Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Awele's Diary - Must Read Must Watch!

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Awele's Diary - Must Read Must Watch!

So much pain.....so much laughter!

RIP AWELE

''Dearest Stella, I am reaching out to you with so much pain and sadness in my heart... Can you help me make an awareness on your blog? I really need people to watch for themselves... Your blog has really helped so many in the past and its still a voice for the voiceless.. 

My friend, Ijeawele Ivie died 3 days ago, on Sunday... She died as a result of sickle cell anaemia at the age of 25 years... It all started when she was 10 years old, you can imagine all the pains she went through all her life... She didn't allow the sickness hold her back from her dreams and aspirations... She had so much hope in what she wanted in life... She knew a time like this would come but it didn't stop her from achieving her goals... 

She got her masters in oil and Gas at the age of 24.

I know you must be wondering why I need your help?! 

I need you to help make an awareness because there are so many people who disregard their genotypes before getting married or sexually involved without considering the future of their unborn kids... 

I am so hurt, even though I know she is in a better place and free from all her pains, monthly blood transfusions, needles, injections and pills but people need to be aware that putting a child's life at risk is not worth it... 

The government needs to create more awareness because so many young Nigerians die everyday due to lack of care or lack of funds... She lived her life very well with love from family and good friends... Please let's not let her dream die... Even though she lost this fight, but the truth is, she fought a good fight...

There are millions of people suffering same fate and even worse...  Please Stella, encourage Sdkers to watch and share... We can't stop the people who already have it but we can stop future mistakes...

Love goes round in a circle..It gives life and takes it if we do not make the right choices at the point when life is birthed.
We have treated the Genotype issue lots times and we will not stop until you make the right decisions...Forget love and walk out of that relationship if your pairing will birth a sickler!

Thank you for documenting your pain with Laughter so that others can learn....RIP Awele .

169 comments:

1. I have 4 friend who all married AS been AS and sofar no Ss children between them. This thing na luck ..

You can't disregard love and choose a horrible partner all blc of genotype. This thing na luck , beside we all die one day

Rip Awele

1. Her granny is the best. Lol. Rip dear. My father in law and my mother in law are both AS though dey didn't know but they had 5 healthy children. The thing be like say na luck. God guide and guard us in our decisions.

2. You are not serious o, be doing luck up and down then bring children that will come and suffer into this world. Mtchewww!

3. We all die one day but our desire is to die when we are old. If you know any person that is a sickler, you won't say this.

4. @anon 13:03
      Nawa 4 dis your analysis.
      There is nothing like luck there..
      I guess you are educated and learned?
      Make use of your senses love!

5. Very reckless advice ooooo

6. Luck has nothing to do with it.....science is there to warn us......no one should tempt fate .....how many kids do they have?...what will happen when that last one they r hoping to use to complete their family turns out to be d one......no cussing,,,just saying......RIP awele.....am sure u'll forever remain in d hearts of those who love u

7. when the crisis starts, the love will die like omo water poured on burning firewood because the stress parents of sickle cell kids go through is not here o. It takes the grace of God for them to remain strong and not blame each other. If you are AS please don't marry AS. ( Except God personally appears to you and says that is your destiny) . Forget love.

8. So you just made sense? Mtcheeew listen to yourself talk. Comparing. 1% to 99%, use ur brain. Use ur brain my friend!!!

9. We all die...luck. ..wat ever...u r daft... Y shud u gamble wt innocent ppls lives cos of luck...or bcos ..We all die...may ur genotype metamorphose to Ss. . Bitch.

10. All is luck? Ignoramus Dundee! Playing kalu kalu with your children lives! Your type frustrate the efforts of govt and NGO! Go ahead and have sicklers, then come later to SDK to beg for help. I can't just deal with morons!

11. Dis is like the 4th time am watching dis video and I jez cant stop crying..i dnt just understand..i cant stop the tears...God! Despite errfin..she still laffs..such a happy soul....u Can neva av all d problems in the world..be happy! rip awele...

2. Rip Awele, ur death reminded me once again that life is toooo short. We all love u, keep resting in perfect peace.

1. I just love her beautiful soul. RIP.

2. I'm glad I came back to watch. To think her parents were not carriers...A bit confusing. May her soul rest in peace. Amen. My cousin who has d disease just gave birth again through cs n I was like enough already. The helter skelter no be here. With all these awareness, a couple I know are both as are getting married this year. They r planning on testing foetuses. It is well. My thoughts n prayers are with Awele's family especially her brother. May God comfort them. Amen.

