Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Unemployment Rate In Nigeria Is Alarming

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Unemployment Rate In Nigeria Is Alarming

The unemployment rate in Nigeria over the years has become alarming!

Universities graduate thousands of students every year with no hope of them getting jobs..no hope for the next level.

Nigerian Immigration is supposedly holding a test today in Abuja and i hear the venue is filled to the brim,infact,so filled that there might be a stampede because everyone wants the job!

All over Nigeria,unemployed graduates litter the streets everyday looking for jobs and it doesnt look like there is any solution.
How did we get here?How can we better this?
.....And please relocating to the diaspora is not a solution because our degrees only make any meaning in Nigeria.

I dont even know what to write because i am saddened by this...Doesnt the government have any plans for creating more jobs?

Is any blog visitor at the Abuja Immigration test?Please update us if you are....

69 comments:

1. It is well even in the well.. I wish all our beautiful and handsome sdker applicants the very best, and to my wonderful cousins also.....GodspeeD!!!

We will sure get to that Bridge, and with God we shall all cross over#AMEN*

@i_ChoPtas_Not

1. Stella , I heard there was a huge crowd at the abuja stadium, supposedly those that enrolled for the test, there was a stampede, six casualities were reported, one of them is a pregnant woman, a lot sustained injury. Please check.

2. I was there oooooo, got there bfore 7, ppl were parking their cars by the road far from the stadium then walking down cos there was serious traffic, the immigration ppl r not organised and no security, I waited till 10 with my young belle wen I saw ambulance going in to carry ppl dat fainted, that was when my hubby took me back home. Aunty stella u need 2 see heavily preg women am sure som will deliver there. Some of my friends are still there

3. Amen o aunt Stella, I'm also looking for a job. D Lord is my helper.

4. Steph I just confirmed ur story now o, my friend said he saw dead bodies. Some ppl sustained various degrees of injuries. Thank God I left

5. Omo I thank God for u! I wish u a safe delivery in advance.

6. Anty stella u predicted well
      Which way nigeria

2. God bless you madam stella, God bless you! God bless you!

3. Omo dis your question go hard to answer o.
    After the exams i go con answer am for u.
    Wish mi good luck jor

4. The Ministry of Agriculture is trying hard to address this problem.

Please click on the links below to read a few success stories of youths who have embraced the initiative. I believe the answer is right within us.

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/making-a-living-from-cassava-farming/171074/

http://www.nanngronline.com/section/agriculture/dry-season-farming-creates-job-for-bauchi-youths-%E2%80%93-survey

5. The Lagos centre for the test nko na die!
    Come and see as e be like say the whole lagos assemble for the venue na. Master s degree holders, mummies and daddies sef dey there. I see one guy shoe and shorts n I come thank God for all I have
    Suffer dey o

1. Hahahaha anonymous u got me cracking. Suffer dey sha our leaders are USELESS.

6. The immigration test is not only in Abj, it's also holding in other states. Without going there sef I know that the crowd will be much because of the venues. Imagine using stadium for test. It only shows that a lot of people applied for the job. I weep for my country.

This is a BC I got concerning the exam venues:
    Immigration Exams (Sat.15th March) Venues:
    1. Abia – Ibeku High School,Umuahia2. Adamawa – Trade Fair Complex,Jalingo3. Akwa Ibom – Community CommercialSchool, Uyo4. Anambra – Nnamdi Azikiwe University,Awka5. Bauchi – Tafawa Balewa Stadium,Bauchi6. Bayelsa – Samson Siasia Stadium,Yenagoa7. Benue – IBB Square, Makurdi8. Borno – Abubakar Umar Stadium,Gombe9. Cross River – Federal GovernmentGirls’ College, Calabar10. Delta – Event Centre, Asaba11. Ebonyi – Abakiliki Stadium, Abakiliki12. Edo – Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium,Benin City13. Ekiti – Olukayode Stadium, Ado-Ekiti14. Enugu – Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium,Enugu15. FCT – National Stadium, Abuja16. Gombe – Abubakar Umar Stadium,Gombe17. Imo – Ahia Ajoku Centre, Owerri18. Jigawa – Government CommercialSecondary School, Dutse19. Kaduna – Murtala Square, Kaduna20. Kano – Sani Abacha Indoor Stadium,Kano21. Katsina – Federal College ofEducation, Katsina22. Kebbi – Haliru Abdu Stadium, BirninKebbi23. Kogi – Township Stadium, Lokoja24. Kwara – University of Illorin SportsStadium, Illorin25. Lagos – National Stadium, Surulere26. Nasarawa – College of Agriculture,Lafia27. Niger – Government Day SecondarySchool, Minna28. Ogun – Muda Lawal Stadium,Abeokuta29. Ondo – Nigerian Army Barracks,Akure30. Osun – St. Charles Technical College,Osogbo31. Oyo – Liberty Stadium, Ibadan32. Plateau – Command College, ZariaRoad, Jos33. Rivers – Liberation Stadium, PortHarcourt34. Sokoto – Immigration Command andStaff College, Sokoto35. Taraba – Township Stadium, Jalingo36. Yobe – Tafawa Balewa Stadium,Bauchi37. Zamfara – Sambo Gov’t Sec. School,Tudun Wada, Gusau.

