Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saraki In Quandary As Senators Reject Pay-Cut

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Saraki In Quandary As Senators Reject Pay-Cut

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, appears to be currently in a state of confusion, as his plans to considerably reduce the salaries and allowances of senators apparently hit a brick wall yesterday.

Saraki had, in his early days as Senate President, hinted that his leadership would review downward, the perceived bogus salaries and allowances of senators, saying his decision was in line with the mood of the nation.
The Senate President had constituted an ad-hoc committee on the review of the finance of the Senate for the purposes of cutting cost of governance through downward review of salaries and allowances of senators.

After weeks of deliberations the 10-man committee, chaired by Senator James Manager, PDP Delta South, submitted its report to the senate last week Thursday with recommendations on a slight reduction in the salaries and allowances of senators.

The report, according to a source, recommended a 10 per cent cut in the allowances and salaries of all senators.
The report which was to be openly debated on the floor of the Senate yesterday for possible adoption, was stood down for further legislative input after about two hours of closed door session by all the senators on it.

At the resumption of sitting yesterday, Senator Saraki following a closed door session, said that senators agreed to step down the report for further legislative input without giving any reason.
But some senators, who later spoke to Vanguard on the issue on the condition that their names must be kept secret, said the report was stood down due to its total rejection by the majority of the senators.

Senators it was learnt, warned that the matter must be cautiously handled.
One senator said that though majority of the senators agreed that funny allowances like the monthly N42,000 wardrobe allowance should be cancelled or cut off completely but that many reasoned that substantive statutory emoluments should be sustained in the face of increasing financial requests from constituents and other Nigerians on daily basis.

He said: “Yes, as recommended by the committee, all senators agreed that there must be openness in the Senate budget and by extension, all beneficiary organs of the National Assembly but at the same time, many reasoned that why should we further reduce our budget when already, N30billion has been reduced from the traditional N150 billion that it used to be for all the seven different organs of the National Assembly.

“All of us have people in our constituencies and financial requests from them keep pilling up on daily basis, the reality of which made steps to be redirected, otherwise, some of us may stop coming here.”
However, the Chairman, Senate Ad- Hoc committee on Media and Publicity, Senator Dino Melaye, APC, Kogi West, at a media briefing, explained that the stepping down of the report was done in order to carry the House of Representatives and other organs of the National Assembly along.

According to him, the budget of the Senate was not independent of the entire National Assembly.
He said: “The Senate today, in closed door session, discussed the report of the ad hoc Committee on finances of the Senate, and after due deliberations by the senators, we came to the conclusion that since the budget of the Senate is not independent of the budget of the National Assembly, where the budget of the House of Representatives is also inclusive.

“We have the management, we have the NILS, we have even the Public Accounts, we also have the National Assembly Civil Service Commission, we have agreed that we should consult amongst other arms that share the budget of the NASS, with the House of Representatives before we would draw a conclusion on the report. So, the resolution is that we are going to interface with the House of Representatives so that we can be on the same page on the report as presented. This is the resolution of the Senate today in closed door session’

vanguard report

24 comments:

1. Greedy people. Why not suffer now and enjoy later? How I wish they can just withhold their salaries for 2 months, let's see if they won't accept the reduction.

2. Story! Greedy people. Look @ the millions they are pocketing just for sitting in the chamber doing nothing meaningful, driving exotic cars, constituting traffic gridlocks on the roads, fighting and even scaling fences!

3. “All of us have people in our constituencies and financial requests from them keep pilling up on daily basis, the reality of which made steps to be redirected, otherwise, some of us may stop coming here.”

Since when have you people helped your constituencies? It is apparent that the senate is bigger than us Nigerians,for them to vehemently refuse a cut of just 10percent.

Highly insensitive especially in this time that an average or poor Nigerian is willing to sacrifice his daily bread to have better Nigeria!

1. Don't mind the idiots! Meanwhile some civil servants have not received their salaries for over 3 months and they equally have pple depending on them. Guess they r trying to recoup the money they spent during the elections.

2. Pensioners are being owed for 7months in my state. Smh!

4. APC...Change!!!!😁

5. Looooool. Greedy idiots. Abeg Nigeria should be privatized. Na free money dey cause these nonsense. Anywhere oil dey make the owners of the land take am. Shikena. That way we'll only have leaders that are ready to work come out.

6. Had sleepless night.But am happy today.

7. Awon oles!!!!!!!!

Buhari should do something!

8. Their business, i care less.

9. “All of us have people in our constituencies and financial requests from them keep pilling up on daily basis, the reality of which made steps to be redirected, otherwise, some of us may stop coming here.” - This is the most bogus thing I've read this year!! They shouldn't come, what good have they done to the country? Can't they stay in their houses and deliberate via skype? #justsaying

10. Inukwa Qunadry!
    Which kind of Quandry??

He Had better ignore dose greedy lots and do what is right.
    The Masses are here suffering and dey are dere,as self-entitled as ever,earning outrageous salaries....

11. Why wont they reject pay cut. Do you know how much they paid during the last election to be there. So people dont want them to recoup their money.

these senators are not worthy at all. i just pity our people that voted thieves to lead them.

12. Why do I love this new Dino?.
    Anyways,ALL of them,incruding the SP agreed not to agree to the pay-cut.

You feel me?

13. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Greedy fellows
    They're all there for the money..
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

14. Was anyone expecting them to agree ni. Democracy in Nigeria is too expensive and we are not ripe for it. My dear Buhari shld step into this pls....

15. Is there no way to call them back if they are not doing our interest, if they can not see the plight of the nation at this period and is not that they are poor, majority have held one post or the other before in this nation.

16. And some of them chanted "change" but refused to the 'cut'.
    What are they doing to their constituencies?