Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Car Parks In Lagos Triple Their Prices Due To Dollar rise...

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Car Parks In Lagos Triple Their Prices Due To Dollar rise...

My Darling friend sent me this ticket and message which i wanna put up for discussion.....people are increasing things and quoting dollar rise and thats wrong...Now ask me wetin concern dollar rise and parking of cars?

My friend says....

''Na die we dey for lagos oh,Car park 700 naira From 200 to 400 and now 700naira!!!..Wetin I wan buy for market nor pass 3k,I don tire for lagos oh, them say dollar high,I no know how dollar take concern car park business oh''

So,what else has gone up due to dollar rise?

78 comments:

1. This is soo wrong!Using the current exchange rate to inflate prices of services and goods.

1. What's a car park? As in the parking lot?? Buahahaha they tryna make their money somehow and this season is best to use "dollar rise" as an excuse lol
      Kai Nigerians#!!!

2. Ahhhhh this dollar thing? Stella you don't want to know what Nigerians are doing and using this as an excuse.
      In December I went to a store in Abuja, a well known store with branches in ph and Lagos, I went to get a watch for my sister.... Online this watch was 275dolls, in the off-license Nigerian store it was 82,500naira. I just said oh well if I add shipping from the US store to Nigeria it'll be about that amount so let me just buy this one I'm seeing.
      Something happened I couldn't get the watch, so by the second week in January I went back to the store lo and behold the watch was going for 98,000naira?????? I screamed!!!!! I was like why? Their reason was "dollar went up". I said what did you say? For an item you purchased long before this meteoric rise in the dollar the lady wanted to lie and claim the watch was a new stock, it wasn't that particular one I saw in December, by the time I spoke common sense to her she now agreed and said yes it's the same one, but that's what happens, their prices fluctuate. All the other items in the shop their prices were somewhat the same but this particular brand the prices went up! My goodness! I was ready to buy something cheaper but when my sister wants something you can't change her mind. She was particular about that watch. They gave me 5% off, I closed my eyes paid for the watch &I left.
      Basically stella here's the thing Nigerians are evil, wicked, greedy people. They look for the smallest way or excuse to take advantage of their fellow man. I keep saying the same thing to people if you can't be good to your fellow brother/sister living slightly above poverty line, how do you expect govt to be nice to you?
      We need to start being there for each other, taking care of each other before those in glass houses (people in power), will look out for us. You can make a decent profit without cheating people.

3. I'm telling you.

Everything is now attributed to the dollar rise.

Pray tell, what's the connection?

Abi they buy the land for the car park afresh on a daily?

* confused *

4. Jobless housewife, not like i'm saying you are same as our JHW..now you get it right.

5. Did their parking space increase in dollar also?
      Always trying to take advantage of everything.
      They should do something about it

6. That's exactly what they do in that marina car pack... it was formerly 200 naira, suddenly they changed it to 400naira. And if you don't wanna park ur car in the chaos its 1000naira oh!

7. About your watch going from 80k to 90k...how do you think they'll be able to restock with the current rate if they don't adjust the price using the current rate?... Where is your business sense?

8. Nigerians are very wicked people the reason I don't help many people

9. Example of a greedy, thieving Nigerian anon 16:45. Taking advantage of people and covering up with business sense. Ndi were business sense.

10. Anon 13.22, it's called Replacement Cost.

11. Anno 13:22 about the watch...that is how you do business you must sell at current rate so that you can restock. That is how you can make it in business .

1. Even tomatoes and pepper wey dey come from the north. Smh!

3. End time is really here!

Did i just type that?
    *scrolls up*
    *erases previous input*

Sweetheart is typing...