I also learnt that the applicants have to pay some amount of money in bank and submit the teller at the exam venue. Hmmmmm!

1. And to think that all these people paid 1k each to apply.....smh. no one is accounting for dat 1k oo.

2. Sure it's not scam? They did this 2 years ago. My friend paid and was later announced that immigration service didn't authorize such payment. Naija oo, when will this be over? Smh

3. 1k to write the exam? Scam.

7. Its time we start doing something and creating job opportunities than wait for govt to do all the time.. What other sectors do govt want to open? When you say govt should do something,what really should they do? Please if you are looking for a job and its not coming forth,get something doing,learn a trade or start up something,tomorrow you would also be employing people.

1. It is so easy to tell people to learn something, some of us really want to, but where is the capital?

2. The problem is western education. In d 80s, teenage boys serve thr masters in trading and after like 5yrs,they are settled and they start thr own trade, in thr early 20s they own houses already and doing well in thr trade. D white men ve brainwashed us with thr western style, now pple pay heavily only to study chemistry education, wtf ll u get a job dat suits dat qualification. Say no to western education!! Dis is wat boko haram is supposedly fighting, although theirs is in a stupid and wicked manner

3. Anon 1:10,ahh,look for capital from friends and family and start up something,everyone must not work for someone,you can work for your self,start small and in the next 5-10years,grow and be am employer too.. Some people are not destined to work for people but for themselves..

anon 1:57,yes o. They owned so much before the age of 30. Like the likes of coscharis and ifeanyi uba. So many of them like that are pry sch drop out and they are filthy wealthy here in Nigeria.. Even some people are sec sch drop out and are among the richest in the world. Some went to uni and are not using there certificate. if I didn't get a job,I would have gotten myself something to do.

8. That's why I laugh so hard when some blog visitors tells me to go back to school.....what's the essence of going to school when you can't get a job?some graduates earn peanuts....someone is begging me to employ him as a driver which I don't even need(a graduate for that matter)....just to provide for his family....its no longer funny mehn....

1. U are right. A driver came looking for a job in my office. The guy is a graduate. Its really sad. The ones with the jobs dont even take it serious. Managing people is tough.

2. Education is not only to earn a living. ..it goes a long way and showd in the way you act and reason or even write.

3. @queenie *hugs* thanks jare been educated is priceless

4. Yeah, education is priceless but with the kind of half baked (some no even bake at all sef) graduate we have.....u will keep wondering what's happening. The education system down here is horrible..........I know a lot of people with masters that can't spell their names correctly. Linda nwanne m, biko jide nke iji.......

9. It is true that there are no jobs, give them jobs and see how wicked, dishonest and lazy most of them are ( i am talking from experience )

1. U are right dear...people are heartless...

2. God bless u my dear...you are so right. Most people want to simply swindle you without working... and when you try to ensure they earn their keep they try to frustrate your business by resigning without notice.
      Sometimes, I weep for my country as our work ethics is pathetic.

3. So true. Lazy half baked graduates ( a lo of them).

10. Farming is the answer. Get rich quick attitude of the young people make them not look that way. Some of the wealthiest people in Britain and US are farmers. In the Bible, the wealthiest people were farmers.

"Man must wack" is the saying we hear. In Nigeria there are 165 million mouths. You can never be broke. Get to work guys. At least your education taught you to write good proposals.

11. Fuck nigeria govt

Dey ar all poo

1. You are part of the problem we have in this country

2. Anon 1:05PM, do u want to spread ur mat and slip on dat big space u left??

3. I just had an invigorating bout of laughter thanks to the three of you. Still in happy tears

12. Stella, Even in Owerri presently, u need to see d number of people taking d exams. D place is also filled to the brim. I wish I could send u a picture. Yesterday was d screening exercise.

13. That is why I love little beginnings. Sell firewood, sell pure water, sell popcorn, ice cream . Teach after school lesson. Start small.

Or learn a trade like tailoring, baking or mechanic, carpenter, computer.

Being a graduate does not interfere with your abillity to do other things to make money.

Do something for yourself.

1. Stella, a lot of graduates will cuss you out for ever suggesting this

Call it pride or ego but something In the psyche of Nigerian graduates make them think such jobs are undeserving and menial jobs.

I also know graduates who follwed this path and right now own massive business empires.

