Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Eight More Nigerians Face Execution In Indonesia

Wednesday, May 06, 2015

Eight More Nigerians Face Execution In Indonesia

A GROUP, United Nigerians In Diaspora, UNID, has called on the Federal Government to prevail on the Indonesian government to stay action on its plans to execute eight more Nigerian citizens for drug related offences.

Briefing newsmen in Lagos, the group’s president, Mr. Paschal Okolie, condemned what it described as the poor attitude of the government towards the recent execution of four Nigerians in Indonesia.

His words: ”Considering that the next batch of execution will take place in no distant time in Indonesia, we urge the good people of Nigeria and our government to rise up with the entire world to stop further executions of Nigerians. Enough of the killings. 

Nigeria should leverage on the strong bilateral relationship it has with Indonesia and negotiate to stop the execution of the eight waiting to be killed. In as much as we totally condemn drug trafficking and wish to sensitise intending traffickers on the consequences that awaits offenders, we also condemn capital punishment especially since it has not been able to quell the issue of drug trafficking in Indonesia.”

Okolie  gave names of those awaiting further execution as......., 
Michael Titus Igwe,
 Kingsley Okonkwo, 
Uchenna Onyewuru, 
Eugene Ape, 
Hunphery Ejike, 
Obinna Nwajiagu, 
Benjamin Onuoha 
 Ikenna Abanukwu, 

Okolie said, ”Nigerian Embassy in Indonesia is longer concerned with passport renewals than the welfare or security of Nigerians. Those Nigerians killed were not given fair trial, there is language barrier which made it impossible for them to defend themselves properly, Nigerian embassy did not even send representatives to court to assist them, so they were left at the mercy of Indonesia which was bent on killing them.”

‘’Most times Nigerians are thrown into prisons for more than four months without anyone knowing about it. They are tortured and some even die in the process. The way a country treats her citizens, is a reflection of how the citizens will be treated in foreign lands. Therefore, we feel it is high time our government rose to the occasion to ameliorate the plight of its citizens no matter the circumstance.

We use this opportunity to appeal to the youth, to beware of the kind of friendships they keep as well as activities they engage themselves. One of the reasons there are many young Nigerians in prisons in different countries of the world today, is due to get rich quick syndrome, fast track. But in the end, they lose everything including their lives.”

Vanguard reportage.

Oh No!!
Not again!!
I was so shaken by the last executions and now there is more?OH NO!

58 comments:

1. Woman follow, na wa oh. Stella they know the consequences of carrying drugs, so they should face the music, others should also learn lesson from this, there re decent trade to do than carrying drugs. God accept their souls

1. Na so so igbo names I dey see, greedy bastards!

2. There are 21 Nigerians in Indonesia facing death penalty.

3. Oh dear! Their family members must be worried sick

2. See my Igbo brothers ohh...
    Chai...
    Na to build house for village dey cause all these things...
    It's a pirry mehn...

1. Asin!!
      My Igbo brothers can like to push drugs
      I pray they spare these ones

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Na wetin gud for them....

1. Chaii my brothers don finish for village oo! The love of money kai
      Rip to them in advance!

4. Everybody deserves a second chance...They should try and help them out this time but the annoying thing now is that others doing drugs hear these stories and still go ahead all for money same with yahoo boys!!! Had i known na until they catch and arrest them...

5. See my brothers oooh!!
    Warisdis?????

First step...they should get strong lawyers for them... the ones that can represent them in English language!!

I heard the problem the last batch had was that they were not properly represented several years ago... of course the government was not informed before they decided to carry drugs!! There is no way they can be sent proper legal reps.

If they can be tried again..i believe we can save some.... that is,if the evidence is not damning...

Please let them look into appeal of the cases.. But you see this begging ehn,it is not working... Indonesian government is not hearing that one!

Let's use another strategy...

1. Igbo kwenu! Lol

2. Did u also hear that about a week ago some people were still caught trying to transport drug to Asia from MMA on an outbound flight???? Like seriously? The NDLEA reported it. So how are we suppose to have compassion for some block headed individuals? The only contention I have with them is being Nigerian, otherwise everyone for himself God for all. Some people will never listen. Tiring

6. Omg
    Am speechless
    I pray God softens their heart to accept our plea this time around.

7. Abegi!!!!!
    Nigeria should do what?
    Did they not know before they carried drugs in there? Indonesia has a standing order, if you're caught with drugs you face during squad, simple and short!
    Now they've been caught they're crying injustice and language barrier. That's arrant nonsense. The best they can do is to give their life to God and await dooms day.
    Most of these boys want to make money quickly so I have no pity for them. The boys in the market, standing under the sun day and night in yaba and other markets looking for customers, hustling, are not stupid.
    So these ones should accept their fate, they knew the consequence. All over these Asian airports is a warning about the consequence of drug trafficking! They ruin other people's lives just because they want to get money quickly. Indonesian government ride on!