3. Rip Awele, ur death reminded me once again that life is toooo short. We all love u, keep resting in perfect peace.

1. RIP Awele ! We never got to meet in person but I remember how awesome you were over the phone. You are a rare gem. My thoughts go out to your family. May the good Lord grant them the fortitude to bear this loss. Adieu!

4. May her soul rest in perfect peace.

5. Rip Awele.

He who has ear, let him hear.
    Don't put God to test with hopes of miracles.
    Don't bring more Awele 's to this earth to suffer.
    Do as many tests as you can.
    Don't take his/her word for it. "All my family members are AA". MBA!!!!!
    Conduct tests!!!

6. rest in peace sis,for those that rush into marriage without knowing there genotype I pray you don't give birth to a sickler

#GODWIN™

7. Stella am rily sad even tho I Havnt watched d video! This sickle cell anaemia issue has killed soo many! And to think dat in dis modern day,so many people stil ignore d genotype issue n say God will work a miracle wen dey clearly no wot dey are gettin in2 is even sadder!! May her soul RIP

1. God will uphold n strenghten my ss friend(a BV)..if u r reading this,Oya send me a message n let's abuse eachoda again...it's been long since we did dat

8. Oh dear!
    Oh dear!
    This actually brought so much tears to my eyes.
    She looked hopeful.
    The funny faces she made, the happy go nature she had, the intelligence she possesed,

And then...
    The injections,
    The blood transfusions.

Yet she kept the smile, the hope,
    But she eventually passed.
    My God!

Please lovers do not go ahead once you find out your genotype ain't compatible.
    Save someone the pain

Lara peperempe, I love you for being strong to walk away from true love just to save an unborn from so much pain sHould he/she come forth.
    God bless you for your decision. HE will crown you with a perfect man.

This vid is so touching.

1. Bloggie it's not easy is all I can say.

I don't blame people who find it difficult to let go, that shii is frustrating, with the kind of guys outside now, I keep asking myself where they all came from. It is well...

9. R.I.P to you child. You are in a better place now.

www.askralphblog.com

10. O lord, i'm like a water fountain.....Tears, tears and more tears, such a bubbly young girl, her younger bro will be devastated to say the least....
    RIP Awele, accept her soul into heaven o Lord and grant her family the heart to bear the loss....

11. Replies
    1. You are heartless!

2. Overrated? You buffonic e-diot! Who gave this useless child access to phone? May you never get an iota sympathy in your life for this heartless painful comment. Sobs. Rip Ij

12. Hmmmmmmm.....

RIP AWELE...
    please what's the meaning of AWELE???
    I just love the sound of the name

1. It means good luck

2. Ije awele means a good/easy/sweet/enjoyable journey....Rip ije, I lost a cousin to this sickness. Your life though short was a sweet journey, the video tells it.

13. Ow so sorry for ur loss, RIP, but she for try born pikin before she die, chai so nobody to answer her name, her parents did not do well at all.

1. You are too stupid.

2. And bring another possible ss to this world? How stupid your comments are

3. Babykingsway SS is not a disease that can be transferred like that unless of course she marries a fellow SS, so she could have had healthy AS Kids IF she want to.

4. That's very insensitive of u

5. Nuvi did you not do biology? If she births a child with someone who is aa, there is still a chance the child will be ss. That is why I said 'possible' as there is no guarantee. I have known some ss carriers and only 1 survived past 24. Rest are dead, and they went through pain for years before they died. Is love truly worth it?

6. If she married AA, going with biology, she'll only have AS kids. I'm sure you sneaked out of biology classes to kiss..

7. This babakingsway na real agbekpo. Dullard.

Rip awele

14. Someone on my bbm contact put up ha pix d day she died! Very young beauriful lady. I ws lost in thought for few minutes thinking about how empty this life is.. it's so sad! May you R.I.P dear.

15. Someone on my bbm contact put up ha pix d day she died! Very young beauriful lady. I ws lost in thought for few minutes thinking about how empty this life is.. it's so sad! May you R.I.P dear.

16. RIP. AWELE!!!! YOUR LIFE WAS SHORT-LIVE buh FULLFILLED.

17. R.I.P awele.. sad story ah c natyn interesting here..

18. RIP Awele. That is how i lost my good friend in 2005 due to this ailment.

May God comfort your family and your friends that posted this.

You are a winner Awele. Death cannot hold you back from God's lovely hands.

