Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nyanya Blast - Lagos NURTW Moves To Install CCTV At Motor Parks

Friday, April 25, 2014

Nyanya Blast - Lagos NURTW Moves To Install CCTV At Motor Parks

To forestall tragedies at major motor parks in Lagos, Nigeria’s commercial nerve centre, the Lagos State Chapter of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) is finalising plans to install Circuit Camera Televisions (CCTV) at its motor parks.

According to Chairman of the union, Mr. Tajudeen Agbede, security officers would, in addition be appointed for the parks, while appoint security officers would also be formally trained on best methods to secure the parks.

“The union has agreed to appoint a chief security officer in each of its units across the state to beef up security, so as to prevent such experience in Lagos,” Agbede said in reference to the blast in Nyanya Motor Park on April 14, which resulted in the death of more than 80 people and injuries to at least 124.

“We have agreed to install Circuit Camera Televisions (CCTVs) in every park in the state to ensure that we capture everything that is going on in our parks. We agreed to appoint a chief security officer in all units, who will go for security training at a government appointed centre.”
Agbede added that parks would be fenced with electric wiring, while the Lagos State Security Committee and the NURTW would periodically embark on collaborative visits to the parks to ensure compliance with the plan.

He assured the public that the union would not rest on its oars, and that despite already having metal detectors in place, extra efforts will be made to generally bolster security at the parks and specifically forestall loss of lives and property.

“As we pray for protection against bad incidents every day, we must take action on our part to guard against them,” he said, urging all members of the union to compulsorily comply with the new security directives. -saharareporters

20 comments:

1. CCTV is a great idea. All those area boys and criminals need to NOT STEAL or vandalize these equipment.

As well as installing CCTV, they should also make sure that it is being manned and monitored in real time.

I tire for the lack of security in Nigeria. Too much waste of human life. Nigeria dey fear me

- Ajala

2. Hopefully they won't be vandalised like they do vandalise street light

3. MC Oluomo,I hail ooooo.
    You still love dem actresses?

4. #Yimu!
    Dey shld beta not bother.
    Cos 2 tins are involved.
    1. Its eida the steam frm the accumulated urine in d park foggs the CCTV
    Or
    2. The CCTV itsef gets stolen.
    I know dis wan na anoda means to embezzle money.

5. Good initiative from NURTW.

Glad to see them departing from the usual Naija Reactive approach; waiting for evil to happen before taking action.

Is there a new management in NURTW? We only hear about them for dating and throwing money at actresses.

6. Nice move,d govt shd do dis for oda places not jst where it has already happened

7. Good move, they should do that immediately , no wastening of time .

8. Good. Let's hope the they have the intention and resources to monitor and maintain them.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers

9. Fashola for President!

10. If the cameras will work! I hope one thief will not put the money in one private account.

11. Everything about the nation's security is better kept secret, when you keep revealing every security move you make it gives them a step ahead of you. You install cameras at the park, what about the other places, you think they'll still go back to the park. They've got big brains too.

12. Good move,they should start as soon as possible across Nigeria not only lagos state.

13. Fashola is working,lagos state in moving.wit full support 4rm fashola it ll b done perfectly.fashola 4 president (2015).I don't no wat hold GEJ not to install it in all states.dat man is jst der 4 notting.too dull

14. NURTW are just looking for how to chop money, CCTV that they wont monitor and allow to spoil. Look at all the CCTV cameras that were installed in Lagos, some of them have fallen down and been like that for months (the one on Ikorodu road, somewhere around ojota). If they were working wouldnt they have fixed them.

Nigeria is full of problems, our security forces believe in show of force, not actual intelligence. If there was someone trained in micro expressions, he would have spotted the bomber as soon as he drove into the motor park, the human face does not lie...if you are trained you can read a persons face and tell his actions,

Our soldiers are always in pursuit of boko haram whenever they strike, they are never there on the ground.

All this violence is within a 500kilometre radius in the north. Why not have a helicopter gunship and a heavy lift helicopter that can carry about 50 troops on 24 hours standby in a forward operating base in that area. Have smaller patrols on the ground in that area. Whenever the insurgents strike, the patrols radio it in and the troops/ helicopters move and can be in that place in 30mins to 1 hour. The 50 troops are dropped at a distance to engage on the ground, while the gunship engages from the air. Instead of driving for 2 hours from the nearest base and only getting there when the insurgents have left.

A heavy lift helicopter, Chinook, costs about $15million (N3billion), Nigeria can afford a fleet of those if we can cut back on corruption, remember the new presidential jet cost about N9billion.

I cry for my country Nigeria.

1. Impressive! Do you work in military Intelligence? Maybe you could tweet this at Reuben Abati and others in the corridors of power. You never know who might take notice.

2. Gbamest comment! You are a true security analyst

15. Ok oh. EVE E UME

16. CCTV is a Good security measure but there are factors to consider in making sure its effective except its just supposed to serve as a deterrent to scare people.
    1.Power - are they battery operated or is there a steady uninterrupted power supply in that area?
    2. Need for constant monitoring and backup devices which can store recordings for at least 6months
    3. Regular maintenance and replacement of faulty devices
    4. Strategic positioning to ensure absolute coverage of the entire place -no hidden or dark corners
    Etc......
    I'm glad the government is investing in the protection of lives and properties. God will bless whoever executes the project without buying fake/inferior devices and pocketing the allocated budget.

17. Long live Fashola! Fashola for President.... He's an amazing governor...