Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: African Tribe 'Raise' Effigies Of Dead Children As If They Are Alive

Monday, August 31, 2015

African Tribe 'Raise' Effigies Of Dead Children As If They Are Alive

Benin's Fon tribe crafts wooden dolls when their small children die, which they believe possess the child's spirit and have the divine power to bring the family good or bad luck, depending on how well they are treated. Pictured, Hounyoga, whose twins died in infancy 

Many of the dolls also attend school with their living siblings and, when their parents are away working, are cared for in huge 'creches' run by the village elders.

Not every child becomes a doll after they die however - the custom only applies to those born of multiple births, which, in the Fon tribe, occurs in one in every 20 births - one of the highest in the world.
The extremely high mortality rate means that twins, either one or both, often die.
'Three months after the birth of twins, if they are still alive, they do a collection of gifts from around the community,' explains Mr Lafforgue. 'If they are dead, the statues of the twins are sculpted then placed so that they peer out of the front garment of the mother for everyone to see.'

One mother, named Hounyoga, who resides in the village of Bopa, took Mr Lafforgue through a day the life of her own dolls. The 40-year-old, who is married to a voodoo practitioner whose work includes preserving the dead bodies of criminals before using their skulls for rituals has had nine children.
Among them was a set of twins who died just a few months apart at the age of two, and she has also suffered a number of miscarriages.

Hounyoga's dead twins were called Zinsou (the boy) and Zinhoue (the girl), but she talks about them in the present tense. In the morning, like any child, the twins are bathed by their mother, who wipes their faces with a wet glove. 
They are also given a weekly scrub in the lake, not because they are dirty but to rid them of evil spirits. 'Hounyoga wipes them with a vegetable sponge and soap,' explains Mr Lafforgue.
'Then she dries them off and sprays perfume on them. The bathing ends. She throws the sponge as far as possible in the lake. It is contaminated. If she brings it home, she will bring the evil spirits with her.'

Some statues are cleaned so often that the facial features disappear, the wood eroded by constant scrubbing, which, says Mr Lafforgue, makes them enormously appealing to Western collectors.
The photographer says families are appalled at the thought of collectors buying the dolls and liken it to parents 'selling' their children.
Next it's time for lunch.  'She put the twins on two miniature iron chairs around the table where we sit,' explains Lafforgue. 'It’s 1pm and she must serve lunch to the twins.'

The food is accompanied by water and carbonated drinks like Fanta and Coca Cola because, according to the voodoo belief system, sugar is equated with peace.
'In giving sugar to the statues, you increase your chances of having a better life because the twins have supernatural powers and the ability to affect your destiny,' Mr Lafforgue explains. 

After lunch, Hounyoga visits a small temple with the dolls, where she feeds the rest of the meal to a snake deity called Dan. Then, after biting a cola nut in half with her teeth, she seasons it with strong spices and offers it to the twins.
'She tells me that they accept the offering and are satisfied,' Mr Lafforgue says. 'Now it’s the humans’ turn.'

Hounyoga told him: 'If we take bad care of a twin, he or she will get angry and all of a sudden, will disappear. We will wake up in the morning and they will no longer be in the house. So a great tragedy will soon come. 
'On the other hand, if we take good care of the twins, when someone is harassing me or wanting to cause me harm, I tell the twins and they protect me.' 
Come nightfall, the statues are put to sleep like children in a bed made from a mat and an immaculate white blanket.
'This contrasts with her room which contains a dirty mattress and an old mosquito net,' Mr Lafforgue remarks. 'It’s clear that the best goes to the twins.'

She undresses them, and lays them on their back, side by side, in their miniature bed and waits for them to 'sleep' before turning them over onto their stomachs. 
If the mother doesn't have time to take care of the statues, then the father does it. Hounyoga’s husband always takes them with him in his waistband when he drives his car to Cotonou, Benin’s capital.
He says: 'I put my twins in my belts because I know they protect me. Nothing bad will happen to me with them. I won’t get robbed, won’t get in a car accident, nothing.'
The brothers and sisters of the dead twins do their share as well. They walk with them, keeping them snug in their belts. Under no circumstances do they ever play with them like toys.

If the family is travelling, the statues are kept at a nursery.
Mr Lafforgue visited one such nursery and notes that the sheer number of dolls present reflected the region's high mortality rate. 
He also met a woman called Mrs Ablossi, who lost two pairs of twins and a set of triplets. Since their death, she says she has been blessed with good luck and became a 'Queen' of the tribe. 