19. Awele we never knew each other but you are and will also be an inspiration. Thank you so much

20. Awww... I really wanted to watch Her Diary affter she trended on twitter some days back, RIP Awele.
    I have a Friend with SS genotype she will be 28 soon, still pushing it, her Crises then in Uni were always heart wrenching the pain she and those around her had to go through... at least her parents had an excuse, Ignorance! 28 yrs back the awareness wasn't as widespread as it is now, yet! I saw comments like "SS o AA o who go die go die" on twitter, some said "Our ancestors didn't know this yet they were getting married...." just imagine tweets from supposedly educated individuals, and what of those that used the love card? no matter how in love you are, watching your child suffer will make you questions that foolish decision you and your spouse took and that child would hate you.
    Let's not be ignorant! We can eradicate SS forever, no your genotype, it should be one of the questions you ask on your 1st date, it won't make you come off as being desperate, if anything it would project you as careful.
    RIP Awele.

1. Well said... RIP Awele. Ignorance is no excuse

21. Oh dear!So heart broken,rip Ivie..

22. Heya! Such vibrant soul wasted! RIP Awele

23. So sad Rip awele....

24. R. I. P Awele, sure you're in a better place. This sickle cell thingy hurts a lot........ this should be an eye opener to us all......

25. I watched the video and it broke my heart. I lost a cousin to Sickle cell. I cant get over her death. I loved her so much. RIP Awele

26. RIP in peace Awele. My fellow women una don hear,dnt say becos d guy is loaded u will risk it,becos some of my fellow women luv mony pass anytin.. Abeg spare dat child d pain..there are some ailment dat mony can never heal.

27. Eeyah poor thing.
    And she remained upbeat the whole time, may she rip. At least she received the best of care till the end.
    That her brother is cute btw.

Hopefully, people asking if they should marry their partners with incompartible genotype now have the answer to their question.

28. Awwwwwwwwww so touching, thanks for sharing
    RIP Awele

29. This made me cry....rip awele

30. May her soul rest in perfect peace!

31. #Teary eyes# Rest in peace Awele, may the good Lord comfort your loved ones you left behind.

No parents pray to bury their child. Hence, people should please put sentiment and religion aside and face reality. I once spoke about this in my old blog, but some comments made me feel I was taking Tylenol for other people headache!!!

I am AS, that was one of the reason I married late , but it was worth the waiting.

Our parents of old were not aware, but now have technology at the tip of our fingers. Please let it be the first question to ask when out on a date. It is to avoid getting too involved in the relationship and finding it difficult and reluctant to let go.

Some said they will be prepared to have an expensive baby or have selective elimination. But in the same voice people still condemn abortion. Double standard in my opinion. Until you experience a crisis, you won't understand. The emotional and physical strain nko?

I am happy some churches make it mandatory before marriage. Don't take anybody's reply at face value, go to an authetic lab together and get tested.

Continue to rest in peace beautiful Awele. SIGH!
    Nitty.

32. hmmm..like as if she knew she's not gonna make it. RIP #SIPSMOETNCHANDON

33. wow, this actually brought tears to my eyes... such a cheerful soul...may her soul rest in perfect peace.

34. RIP Awele; I know you are in a happy place

35. So touching......RIP Awele

36. Wow...this brought tears to my eyes. Life is truly transient. Live life to the full and as if today is going to be the last day. She came, she saw and above all...she conquered! Never about how long you lived the years, but how well you lived the years. Rest on Awele in the bosom of the Lord!

37. So sad
    Rip awele...
    I love this name ijeawele...

38. Soo sad!
    May she rest in peace... Amen!

Ogochukwu I pity you for making the worst mistake of your life by getting married to that guy, even after you were warned by everyone not to! Even the doctor, but you insisted cos according to you "we love each other "! I pity the children you're going to bring forth into this world to suffer for your mistakes and foolishness! Msheww
    God forgive you both and save your children!!

39. Rip Namesake. Awele people always smart, beautiful Ι‘̤̈̊nd intelligent. "Ijeawele" namesake.(Safe journey).

40. Even in d midst of her pains, she ws still a lively soul.. only God knws wht her young brother must be passing thru. I had one senior in my secondary sch. Although she's still alive & in her mid 30s. Not married yet. We happen to attend same church. Everytime I see her in chrch I just hav this 'pityful' look towards her. She looks so fragile & pale but beauriful. I alws imagine the pain she must be passing thru. I've lost about 3 suitors cos of this genotype issue.. When I meet a guy who seems like he wants to get serious wit me, the 1st question I ask is his genotype. Thr ws one who pleaded that we cud be 'lucky' & nt hav a SS child. I told him guy, I bind you, pls get right behind me! The emotional & psychological trauma is outta dis world. I cnt risk it! RIP once again Awele!

