Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Covenant University Student Allegedly Murdered By Friend In Lagos

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Covenant University Student Allegedly Murdered By Friend In Lagos

A 300 level Electrical Engineering student of the Covenant University, Otta in Ogun State, John Chinedu Okere, was murdered and left in the pool of his blood by friends,who demanded for ransom from his parents.

According to reports, Chinedu,20 left home Wednesday morning, August 6, 2014, to a Hospital in Yaba, Lagos for medical reasons and never returned.
He reportedly left home with about N6000 and that was the last time he was seen alive.

The mysterious disappearance of Chinedu caused tension as the parents ran helter-skelter in search of him to no avail.
 Family members say that one of his friends called on phone earlier that morning to tell him to meet him at an undisclosed hotel.
At about mid-day, the victim’s father,Jude Okere received an SMS notifying him that Chinedu had been kidnapped.
Later,he received a phone call from a hidden number demanding N10 million ransom for the release of his son. 

The caller allegedly threatened to kill the victim if the parents refused to comply and the line went dead.Chinedu’s father says “At about mid-day, I received an SMS that John had been kidnapped. Later, I received a phone call from a hidden number. The caller said they had my son, Chinedu and demanded N10 million as ransom threatening to kill him if we refuse to comply. Immediately, I inquired who the caller was, the line went dead. My wife and I quickly reported the case to the Divisional Police Station at Sabo, Yaba.”

After the case was reported to the Police at Sabo, Yaba, it was later transferred to the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, Ikeja the next day where investigations commenced.

It was learnt that initially when the whole issue started, the family of the victim felt it was a kidnap that would just be resolved but unfortunately, as events continued to unfold, it turned out to be a premeditated murder. Shockingly, the decomposed corpse of Chinedu was discovered in one of the rooms at ‘DE Homes Hotel’ located in Ejigbo by one of their staff, two days later.

According to reports, the Manager of the hotel went to Ejigbo Divisional Police Station on Friday August 8, 2014, to report the case of murder and investigation began.

A reliable source in the hotel told Vanguard that early Wednesday morning, the prime suspect, Okorocha Michael along with another young man simply identified as Okey, checked into the hotel with the name Christian. “He booked the room for three days with the name Christian. He claimed he was a youth corps member who wanted to write exams and would be there from that Wednesday to Friday. He also said he was expecting his Cousin to join him in the hotel.

‘After booking, Michael left his friend Okey in the hotel and returned an hour before the victim, Chinedu arrived the hotel, which was at about 3pm that day. As soon as Chinedu arrived the hotel, Michael took him to the room. We don’t know what happened inside the room. However, it was later gathered that during their stay in the room, the suspect reportedly confronted the victim on some personal issues. The confrontation eventually led to a heated argument, which later led to the suspect strangulating the victim to death. 

On Friday,a hotel staff discovered the lifeless body of the young man and alerted the police.

The 24-year-old suspect, Okorocha Michael, who was arrested on Sunday, in a friend’s house around Ajah area in Lagos,is a graduate of Lagos City Polytechnic, Ikeja and has been unemployed since he completed his youth service in February this year.

The Lagos state Police Command is currently investigating the case.

*This report is confusing..if he was strangled,where did the pool of blood come from?
*if the hotel staff heard the heated argument,why didnt they intervene but waited till Friday to discover the corpse?
*This is wickedness.young life wasted for nothing!...Anyway,Michael and whoever else that helped him MUST do time for the crime.
May God give the bereaved family strength to bear this painful loss..so sad.

70 comments:

1. Geeeeeeeezzzzzzz this bad RIp! First to comment

1. My thought exactly, confused statement from the hotel staff. May his soul rest in peace.

2. Indeed sad. They just wasted his generation. God must judge them

3. Lord have mercy

2. Amen ooooo... May God expose your killers Chinedu....... RIP son of the soil.....

1. How can it be a kidnap if Chinedu walked into the hotel himself? Or is it that they tricked him in there or something? Ihe nka di egwu! This world is wicked. Mind the company you keep! Outside my sisters, I can't boast of 5 friends and I'm totally loving it like that. Some "friends" are not it. Rip Chinedu

2. @Goodness Gracious, maybe they have killed him already and still want to collect money from his parents that's why they fake it was a kidnap

3. May his soul rest in peace. *sad face*

4. This is so sad... People are so heartless and wicked.... May God comfort the family, RIP Chinedu

5. May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort the family!

6. Ihekire Tony

Evil keep increasing in the land. Human heart is wicked.

7. Ehyaa... just 20, I guess he didn't know the kind of "Friends" he had.

8. May his soul RIP.... Wicked people everywhere.... How was he expecting a job with his kinda heart... Now the dead person can't defend himself

9. Ha!!! May God grant d bereaved family the fortitude to bear such a huge loss

10. Hotel staff rarely intervene in guests' matters, to my knowledge. At uni a friend used to get beaten black and blue by her then boyfriend but hotel staff never once said a word.

