Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Businessman Pleads Guilty To Producing Fake Moet Wine

Saturday, January 23, 2016

Businessman Pleads Guilty To Producing Fake Moet Wine

A 43-years-old man Julian Madu, Friday told a Federal High Court sitting in Lagos, that he was guilty of sale and distribution of unregistered Moet wine.

Madu was charged by the National Agency for Food, Drugs, Administration and Control, NAFDAC.He is standing trial on a three-count charge of distribution and sale of unregistered products.

He pleaded guilty to the offence when the charge was read over to him.

The prosecutor, Mr Shamaki Umar therefore, prayed the court for the accused to be remanded in custody, while he sought for a date for review of facts.
The trial judge, Justice Abdulazeez Anka consequently, ordered the remand of the accused in prison custody.

He adjourned the case to Jan. 26 for a review of facts.
The prosecutor, Mr Shamaki Umar had told the court that the accused committed the offence on March 16, 2015.

He said that the accused was arrested at his residence at Oke-arin area of Lagos where he engaged in the reproduction of the Moet wine.
According to the prosecutor, Madu also sold and distributed the counterfeit products to consumers.

He said that the offence contravened the provisions of sections 5, 6 and 6(1) (a) of the Food Drugs and Related products (registration) Act Cap F33 Laws of the Federation, 2004.
The accused who was earlier granted administrative bail after his arrest, had failed to appear in court on Jan. 18, the last adjourned date slated for his arraignment.

The prosecutor had then sought for an abridgement of time from the court for arraignment of the accused, when he was re-arrested.

Vanguard reportage

Why produce fake wine when he could have bought fruits and made Juice to sell?..Get rick Quick or die trying mentality!

35 comments:

1. Hw mch is fruit? He will make more money

Wondering who Shantell is😼

1. Why must it always come from my people??? I'm still proudly igbo o no matter what

2. Why not produce his own brand? The best way to stay healthy is to blend your own fruits and drink.

Fake everything from coke, eva water, chi products to that 50naira water we buy in traffic.

This man did not settle nafdac and his neighbours that's why he was caught.

Nafdac biko enter street they're still much out there especially sachet water/50naira bottle water producers.

3. Was at a top island one day with friends, and as hot girls we were offered three bottles of Moët. One of my friends took the 1st sip and ran to the bathroom to spit out and came back to say it was fake. She started describing the real one and showing us the signs of the fake one. Na so all of us Sidon dey admire the bottles. Me I had even already taken a few sips. Lol. The guys (one of whom owned the club) started vexing cos they said we were feeling proud and the drinks were complementary. But who wan die of poison? Na only sorry we tell them oh! Say make them give us cocktail.
      What we don't know is that bar and Club owners also patronize fake champagne manufacturers too. It's less expensive for them. Even many wine shops patronize them. We are our own enemies in Nigeria. Cos if they don't have market they won't continue production. Imagine! Moët from Oke-Arin? Hian!

2. Stella d product might not be fake.....he disnt register them

117 comment 2016

1. How can you say it may not be fake. Is he authorized to produce moet. Moet is imported so if he's producing it in his backyard then it's fake.

2. What??!!!
      Did u even think before making this comment? SMH

Is Moët a Nigerian product? Na wa.

3. Default Smile, pls. Receive sense and stop spewing rubbish.

3. Shebi it's coz they caught this one
    Only GOD knows the thousands of people out there doing this and worse. Mcheew!

1. Nne..... Legion! For they are many. Me thinks This is just one pulzon (lol)

4. Life.fake everywhere. Bonjour.

1. December we bought beveldere
      And most of them were fake. Hubby only found out when he noticed the seal under one botttle he had at the bar was different from the new ones. After comparing, he called the man and asked them to come and pick it up but he refused coming giving excuses, they had to return it to his shop and forcefully collected money because we bought a lot of drinks from him. We even returned the other wines we bought from him.

Bad people every where...
      Nafdac should catch them more. But the problem with all this thing is if he had gone to Nafdac and settled them before now he would have gone scot free

6. This is the reason there's an increase in kidney failure and cancer.

7. Right. This should be the one poor Moy Dot has been consuming....

8. He wanna make quick money. And some people for their mind dem don buy moet wine not knowing it's a made in lagos produced by Julian Madu moet dem buy. Lols

9. Replies
    1. That was how I bought wine in and it was blood tonic that was inside it.

10. Almost every wine in Naija is produced at someone's backyard ooo.They make a lot of money from fake business men like them too.You can hardly spot the difference.

1. Really 'almost every wine'. Hmmm

2. Trully,
      A lot go on especially @ BBA Trade Fair Complex.

Numerous products are being faked and escorted into the market by a military officer.

Those behind it makes hell lot of money and all.

11. Gud morning brothers n sisters of sdk family. Happy weekend, wishing u alll stress free day. Honeybell

12. Moydot,dey don nab ur guy..u better go check ur liver.

13. Heartless...... Just because U wanna make money.

14. Unregistered doesn't mean fake o,stella! But even at that,hes wrong

15. Reproduced means he was doing his own with moet bottle. Dem full oke arin

16. Why do u pple talk lik iliteratess?I sso amazed about most of the things I read here,it might not be fake huh!do u knw d condition of d environment it's bn producced,aunty do u evn knw anytin bout hygien?pple wil jst pik bacteria infested bottles and open un-treated tap or well water to make edible things or Drinkss at der backyard and u wil Be supporting dem,pple buy juice and see so many horrible things,do u guys think dey are mostly produced frm der factories,hell no,Itss d work of dess useless lowlives backyard producerss,i pray ur family member wnt b a victim of poison,by den u can com bk and yarn dust.shallom.

1. After praying indirect prayer you come back and say shallom! Oriegwu