41. RIP awele I'm really touched and amazed at what uve achieved in so little time no one deserves this type of pain may her gentle soul rip

42. Even in d midst of her pains, she ws still a lively soul.. only God knws wht her young brother must be passing thru. I had one senior in my secondary sch. Although she's still alive & in her mid 30s. Not married yet. We happen to attend same church. Everytime I see her in chrch I just hav this 'pityful' look towards her. She looks so fragile & pale but beauriful. I alws imagine the pain she must be passing thru. I've lost about 3 suitors cos of this genotype issue.. When I meet a guy who seems like he wants to get serious wit me, the 1st question I ask is his genotype. Thr ws one who pleaded that we cud be 'lucky' & nt hav a SS child. I told him guy, I bind you, pls get right behind me! The emotional & psychological trauma is outta dis world. I cnt risk it! RIP once again Awele!

43. Lost a cool dude to this about some years ago and dude was the only son of his parents. R.I.P Awele, God rest your soul.

44. You are a blessing Awele.

45. She's so cute, RIP darling.

46. What a PRICELESS JEWEL! I just know you are in a far more beautiful place than any living soul has ever envisioned. Continue to rest in peace. I don't know you, this is my first time hearing about you but I will always remember you. May God give your family and everyone you've left behind the grace to deal with your departure until you meet again. I am so emotional and sadden.

47. What a PRICELESS JEWEL! I just know you are in a far more beautiful place than any living soul has ever envisioned. Continue to rest in peace. I don't know you, this is my first time hearing about you but I will always remember you. May God give your family and everyone you've left behind the grace to deal with your departure until you meet again. I am so emotional and sadden.

48. I was practically in tears watching that video. She was so full of life, so happy irrespective of her situation. Lord, forgive me for ever ranting and nagging about trival issues. Go be with the Angels AWELE.

49. Awww so pathetic a loss & she was full of life & gusto, RIP Awele. Dis was how my niece feel in love wt a guy AS & she same & was adamant on marrying d guy even wen so much lecture was given to her on d consequences of dem marrying & having kids, whosai! D kind of holy ghost fire my mum rained on d relationship till God scattered it Himself & she decided to move on.

50. Eya..rip awele.lovers out there should go for test before they should even think of getting married in other to avoid putting the lives of their children in risk.because they will curse you for causing them so much pains...rest in peace awele and every other person that has died of same illness...post a free classified advert

51. I feel sad watching the video, very sad seeing a lively and happy young girl go through such terrible pain.
    Rest in peace.

52. Rest In Peace young blood. watching this video with the knowledge that this girl filled with so much life is late. May God who alone knows the mystery of consolation console her loved ones.

This hurts big time. Intending couples please do what is right for posterity sake.

53. Rest in peace Awele. My heart goes out to you and your family.

54. Rest in peace Slimzy.... always smiling regardless. we will miss u.

55. I went against my better judgement and married a man with same genotype as mine As . This so called I'm in love is highly overrated and deceptive. I was offered cvs at five months ,it was too late to abort ,went on to have my beautiful daughter ,very beautiful with long straight hair . I fell in love for the first time in my life when I met her . She was diagnosed at five months with ss ,her first blood test result went missing. My world shattered !! It came to an end that day ,I couldn't have a good nights sleep for yrs ,I became drawn ,miserable,almost mad . Her so called father that demon distanced himself from her ,he often referred to her as ur daughter . Was Neva involved in her care .so much for love . I became a prayer warrior.,I prayed and declared what I wanted over her life everyday . Her first and only crisis hit her the day she took her first step ,can Neva forget that day the pain was out of this world . I have to stop now ,it's a beautiful day outside don't want to spoil it .

1. Awwww....

It's well wit u and Ur daughter in Jesus name.amen.
      AnD GoD wil heal every aspect of Ur life that needs healing.

Be strong Darling.Be strong.

Sending u and Ur daughter wet sloppy kisses.

2. So sorry dear. It is well.

3. Oh dear. I can relate to what you are talking about as i have an ss son myself. Pls leave your email with stella so we can communicate, share information and lend each other support if that's fine with you.

4. The Lord is your strength Dear!

56. wow...

what can i say? it is well with your soul awele.