4. Everything in the market is damn expensive even those ones wey they no dey use dollar buy. Nigeria is in a mess...

1. Madam plz try to always respect other people's opinions. I don't like the way you attacked me on a chronicle about a woman who wants to leave her husband for her boss. I hv never replied ur comments here before. Biko

5. Everything is on d high side o.
    Even Ugwu (Pumpkin) leaf.

1. That one is due to harmattan dear.

2. Yes na
      Transport has hiked also in price because of all this dollar issue

So sellers are trying to bring out their own money

Everything will be affected. Because somehow, some way, everything is linked to price of dollars

6. Ogbono half derica is 800
    Like wtf?

7. Naija sabi hype things, even akara don high, na so I hear

8. ORORO, EPO, GARRI, SALT, ALUBOSA,FISH EVERYTHING IS HIGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH*TEARS*

9. Everything has gone up, everything. But what the hell! Car park?

10. Every single Damm thing and it's really annoying

11. It is just painful. I know car parks in Marina is N400.00 while jeep is N500. So what has dollar got to do with it. Are they now employing expatriates to mann the car park. is it not agberos i dey see so for there.

Anyway i have a space to park for free

1. Old price.

It's now 500 and 700 for jeeps.

2. Agberos don't keep the money hope you know

All money collected somehow finds its way to tinibu

Agberos will collect and give area ogas, area ogas would collect and give chairman ogas. Chairman ogas would collect and give tinibu

And they all have targets. It's that bad. So they will tell them that whatever we are doing with this money has hiked in price see cause of dollar so you need to increase price

12. That is Nigeria for you!!!

Nigerians can like to over do things... Mtshewww

13. Next time enter bus go market.

Even aboki wey dey sell fruits sef dey complain

14. abacha way I dey by 100 with big stock dry fish for futo park reduce all of a sudden and she con add 50naira on top with small stock dry fish

#GODWIN™

15. Everything don rise up ooooo... #alinko

16. Ashawos una dey hear so? Increase your price too. Lols

Stella you know Nigerians na, they make use of every opportunity to make money. E go better

17. That's almost a thousand naira na wah5o6

18. That's almost a thousand naira na wah o

19. Hahhhaaa dollar is now affecting car parks??? Stupid excuse to extort people

20. Yea madam stellz it is this bad..

A friend was telling me few days ago that she went to buy pumpkin leaf from the market..and normally this is something that is been sold by women who are indigenes here,who rarely make use of fertilizer to plant;but rely mostly on their local manure(hence no much expenses including transport cos they use their bicycle to convey their commodity)

Now on reaching the market,she picked up A vegetable and when she asked the woman how much it is;the woman said #150..she was surprised cos this is something they sell #50 and everyone knows that here..so she asked the woman why the increase in price,with the expectation of the woman telling her that this isnt the season for this particular vegetable;but guess what the woman told her..

"Nne,o bu na inufugi na Dollar di iti ego gbowa"

Trans: Lady,havn't you heard that dollar is increasing as of now?

I dont blame them sha;some will say its the Economy..but truth is that The average person in Naija sees opportunity in Everything,good or bad!!

@MARTINS ABOY

1. That isn't the case

That pumpkin leaves might be her Avenue for making gains from other things she sell.. And now with the hike in price in everything, remember she is also going to feed her family, cloth them and run her business

She can't sell at a loss at this point..

If she sells it for 50 naira and the things she buys 30 naira to feed her family is now 70 naira. What do you expect her to do?? Run out of fund??

Because if she sells 50 naira and buys something that she buys 30 naira at 70 naira, she will be running at a loss

So yes you can understand their hike in price
      This is simple economics

2. Ugu is not in season. Harmattan dries up vegetables.

3. Your english is appalling. You write like a toddler yet ye be forming itk.

4. I experienced this last week. Nothing like #50 ugwu. From #100 upwards. Its horrible

21. What's Lagos Govt doin abt this. Just negodi wicked ripping

22. Even the woman sweeping our compound has increase her fee and I was like mama kilode naa**she said ah my daughter you never hear say dollar don increase!!I said yes!!she said to import broom now don also add money..its not funny!!but I couldn't help laughing
    Naija don tire menobe small

23. Even the woman sweeping our compound has increase her fee and I was like mama kilode naa**she said ah my daughter you never hear say dollar don increase!!I said yes!!she said to import broom now don also add money..its not funny!!but I couldn't help laughing
    Naija don tire menobe small

1. Rotflmao.

Say what?!!

No,no,no, adonbelivit!

