Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Akpabio Urges Jonathan To Sack Governors Of Terror-Plagued North-East

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Akpabio Urges Jonathan To Sack Governors Of Terror-Plagued North-East

Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom urged President Goodluck Jonathan to sack three governors of three states in Nigeria’s northeast area most plagued by terror attacks by members of Boko Haram, a militant Islamist group.

Mr. Akpabio made the suggestion at a meeting on Thursday between the president, governors of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and a few other governors deemed friendly to Mr. Jonathan.

Our correspondent learned that President Jonathan had initially invited all governors, including those of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the meeting to discuss new strategies for tackling the worsening crisis of attacks by Boko Haram. However, a few hawks close to the president, led by Governor Akpabio, prevailed on the president to exclude APC governors and meet only with PDP and a few other “loyal” governors. The source said the governor of Akwa Ibom was instrumental in making the president to rescind the invitation to the APC governors.

A source at the meeting told SaharaReporters that Mr. Akpabio, who is also the chairman of the PDP Governors' Forum, urged the president to sack the three governors in the northeast whose states are most affected by the terror attacks and to declare a total state of emergency in the three states. The governors Mr. Akpabio wants sacked are Murtala Nyako of Adamawa State, Ibrahim Geidam of Yobe State, and Kashim Shettima of Borno State.

Mr. Akpabio told Mr. Jonathan that it would also be in the best interests of the party and the president if the governors were not in office by 2015 when elections would be conducted in the country.
Our source said that some of the governors present at the meeting with the president were taken aback by Mr. Akpabio’s suggestion. He reported that the Akwa Ibom governor insisted that his suggestion reflected the views of the majority of PDP governors and stakeholders, adding that he had been mandated to push for that move. He added that Governor Segun Mimiko of Ondo State could confirm that most of the governors and political stakeholders want the president to take action against the three governors.

Mr. Akpabio stated that the sacking of the three governors now that the state of emergency is due for renewal would enable the president to appoint friendly administrators to oversee the three troubled states.
According to our source, “We were shocked when [Governor Akpabio] said that it was the position of the house that the three governors should be sacked immediately. The president asked whether that was true, but nobody said yes.”
The source said it was unclear whether President Jonathan would extend the state of emergency in the states or not, but added that the approach had failed to produce results.culled from sahara

37 comments:

1. Hmmmm. These are the true enemies of Nigeria. They will continue to make comments that exposes them. Deal With the terrorists but they rather play politics

1. Sack who, na he employ them. Lol, it should begin with those comrades he paraded as ministers.

AK

2. Stella please make research on the Supreme Court law that says women without male child can now inherited their husbands property in Igbo land and the female child now has a right to also inherited properties in Igbo
    Land. It was voided a week ago by the superme court.

3. Dunno if sackinq n replacinq will save d day. Akpabio sounded more political dan beinq qenuinely concerned with findinq a permanent cure 2dis bulshit. Wish I hv d solution 2dis menace. Tired, mtcheeeew

4. I totally agree with Obong Godswill Akpabio, the affected governors should be sacked with immediate effect cos they have failed in their capacity to move that state forward. If they even have respect for human lives they would have resigned on their own but too bad stuffs like dat is a taboo in this part of the world( selfish people)

1. Has he resigned for all the Akwa ibom state funds he's playing with? Pls.focus on the issue.This kind of advice & mentality is what brought this country to this sorry state-divided.

2. Is Calabar babe' also looking for deposits from Akpabio for dis comment? #rolls eyes#
      The statement by Akpabio is clearly self-centred and unreasonable!asking for their total sack (even if a state of emergency is to be placed on their states)is not a solution!

5. This Akpabio sef...May God help with his mouth diarrhoea.Hez an active governor but definitely talks too much.hian! In as much as hez trying to make a point he should take it easy with utterances oo.In nigeria of today, no one is untouchable....toh!

1. He is active no doubt but he should be careful what he says. Before they(BH) remember his f***up and treat it accordingly.

6. Governor Akpabio I support you whole heartedly, these governors are inept and very foolish. If they had built schools, created jobs and improved the living standards of the residents of their states and made it attractive for investment. I doubt that Boko haram would have been able to find fertile ground in those areas. We keep blaming federal government for everything for God's sake, it is a federation the states get money from the federal government what did they do with it.

Finally, these 3 fools had the audacity to accuse GEJ in their meeting with the Us national security adviser Susan Rice of sponsoring Boko Haram. That is treason against the nigerian state. We nigerians seem to forget that Jonathan is both head of government and head of state. So yes, he is a politician that can be criticised by his opponents but he is also non partisan symbol that represents the unity and prestige of Nigeria. for this governors to go outside Nigeria and defame the office of the president of the federal republic of nigeria. They should be sacked, incompetent terroristically inclined idiots. well done Akpabio for saying the truth.

