week..it's still a surprise! Pple plan wedding for 1yr! And I bet I that it was Tokes husband that didnt want such drama..hence the lets marry in 3 days or leave it!! ...
    She took it....

37. Plzzz pipo it jus a registry u don nid 2 plan 2 muc 4 it...Toke is known 4 her lies stp coverin or protectin her fake lyf jus cos she wan 2 be in d news tnx.*Glad*

1. This your English is giving me a Migraine. If you are going to write the least you could do is write in proper English and not the unnecessary abbreviations.
      -- When did Please become Plzzz
      -- or People become pipo
      --or Just become jus
      --or You become u
      -- or Stop become stp
      I could go on and on but I will just stop here. Get yourself an English Tutor and save yourself the embarrassment.

2. Toke you are the one talking,save yourself the shame and stop deceiving the public...Thank me later ode.*Glad*

38. Like I said, Toke had to have known one way or d oda cos d dress n makeup were too perfect on her to be a suprise!!! So now I get it, she knew 3days beforehand... Its still a suprise... Biggg one at dat cos my dress was ready like 2months be4 my wedding and we started planning immediately after my intro in Dec for a weddin in September d followin year!!! Congrats again,Toke!May ur union be filled with happiness...

INTEGRITY

1. integrity you are plain dumb......so cos dress n makeup were perfect means it wasnt a surprise? cant deal with this retarded comment.......

39. y'all saying it 3 days is a surprise, tire me! guess una never do court marriage abi? pls Google the court marriage process before una talk....

40. y'all saying it 3 days is a surprise, tire me! guess una never do court marriage abi? pls Google the court marriage process before una talk....

41. and beside most court marriage is not done huge... so three days no biggy and for the dress, Toke is petite so she wont issues with dress size and fitting...

42. So basically Toke lied!! Please Toke stop being your own voltron on this blog; go and face your marriage! Thanks Stella for posting this story.

43. hmmmmm......toke lied...SHIKENA.she said she got to know @ d venue dat she was getting married...i guess pple r turning blind eye to d gist cuz of her age.i wish her well.

44. My question is how the registry took place cos I know u BOTH have to go register, swear oaths before the D-Day

45. Kai stellastic! Your head dei dia! When I watched this like two nights ago I remember thinking that this toke of a girl is such a liar!!!!

46. 'O' I don't think there is any thing contradicting. Toke could have been surprised by the way she was proposed to by her man , after all they have gone through a lot and she probably wasn't expecting it to happen and that could have been the surprise . Telling kunbi to make a wedding gown within 3 days speaks a lot about the circumstances surrounding her wedding. I really think it came as a surprise and the timing very short for them to be better prepared .
    chi

47. Why don't anyone think Kumbi could be the one telling the lie?

48. Didn't they swear an oath before the proper registry?

49. i just went to Bella Naija and the post said only Toke's sisters knew Maje was planning to propose and wed her on the same day. this April by Kunbi's assertion is therefore contradictory.

50. When I read this, the first question I asked myself was "where is the contradiction here"?

51. She shud share stay in marriage