1. Abeg leave that thing.when there is an heated argument in an hotel the ideal thing is for the staff to call the police.

2. They are really not expected to intervene but only to report suspicious activities.

3. Rest in peace young one.

11. May his soul RIP!
    May his killer never know peace!
    I don't know why we can't be our brother's keeper?

12. Y are people so wicked n heartless??? Rip young man. VIVICANDY

13. Make unna dey rush convenant.
    A schl were parents send der wayward children so dey can be in school prison.
    That schl haS bad students jo
    Rip nigga
    May d culprits be repremanded.

1. Where in d write up was it stated that the killer is a convenant uni student?

2. Read from d top

3. Anon 8:17 ur an idiot!! Who's fault is it that ur father can't afford the fees.

14. @ Stella do what time? Na lie o, he should face death sentence. Let them all go like the victim. Small boys wey no know wetin life mean. So sad. Mtchewwwwwwww!

15. HMmmm nawa o, rip Chinedu. Such a young lad cut down in his prime.

16. Such a pity, a cruel world. Trust no one!

17. OMG! A 300level student?where wil his parents start from again. Its a sad thing to loose ones child. May God continue to protect us and ours
    Rest in peace young man

18. Too much wickedness in the world
    May his soul RIP

1. Conspiracy theory,
      I suspect the victim cos it might be their plan to get money from his parents go wrong
      Nevertheless, the deed is done
      Who ever do the crime should do the time! Straigt up
      No sentiment, am sorry!
      I pray God comfort the family
      RIP Chinedu

19. Too bad! Friends...! Only God knows what transpired on that day.

May God give his family the strength to bear this loss.

20. May his soul rest in peace .speachless

21. Those friends of his prolly knew his father is doing well and wud come wt the money. That's why a little secret is good sometime, even among friends. They might have increased the volume of the TV set or stuffed his mouth wt sth to prevent him frm shouting. And after killing the guy, they wud go home and sleep abi? God's anger wud locate them. RIP to the dead. May God not allow unfriendly friends near us.

22. Some human and their devil infested hearts!!! Ppl should be giving their spouses, parents, silblings a well detailed tabs on where and who they r hanging out with all the time!!! This world ,we r living in is becoming dangerous daily!! Nobody is their brother's keeper anymore!! R.I.P handsome boy!! May God console ur family and give them the brave heart to bear their loss!!!

23. Nawa sha. People please be careful some friends need 2b cut off ASAP. Off 2church. Lady koikoi

24. Hmmm it wasn't a schemozzle cus I think if it was pple might hv heard them n intervened ,it takes the luks of a conspiracy, with an in-house person in dah hotel involved, the police or anybody should stop playing guessing games n act swiftly to give the answer through autopsy. JustiCe must be served cus we might hv jux lost a president.

1. Yeah Kelvin is back!
      Where went u dis boy?
      Shebi I told u I didn't wanna find ya
      Oya do Part 2 Of Dt ur Interview

2. R.I.p to the dead.....this is so so sad....

Yay! My young boo Kelvin Happiness is back!

Kourt

3. Lol @general's wife. I salute you maam #my hands dey air ooo make I drop ham,,,i saw wah one woman wrote about us (joy isi bewaji) and I felt guilty dah I acted in d manner she portrayed dahs y I came back to rewrite my wrngs...@anony 10:28 hmmmmm lol when are u Goin to join the family(sdk) officially na....anonymous is nt meant 4 angels like u lol I know we guys lie a lot n I know I've nt seen u buh I know ure a princess oops anoda lie am sorry lemme stop b4 I continue lying.

25. yea..am confused about the strangling and pool of blood..but mehnnnn...how wicked and callous!

ok, he was killed over what now?

some people are the devil themselves.

26. Rest in peace....May God console the family.

27. This young kids of nowadays, I just don't understand them!!! U see dem walking d streets in sagged jeans piom piom!!! I jus wonder what they are looking for up n down. Just imagine ds kainda scenerio? Haaaa, I can just imagine how his dear parents are feeling right now!! Kids of nowadays should know d kind of peeps they associate with, it's very important. May his young soul rest in peace....Amen.

28. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Sad news indeed, may his soul R.I.P......

29. And d human race have crossed dat line: killing our own.and just for d fun of it!
    Sad!
    Animals don't even do that!
    May GoD console u Mr n Mrs Okere
    N ur Family...
    Can't even imagine how dis poor boy must have felt wen he realised it was a trap and his death was imminent.and from a so-called "friend"
    We just have to watch d circle we roll in...
    Be on guard all d time...
    Rest on Chinedu,rest on Dear.