As a student of the faculty of Engineering my classmates would head to sites with head pans and get menial jobs and get their fees paid.

The government will NEVER help you...they are too busy chasing their personal agenda.

Get dirty, get busy no matter how little it may seem, God will bless your hustle

2. Thanks Stella and Aku. A lot of people are looking for a specific type of job; sit in a big office and push papers. God help you if you're a small start up and you offer them a job. We convinced a cousin to employ staff at her fairly big store. Some people came in and out of the qualified we chose the person we felt needed the job most. We offered 35k upfront. A week later she left saying a graduate shouldn't work in a store not even if it is a well set up one. There are lots of lazy, unqualified ( even with a degree) people out there looking for get rich quick solutions.

14. Infact I heard from reliable source that abt 8mill pple applied for the. Job and they are. Only recruiting 4000pple!the whole stadium and citigatte area is inaccessible due to crowd and I heard 3pple have died already!to think dat we have a president dat was once shoeless?where is d hope of dis country?#smh#

15. Two people dead in Liberation staduim PH

16. Stella, I think I am beginning to get depressed due to this no job ish. I have deleted my fb account, even my bbm. I don't want to be in-touch with family and friends for now. I have started thinking of all sorts of evil. God where is your face? I need a job badly.

1. Dont do that pls. Stay connected to loved ones. You will surely get a job by his grace. Calm down pls.

2. Anon 2:31PM, my dear take it easy oo. Pls don't give up. Dere is always light at the end of d tunnel. D darkest hour is just a little before dawn. God will answer ur prayers very soon. Pls just don't loose hope and all will be well. Stay in touch with ur family and friends.

3. U ve deleted pple on fb and bbm, and u r still on gossip blog. Do something with ur BIS, start displaying stuff on ur dp for sale, ur friends and family ll buy and u can start frm thr

4. Anon 2:31 what's your educational background? Your gender? M or F? Reply

5. B.Sc university of ibadan, female

6. Forgot to add; political science, 2.2

7. There's a job opening in the experiential marketing industry. Never heard of it? Google it. If its something you'd like to give a shot pls reply . The coy is currently collecting CV's

8. Thanks Aku, God bless you...

9. If its a yes, I'm interested please let me know.

10. Send your CV to evesjade@gmail.com pls inlude your phone number..let's see how this goes..I hope u live in Lag

17. Stella pls update on this: 10 people have died in a stampede durin the immigration recruitment

18. Agriculture is one of the solution,to solve the high rate of unemployment in nigeria.

19. Hmmm, it is well

20. After paying 1000 naira they cud nt provide a conducive environment to write the test,i got the invite but refused to go.

21. Hmm Stella I was there ooo. After the incident of ppl DAT died today, the small network that was managing to enter my phone, my mum don't allow my phone rest with calls and mtn kept sending me yeye notifications via text mags. Anyhow share, I just came back home and I learnt that they have started writing the exam. If you see people ehn. Since morning fah. My shoes even spoilt sef

22. Stella my bro just came back from the test/exams he couldn't continue with the stampede and all. Pple were fainting, and i heard 2 people died in the stampede in abj. Though we are in kaduna.

23. Enugu staduim is filled to d brim,,d crowd is much,,eveytin is in God's hand,,in Him we put our trust

24. Which way nigeria

25. Ok, another set of cropers wl pass out very soon,,adding more graduates dat are looking for job,,God's watching

26. Nigerians sha I heard even people that had job applied for this immigration test again just imagine,everybody want to work with immigrations,to think that the people that will be given the employment letters are at home sleeping make me weep for this country.God knows I cnt go for such exam except I have a powerful senator helping me cos all these things are just due process they already know who they are taking in.

27. This is unbelievable...naija!

28. CNN in one of its recent broadcasts, posits that 100 million Nigerians live
    below the poverty line. The National Bureau of Statistics said over 54% of youths
    in Nigeria are jobless,while the World Bank puts the figure at 56%.

According to Dr Okonjo Iweala, the misery index increased in 2013.The consequences of this is that the Youths and Poor are becoming more susceptible to crimes .

Boko Haram, a designed tool to destabilize President Jonathan, could also have its
    roots to the Arab Spring which has been traced to Poverty and Joblessness.

According to Wole Olanipekun (SAN), former Unibadan Chancellor ……“Go to the
    Streets, …you see anger and frustration …..suffering, poverty, anguish
    and malady written boldly on the faces of several Nigerians”. Chief Mike Ozekome
    (SAN) described Youth Unemployment as the father of Boko Haram,
    Militancy, Kidnapping, Robbery etc. Jobs-4all-2017 is on the way,

1. Oga/Madam is this copy and paste?

29. I still dey vex,I never fit talk this country matter..what a failed nation!!