Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Julia Roberts,Richard Gere And 'Pretty Woman' Facts.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Julia Roberts,Richard Gere And 'Pretty Woman' Facts.

Do you still watch Pretty Woman every time you need a good laugh and a good cry? here are 23 little known facts about the movie that melted so many hearts.... 

1. Pretty Woman was originally titled $3,000 (the amount Vivian was paid for the week). However, the title was confusing to the audience and they thought the movie was about a hooker on the moon.

2. Meg Ryan was their first choice to play Vivian, but she turned down the role. In fact, many other actresses were chosen before Julia Roberts, including Kim Basinger, Melanie Griffith, Sharon Stone, Michelle Pfeiffer, Heather Locklear, Diane Lane and more.

3. Julia's head was actually superimposed on body double Shelley Michelle for the Pretty Woman movie poster.

4. When Richard Gere is asking for directions in the beginning of the movie, you are actually hearing director Garry Marshall's voice because the real actor was out of the country when they had to re-film the line.

5. Next time you watch the movie, you'll notice that Vivian rarely sits down on a chair. They purposely did that to show Vivian felt more comfortable sitting on the floor or on top of furniture thanks to her profession.

6. When Edward fires Stuckey, you can see Richard Gere's tongue moving around his mouth because a crown was knocked off his molar during the scene.

7. Did you know Pretty Woman is a Disney movie? Shocking!

8. Director Garry Marshall placed his daughter in the movie. She plays the front desk clerk at the hotel.

9. All of the scenes filmed on Rodeo Drive were done on Sundays since the city has strict filming rules on that street. You can't take away their business hours during the week!

10. The Beverly Wilshire Hotel where the movie takes place used to be an Auto Speedway where cars raced. In 1928, the Beverly Wilshire Apartment Hotel opened.

11. Julia Roberts was only 22 years old when this movie released in March 1990. That month Roberts ended her relationship with Dylan McDermott and started dating Kiefer Sutherland AKA Jack Bauer.

12. Hector Elizondo, the hotel manager, and Garry Marshall have worked together on 14 different films including Georgia Rule, Beaches, and The Other Sister.

13. The original plan was to shoot the opera scene in San Francisco, however, an earthquake forced them to quickly relocate to the history museum by USC.

14. Pretty Woman was one of Hank Azaria's first movie roles ever! He played a detective in the flick, and we now know him as David on Friends and many of the voices on The Simpsons.

15. In the dinner scene when Vivian flings the snail across the room, the waiter says, "It happens all the time." Garry Marshall thought it would be fun to cast the same actor with the same line in The Princess Diaries.

16. Mistake alert! In the scene after their first night together, Julia is eating a croissant at breakfast. When they cut back to her, she is eating a pancake instead.

17. The infamous necklace scene wasn't actually planned. Julia wasn't feeling well so to make her laugh, Richard shut the case and her reaction was so perfect they kept it in the movie.

18. Julia prepared for her role as Vivian by spending two weeks at a free clinic on Hollywood Boulevard.

19. Originally, Vivian was supposed to be addicted to cocaine and part of the deal is that she isn't allowed to do drugs during the week. Also, at the end of the movie, Vivian was supposed to find Kit had overdosed on drugs while she was with Edward.

r
20. Richard Gere was actually playing the piano in the movie and he was playing a piece that he composed himself.

21. Garry Marshall's son directed the entire polo match scene in the movie.

22. During the sex scene, Julia was so nervous that a vein popped out of her forehead. Garry Marshall got into bed with her and Richard and rubbed the vein on her head until it disappeared.

23. When they filmed the scene with Julia talking about wanting to be a princess who's rescued from a tower, they still hadn't written the movie's ending where Edward "rescues" Vivian.

#internationalnewstins from yourtangonews.com

53 comments:

1. Lovely movie, I have it, notting hill and stuff, I want my kids to see these movies!

1. You're obviously 15

2. Wah ya say? Boring? I fit comot dress fight u for saying this. Here's one EPIC movie that I couldn't tell u hw many times av watched it. "Welcome to Hollywood where dreams come true". I love am dieeee. Sexy Richard n Julia. Perfect for d movie sef. E sweet die

3. Boring? Waoooooo I love and love and love pretty woman. Don't get me started. Lol. Pretty woman, set it off, and a few others that I can't do without. Yes I agree it is epic

3. Awww.... I Love Love this Movie.
    I like this stuff like this, behind the scene pictures/videos, goofs and all.
    More of these please.
    I read a review of Maleficient, Angelina Jolie used her daughter in the movie, reading what happened during filming was fun.

4. I so love the movie. I had to see it again at my boo's place. E too make sense. I also love face-off too

5. Oh,my Richard!!
    Perfect eye candy

6. Madam stellina like it or not international news is here to stay.....I can see dem enemies shaking. ...

7. I have not watch it,but will download it

8. Replies
    1. One of my best old movies. I can never get tired of watching "Pretty Woman".

9. I loooove pretty woman! One of my all time favourite movies. I watched it again last week. Every woman longs for her knight in shining armour.

