Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Will Smith takes on the NFL in Concussion trailer

Thursday, September 03, 2015

Will Smith takes on the NFL in Concussion trailer

Will Smith threatens to give the NFL an almighty headache in the first trailer for Concussion, a new film that paints the league in a harsh light.Directed by Peter Landesman (Parkland), Concussion centers on Dr Bennet Omalu (Smith), the Nigerian forensic pathologist and neuropathologist who discovered chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE) in football players, who take countless blows to the head playing the sport. 

Omalu made the discovery after performing an autopsy on former Steelers center Mike Webster (played by David Morse in the movie). Because of Omalu’s findings, other players who have endured a history of head trauma have been found to suffer from the same progressive degenerative brain disease.

Smith appears to be gunning for an Oscar as Omalu, mastering the accent with aplomb and visibly disappearing into the role of the crusader. The promising glimpse of his performance in Concussion calls to mind his transformative turn as Muhammad Ali in Michael Mann’s 2001 biopic Ali, which earned the actor an Oscar nomination.

The tone of the trailer is reminiscent of another Mann film – 1999’s whistleblowing thriller The Insider. Like that film, which tracked Jeffrey Wigand’s battle with the tobacco industry, Concussion looks to portray the NFL as a villainous entity, hellbent on silencing Omalu.

Landesman likened football to “smoking, drinking and doing drugs” in a recent interview with the Monday Morning Quarterback. “I like to think in some ways that life is an occupational hazard,” he said. “Something we do in our life is going to kill us; maybe now, maybe 50 years from now.” To Landesman, Concussion is a “story about making adult choices”.
The film opens in the US on Christmas Day, just as the NFL gears up for the playoffs.

Culled from thegauradian.

22 comments:

1. What's the big deal about this? Honest kweshiun o

1. Who u come know, see ur head

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Thats dope then no doubt...... #NowPlaying>> caution: giorgie mccoy....

4. Will will,nice one,will love to watch the movie,make I hear ur 9ja accent.

1. You might be disappointed. Heard the accent is whack. Oyelowo would have done a better job

2. Accent isn't nice

3. You heard the accent is whack, you did not listen nor watch and you are recommending oyelowo? Did Omalu not see his brother Chiwetel before going for Smith? You guys and sentiment

5. The film must be very educative then.

Aeegurl...

6. Yippee Yo! Can't wait already. Will Smith did it for me when he took a break from sci-fi movies for the lead role in FOCUS. One unpredictable plot that employed predictable patterns. The irony is, in FOCUS, the audience loses the focal point. Goes to show how emotions get in the way of good reasoning/biz. Jess changed Nicky's game.

1. Gosh! I loved "Focus"
      Just couldn't Predict it till the end!

2. Great movie, Focus

3. Can't wait to hear your accent Will
      In other news Stella, can you start a post for movies, for us movie lovers? Series too?
      Just a suggestion o. I'm sure it will be fun.

4. @ Iphie Dearie, that's the beauty of a good story.

@ Andromeda, very intriguing. You guys have swell taste.

7. The topic heading should be - "Will Smith plays Nigerian Doctor......"

I don't mean to offend.

8. Chiwetel would have done a better job. Oyewole is Yorba jor. Omalu is an ibo man. Same ibo u all ate condemning na who you want Oyewole to act as. Smh

9. Will Smith's Nigeria accent was whack, he sounded nothing like a Nigerian. Why can't Americans do proper research before making a movie. The accent was depicted the same way Americans were depicted in the movie, non chalant, indifferent, no attention to detail, taking things on surface level. Sad from such a 'great' nation.