Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oscar Committee Member Explain Why Nigerian Films Dont Win International Awards..

Sunday, January 31, 2016

Oscar Committee Member Explain Why Nigerian Films Dont Win International Awards..

Shaibu Husseini, a member of the Nigerian Oscar Selection Committee, has attributed failure of Nigerian movies to win international awards to poor quality of production and bad subtitles .

Husseini told the News Agency of Nigeria on Friday in Lagos that the Oscar award was meant for films produced in foreign language.

He said the Nigerian films produced in English and in local languages never meet the standard for nomination since the introduction of the foreign
language category of Oscar award.
He said: “Nigeria has not been lucky to have entries there because we don’t produce targeting those kinds of awards.
“We just produce to send DVD into the market. There is no conscious effort to produce for Oscars.All these films that you see getting into Oscar, whether in the main category, even the language categories, once they start producing it, they are targeting those Oscar awards.

“They are targeting Globe (awards), they are targeting big awards because whether we like it or not, those awards have a way of helping publicity for the film, they have a way of marketing for the film.
And what does the Oscar Foreign Language Category entail?

“It entails that you must do a film in your local language, in a language that is local to you and in a language that is considered a foreign language.
“And it must be like 70 per cent of your local language and if you must use English at all, it must be like 30 per cent.

“Apart from that, it must be well subtitled and it must be of quality.The committee now is like four years old but we have not been able to have entries that will qualify.”

Husseini also commented on the recent outrage trailing the 2016 Oscar nominations where no black actors were nominated in the major categories.
He said in the past, blacks received nominations, but added that this year they had not participated in any major movies that would earn nominations.

NAN.

22 comments:

1. This man has obviously not seen "ONYE OZI" by Obi Emelonye.
      The quality was fantastic and everything. Except he will say they made it in London. But is doent matter. It was captivating.
      Even my British husband has been talking about Metuhmaribe 2:1 political science UNN.

2. Onye ozi is rubbish!! The whites and there were speaking igbo..that's so unrealistic

3. Really? You call Onye OZI rubbish cos the whites there were speaking Igbo. Yet you all claim Will Smith didn't speak Nigerian accent in Concussion. You lot will never grow. Get over with your perpetual"pull down" syndrome! Why didn't you say anything about the quality of production, story line and the subtitle. All you people do is point out what you perceive as negative.
      My husband is Briton and lives in the UK, he speaks igbo very very well. He sends me messages in igbo. Tomorrow he comes to Anambra state and tries his best to communicate in igbo and people like you will tell him how speaking is "unrealistic" and doesn't fit him.
      ...and oh yes, he calls me utum. he learnt that from one Osuofias movie.

2. My dear, kunle afolayan produces good movies

1. Yes ooo. That guy is a genius

2. You're on point. Kunle sure produces good movies with nice story lines and names...

3. The produces good movies so what? Does he send them for nominations? Nigerians just sit at home and think your entitlement mentality will get you everything.....how many naija producers do movies based on that criteria? Any serious producer will contact this guy, get the criteria and make movies to fit in....in as much I know oyibo shave racism they take whatever they do serious....they will get actors to understudy characters, learn skill, loose weight etc if need be then take time to shoot....but here cos of quick returns shoot a movie in two weeks and u think u can do a thorough job?.yes I understand the challenge of funds but oyibos where once like that till they had to make personal sacrifices to get where they are today.....till we determine to rise above mediocrity we no go reach oscars....

3. This man should shut up.

Even the hollywood also have numerous low budget movies.

Nollywood is trying and doing very well and of recent we are now having Good budget movies especially those Lagos movies.

1. Idiot you should shut up....who told you all movies that won oscars abroad where big budget? Instead of learning yor type will insult those teaching you and never make progress......ewu

4. Tell us sth new. Old story

5. How will they get nominated for Oscars when they keep producing movies like it igbotic love, ss3 girls, the trouble some soul and other stupid movies shior

1. And you've failed to mention movies like 'when love happens', knocking on heavens door, damages, etc.

2. Eka add these ones...Dead end. Couple game. Move a body.

6. Dis guy shud shut up. Have u watched gbomo gbomo express?

7. Well said jawe.... Nollywood and mumu movies

8. Gbomo gbomo express is that an African film? The only way we can get nominated is shooting those our market story lines in our language and shooting it well. Those lagos movies will never win the Oscars cause they try to copy tyler perry nd American movies. Can u act their story better than them? When we learn to tell our own stories nd tell dem well. We will get nominated

9. We really need to look deep into our creativity and see what they've done that earn them the award. The scripting, cast cinematography. Anyway we are working towards that....