57. RIP Beautiful soul. Even with all your pains and sicknesses, you still counted your blessings.I pray the angels of the lord admit your soul into their abode. Adieu Awele...

58. This is so sad, RIP Awele

59. I'm a sickle cell patient, had it diagonised right from birth and just lik awele my parents didn't know till the deed was done because the awareness was not this much back in their days. Just lik this young lady i'm 25, done with uni, done with NYSC and jst about completing my masters in uk. I thought i was strong, I thought my life was going as planned and i feellt blessed up until now. Not because i don't have crisis or havnt spend a good part of my life ij and out of operation rooms. But looking at this girl, filled with so much life just like me, a clown just like me and an achiever just like me, yet she died. This has demoralized me. I ask myself now whats d guarantee that just lik all her efforts hv gone to the grave with her that mine won't be cut short aswell. I believe so much in God but then we never know his plans. I don't know but lik she said I don't wish SS on even my worst enemy. I hv a yunger brother that looks after me wen i'm ill just like her. I hold on si much nd try to be strong just so my family won't hurt too. Looking at this video i saw myself nd the fact that she gave up makes me doubt my strength to pull through.

1. Oh dear, I can't even begin to imagine how you would feel , but in all God's got you, let your love for him not wane and I promise you, you would have peace. Go on leave your life as best as you can each day at a time, date, get married, never ever Feel like this is a death sentence cos no one not even the healthiest person is assured of tomorrow, we all live for/in the present. All the best sis.

2. Someone once said "Death stares us ALL in d face,and wot do we do? We smile back.....

Each and everyone of us.Buh we keep Trusting GoD.Believing Him...

Buh u won't be cut short darling.
      u wil make it.ok?
      Our GoD in HEaven wil make sure u beat dis.

Pls don't for a moment be sad.or scared
      pls don't!
      Cos The One Up There Got u baby.Yea,He does....
      Sending u the biggest,warmest hugs and hoping u are smiling as u are reading dis...

We got this baby! We got this!

3. You'll definitely pull through. Never doubt it for a second. Bless

4. You'll definitely pull through. Don't doubt it even for a second. Bless you

5. You'll definitely pull through. Don't ever doubt that even for a second. Bless you

6. Its well dear.God wil not fail you, just keep faith and hope alive.

7. Awwwww. Please don't give up. Think positive and be strong. Had a neighbor couple of years back who had the worst crisis I have seen in my life, he is married with 3 children, works in a bank ,plays sport and all. Whenever I see the stress the wife goes through during any crisis I just marvel at how strong love can be. So don't loose faith.

8. My love, not by your might or strength but by God's grace. Ur unrelenting and resolute faith would see u through. Say to yourself constantly "I shall not die but live to declare the goodness of God in the land of the living". U shall not die darling. My prayers are with you always

9. sweetie please dont loose hope. if its all you can do just trust in God, remember anything is possible speak life to yourself and remember to share your testimony with SDK at 75

10. **in tears** Pls dont talk like that. You are not Awele and because she didnt pull through doesnt mean you wont. Be positive, dear.
      I wish i could give u a hug.

11. His Oil Majesty13 May 2015 at 21:29

Dear anonymous your lives may seem similar but they are different. No two humans have the same purpose, I'm certain that God's purpose on earth for you is yet to be fulfilled. For your information my grand ma is SS but she's in her 70's. Keep being optimistic and upbeat about life. You have pulled through all this years, it's too late to lose hope. Keep living!

12. His Oil Majesty13 May 2015 at 21:43

Dear anonymous your lives may seem similar but they are different. No two humans have the same purpose, I'm certain that God's purpose on earth for you is yet to be fulfilled. For your information my grand ma is SS but she's in her 70's. Keep being optimistic and upbeat about life. You have pulled through all this years, it's too late to lose hope. Keep living!

13. God bless you all forbyour support.

14. Dear anon, pull strength from wat his oil majesty said. Ur destinies are not the same. Awele has run her race. U run urs. Heads' up shoulders high. The world is ur oyster. Big hugs

15. Oh anon Pls don't say this. Pls I beg u. U will make it, the balm of Gilead will heal u. Just have faith, no matter how tiny, keep that faith alive. Awele was a beautiful soul, but it her time to go. Instead if being scared cos of her death, learn strength from d life she lived, draw her hope and laughter, and discard the thought of death. Do not let d devil plant that thought in u, cos u and Awele aren't the same, yes u share same SS, but u are alive today, that is enough hope. Pls be strong my friend, u ain't going no where. Kisses.

