Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Are You A Virtuous Woman? - A Must Read.

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Are You A Virtuous Woman? - A Must Read.

''My mother always said to me “the bible is complete, it is a manual/guideline to live and survive in this world” I never really understood what she meant, I felt like the bible was just a big, boring, ancient book with little significance to the present world we live in. 

As i grew older, I realized something; I began to understand a thing or two about this book. This book has been in existence for as long as 350BC, yet, it is still the most sold out book in history till today. How could the bible manage to remain significant after all these years? How can we still relate to situations that happened centuries ago? I basically thought everything that was/has been invented has its time of fading away; well the bible is one that has proved me wrong. 

Drifting back to the topic of this article, I must say that I am not preaching religion or instigating religious arguments, I only want to share an inspiring chapter of the bible that I can describe as ageless. This chapter serves as a code of conduct and a secret to greatness for women of all generations, regardless of religion and the evolving process of the world today. 

This chapter is proverbs 31 citing from verse 10-31. I would highlight the main points, but if you have spare time in your hands, you could go through this chapter as well, and make your own observations. 
Proverbs 31:10-11 “who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies. The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil”

It’s clear, one of the virtues of a virtuous woman should include “trust” she should be trustworthy and accountable in everything that she does. Trust is the foundation of any successful relationship.
Proverbs 31:13-14 “she seeketh wool and flax, and worketh willingly with her hands. She is like the merchants ship; she bringeth her food from afar”
Who says as a woman, you should be tagged as a liability? 

Who says as a woman, you cannot contribute to the welfare of your family? A virtuous woman is not one who sits idle, waiting for anyone to feed and provide for her, she gets up and work with her brain and hands.
Proverbs 31:15 “she riseth also while it is yet night, and giveth meat to her household, and a portion to her maidens”

People would say “it really isn’t important for a woman to know how to cook; after all, we are in a new age” my sisters, do not be deceived, the world might be changing but certain principles remain constant. A virtuous woman must feed her family; she is expected to cater to the well being of her family.
Proverbs 31:16 “she considereth a field. And buyeth it; with the fruits of her hands, she planted a vineyard” 

It simply means a virtuous woman should possess foresight; she should have a mind to take advantage of viable opportunities, she should be a risk taker.
Proverbs 31:20 “she strecheth out her hand to the poor; yea, she reacheth forth her hands to the needy”

Now, this verse deviates from her household and herself, a virtuous woman should show compassion to the poor and needy, regardless of how little she has. The little you have to give could go a long way to blessing someone’s life.
Proverbs 31:22 “she maketh herself coverings of tapestry, her clothing is silk and purple”

Silk and purple signifies royalty, dress like a queen and you shall be seen as one. I am not talking about expensive designer clothes; I am talking about dressing appropriately and investing in your look.
Proverbs 31:23 “Her husband is known in the gates, when he sitteth among the elders of the land”

As a result of her good deeds, her husband is honoured. A virtuous woman’s life should be reflected on the people she associates with.
Proverbs 31:25-26 “strength and honour are clothing; and she shall rejoice in time to come. She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness”

Strength and honour are key attributes of a virtuous woman. As a woman you should be honourable, live a life that would inspire others. Strong women! 

Portray strength in every aspect of your life. Even the bible approves feminism. The tongue as they say is the determinant of one’s future, use your tongues wisely, speak kindly to others.

Proverbs 31:27-28 “she looketh well to the ways of her household, and eatheth not the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her”
Can you see why my dear mother told me that the bible is complete? Many of us women believe that a man should be the only provider. My friend! You’ve got to invest in yourself, get up and change your orientation, get your hands working. Feminism this, feminism that, how can you call yourself a feminist when you cannot provide for your own needs? 

You want to fix Brazilian hair, take a vacation to the Caribbean, live the luxury life, yet you sit at home and wait on miracles. Girl! Even the bible says “heaven helps those who help themselves”

No matter how little you start off with, it doesn’t matter, you will eventually grow. All you need to succeed is in your hands. Rome was not built in a day but the builders had the foresight of the Rome they wanted, they worked hard towards it and eventually great Rome became a reality.  

