Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Introducing the Road Link Motorable 'Wooden Bridge' in Lagos‏

Friday, January 15, 2016

Introducing the Road Link Motorable 'Wooden Bridge' in Lagos‏

Next time you are travelling outside of Lagos and need to avoid traffic, use the 'Road Link' bridge.

The bridge was launched in 2003 as a footbridge and later upgraded to vehicle transmitting bridge.

Road Link has opened the community up to many opportunities, investments and job creations.

Chief Dr. J.O Omojolowo is the pioneer behind the famous ‘Road Link’ wooden bridge bringing the two communities of Igando and Ayobo together.

Many people travel to Ogun State and so on via the Road Link bridge, saving them traffic time and money. Next time you are travelling outside of Lagos and need to avoid traffic, use the 'Road Link' bridge.

Photos courtsey Sync Media.

53 comments:

1. Kai!! Who allow Okada Man to carry their Daughter like that.
    I can imagine how the people using his road will be made to pay abi na free?
    All in all, they did good. Our Goverment has decided the masses have to build roads for them selves now.
    It is well.

1. This kain bridge na OYO o!!!
      Use the 'road-link bridge' at your own risk!

2. Looks like a bloody death trap to me.

3. Abeg it looks really unsafe to use and very scary too .

1. Is this an advert? It's a funny one. Looking at the bridge alone with all the users at the same time.. scary mehn. Can't they allow the lagos state build a proper bridge? This wooden thing will give way soon during raining season o.

4. Lord knows my heart would be in my mouth or hand even,till i get to the end of the bridge. Thats if i ever take that route.

Nice innovation by the way..

5. Hnmmm but this looks risky for vehicles to ply jare especially when the woods holding the bridge ain't looking strong and wont be checked from time to time ensuring its in good condition. no be Naija?

6. Wow. We all dnt need to wait for government for better living. We can all b agents of change

7. Well done Chief Dr G.O.

But hmmmm,I will not ply.

8. I wont try that. Make i no enter inside canal there.

Goodluck to the users

9. I like the effort. But I won't pass here,it does not look strong at all

10. I trust Naija tanker drivers to spoil it soon

11. You'd think it's free the way you put it.
    The people that live around there paid for every kobo used in making that bridge.
    What chief? People should stop taking credit for other people's sweat.

1. If I tell you the history of this footbridge you will shout. This baba na original thief as una de see am so, and this picture they use for this advert is the real look, I guess they used old pictures because we has been using only one side of the bridge for the past four years now anyway the matter na for another day

It's not for free.cars pay 200naira without passenger, okada the unregistered ones are paying N80.pedesterians pays 30 naira,keke is paying N1500 per day.thia man is making N300 - 500 thousand per day because that's the only nearest link from igando to ayobo and ayetoro side.

His investment is on women, he has more than 4 wives plus concubines o, see as he be like bonga fish

How do I know this man.
      He's banking with us.

2. Ahahah ontop 300k per day, wives and concu wetin? Lol. Workers nko? Abi he's the only one working there? Na wa

12. I don't think I will feel to drive on this..

13. I'd rather stay in traffic than ply this route... Substandard materials

14. It doesn't look like it will last long.

1. I used a similar one in one of this villages on my way to benin. There was mad traffic then, that one is even shorter and I almost fainted.

God please don't allow anything take me to ayobo igando to make me use this bridge

15. Wow, seems safe.......but na wood oh

16. The day i crossed this bridge my heart was in my mouth, nice one though.

1. Same here dear.... I almost passed out as a result of fright. And one of d snags abt d bridge is d@ vehicles going in opposite directions can't move @ d same time. Those going will hav to wait for those coming out. Mschew, very narrow n unbalanced bridge. I fear for d ppl in d@ community especially cos soooooon hmmmmmm

17. Hope they thought about weight of cars? Cos if dump truck pass there....ok o!

18. End time patako crocodile/panda bridge. Na today, dis bridge Don tey since 1800

19. Our government should do something about this jare.They collect 30naira from people per pass oh.That is if you pass there 100times dat is paying 30naira each time.Even if is car they count how many people are in the car they charge 30naira per head.Those people are making lot of money o.

20. How did this make its way in here? This is 2016 and we are starring at a media advertorial for a locally constructed wooden bridge....is this the local content we've been clamouring for ? What is the safety factor or load rating of any bridge made of wood ? a material which is relatively susceptible to member-fracture under fatigue and in this case, being exposed to conditions of varying(different car weights) and consistent stress of a high magnitude.

They should rather call the attention of the LGA chairman who should in-turn convey their plight for a standard bridge to the state government, not to endanger lives with such excuse of a bridge, which also has no demarcation for pedestrians and motorists.
    I vividly recall how one of such make-shift bridges, existing between Yenegoa and Amassoma gave in sometime in 2011, twas a high risk incident which temporarily cut people off, luckily no life was lost.

It's a nice initiative with good economical benefits for the communities but seriously way below safety standards especially at a time when international best practices are being preached. But this goes to show the story of our country, the govt misappropriates funds meant for capital projects, most times lacking inadequate development plans for rural areas and the people are left with no option than to assume their duties and responsibilities. I can only speak from a distance but the people over there have a better understanding of what they've been through since 2003.

Li-yon Vls.

21. Lols look at de bridge, na fall get cars 4 dis kin bridge. Waiting 4 chronicle of those who fell 4rm de bridge. Make it visible after approval

22. Never
    The fear of the bridge collapsing
    The fear or armed robbers and petty robbers

23. Wooden bridge ko, Stick bridge ni! Sooooon dt bridge will give way as a result of pressure frm vehicles of all sorts... Its a good innovation though but not for a busy city lyk lasgidi. Btw I wonda wot dey do wt d toll fares dey collect frm evry vehicle plying d@ route. *smh* Ambode do d needful, biko.

24. For a car to pass thru dis 'pako' u pay #200 per journey. I think okada is #50 and if u use ur leg sef #30. It is pure extortion, although very fast. But when our govt will not do something nko!

25. I could remember the very first time I plied that of pako linking ayobo and igando,I nearly fainted out of fear...but now,I don turn expert whilst plying it.....
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

26. Lol...we are just playing in this country. What is this? And people are applauding this initiative? Thank God someone has spoken about health and safety up there. Which parastatal approved this rubbish? Nigeria is really underdeveloped and not developing. Rubbish!!!!!

27. I stay in da hood and for sometime go thru dah route to work,like double ganger said,private vehiclez pay 250 to cross n public bus,i fynk itz per d number of head in the bus,to add,ori paki has bin there since forever...plus,i fear dah place like ehn.

28. This is nice, but I hope hoodlums don't use this place as a position to extort money from innocent passer by or car owner at odd hours

1. People pay 200naira per car to pass there and 30naira per passenger, trekkers pay 30naira. It doesn't matter if you use it 20times a day, you will pay every single time. This is a rip off, our govt should be ashamed that they cannot build a bridge to serve it's citizen. What is stopping our govt from building a bridge to serve the community.

29. Good job on the part of the good citizens that came up with this beautiful idea, negligence on the part of our government.

30. Look at how it is written like it is something to be celebrated when in truth we are being ripped off. We pay for every step taken on this miserable bridge. Look at the beautiful pictures as if the bridge is really this good, the bridge is deprorable

31. Cool bridge
    I like it!
    German Engineer

32. Igando-Ayobo would be better of without that silly bridge.we all pray Ambode remembers our community some day