16. Dear annoymus, I wish we culd talk. Mostyms I wish to jst yell my pain to sum1 who has ss. After watching dis video I looked @ my 13month old daughter sleeping so beautiful with her dad by herside and I cried so so much. Sometyms I don't av the strength to pull n Sometyms I get scared coz I love my baby n husby so so much n Wantu b der for dem both.

17. Anon dear! Keep been positive mind.

I work with a prof who is SS and married with four healthy boy all in Uni now. Also a colleague of mine is SS too married with 2 kids.
      They are very particular about their diet (they don't eat any animal product.

Enjoy your life and take it step by step Dear!

18. Who wouldn't be? But dear there's nothing God cannot do. My cousin is well into her 30s with 2 kids now. Be prayerful. Live life to d fullest. God will see u thru.

19. Please don't give up....I have a cousin living with sickle cell. he us 34years old.... God is faithful and indeed able....Believe!!!!

Ije Awele Ijeawele. ... jee nke oma

20. I wish I could hold you and give you a tight hug.
      Pls stay strong. Stay positive. Keep hope alive. You will live through...
      I've read some comments here saying some others have lived tto old age. That' s your portion. You will not die young. This I promise you because God is on the throne.
      Hugs darling

60. what a promising young lady with a lot of prospects. may your soul rest in peace Awele

61. may she rip.
    @anon 13 May 2015 at 13:03 there's nothing like luck there. it's called probability. do some research. how do you know the woman didn't check the status when she was pregnant found out the foetus was SS and terminated it? that's what people do nowadays.

62. Am in pain after Watching this...Rip Awele

63. RIP Awele. We thank God for information and technology that will allow Awele leave a legacy behind in advice to those who have ears. In our parents time they did not know better hence all the stories of Ogbanje children. Some were lucky, 1 out of 5 or 6 being a sickler and later dying leaving the remaining 4 or 5. Some where very unlucky, with all 4 or 5 being sicklers and all dying off. I've lost friends who were sicklers, I have fiends who lost siblings and I have friends who have children with this disease and I know it is not funny at all. Do you know that the trauma of having a sickle cell baby can make a couple split up? The pain and the stress is just too much. It even stops others from having other children in fear. I have a friend who lost a brother to the disease, has a beautiful sister in her 40s, unmarried, living with the disease and unfortunately, was too in love and did not get tested before getting married and today has a child leaving with the disease. She is heart broken and lives with the pain, the stress and the fear of what might become of her child, but God has been faithful. In most cases, it is the mother who suffers because they are the ones running around from one hospital to the other, crying with the child because of the pains while the daddy is supposedly out looking for money to pay the bills. Please let Awele not have died in vain. Even if the parents are so in love and believe they can bear the psychological and emotional pains of having a sickler baby, please think of the life of pain (physical, emotional & psychological) you will be subjecting that innocent child to. I am AS and my mother taught me from my secondary school days that when you meet a guy you are interested in, you must have the "what is your genotype?" conversation before things get far. I did and I am happily married with healthy children to the glory of God alone!!! Do not tempt fate as God surely helps those who help themselves. A word is enough for the wise.

64. Rest in d bossom of d LORD awele.

65. It is with pain I write this. Rest in peace beautiful soul.

66. Ije-luv
    OMG!such a beautiful soul.Kept smiing through the video.
    My dear, may God rest your beautiful soul.SAD

67. Im in my mid 40s now. I lost two promising suitors cos of this genotype stuff. It was crazy. i went bunkers. One suitor was a lawyer, one a banker. At this time when to get suitors hard. I backed out of the relationships. and moved on. I promised myself that I will never bring a child into this world to suffer neither will I terminate a pregnancy cos of genotype.
    When my husband came along, the first thing he asked was 'what is your genotype' I nearly had a heart attack - Not again. He told me when he was at school at Nsukka (UNN) that he had done his genotype and it came out AS. I told him to recheck. My heart was in my mouth. The next day, he went and did the test and it came out AA, he also reconfirmed and it was still AA. So the first test he did at school was wrong.
    To cut long story short: I HAVE 4 LOVELY HEALTHY CHILDREN; The Lawyer has 3 healthy kids and the Banker has 5 healthy kids. There are so many problems in the world to use your hand and generate more. Please always make informed decisions, that is why we are educated. It is difficult to let go a loved one, but for others (kids yet unborn) its the most selfless thing to do. THINK. God will provide your match for you. Look up to him.