Beauty is not everything, in short beauty fades but the legacy you leave behind will never be forgotten. Be a queen, join your king and establish an empire. To all the single beautiful ladies out there, work hard on building yourself into a virtuous woman, the true king will find you in the midst of your discovery. It’s not easy, it is a gradual stage, but if you understand these principles and apply them, in due time ye shall be highly exalted''. 

Sent in by BV Anne Adams

106 comments:

1. Nice article, the write up is true though.

1. Nice. I try my best thru God's grace to provide for my man n dos arnd me (evn tho I dnt hav a job rite now)

2. Abeg the Bible nor send u go feed man.

3. Anne Adams, God bless u

4. Nice write up...but two thibgs...Feeding her household doesnt mean she.must do the cooking. The important thing is to ensure thats meals are available. If she cooks it herself, fine, if a cook does this it doesnt change anything. As long as she has not neglected her duty of ensuring meals are available for her household.

Secondly, please can you state the portion of the bible that says 'heaven helps those who help themselves'. Ive been looking for it actually.

Thanks.

5. Two things

6. Lovely lovely.....very lovely insight....its also one of my favorite verses of d scriptures.....May God help us women in Jesus name....

1. If it waz an Istagram fight btwn 2 celeb u ll ve time to read it

Sholamatty

2. Lol. Lemme chill here biko. Waiting for the summary *yawns*

3. Summary : Ashawo no be work...

4. I didn't read thru.
      Fromm the 2nd line,I knew it wasn't SDK or Mama Nnuku.

5. Hahahahahahaha @ anon. 16. 44. You really cracked me up.just the summary she asked for.

3. Hmmmmn nice write up. Hello BVs I've missed Dis blog

4. Who Anne Adams don help?

You people have started with this your sermon on the mount about women again.
    Are we so much a force to reckon with that you guys would not let us be?
    Churning loads of boring articles day in day out, on a supposed lifestyle we are meant to adopt.
    E don do abeg! Everybody wants to sha be noticed on this blog.
    Mschew!

1. Exactly! Tired of all these... women this women that! Haba!!!! Concentrate on the man kwanu! The more u keep writing about women and not concentrating on the male folks, the less trying women become. Yes it becomes a cheap talk.

2. I'm sure you didn't read the article at all.
      BTW, who YOU don help?

3. Quiksilver am with u on dis one. Both d writer and d poster, who of them practice what they preach? As usual Stella don't post my comment.

4. Abi my sister always writing books about how to please women

5. QuickSil babe,
      The two topics that rattles you, Virginity and Virtues(in ladies). Lolzzzzz

Why do they send you over the edge though?

6. Wat Hz d babe said wrong?? I dnt understand young girls of nowadays. If she help pple she musnt broadcast it nau. Save for d part whr she said d bible says "heaven helps those who helps themselves" which is NOT in d bible.....i think ds is a nice writeup.

7. Ure damn right. I'm tired of reading all articles left, right and centre. As 4 d notice me or I die syndrome blame it on Stella. Don't ask me why o, just look around u.

8. @iphie,quickie probably can't remember if she was ever a virgin

9. Lol@ Iphie Dearie.
      You forgot to add "Stingy men".

Hahaha

10. Quickie,chill.
      No stinginess was mentioned

5. Where in the bible did they say heaven helps those who help themselves?? Get it right o.

Anything from the bible is complete.

Provided its from God's word, its going to be the bedrock of my home. That virtuous woman??? That's who I'm going to be by his grace. Amen.

Taking an example from Martin Luther King Snr's wife, she was a perfect example, a nun turned wife. A virtuous woman is who we should all aim to be.

1. Just got to know d phrase doesn't exist in the bible!!!!
      It was made known during a convo I had with my friend about prayer and helping yourself in order 4 heaven to help u.....
      Behold she told me it was a man made phrase!

2. Heaven helps those who cannot help themselves. If u can help urself why is heaven helping u again... Get it right o

3. Wrong. What then happens to those who help themselves? Heaven abandons them?

6. My mum once gave a talk on this topic.. I was impressed.. The bible says it all..

7. All them lazy girls will come n quote 'any man that does not take care of his family is worst than an infidel' kikikiki

8. Insightful.
    Your mum is a wise woman.

9. Nice talk. I still maintain dt a woman dt knows her worth n acts it will never be abused by any man bc d man itself knows what will happen if he dares. Good write up dear, I accept 100percent.

