Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Benue State Places Embargo On Rat Delicacy Due To Lassa Fever Inbox x

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Benue State Places Embargo On Rat Delicacy Due To Lassa Fever Inbox x

The Benue state government has directed people in the state to desist from eating rats for the meantime in order to curtail the spread of Lassa fever seeing that rats are the major carrier.

The State Governor Samuel Ortom gave the directive at Aso Villa shortly after meeting with Vice President Osinbajo.

Ortom explained that the step becomes necessary even as the delicacy is popular among the people of the state though Benue has only recorded one case of the virus but they have to take necessary measures.

Rat stew,rat porridge,rat pepper soup.et al have been banned..make una take note oh.

90 comments:

1. Wait, some people eat rat? Like rat rat???

I'm shocked!

2. How can human being eat rat? Animal din finish? Awon onijekuje ranu wonyi. Kini yi kamilara baje.

3. How can human being eat rat? Animal din finish? Awon onijekuje ranu wonyi. Kini yi kamilara baje.

2. some people eat rat? as in eku? hmmm

3. Lmao. So funny. How person go dey eat rat?

4. So some people really eat rats???? Tufia *spits*

1. Like seriously, ppl eat rats??? I can't even eat Bush meat (God forbid)

5. May God heal those that are still sick.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nna the rate at which i fear rat don carry style increase shah......

7. So benue people dey chop rat before??? Kikikikikikikiki...

8. Eating rats kwa? No wonder lassa fever don return in full gear.

9. chai so Benue state do eat Rat and i did not know. I would have invited them to come to that my area and see one dirty house that has been housing ekute inla for that place.

Who do i know that is Benue. Ok now i know let me call my former colleague, he is a benue guy so that he can come and eat the rats in that my area.

God forbid bad thing ooo

10. Replies
    1. I hear say some people dey eat rat

Na wa

I fear shaa

Cockroaches sef, some people dey roast am chop

11. Rat stew, rat porridge.. How bad are your lives?

12. Buh rat meat is the bomb na especially when used in preparing draw soup aah abi nkwobi shhhh licks tongue

1. *throws up under your comment*

Wah??

2. Jesu!!! Inyama. God forbid bad thing.

13. People dey chop RAT?

Rat as in oke?
    Nnyamaaaaaa!
    * spits on the ground*

14. Never knew people from the state eat rat, like seriously???
    Hope I have not eating it from my friend who is from dat state, ah!
    I pray the country overcome this lassa ish.
    Inukwa delicacy.

15. People eat rat ? First time I heard this .

16. But why will any right thinking human being eat RAT?

17. Yoruba's call it "Ekute"

Efik call it "Eku"

English man call it "Rat"

18. A couple had been married for several years without a child. For the purpose of companionship, they bought a Rottweiler puppy, named it Hatchi and loved her like a child.

The dog had access to all the rooms in the house. The puppy grew to become a large, beautiful dog and had on several occasions saved d couples from robbery. Hatchi was always faithful, loyal and defended its owners against any danger.

Seven years later, the couple was blessed to have the long awaited son. They were very happy with their new son and decreased the attention they had been giving the dog. Hatchi felt neglected and began to get jealous of the baby.

One day the couple left the baby sleeping peacefully in his cradle and went to the terrace to prepare a roast. They were shocked as they were heading to the nursery and saw Hatchi in the hallway with a bloody mouth, wagging its tail.

The dog's owner thought the worst, pulled out a weapon and immediately killed the dog. Rushed to the baby's room and found a beheaded snake close to the baby. The owner begins to mourn and exclaims I killed my faithful dog!

How often have we misjudged people without finding out facts.

The next time we are tempted to judge and condemn anyone remember the
    story of a faithful dog Hatchi.

1. Hmmmm...this got me thinking.
      Interesting piece

2. First time I read this story, I was moved.
      Still moved.

3. This is as old as mankind na.

4. J baby, lovely story. Me like it. This is not end time old story.

5. Eka I know its old u didn't need to say it, someone can still learn something from it if u didn't.

6. Hahahahahahahahahajahaha... Eka ooohhhh...
      No kee me with laff abeg

7. Even if its old, its still brand new to some people. You don't have to reply every comment in a bid to maintain your 'blog status', sometimes, restrain your fingers and move on.