1. This is what U get when both parents are busy chasing winds.
      What if d guy was in on d deal????
      What if he got jittery and wanted out????
      A lot of ??????????
      Parents need to go back to d drawing boards cos this current trend is unacceptable.husband and wife leave their homes by 5am everyday,come back by 10pm,they still use d weekend for clubbing,socialising and other mundane stuff thereby leaving their kids at d mercy of d nanny and their own little demons.

There is this family that robbers invaded their home,stole all they had,when they were leaving they told d man he would see d person that opened and gave them password codes to d doors after about 5mins they heard a gunshot,waited for a while when they were sure they hsd left only to see his supposed son that was supposed to be away @ school with balaclava,a gun,shot at close range.

30. Truly a sad incident. Rest on dear hebronite :(

31. Bad news every where RIP young man.

32. Hotel staff can't interfere in any argument unless deres a loud cry 4 help or an emergency call was made. Bt den again don't dey clean deir rooms everyda evn if d guest is still in? How come it tuk dem 2days 2 discover a lifeless body? If d room was booked wit d name 'Christian' who nw recognised one of dem as Michael Okorocha n d oda Okey? When dey were checkin out didn't d receptionist notice dey were just 2 leaving? I join stella confuse o. RIP 2 d dead.

1. U just made a valid point. I think the hotel staff is yet to say the truth.

2. Remember hotel work they do it on shifts. RIP

Mr Lyca

33. RIP!! What a world!

34. May God console his parents. This revolves around bad friends once again.

Stella, imagine hotel staff intervening in a confrontation between you and your husband or you and a friend. They cant intervene in every issue they overhear. They obviously never expected it to lead to such a fatal end.

35. Oh no...tears just trickled down my face...what a wicked world...RIP to this young soul...all those responsible must pay dearly...

36. Friends! Just imagine what the boy's parent 'd be going thru. This is so sad. RIP lil one.

37. Nawa oo this na bad thing o..I feel for the guys's parent. .those friends deserve to be lynched!

38. So sad! Is it not better to be friendless than having friends who will be one's down fall?

39. Oh dear! so sad, It is not easy for hotel staffs to just interfere like that. For those of you that keep friends please choose carefully. Never let people know your worth. R.I.P to the young man.

40. RIP Chinedu. I saw u a day b4 u were kidnapped in VGC catholic church little did I knw it was our last seeing. U were such a responsible, respectful, down to earth guy. U ar a big loss to ur parents. Ur uncle's friend whom he told of ur mum's success planned n succeeded in kidnapping n killing u. May ur kind soul hunt dem to eternity. And may d almighty God give ur family esp ur mum who has been crying uncontrollably d fortitude to bear d irreparable loss IJN. Such a wicked world!

41. Ezenwanyi you are a stupid idiot......did anything here tell u about the lifestyle of the parents? How will they monitor a son in university......check your brains before you talk......I don't see any blame with the hotel here......I have stayed in 5 star hotels and told them not to clean the room at the time they came and they can't force me.....they can stay there 2 or even 3 days and claim they don't want any cleaning.....typical naija mentality, someone dies and everybody is arrested even without asking questions........wel this is just a sad reality of the evil days we live in....May his soul rest in peace..

1. It is U who is d stupid idiot and a cretin.
      D bible says train a child d way he will go,when he grows he wont depart from it.
      What are U defending???d law will take its full course and d truth unveiled.
      It is not d sad reality of any evil days we live in,rather,it is d selfishness of parents putting filthy lucre at d expense of their children wellbeing.
      Most of d armed robbers in Nigeria are kids from well to do homes but we dont get to see them cos their oarents would ve settled d police then d police goes out raids a point,arrest then put up d same money and gun they ve used for other robbers when paraded.

Madam,go and put ur house in other lest this becomes ur fate.
      May Chinedu Rip!

42. One has to be very very careful
    This same thing almost happened to my younger brother,but tnk God for prayers,God exposed them and destroyed dia plans
    Friends here and there,abi dem dy dash money for friend mata.
    Na only me waka come for this life o. Aside my hubby,dota and sisters,I can't boast of 10 friends cos life has tot me a lot. On d day of judgement we will be judged diferrently.

Mrs Chi Ude

43. Stella let me tell you how it really happened...they tied him,slit his throat.. That was how he died(im guessing they killed him cos he could recognise them) when d police started d investigation,theywent to d useless hotel to check ttheir log, they checked in with a different name.They called the number that was written down behold its the number of a female whom the deceased family knows very well.The police confronted the woman with the number,she said she cud only remember her son coming back home one faithful day,he told her to destroy her sim but he never told her why....this one na real,my godmother is the deceased family friend.