1. Stop sounding like deputy Jesus or God. It can be anybody. That they know and still went ahead to do drugs doesn't mean they don't deserve anoda chance. If someone like u de a top post for naija, pple will suffer outa ur ignorance of knowing how to handle matters. Because someone committed a crime so u choose to take their lives? Can u even create a thing talk more a being.... Mtcheeeew!

2. May some1 not "koba" you some day, say amen! U should learn to give people the benefit of doubt and allow fair hearing beforre you jump into conclusions.
      A close friend has actually told me to bring powdered milk to london for her and when I said I was gonna buy it she insisted no she wanted a lot and would send someone to bring them to me, she mentioned other stuff as well so I won't dwell on the powder milk and try to reason it out. Thank God for wisdom.
      Milk plenty for jand, go Woolwich peckham everywhere, that's if you even claim it must be naija powdered milk.
      Well I don't actually know if she was for real or not, but I remembered how this babe used to say she was desperate for money and was doing all sorts to get money. Glad I shifted fast!

3. Abeg, apart from those who were prolly set up and found themselves in this shit, I don't see how and why I should show immeasurable compassion without reasoning to the others who were trying to get rich quick.
      Like those of us who wake up early to go to work are stupid right? It's not about being insensitive, it is what it is. Every individual should be able to face the consequences of their actions. If I were to be the judge presiding over their case, guess what? I would prolly pardon them. Yes I would, but that's ME. And if it's not me, I won't condemn the judge who decides their cases otherwise.

From when I was a little girl I was always warned by my parents that when we are at the airport, we should never collect any bag from strangers, and we should never agree to watch over any bag belonging to strangers. Simply because most of the time, we would travel unaccompanied. And it helped my siblings and I till date. We had different experiences when we would have stop overs in Europe, where some women carrying Ghana must go bags will not be allowed to carry their heavy bags aboard, because it was either too big to pass as hand luggage or whatever.
      Trust naija with overload na. So I remember one time a woman came to us to beg us to help split her luggage btw us and carry on board for her. We had no adult traveling with us as unaccompanied children.

That's how my elder brother started screaming..."eh Ohhh, remember daddy said don't collect bag from anyone ohhh". Then me and my sisters will ran and said, it's true ohhh.. the woman was just angry and looking. Till today, I've imbibed the same instruction in my kids. Not only when travelling sef, anywhere on land and sea.

So what I'm saying is the people who say they didn't know what they were given should know better. Didn't they ask them when they were checking in, if they packed the bags themselves? Ehn na so o. Well too bad.

4. @sisi eko Thank you!
      See me na work I dey go so. Wake up everyday by 5am, @other two peeps, don't y'all think I know how to push drugs? What about the bus conductors, drivers, my igbo brothers hustling in the market, pulling and asking anyone that passes their shop to come and buy from them?
      I repeat, Indonesia and the rest of the Asian countries should show no mercy! It's these ones that make them treat level headed Nigerians that travel as fourth class citizens!

8. Indonesia doesn't joke with drug crimes

9. Igbo people again? I watched an interrogation shared on fb about an Igbo drug smuggler caught in Thailand and the interrogating officer said '' Nigerians are a shame nd curse to Africa and Igbo people are the problem of Nigeria''. I don't pity them at all, let them pay d price

1. Ala ona apu gi na the interrogator?

2. Na only ibo people dey push drugs ,all those yoruba women wey dem dey sell lace for isale eko na elubo dem dey push ,lets talk so we talk so .when it comes to drugs all citizens of the world push drugs ,even them indonisians.the truth is asian have strict law on drug pushing and every one going that lane knows the consequences.indonisia ,malaysia singapore and china drug dealing is death .thailand are one of the major drug producers make them
      Quite there.

10. When will some Nigerians ever learn? What a pity

1. Abeg oluyomi, talk true. Some nigerians, abi igbo people. Long hiss

11. Eh yaaaa.
    Please identify your relative, na only igbo men waka come.... nna men, this is not good.

12. Yet more guys will still carry drugs to Asia after all this,so sad

13. Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why ! !
    "The way a country treats her citizens, is a reflection of how the citizens will be treated in foreign lands."

I heard Abike Dabiri saying in the media "More Nigeria will be executed..."
    Never knew it will be 8 whole human beings......Sooooo Sad !

14. Nigerian govt shouldn't advocate 4anytng abeg.
    if they finally succeeded in doing so and thus getting a plea bargain,it would make those trying to deter 4rm suchh crime reconsider.
    If they did d crime,they should be punished.
    Indonesia kept singing it like a song,saying those who wish to peddle drugs shouldn't come the shores of their country yet some miscreants won't listen.
    Abeg i feel no remorse for them,if their punishment is death then so be it.
    Maybe then,others would learn.