2. That's what's xup..she didn't come today..atleast not until we agree she's adding money to her fee

24. Marina own na special case and you must pay even if you just want a company seal on a document. In d past the only alternative was parking at Oceanic Bank at the filling station, pretend you have a meeting, go upstairs, come down n walk away. Appear some 2hrs later n drive home.

25. Runs girls don increase too.so I pack my gbola very well.until further notice.

26. Na wah oo, even when i wanted to sleep with my wife last night, she said nooo, that dollar is now very high, i should bring money, after i have paid her bride price. may God have mercy on us

27. Well it's such a pity that such is happening. Remi Tinubu has said it all the change that was expected is not the change that is being experienced now. God help us all.

28. The price of almost every item has gone up.. If its not dollar rise, then they tell you that the economy is generally bad. " This change no reach ur side!??" or " Buhari e bughari go everything" smh for this country

29. Everything has gone high...egusi, ogbono, pepper except fresh tomato which is still cheap atleast small painter bucket goes for 350.00 others na no go area....9ja n hyping...

30. It's terrible.
    Thats the story all over now.
    Even the woman selling Agbalumo says dollar has gone up.

Everybody is capitalising on the dollar increase.

31. At least paying for a car park in a market makes a little sense. The most annoying is the ones at the hospital. For goodness sake why should I pay to park my car in a government hospital? Eko oti baje.

32. There used to be this plot of land beside my compound. The owner lives in the states.

I came back after Christmas, to see the foundation being laid.

Can you believe that less than two weeks later, they are about decking the building?

I went out on the day they cemented the floor after laying the foundation, only to come back and see the building at window level.

I shock!!!
    Lmao!

So, the rise in dollar, is of benefit to some people.
    Not to talk of workers here in Nigeria, who are paid in dollars.

33. Everything will hike in price, every single thing until there is a stability in the economy.. Because everything is linked and affected by the rise in dollar against naira

Take a example a lady who sells ugu
    She might have been selling at 100 naira before for a bunch and if she has 30 bunches that's 3000 because at the end of the day, her daily expenditure to buy nylon to pack the ugu and also her feeding money and taking care of family money isn't up to 1500. So she has 1500 to her pocket

But when her daily expenditure goes above 1500 because of the hike in price for nylon and other things she needs for her house, she will also adjust her price to accommodate this.. If her daily expenditure goes from 1500 to 2500 you don't expect her to be taking home only 500 naira. She will increase the bunch of ugu from 100 to 130. So that 30 bunches will give her 3900.

So when she spends 2500 on daily expenses, she will have 1400 left..

And then remember this women buy from farmers. Farmers can come out and say we are no longer selling at this price but this price because fertilizers are now expensive and laborers now take more money from us

This will also affect the hike in price

34. Indirectly dollar has everything to do with it, almost everything we use in Nigeria is imported. If price of goods is increasing how are the owners of those car park suppose to meet up with the increase in the cost of living? They also have to increase their fee cus everything they are also buying in the market is now more expensive#it is what it is#

35. They has inflated the price of parking lot in Lagos island...from 300 to 500 for cars, suv from 500 to 700.. I fear

36. Na wao ooo! what does the price of dollars has to do with car park?

37. But dollar is now 199 wtf! Nigerians ehn! Lol

1. Which 199 i sent money to naija yesterday at the rate of $1-N281.81

2. Which 199 i sent money to naija yesterday at the rate of $1-N281.81

3. Can you still send at that rate to China? And I will pay you here in naira. Let me have your mail

38. TBS CAR PARK USED TO BE N200 THEN N300. NOW, IT IS N300 PER HOUR IMAGINE THAT!

39. That UBA car park is just something else. You would think with the 700 naira fee, they would be able to engage the services of polite and well cultured workers.

40. My cream and soap price doubled,I spent twice what I budgeted. Its crazy.

41. What's the effect of dollar on car parking?

42. hmmm me I love my sugar cane oh, for me it is a cool way to chill after work while watching tv. but this aboki with sugar cane in his wheel barrow told me hundred naira for one stick of kwashokord sugar cane... the abokis are also aware...lol