Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Is Allegedly Furious And Has Summoned NDDC Mgt Over Contract-Splitting

Monday, August 24, 2015

Buhari Is Allegedly Furious And Has Summoned NDDC Mgt Over Contract-Splitting

You will not understand the headline until you read the full story....

Worried by alleged mismanagement of funds of the commission running into billions of Naira, the Presidency has summoned the management of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, to answer questions on the true financial status of the agency.

Competent sources confirmed to Vanguard that the President would meet the management team of the NDDC and take them up on many issues relating to the management of the resources of  the commission since the new board came on board in December 2013.

Some of the NDDC Governing board and Management
Buhari, according to sources close to his office, is furious that the management has allowed influential politicians to hijack the agency and made away with billions of Naira under the guise of executing contracts with little or no result on the ground to show for such money.
It was learnt that the President would seek answers to why the commission refused to adhere to due process in the award of major contracts valued at billions of Naira, preferring instead to split them in violation of the Public Procurement Act.

The President is reported to have been furious that the commission went ahead to award multi-billion naira contracts, paid and backdated them to last year to cover the financial misdeed even after the board had been sacked with a specific mandate to the managing director to take over the place.

Attempt to divert N3.8bn allocation
The struggle for the control of the finances of the commission is said to have reached its most embarrassing point about two months ago when two directors of the commission connived and withdrew N3.8 billion from the NDDC account in the Central Bank of Nigeria and paid the money to their favoured contractors drawn from their own states, leaving the managing director in the dark.

It was learnt that the managing director, who had accused the CBN of withholding the money was shocked on reaching the CBN to discover that two of his directors had secretly signed and collected the huge amount and paid to their ‘contractor-friends’ without his knowledge.

It was also learnt that the meeting, which is to take place at the Presidential Villa this week, is to enable President Muhammadu Buhari to get first brief from the Managing Director, Mr. Dan Abia and the two executive directors of Finance and Projects, Henry Ogiri and Engr. Tuoyo Omatsuli on what they have been doing to move the troubled region forward since they were appointed to office in December 2013 by former President Goodluck Jonathan.

The briefing by the three key officials will also determine the next line by Buhari regarding their continued stay in office given the gamut of petitions of wrongdoing against them by Niger Delta stakeholders, individuals and groups.
Diversion of  N2.7bn

In one case and with documents made available to Vanguard, N12.5 billion was split by the commission and paid to 12 companies said to be sponsored by top politicians close to the commssion for the ‘supply of security vehicles’ for the Nigeria Police Force to patrol the Niger Delta states only for the same commission to award another N2.7 billion ‘contract to individuals and groups’ to supply the commission with ‘intelligence gathering/management’.

A top source in the commission said that aggrieved staff and stakeholders have already raised the alarm that the so-called amount claimed to have been ‘paid’ to the intelligence-gathering contractors was simply diverted for political purposes.
“The truth is that no project called intelligence gathering was ever carried out but it was just a trick by some highly-placed persons to divert the money,” an official of the commission confessed.

Contract splitting
The contract bazaar by the commission also saw another  N1.6 billion being carefully split among 85 companies for the ‘procurement, transportation and delivery’ of waste disposal trucks to the commission. It could not be ascertained if the trucks had arrived Port Harcourt as at last night.
But the most embarrassing, according to new documents released to Vanguard, is the award of another set of contracts to influential politicians worth billions of Naira under the subhead of “Women Empowerment Programme” of the NDDC for the supply and delivery of tricycles to the commission which was also backdated to last year to cover the misdeed as the amount involved was far beyond the approval limit o the commission.

Findings showed that the President decided to invite the management to explain their actions to him after receiving series of briefings on the troubled board by officials of the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, which supervises the NDDC.
But a director in the commission, who did not want to be quoted told Vanguard in Port Harcourt that the meeting with PMB was not as a result of the adverse audit report but a deliberate effort by the commission to brief the president on the activities of the agency.

The official explained that it was the management that requested for an audience with the Presidency in order to clear the air on many issues relating to the NDDC, one of which was the confusion over whether the two executive directors should continue in office after the board that brought them had been sacked.
The commission has been mentioned lately in a web of corruption allegations ranging from contract-splitting running into billions of Naira and inability to account for N183.7 billion which passed through it between 2008 and 2012.
Angered by the development, the Auditor-General of the Federation, Mr. Samuel Ukara, has issued a query to the embattled commission to account for the huge amount of public funds, an action that has not gone down well with the Executive Director, Finance, Mr. Henry Ogiri.

Apart from vilifying the Auditor-General for making the report public, Ogiri also questioned the audacity of Ukara to insist that the commission was unable to account for the said amount and called on the Institute of Accounts in Nigeria, ICAN,  to discipline Ukara for alleged ‘unprofessional conduct’.
But the AGF has stood his grounds, maintaining that the NDDC refused to respond to repeated pleas by his office to respond to audit queries issued to it despite sustained reminders spanning over a year in each case.

24 comments:

1. Hmmm! God help us in this country

2. Buhari this. Buhari that.
    Yes. He is without blemish.
    A miracle worker. The saviour we ve all be waiting for.

Yet. The naira is depreciating every day. Unemployed is on the increase.
    No good roads. No stable power supply.