10. Omg!!! I watch it all the timmeeeeeee!!!
    I love love love this movie!
    Do you remember when she went to get cloths the first time in that tush boutique and she was snobbed?? Oh when she went back,it was epic!!!

I love this line:
    Exactly hw much will u be spending in dis shop sir,profane or really offensive"...Richard Gere:Really Offensive!lol..."Pretty woman"

Thank God she was not an addict there!
    Thank God she was the one that got the role eventually biko! I loved her hair as well

Princess diaries esp the ist one was also a repeat movie for me those days...sound of music,coming to America,Scar face,the Godfather!

1. Chai Iphiee you be old girl ooo. Those movies you mentioned are included in my all time favorite collections.

2. Oh myyyy.. I love this movie. Saw it for the first time in July and I've seen it about four times since then.

I like that Julia and Richard played it, Julia is such a beautiful woman.

Thank heavens she wasn't a coke addict, woulda made the movie sadder. I really loved Richard's character Edward as well, talk about the strong, silent type. Hehe.. Richard Gere is such a hottie!

..And to think Julia dated my crush, Kiefer! Aww.. how sweet.

Pretty Woman is an amazing classic and I really dig these facts.. as long as I've seen the movie in question that is.

3. I love those parts! I also love where Richard Gere asked his ex "when you and I were dating did you speak to my secretary more than you spoke to me?' then she smiled and said "she was one of my bridesmaids" lol

11. Stella match don start!! I see Enyeama's cute smile!! My guyssssss

12. I love this. I love fact #17. I've watched the movie so many times that I now recite along so it feels good to read this!

13. Nice one Stella!
    Sure going to see the movie at my leisure.

14. I only knew fact number 2. This is one of those classics you can watch over and over. I also love the sound track.

15. Thanks Ste. I have watched the film so many times. One of my favourites. Another one is :The good, the bad and the ugly.

1. Clint eastwood can do no wrong for me when it comes to movies

2. Yes o, "The good, the bad and the ugly, Chai good old times.

16. Pretty woman, one of my best movies of all time. Can never get tired of seeing that movie, so interesting and fun too.

17. Fell in love with Richard Gere from the very first day I saw that movie..

18. Julia Robert is one actress I admire so much.

19. Pretty woman is my fave movie of all time. I can never tired of watch. My favourite scene was where she went back to the store where they refused to attend to her bcos they felt she was dressed like a tramp and couldn't afford their stuffs. The look on the attendant's face,priceless! I can never get tired of the movie.

20. Great movie. Does the Hotel still exist? Maybe I will go there for my birthday. Anyone been there?

1. Lwkmd. U dey find sdkers trouble Ehn

21. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    That film is so dope but i never knew it was released that yr.....

22. Wow! I so love that movie,Julia is still my fave actress of all time,she was perfect in the runaway bride too

23. This movie made a lot of women go into prostitution thinking they'll end up like Julia Roberts . Big fantasy .

24. Beautiful movie. I can never get tired of it.

25. I so much love pretty woman, I never get tired of watching it ...and the movies's theme song by Roxette ( lay your whisper) so nice.

26. Guess what, Pretty Woman is playing on WE at this exact moment. What a coincidence.

27. Omg!!! Pretty woman I love dat movie dat movie gave me ideas of how my prince charming would sweep me off my feet treat me lyk a queen and if eva 4 wateva reason I leave he'll get me back like a princess oh pretty woman I also fell inlove wit d theme song it must have been love by Roxette

28. i remember d theme song....pretty woman....workg down d street..pretty woman.........
    l love dis movie like kilode..watch it countless.. times..I love maid in Manhattan too by Jennifer Lopez..den runaway bride..Julia Robert too..

29. One of my favourite oldies

30. MY BEST EVER . THE MOVIE WAS AN EPIC. I LOVE JULIA ROBERT AND RICHARD GERE. THEY BEST ARE THE BEST.

31. Stella you are one intelligent woman. Did u guys see how differently she's reporting this foreign news? You are threemuch biko. Keep doing your thing and don't allow them losers to sink you to their level.

32. Èwu! Nej Which one be Lay a whisper? Ewu! Ewu! Ewu! Abeg try enlighten urself .No be by force to comment.Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!

33. Èwu! Nej Which one be Lay a whisper? Ewu! Ewu! Ewu! Abeg try enlighten urself .No be by force to comment.Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!

34. Pretty woman...walking down the street...pretty woman. I wish Julia Roberts ended up with Richard Gere in real life. He was my crush in the '90s.

Sound of music, hmmmm, another classic!
    Doh, a dear...a female dear
    Ray, a drop of golden sun
    Me, a name I call myself
    Fah, a long long way to ruuuun
    Soh, a needle pulling thread
    Lah, a note to follow soh
    Tea, I drink with German bread

That would bring us back to doh oh oh.
    Mehn! I love SOM!

35. AWWWWW. ONE OF MY FAV MOVIES OF ALL TIME