19. I don't think ppl eat rat, if its rabbit I would have said ppl do.

1. They do eat the real rats that you know not rabbit.even though they call it bush rat;rat is rat!
      With their men carrying radio all around town,waiting for their wives to bring money

20. Ewwwwest...we ge that they're the food basket but rat Fa?

1. Will they listen?
      Rat is even more expensive in that place than the real beef

21. Ewwww,so these people are truly animals,tueh,so they actually eat rats?,no wonder they behave like rodents

22. He means bush rat...dos man should come and correct himself

23. Rat eater kwa? Dis is new to my ear.

24. If u no how sweet it is u ll want to be born a Tiv woman or man

25. that means tu face, joel and terry g once ate rats.........eeewwwww

26. This sucks biko.... How can people eat rat that I dislike so much. So disgusting

27. So Benue peeps do eat ratsss???
    What kinda suffer head is that nau....
    Eku of all tins?.... O ga gan sha!
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

28. All this Rats sef done dey get liver to challenge room owners. God help us.

...I Am Not A Terrorist...
    #emdossupernova

29. Some people eat rats?? #pukes
    I used to wonder the most disgusting thing anyone can eat and I always arrive at Vultures.
    #double pukes

1. If people can eat pig that is considered the most filthy animal, then eating rat is bliss to some. Ewwww **spits**

30. So they eat rat in benue state ? Shock is the word here.

31. Rats were eaten during the Biafran war to sustain the protein level in kids and prevent Kwashiokor.

1. Iphie oooooooooo!
      Don't take me back to the horror of dat war.Any other war for that matter.

2. Lizards and not rats

32. I don't even eat bushmeat talk more of rats.
    May God save his children.

33. people eat rats!!!! *pukes*

yummy mummy

34. Rat delicacy???? Don't know whether to laugh or cry #pukes#

35. Ewwwwwwwwww😌 rat meat kwa god forbid biko

36. All these stupid rats sef, that's how they always disturb us everytime. And before daybreak u'll see their poos on the gas burner... the landlord said rats are everywhere in london therefore u can't do anything bout it. thanks to the gum trap, lol......those creatures shouldn't be eaten at all, disgusting much, #pukes

1. In London ke, where do you live? You people are either dirty or your environment is dirty.

37. Why anybody in the first place would even eat rat is totally beyond me. Even that bush meat annoys the heck out of me!!!

1. Hahahahahhaha dis ur soliloquy cracked me up
      LMAO @...totally Beyond me

38. Benue people especially the tiv speaking tribe eat bush rats and not house rats. They set traps, hunt and catch bush rats during the dry season. Its a nice delicacy wen smoked and used for stew. Wonder y u guys r talkin plenty. Some tribes eat dogs, snakes, cats n even lizards so y d plenty talk abeg. Yes, i'm a tiv girl n i'm proud

39. Is it poverty that drives ppl to eat all these strange foods?

40. I served in benue,and benue people eat rats,as in oke,eku any name u call it, I went to the secondary sch to collect my clearance while waiting for the principal,One teacher was eating and offered me as I look the food I saw rat,i fear first and told her see rat in your food,but she said no na lat (rat)....i faint wake

1. Hahahahahahahahahahaha...
      Na laff I just come laff for dis post.

2. Bwhahahahahahahahahaha

My Belle oooo.....

Choi!

3. Its true serving in Benue state dry call lat(rat)

41. Hahahahahahahaha yeye @ Tony

42. Y wud they even be eating rat to start wit

43. I also served in Benue and they do not eat the houserat
    ...its their culture...pls respect it

44. Eating of frogs,cockroaches,octopus,worms in a 5star hotel in other continents&cultures isn't worst?
    The rat ish shud only b worrisome as a carrier of d lassa virus.
    Rat nah their meat dere,one cnt change it. But mk dem pause d eating4now.