Dailymail reportage

EWOOOOO...Wonders shall never end!!!

WTF!!!

91 comments:

1. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay31 August 2015 at 17:30

One salon owner told me about this.
      Said she had a Republic of Benin maid who had worked for a very rich family and had traveled the world. Even went to a good secondary school, speaks good English and had passed her WAEC. But just before they sent her uni, they asked her to leave. When the girl came to work for her she was very nice and neat. And she took good care of the kids.
      She said they were even thinking of traveling with her the next summer, as her passport was full and supporting her to go to University. So she was cleaning the house one day when she sent the girl to the market and somehow stumbled on this statue in the girls room. That she asked the girl when she came back. Girl started crying that the statute is her twin brother. Her parents gave him to her since she was small. That she carries him everywhere. And if she eats she gives him to eat, she bathes him, plays with him and all. That her former madam found out and sent her away. That pls this one shouldn't send her away. That she's not evil but if she puts it away she will die within 7 days. The woman said she asked the girl to follow her for deliverance, the girl refused. So she had no choice but to send her away with the warning that her parents want to destroy her life with that statute. That she should see the opportunities she was beginning to forfeit because of tradition.

2. Bin and winchi winchi. God forbid!

3. Na only that agoyin beans i see jare

4. Which means this tribe of pple are ritualists!cos all I see is a tribe that kill their twins so they can turn their souls to guardian angels and prosperity givers!mofos!
      Well I am not surprised because cotonou/benin republic are the second world renowned voodoo country.they need Jesus walahi!

5. Why y'all freaking out?? It's in yoruba culture we call it "ere ibeji" we yoruba's dnt do it again but then eguns still do it. Benin is d land of voodoo

6. Honestly, I'm still in shock, as in WTF??? Are you seriously kidding me? In short, I'm short of words.

7. Honestly, I'm still in shock, as in WTF??? Are you seriously kidding me? In short, I'm short of words.

1. Do you by any chance mean, osanobua?

2. Dts ishan stranger urs bini

3. I met a lady in the bus carrying these two stuffs insider her wrapper openly in lagos and people were just as if it was normal.
      I had to change seat fast fast.
      I come dey say fear lag not knowing it's being don somewhere.

4. Thanks @osasere

3. Hei!!
    Ogini bu ifea bikonu!!
    Onweghi ife Mmadu agaghi ahu no Obodo nkea.....

What da hell!!!!

1. The only meaning i read to this is that these people can't let the dead go. Simple.

Order for your very affordable wedding & birthday cakes. Send surprise cakes 2ur loved ones in Abuja.We deliver 2homes and offices.Click on my name to see pics.

2. The only meaning i read to this is that these people can't let the dead go. Simple.

Order for your very affordable wedding & birthday cakes. Send surprise cakes 2ur loved ones in Abuja.We deliver 2homes and offices.Click on my name to see pics.

4. WTF!
    There are so many customs and traditions that sound stupid.
    In this age and time umu nnem. ..inukwa?

5. Grief and depression after losing a loved one.
    If that would console them and make them happy then why not.

6. Na waa o, culture abi na tradition dey ds world o.

Btw...what u believe in,often works for u.
    If they believe d dolls brings them goodluck and protects them from harms way then it sure would work 4them.

7. What will somebody not see biko

8. Replies
    1. Delusional set of human beings!!

Whirlwind

9. This is madness. Bathing a wooden craft doll and wasting of food. Instead of taking care of the ones alive and add those wooden doll food to their surviving children. AFRICA and some stupid beliefs.

1. Angel I'm still in shock over this, can't ever inagine such tradition exists. Wasting their food, clothes, soap and water for bathing them, and above all, these dolls sleep on more comfortable bed than their parents and siblings. Honestly, everything will be possible when the end time comes

2. Angel I'm still in shock over this, can't ever inagine such tradition exists. Wasting their food, clothes, soap and water for bathing them, and above all, these dolls sleep on more comfortable bed than their parents and siblings. Honestly, everything will be possible when the end time comes

10. Hian! Africans with their different cultures that makes one wonder if they are real.

11. My people perish for lack of knowledge!!!! Well it's too much time on their hands, if the woman get bank work from mon-sat where will she have time to dey baff effigy?Mschewwww.

12. An interesting read

But a shit load of bull crap.

If it's true that the twins dolls can provide wealth , why do the parents look like bums?

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    See wetin person dey believe abeg... Serious matter i swear.... #NowPlaying>> stimulated: tyga.....