1. Smallie, keep on fooling yourself. U must be 6 years old. Cos if u av friends or siblings who are married, u would av learnt that the men of nowadays can still mess u up, even with all your virtues. All have sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God. Getting a good man is by God's Grace and not your power

10. Thanks for this write up
    God bless you
    Too long sha
    Next time make it brief

Saw a woman this woman
    She reminded me of Okija wife
    Okija's wife is the kind of mother-in law u will greet in the morning and her reply will be like 'my daughter,oloriburuku bawo ni?not cause she hates u oo but cursing is in her dna...I love u okija wife..mmuah

11. Poster wat is d meaning of this post? I was enjoying reading it only for you to spoil it with "Heaven help those who help themselves" what sort of devilish and misleadimg quote was that? Pls get your fact right and don't add or subtract the word of God. All of my help cometh from the Lord. You can't help yourself.

12. What attribute does a virtuous man now have?

13. What of a virtuous man? Mtttsssscccchhheeeww after possessing all this qualities some men still will not appreciate it, they will still frustrate, cheat and beat the woman blue black.

14. Good write up.. I pray we dont just be readers alone but doers of his word.. Amen

15. Article on virtuos men and I will read.

16. Bible says heaven helps those who help themselves? Where was that written? My help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth.

17. Bible says heaven helps those who help themselves? Where was that written? My help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth.

1. Sincerely, I dunno why I like you Oluyomi. I just do. You are not easily rattled by negative criticism and always have something pleasant to say. You and General's wife.....I just want u to know sha #no homo....

2. General's wife goes under anonymous to say unpleasant things....don't be deceived

18. "Heaven help those who help themselves" isn't in the bible but the writer is so on point. Well said.

19. Pls oooo...It is not written in the bible that heaven helps those who helps themselves. It's not in the bible.

20. Hmmmmmm! use your tongue wisely!

21. He who finds a wife has found a good thing...

1. What about a good husband? I am truely tired of all these good girl/wife talk abegii.

22. Nice writeup....i learnt alot...but (heaven help those who help themselves) is not in the bible....thank me now

23. Please "heaven helps those who help themselves is not biblical! "... search your scriptures and tell me where it is written.

24. the bible said she giveth meat to her family. it did not say she had to cook it herself. who do you think the maidens referred there are. they are the help. or did you interprete the part about the clothes as her sewing the clothes herself. all this sermon for women sef. all this castigating feminists. show me one feminist that is a jobless sloth. All the feminists i know, married or single all are successful and provide for themselves.

25. Write up is good but the Bible doesn't say Heaven helps those who help themselves abeg o

26. God help me to be one...
    Wouldn't say I'm one right now

27. No point wasting my your virtuosity on the regular useless Naija man.
    If you are good to me,I'll be good to you.If you are wicked,I become a demon.
    Not in the bizniz of changing anyone.
    Thank you.

1. Abi o....treat me wella, I treat u wella too....the only way to be successfully married to a Nigerian man is to be a Nigerian woman...Kapish

28. Bia madam, which bible portion is the 'Heaven helps those who help themselves'

So all this intelligent write-ups are all popping up (like most women dont knw they will do these for their hubby b4 na.. mtchew) YIMU.... all because of the domestic violent threads

All these single girls trying so hard to hook suitors in this blog by siding the men in every male-related talk or discussion should b feared o... MOST of them ACTING-ADVISERS makes a very bad wife (have u heard of action speaks louder than voice).... to them.. ITS EASIER SAID THAN DONE...

You dont teach genuine love how to reciprocate where it dwells ok..

SO , STOP THE TEACHING AND PRAY U DONT WITNESS WHT IS BIGGER THAN U IN ANY RELATIONSHIP... ok

Also, pray that the holy spirit arrest ur sturbborn partner... Then and only then u will know PEACE... Umunne m...K' odi nu

1. Don't mind them. When they find themselves in a very serious situation virtue go clear comot their eye.

29. INSPIRING!

THANKS FOR SHARING

'HEAVEN HELPS THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES' NOT A BIBLE QUOTATION, CHECK IT AND THANK ME LATER.