1. Some people at the airport at the boarding gate section where people are chilling would say Pls can you watch over this bag for me I want to pee then dissappear, u fit help dem carry am on d plane hoping to see the person n hand over. You just never know the techniques crazy people like this use.
      I watched a documentary on TV where a guys luggage ws testing positive for drugs bt they couldn't actually find it, some of it was like powder around the bag, he was lucky to be set free cos according to him he borrowed the bag frm a friend who has prolly used the bag to carry drugs who knows, You can imagine that same situation in Indonesia, dem go hear dat one?
      Not saying there are no guilty ones, most of them are prolly guilty but they need to be heard and fairly at that!

2. Madam gagol, the please watch over my bag trick is like the freaking oldest trick in the book!
      Everybody is aware now and if you're not then you gotta be living under a rock!
      Even my grandmother that has never left the shores of Nigeria is aware so abeg that excuse is no longer valid.
      People that use that excuse these days are usually the real owners of the bag.

15. God pls i hope somthing is done so this shitty act dosnt happen again.
    Abeg God save your childeren.

Like there arent worse crimes......

16. I'm sorry to say this, wen will Igbos learn there lessons. Out of the 8 drug traffickers that were executed last week, 3 were Igbos. I went tru this list & found out that they are all Igbos Its high time Igbos stop looking for quick money( in Wole Soyinka's voice).

1. Anuofia! Kitikpa lacha kwa gi anya there! Afó nsí

2. Don't mind them, dem no go ever learn.
      Tribalistic mofos

3. Shut up there, idiots. Your hatred for igbos will bring u problem in life

17. But wait o, if one travels abroad and obey all the 'obeyables' would there be problem? Ihea dikwa egwu o.

1. No be una people? Mtcheeew

18. All them igbo boys maka why,quick money abi

#GODWIN

19. Igbo kwenu! What's all these na? Must de do drugs b4 de get rich?

20. begging wont work. If govt people 'see road', they can get them good lawyers as Iphie suggested. Otherwise, not much can be done here. I dont expect the Indonesian govt to listen to any pleas. they've been quite clear about the consequences of of the crime. Anyone carruing drugs there who is caught have only themselves to blame. Frankly, whilst I'm sad at the loss of human life; drug peddlers and traffickers deserve to be shot. If you've had a family member whose life was destroyed by drugs, you would agree too.

21. Indonesians are so racist, language another major barrier. People should learn to stay off drugs irrespective of the country. Thank God my bruv came bac from that lousy country in one piece.

1. If u say Indonesians are racist, then you haven't mingled with the French.

22. A friend of mine was going to china , while on transit in Dubai she started chatting with this ibo guy , as it was her first time, she was trying to get information on where to go for goods .
    Unfortunately as they arrived china airport , the immigration / police saw both of them together , hmmmm na so as them collect her luggage they told her to step aside , they interrogated her for almost 5 hours , she say she nearly shit and piss for body , she was weeping , and kept on asking them what the matter was and trust ndi china , one of the officers now asked her about her relationship with the guy she was speaking with , na so she speak English , ijebu Yoruba , pidgin join .
    They now told her , the man na suspected drug baron , fortunately she works for a telecom coy and na big oga
    Na so she told them to go her facebook , give them her password , bank details , with prayers and sweating they were convinced she was clean .
    You'd have to be careful when traveling cause those guys can plant anything on anybody @ any time .
    Hand dey pepper me , Biko make I waka .

23. Hian!!!!

I give up on Ibo brothers mehn....

Shit!

24. The people do not want any drugs or drug pushers in their country, so why are ppl still doing these things in Asian countries? I honestly do not blame them for taking such a hard stance on drugs.

25. Mtcheeeeew I don't pity them @ all,they should face the consequences of their actions

26. olori western union6 May 2015 at 22:22

Oh my Goodness, not again!!!

27. And all of una gather mouth dey curse Wole Soyinka yesterday.

28. this People nor dey hear word ni?

29. Spot on @ Sisi Eko the French are the worst ooooo,they use that their language to intimidate people, I have had my experience @Paris fortunately was with my daughter , we came in from London on the Eurostar , na so some Benin girls waylay us and started asking questions from me if I was 9ja and if the road clear haaaa the hair on my head stood up straight ni oooo , told them I was and was on my way to Italy ,but i wanted to check for trains going across the border , as we line up na so one man begin say make we step aside, carry my passport ask me where am coming from and where am going to ------- see sweat, my daughter now started blowing grammar , telling them we just wanted to experience the cross country train ride , which was almost 18 hours and her mum was afraid of those people .
    They now laughed and gave us back the Pali and told us to be very careful with people at the station .
    Me I just grab my pickin hand waka commot look for taxi tell the driver to take us round Paris , tell my pickin you see say the money no waste for French teacher !!!!!!!!
    Na so holiday finish with grumbling from her . Tell am say bia is it not better we go back and enjoy the rest of our holiday in a place you are comfortable in . Eurostar Kia Kia we reach Jand.