14. Now,this is creepy and disturbing.

I even saw one up there, with developed mammary glands.

Hian!

15. Mtcheww!!!!
    High level of Ignorance and illiteracy.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

16. E get Wetin pesin no go see for this world??
    Orisirisi...

17. Hmmm nkan mbe!

18. They shld come let me employ them.

19. E get Wetin pesin no go see for this world??
    Orisirisi...

20. Hian!! Nothing person no go see/here

21. Unbelievable!
    Iheneme oh.

SMH

1. Genny Genny, my Milly! Clients have given you a little free time I see.....:-)

2. Choi. Genny where have thou been?

22. I am not religious but isnt it better and less stressful to practice christianity and islam? But this is one weird and interesting practice.

1. Less stressful to practice? Buhahahahahaha.

23. WHAT???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!...

24. I am not religious but isnt it better and less stressful to practice christianity and islam? But this is one weird and interesting practice.

1. I'm seriously laugjing with this your comment oo, chai you really got me mehn

25. Oh chi m. And funny enough, humans don't even get that kind of attention sef

26. I dont understand what is going on.

27. Benin is so evil.........haven't that state heard of jesus and his second coming?
    Why are they still into all this!

1. Madam, it's Benìn(pronounced as Bene) republic they are talking about, Ahn Ahn. I bow to you o.

2. Benin is not a state. Hope you don't think they are referring to Benin city.

3. Dang!!!!!! Portable viv Your ignorance is mind Numbing!!!!! Oghene!!! Still don't know what im rambling about? Torr. Benin being refferenced here is a country.. As in republic Benin? As in cotonou benin? Or Bene Republic as some people call it. Those names are not edo names nah. Zinhou and co.

4. Benin republic not Benin city. Always quick to judge

5. Anon 19.09, don't mind her. always trying too hard to be rude and crass.Notice me or I die!! iti akwu

28. winchy winchy things, and its ppl from Benin Republic people hire as chefs/stewards.
    That is how one claiming to be cook cleaned out my friends house 2nd day he began work as cook.
    The guy has probably run back to his country. She just left the matter after she got tired of sending credit to police to do their jobs.
    They are very fetish in that side, think twice when hiring them as helps. Before you know it deyv casted ur enemies destiny into dos ogbanje dolls and they begin to control the person.

29. This is really disturbing...
    What a custom!

30. When they place more value on d effigies dan on d living.demons will happily jump inside d effigies cos dem do get automatic worshippers.regular bathing n no b ewa agoyin dem dey feed dem so? Plus dey even get affiliate 2 a snake god.na wa o I pity d western collectors wey dey come buy d wooden demons.won't b surprised if dese women wish deir kids die so dey can proudly ave wooden babies 2 show off.one who lost so many kids sef say she is now a queen.goodluck n riches ke wen na dem dey do house help work pass 4 Lagos

31. It's benin as in the country not Benin the state, cos I no now some goats will start taking shit abt Edo state

1. Yea, some goats like that idiot Potable viv

32. This people dey this world so? Hehehhe end times I guess.

33. Nothin person no go see o,Make una no vex,na ewa agonyi dem dey waste like dat?

34. See them, principalities ams powers. God forbid

35. When I lost my baby in USA, the funeral home gave me a doll as a symbol to always remember my baby. They dressed the doll in the clothes my baby wore when she was transferred from the hospital to the funeral home. I kept it in my box. It is still there as I write.

1. Go and throw it away. Ur baby is gone. Start praying for another one

36. @Potable Aviv: I can't believe you are so clueless. Which Benin are you talking about? I'm sure you did not see Cotonou in that write-up. Olodo, read again and see that the people they are talking about are not Nigerians. You probably need a brain to even comprehend what I just said.

1. Exactly! !! Unfortunately she has no brain.

37. This is absolutely demonic. We need to be sensitive in the spirit.

38. Republic of Benin & Togo, that's where satan laid foundation of VOODOO. Then transferred to Haiti thro & during the slave trade era. Go to Haiti, they have perfected this practice of doll worshipping, doll vengeance & so forth to another level.
    This doll thinz it's typical of voodooism. Witchcraft with no gain, just keeping generations upon generations in bondage, no progress.;case study Haiti.

39. This was how the bible explained that Idolatry started! A couple who lost their child that they loved so much, carved an image of this child ... demons take possession of this idols and enjoy the worship given to them. I don't see the prosperity and goodluck given to them from the story.