1. That was almost exactly what happened to me except in my situation, we went ahead and got married only for me to find out after i git pregnant that i am AS..now we have obe child who unfortunately is Hb SS but we are very supportive of each other and sometimes when our child is unwrll, my husband does the hospital stays while i go back and forth for food and everything else as we live away from home and family.

68. I saw this video yesterday and I couldn't sleep. My friend lost her sister to SCD. I am AS and unfortunately always meet AS guys still going to wait till I meet someone whose genotype is better suited for me. My ex even told me he doesn't mind, he is not keen on having kids so we won't bother having any. Imagine the demon, I told him I mind he should please move forward and look for someone else. Love is not stupid

69. My colleague in the office insisted he must marry his girlfriend (now wife) even when all the results said otherwise. They are both AS and the rhesus factor. He said he is throwing it t as a challenge to God. He married the girl despite all warnings from his family, my boss, fellow colleagues. Now they are hearing and smelling nwii. The wife has miscarried many times that can be counted. They said its the rhesus factor. The love way bin de shack them is already dwindling... Life is a choice. Choose wisely. Awele sleep beautifully

70. This is the saddest thing I've ever watched

71. May God rest her soul...Amen

72. Oh my, tragic i must say, so sorry about what happened to Awele, i had a friend that died of such illness about 4years back. It hit me like a bomb, and she was extremely beautiful, she was a model. RIP Awele, RIP Anu.

73. I have seen a sickle cell patient in her crisis, my God. The girl was screaming and while I was crying. Forget love, that kind love is a death sentence. Its meaningless

74. Can't stop crying rip sweet awele.....

75. My friend has twins and they are both SS, how she copes is beyond me. Their stupid dad rejected the pregnancy long before they were born, honestly her situation is terrible. Don't wish it on my enemy sef.

76. RIP awele , iv never met a sickler but iv read enough to get an understanding of the pain involved. It's never worth it, please don't take chances . AS and AS should not get married, this is like the last topic in senior and junior secondary biology.

77. Watching this video brought tears to my eyes, it is so true that not only the Sickle Cell patients suffer, their families go through so much emotional pains and financial drains. To all intending couples, kindly find out your genotypes before getting pregnant and let us all build beautiful and healthy families.

Continue to rest in peace Awele, I love your smile by the way and you've got one of the cutest brothers ever. May Almighty God continue to console your family and friends.

God bless you Stella Sugar for the good work you are doing, your reward is in heaven.

1. Gov. Amaechi's Girl14 May 2015 at 23:01

Liar.it brought no tear to your eyes. Pretender

78. Wow I remember watching this video over a year ago and remember being sad but hopeful for her. O God what is life? May your soul rest in peace Ijeawele. Very beautiful name indeed. God help us....

79. RIP Awele.. You seemed like a beautiful person with a beautiful heart. Your video touched my heart. Rest well Angel.

80. Hoooo whyy, went to staff uni with her, Rip my sweet darling, she was honestly a nice girl

81. Yeah Awele, i see fear written behind your smiles, struggles and so on..... U fought to live , and I feel your pains, your courage kept you going and stayed with you till the end...... God bless you in death and am so happy that you held on to jesus till the end, you are so free bar, free from sickle cell, free from blood transfusion, oh yes crisis is over, say hello to Jesus and tell him we await his coming......Peace

82. My cuz, was bron SS and his now AS. He had a bone marrow transplant. My family is still thanking God for his wonderful work. I pray one day all SS people will get a chance to have a bone marrow transplant. PIR Awele

83. @anonymous, keep strong. i lost a brother to scud and my sister is SS as well, she is 34yrs, married with kids and her crisis has reduced. i know the pain of the crisis cos i have been in countless hospitals with either of them in Nigeria growing up. thank God for NHS, she is doing well, happy and achieving all her goals