30. Well written, BV Anne Adams but let me just state here that the Bible doesn't say "heaven helps those who help themselves." People say that and not the Bible. Apart from that, I loved your article and the part that says the Bible is still relevant!People have different philosophies these days on how women should be but God's word stands true and stands tall. Thanks for posting!

www.preciouscore.com or click my name

31. True talk, the manual of is wat i call the bible. I always say to myself you are notin less than proverb 31v10 -24 wen I'm married .Tanx for this.

32. Beautifully written. All women should make an effort to be a virtuous woman.

Click on my name for big discounts on virgin human hair.

33. THELMA ENEMUWE said..
    Kudos to the poster,,but there's a misquote from her....The phase ''heaven help those who help themselves is not in the bible,please let's be mindful of what we quote,do not add or substract from the bible...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

34. THELMA ENEMUWE said..
    Kudos to the poster,,but there's a misquote from her....The phase ''heaven help those who help themselves is not in the bible,please let's be mindful of what we quote,do not add or substract from the bible...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

35. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    For them ladies....

36. Anne Adams Lovely write up but go to Revelations and read what is says about pple adding to the bible so be careful and like the virtuous woman u just described be wise and read.
    There is no place it says in the Bible "Heaven helps those who help themselves"
    please correct me and quote it bcos pple often make this mistake

37. Darling the Bible does not say that but I get your drift. I am a feminist. The one that Naija guys cringe at with all their might because you show them their reflection in the mirror and they can't stand it. I am also a believer in the Word and I understand and recognize the place of a man in marriage! However, I believe women and men are equal. Just like you and your Boss are equal but he is your Boss, it the same thing with men and women. We get it wrong because we treat everyone we presume to be "less" than us as a lower entity but dear, you and your help are equal, you and the driver...equal, you and your employees...equal. You and your wife...equal. You just have different roles to play to make the marriage work. A true Prov 31 woman can not live with the typical African man. He is too insecure to understand that she is not contesting with him for his "manhood". It takes a special man to be with such a woman. So ladies, as you strive to be a Prov 31 woman...you should know that you might find it hard to locate a quality man. A man who will allow you to contribute to his success without being threatened. A man who will be alright with you thriving without it affecting his ego. A man who knows he is not your all in all...God is!

Single, married, divorced, widowed women...strive to be Prov 31 women. We owe it to God, ourselves, our children and society!

1. Best reply so far! Insecure men are often d bane of many a would have been successful marriages. God help us!!

38. Miss BV It's obvious you have no experience in marriage that's why you come here to write crap... You claim the wife to be virtuous take care of family bla bla bla shit yet the man will want to cheat so much to cause depression that will lead to death for the woman. Then virtuous woman will die out of being so good to a selfish idiotic husband.. If you have no idea of what' s going on in a marriage you keep shut until you get into one... Lets see how much of it you will survive when your virtuous and all your husband doe is to go round looking for everything dirty to sleep with then be a super hero by having a job and spend on yourself while the stupid man will do good in spending it on every dirty thing he sees.. BV a word is enough for the wise never believe every shit a man says to you until you hear from both sides... Have a nice day and step blessed

1. Exactly. I believe a male chavinist sent in this! Did he not read where the bible counters adultery? Did he not read where the bible tells the man to love his wife as Christ loved the church? He should also provide for his household?... If na woman send this in, Na goody two shoes wey dey horseband hunt. I know those gimmicks. Lobish

39. Do we have virtous women in this generation?

40. Miss BV It's obvious you have no experience in marriage that's why you come here to write crap... You claim the wife to be virtuous take care of family bla bla bla shit yet the man will want to cheat so much to cause depression that will lead to death for the woman. Then virtuous woman will die out of being so good to a selfish idiotic husband.. If you have no idea of what' s going on in a marriage you keep shut until you get into one... Lets see how much of it you will survive when your virtuous and all your husband doe is to go round looking for everything dirty to sleep with then be a super hero by having a job and spend on yourself while the stupid man will do good in spending it on every dirty thing he sees.. BV a word is enough for the wise never believe every shit a man says to you until you hear from both sides... Have a nice day and step blessed

41. Thelma yr head dey dia - "heaven help those who help...." isn't in the Holy Bible.

42. blessing white28 May 2015 at 17:36

Anne is a 21 year old girl, i know her, she never witness marriage yet na why she dey talk, but anyway she isnt saying anything bad, shes only talking about bible principles

43. Virtuos woman dey sweet when u meet a sane husband ,not all this mad dogs running around !!!

44. I prefer just being me as I am with all the flaws and cracks that make up my uniqueness. Nope, I am not going to work on anything more, good advice though for those who give a care.