1. You just said it all. Enough of sentiments and bothering abt wat pple will say. This situation requires this kind of action as stipulated by gov. Akpabio and that kind of heart too. It is high time the bull is taken by d horns. Infact he needs to kill off any1 with any atom of terrorist suspicions. Let the people cry awoof for a few days and d country gets bak to normal rather than this constant wailing of d poor masses as they are being masscred

2. You just said it all. Enough of sentiments and bothering abt wat pple will say. This situation requires this kind of action as stipulated by gov. Akpabio and that kind of heart too. It is high time the bull is taken by d horns. Infact he needs to kill off any1 with any atom of terrorist suspicions. Let the people cry awoof for a few days and d country gets bak to normal rather than this constant wailing of d poor masses as they are being masscred

7. Something drastic has to be done about those states!

8. Gbam!...Akpabio have spoken well...

9. I agree with Dr Akpabio.
    100%.
    I Pray the President listens.

10. Gov. Akpabio is really ignorant. Why would a Presjdent alienated some governors irrespective of their differences or party. A bipartisan government is always the way to do it. Why would any president excluded some governors because of their political party? Honestly I'm so shocked at Gov. Akpabio statement and it shows his level if intelligent. Wow!!! And this are the person that governs a state? Very interesting statement

1. And we see your own level of intelligence with all these gramatical blunders.Biko park well no come make my easter barbeque purge me.-If u are ask to come up with a suggestion on a way forward now u will chew ur pen,over sabi block head leave our Gorvernor alone ! ««MON AMI»»

2. Shut up! That meeting requires top most secrecy inorder to battle this torn in our country's flesh so ther shouldn't be room for sabotage which is wat APC stands for (rather than work for d good of d country, their selfish political interests is wat drives them all). The fact that this news supposely leaked to this rubbish sahara desert reporters means a saboteur still infiltrated.they shud beta flush out this person.am suspecting som1 very close to d president coz I don't understand how they shud make jonathan's daily minute live ..their only source of news

11. I think it will help though. Let power change hands in those areas and lets see what happens.

12. STELLA! Which sources? Hian! We are living in peace here in Akwa Ibom-o! Don't allow those thoughtless people to start terrorizing us please. Hian!

13. Ds ma governor go soon chop rat poison,imagine him.so he's nw d special adviser 2 d president.

14. Now we know who advices the president on so many strange things he does.Akpabio the clown!

15. What kind of Governor is this? Telling the President to fire an elected governors? The president doesn't have the power to fire an elected governor. This is why i always said that Nigeria is good to be govern by a military government. When I said this, my friends get angry but what is the difference between the way this government uses power and the way military does? Useless people that doesn't follow democracy rules. This country doesn't understand the meaning of a democratic government. This is suppose to be democratic but is far from it.

16. Okay, so who will sack the President for all the economic crimes and terrorism going on under his watch?

17. A lot of people need to read the Nigerian constitution to see what it says. Or at least the section that deals with this.

When GEJ declared a state of emergency in those states, he should have removed the Governors and appointed interim administrators.

If Akpabio is speaking constitutionally and it looks like that, then he has a point.

18. PDP-POWER DESTROY PEOPLE

19. GEJ shld have a mind of his own and shldnt be coerced by politically inclined motives into doing whatever. Since when did Akpabio become special adviser??? Can imagine wen he asked if d house had one voice concerning d sacking of d Governors no one spoke up.......mtsheeeeeew

20. Sack them and see how the country will go up in flames. What kind of governors are these?
    Definitely, leadership and wisdom is so far away from some people down there.
    Everybody keep passing the buck rather than collectively dealing with the problem.

21. You're fool he has thd right. Akpabio is right

22. Yusuf Dankanjiba21 April 2014 at 00:59

This statement has manifestated mr. Akpabio's poor understanding of the dynamism of Nigerian government and politics. This insurgency of the north east can not be eliminated by the use of coersive apparatus instead diplomatic approach should be employ. Sacking of these governors may cause:
    1. Intensify Nigerian polical dichotomy
    2. Mutual fear and suspicion
    3. Jeopardize the 2015 election
    4. Abusing the political sovereignty of these states. Etc
    Mr akpabio should learn the concept of PEACE BUILDING

23. Ignorant man, how can president Jonantan sack the govenors when he is not the one that put them in office. The govenors were elected by the people and can only be impeached. So what Akpabio is implying is that president Jonathan can remove him from office, this goes to show how much he knows about the law.

24. Akpabio av time n time shown that he's an incompertent leader. I wonder who made him pdp governors leader. That was d way he floped on d plan to remove amechi as gov form chairmanship. Keep deceiving GEJ u hear! Ur only wisdom is on bed, mugu. #SEE#

25. pass you message without calling someone ignorant. it is OBVIOUS you are the one who sounds ignorant from your illiterate comment. you can't even spell your President name's well. that is just one error there oh.

26. Ignorance reigneth. You want the president of a federation to sack elected governors. do you even understand the system you are operating in?

1. Chief of ignorant you would know now. Ode oponu.