84. Rest in Peace Awele.
    And to all the " Sickle Cell Warriors,"
    Keep up the fight.

85. FROM MY INBOX
    Re: Sickle Cell Anemia, not all sad endings...
    Hello Stella,
    I just read the post on Awele... May her beautiful soul rest in peace. Amen
    That said, I would like to share my testimony... I read a BV's comment that broke my heart and inspired me to share... She said she kind of feels hopeless (not her exact words) cos Awele died and same fate may await her..
    To that poster, I want to say there is hope. I am almost 32years old, married with a child and I dare to hope... You should too... For every person who dies from Sickle Cell, there are a number of people who are living well... I know a number of people, one being Christopher Kolade, former high commissioner to the UK (I think, a major achiever, Google him...) he is close to his 90s now, Tosyn Bucknor, a family friend who hasn't even had a crisis in 9years plus... among others.
    Sickle Cell Anemia isn't a terminal illness, but can be terminal. There is a difference. If managed well, we can live normal lives.
    While I understand the need for premarital genotype testing awareness, we need to be careful to draw the line between creating awareness and encouraging stigmatization/hopelessness among sufferers ..
    Sickle Cell is real, the pain is craazy... the best way I describe it to my mum is a lot of needles being drilled into parts of your body at a time, using a hammer... It is not pain you wish on your foe... However, it builds resilience and strength and some people like myself have to live with it.
    Having Sickle Cell doesn't equate a death sentence.. with God, water and folic acid in your life, lol, you can and you will live..
    My baby sister who is also SS once said to me, 'if you die from this illness I know there is no hope for me.'... I took that to God and we (God and I) have both agreed that' I will not die but live to declare the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living'.. I put this in his face always... and I have been a sign of God's goodness... Got married to a man who looked beyond my genotype, got pregnant immediately, had no morning sickness or nausea (told God I couldn't handle it)... It was rough towards the end but I have a beautiful girl to show for it. The only time you can tell I'm SS is when I have a crises.. all to the glory of God. I have a budding career, and doing well in general... haven't had one admission this year... Sometimes I even forget I'm SS.. All thanks to God.

86. CONTINUATION.....

Your mind is powerful, you cannot accept defeat my dear...Dear BV, Pls unsay what you said about 'being hopeless'... be positive please.. you are in your 20s you have a whole life ahead of you. Please don't turn another's reality to yours... That she died does NOT in any way mean you will...
    It gets hard especially when people treat you with pity and fragility... It's no easy thing to deal with but you gotta approach it as one of life's challenges and face it head on. There are stories like Awele's that break your heart and there are others that give you hope...
    To all Sickle Cell warriors out there, God sees us and feels our pain, keep keeping on.. May we all be testimonies to others...
    To lovers, I would say the only thing worse than the pain of Sickle Cell is a loved one going through the same pain... Because you know that pain, it's torture... Talk less of your child... I would have been Ludacris to put my child through the same pain.. It is very easy as an AS person to say 'we can weather the storm, but my darlings pls don't... I can't even capture the guilt my mum feels everytime I'm in pain, you do NOT need that.
    Beyond the physical pain the child has to go through, there is stigmatization which could break your child and affect their confidence (though God gives us special sharp mouth anointing, lol)...
    Finally, we all owe it to the society to eradicate this disease, I have taken the step by marrying an AA person, and hopefully my AS kids will marry AA spouses and help reduce Sickle Cell in Nigeria. If we all do same, in a few generations, Sickle Cell will be wiped out.

1. In addition to the anonymous up there, please change ur confession, u are not hopeless, what u speak would work for you. Awele's confessions in the video were not always positive, I guess due to the pain but there's immense power in our confessions, even careless talk. Never confess negatively again

87. Is there any mum in London with a child with ss ? If so pls drop ur email let's meet up and support each other. Thanks

88. Awele, it still hasn't dawned on me that you're truly gone, every morning I pick up my phone hoping that you'd have replied my messages. πŸ˜•πŸ˜•πŸ˜• I have sha refused to mourn you cause I know, even in death you continue to be an inspiration to so many people out there & frankly cause I know you'd laugh your ass off if you ever saw me cry.

89. Rest in peace beautiful girl

90. RIP Awele! You were an amazing fellow, I can't forget ur jokes n sound of ur laughter. You encouraged me wen I complained about things n u always check up on me wen I don't. I love u Awele keep resting 😘😘😘😘😘 who'll understand the burnt yam jokes if not u😿😿😿😿😿 I miss you Awele! RIP😿

91. Words can't describe how much this hurts,I pray God grants her families and friends the fortitude to bear the loss

92. There are many SS patients that have never slept in the hospital for once.i wish there could be a forum where people who are SS sufferers,caregivers or parents can hook up.i found out on nairaland email years ago some herbal remedies developed by some professors and manufacture in sapele, that stuff works. It is a cure.called celloid s.some people have been on it for so many years and they are fine. Moringa tea is also something everyone with sickle cell should take everyday. You have to take it consistently for 3 months at first to start noticing the change. So many other remedies like avoiding malaria .I had a colleagues who never called in sick for one single day in 3 years that I worked there.he was SS. Key is herbal medicine.

93. PD Young Billionaire15 May 2015 at 06:08

RIP beautiful lady.