45. "Heaven help those who help themselves" is in the Bible? Oriegwu! Madam get your facts right biko

46. Great writeup.... but the bible never says heaven helps those who helps themselves. yet to find it in scripture. its just a slogan people have continuously said over time. The bible says God blesses the work's of our hand's ..there must be a work your hand is producing to be blessed.

i love your blog Stella!

47. My first reaction after reading, was to keep my thoughts to myself, because as a SAHM and homemaker, I cannot be considered a virtuous woman according to Pro 31, but, I am getting truly wary of the burden being put on women always! Pro 31, was about a mother telling her son what he should expect from his future wife.
    Like every mother she was simply concerned only about her son's well being. Then what advice did she give her own son to be a virtuous man?

I once talked about Proverb 31 in my old rested blog, I challenged it that, it does not fit into our present day activities. For example, I lived in Mile 2//festac area and I am expected me to go down to oshodi or mile 12 to get foodstuff when Aboju/Alaba/suru markets are close by? I am expected to cater for a large household in my 2 tiny flat? Cook, clean and care for husband, children, relatives and myself? And people wonder why some wives suffer from depression? Or are not happy in their marriages? Or why the excitement fizzle out of marriage so quick?

And she had maidens ... Which I believe are househelps to do chores while she supervised and planted her 'vineyard' ... Can all wives of this era afford that? And is this scripture applicable to women living in face-me-I-kick-you homes? Is it applicable to the poor? Although, I am not earning an income ... And I am no liability btw! The pro 31 mother expects a wife who for example, works in a bank to do all she told her son? How realistic is that in 2015? She will develop HBP!

Then and Now are 2 parallel eras, so much is going on in right now globally, that everybody is glamouring for better things in their lives.

Listen, we are not helping ourselves by always wanting to pull us back, and yet, we advise women in chronicles? # Double standard?#

Sarah called Abraham, Lord, and was seen as a virtuous woman, but we forget that Abraham was a very wealthy man, who loved his half- sister completely, and Sarah had many servants to work for her, ... Can that be said for men and women of this present era?
    Nitty

48. My first reaction after reading, was to keep my thoughts to myself, because as a SAHM and homemaker, I cannot be considered a virtuous woman according to Pro 31, but, I am getting truly wary of the burden being put on women always! Pro 31, was about a mother telling her son what he should expect from his future wife.
    Like every mother she was simply concerned only about her son's well being. Then what advice did she give her own son to be a virtuous man?

I once talked about Proverb 31 in my old rested blog, I challenged it that, it does not fit into our present day activities. For example, I lived in Mile 2//festac area and I am expected me to go down to oshodi or mile 12 to get foodstuff when Aboju/Alaba/suru markets are close by? I am expected to cater for a large household in my 2 bedroom tiny flat? Cook, clean and care for husband, children, relatives and myself? And people wonder why some wives suffer from depression? Or are not happy in their marriages? Or why the excitement fizzle out of marriage so quick?

And she had maidens ... Which I believe are househelps to do chores while she supervised and planted her 'vineyard' ... Can all wives of this era afford that? And is this scripture applicable to women living in face-me-I-kick-you homes? Is it applicable to the poor? Although, I am not earning an income ... And I am no liability btw! The pro 31 mother expects a wife who for example, works in a bank to do all she told her son? How realistic is that in 2015? She will develop HBP!

Then and Now are 2 parallel eras, so much is going on right now globally, that everybody is glamouring for better things in their lives.

Listen, we are not helping ourselves by always wanting to pull us back, and yet, we advise women in chronicles? # Double standard?#

Sarah called Abraham, Lord, and was seen as a virtuous woman, but we forget that Abraham was a very wealthy man, who loved his half- sister completely, and Sarah had many servants to work for her, ... Can that be said for men and women of this present era?
    Nitty