1. U r such an idiot! A fool of the highest order but then what do u expect from one whose common sense is not even common. Didn't ur naira start depreciating during ur GEJ's administration? Was it not during his time that CBN shut down RDAS. Am sure u don't even know what that means. Is it within these 3 months that our roads became bad? Or is it within these 3 months that our power system became unstable? How come u r not talking about the issue on ground? The embezzlement in NDDC. Am sure u deviated cos u have nothing to say on it. No form of defence for them.
      As for HenryOgirih, am sure he will be panicking by now. The empire he built in PH GRA in less than one year will come crashing on him. When he was looting money for patience and wike during the campaign/elections, he didn't know a day like dis will come. And when GEJ lost and Wike was declared winner in Rivers state, he was hoping that Buhari will sack them immediately. The plan was for wike to make him the commissioner of finance in the state. But Buhari didn't act as they expected and now he is stuck. Let's see how the drama will end.

2. No stable power supply like seriously?

When you see truth please say it. Though power supply credit is not to PMB but there's stable power supply.

From obj to yaradua to GEJ and lokoja-abuja road is still the same after how many years.

Comment about the post

3. You are a big fool. Onye ara.

4. If you are a guy then I really pity your wife. A guy that doesn't know how to let go and move on. Chukwu meelu hi ebere.

5. You are the most senseless human being I have ever come across. Your stupidity is repulsive.

3. .....
    Dr .......,ur shakara don pour o. Prison straight. Wicked husband to his wife,angry dad to his kids. That aunty gweggz n her ammonia stench will leave you soon,with that G-Wagon .

4. Na wa!

We're slowly getting tired of this probes o.

After all these noises now,we won't hear anything about the matter again.

5. There is mismanagement of funds in all sectors so he should get ready to summon everybody.

6. Lol@d line they said contract bazaar.
    No wonder my pastor just keep accusing civil servants of being nigeria's problem.dat all they do is sharing money.
    Now with all these ridiculous amounts this region is raped of' by these management,monies that will change lives if only these projects were executed oo.but with all this some idiots that are hungry but have become slaves to ethnic bigotry, will still cuss Buhari for witchhunting their brothers.!

7. Lol@d line they said contract bazaar.
    No wonder my pastor just keep accusing civil servants of being nigeria's problem.dat all they do is sharing money.
    Now with all these ridiculous amounts this region is raped of' by these management,monies that will change lives if only these projects were executed oo.but with all this some idiots that are hungry but have become slaves to ethnic bigotry, will still cuss Buhari for witchhunting their brothers.!

8. Na wa.
    Imagine all these billions that keep flying out of the treasury into individual pockets.

NDDC should be scrapped since it has not been able to fulfill the reason for its creation.
    Some people are busy using it to enrich their pockets. Tufia.

9. Diversion of money can u imagine, corruption every were, all of u will be expose one by one.
    Lolah.

10. Na wa! Yet they say Nigeria is broke? I laff in spanish..

11. I tire for this our country ooo. See the way they are just calling billions as if it is thousands. God help us.

NDDC your cup is full and over flowing.

12. Hahahaha hohohoho Uncle Dan Abia ntoor gi.shebi you will see your family members and dodge...You forgot those who were there for you when life was rough, When they mistakenly corner tpu in the family house or church u smile sheepishly and make bogus promises to them .hahaha I don't blame u its those who were depending in u instead of looking up to God.My own number too will be unavailable to bring jollof rice for you wherever you end up.Uncle my assd.Ntoooor again Owo ibak!!

13. Sincerely the moneymaker is so annoying and silly.

14. I keep saying it, until corruption is nipped down to its root, we as a nation will never move forward.

And I still insist also, that GEJ be held accountable for being ignorantly irresponsible to the affairs under his administration, degree of incompetence is appalling, goddamit.

Everyweek, new corruption related issues will arise of how one agency or mda or govt parastatal was being mismanaged. And ofcourse uncle bubu has to clear the ROT.

Anyone who comes up here, to insult PMB's efforts. The thunder that will fire you is being brewed up by Thor himself, and it must fire u.

So be warned.

#MrLohki

15. THIS COUNTRY EH?? See what fellow Niger delta people are doing to their own people Tommorow some deeply mad idiots will come and say niger delta is not been developed when it is thier very own so called big men that have destroyed the region....what is surprising is that some dullards who are also suffering from mismanagement of resources here will come here and be abusing buhari..even tho me I don't care about the man but we should hold our immediate so called politcans accountable instead of saying very stupid illiterate comments about north this this or that then turn a stupid blind eye towards your own relations who are bigger thieves

16. I don taya for probes and counter probes. Can Mr president shot down all democracy/ infrastructure and start everything all over again?

17. All their work for NDDC na to call TV stations follow them go inspect one big hostel when dem dey build for one school. The hostel so, nor dey ever dey reach completion. Dem go berate the contractor publicly say e nor do the work well. Sometimes sef na the contractor boy dey stand there like houseboy. 180 billion!!!!!! This story na true???