Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: James Ibori Allegedly Released From UK Prison And Re-arrested

Thursday, February 04, 2016

James Ibori Allegedly Released From UK Prison And Re-arrested

OMG!!!
Former governor of Delta State,James Onanefe Ibori has completed his prison terms in the United Kingdom. But he is yet to be a free man, as he was immediately re-arrested.

TheNEWS learnt that Ibori jailed in April 2012 by a Southwark Crown court in London was released by prison authorities on 22 January.
He was released from Her Majesty’s Prison in Bedford, outside of London, where he finished his prison term. He was also initially at the Long Lartin Prison in Worcestershire.
“He is out of here”, a prison source at Bedford confirmed on Tuesday night.

Sources said Ibori was re-arrested to face another charge, which borders on the confiscation of his ill-gotten assets, estimated to be about 250 million pounds.
The case initially billed for May, will now come up in June, sources told us this afternoon.

Ibori’s new prison cannot be confirmed.

Fifty-seven year old Ibori was jailed for using UK financial institutions to launder hundreds of millions of pound sterling he stole from public funds in Delta State.

His journey to jail began with his arrest On 13 May 2010 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates under Interpol arrest warrants, issued from United Kingdom courts and enacted by the Metropolitan Police.

He had earlier made a mockery of Nigeria’s legal system, walking away free from the multi-billion fraud charge levelled against him by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, including the $15 million bribe he offered the then EFCC chairman, Nuhu Ribadu.

Ibori’s case and extradition became one of the longest, most complex and expensive operations mounted by Scotland Yard in recent years.
Prosecutors alleged that companies owned by Ibori and his family were beneficiaries from the sale of state assets, including shares in Econet, a GSM telephone operator, as well as crude oil deliveries.

Before his conviction, UK juries two years earlier found James Ibori’s sister, Christine Ibie-Ibori and his mistress, Udoamaka Okoronkwo, guilty on counts of money laundering, in a verdict delivered at the Southwark Crown Court, London.

On 27 February 2012, Ibori himself was docked, accused of stealing US$250 million from the Nigerian public purse. He pleaded guilty to ten counts of money laundering and conspiracy to defraud.

Among possessions confiscated were ...

A house in Hampstead, north London, for £2.2million,
 A property in Shaftesbury, Dorset for £311,000, 
A £3.2m mansion in Sandton, near Johannesburg South Africa , 
A fleet of armoured Range Rovers valued at £600,000,
A £120,000 Bentley Continental GT,
 A Mercedes-Benz Maybach bought for €407,000 cash, that was shipped direct to his mansion in South Africa...

After the sentencing hearing, Sue Patten, head of the Crown Prosecution Service central fraud group, said it would bid to confiscate the assets Ibori had acquired his riches “at the expense of the some of the poorest people in the world.
Also jailed with him apart from his sister and mistress were his wife, Theresa Nkoyo Ibori, his lawyer, Bhadresh Gohil and his financial advisors, Daniel McCann and Lambertus De Boer.

While in prison, Ibori continued to exercise a lot of influence on the politics of  Delta state, with the present governor, Ifeanyi Okowa, regarded as one of his disciples.
Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan, two term governor of the state, who succeeded him in 2007 is his uncle.

PMnews reportage.

Na wah oh...Why didnt they run his sentence concurrently with all his crimes?This is kinda shocking for me that if this report is true oh,that a man who has paid for his crimes and looked forward to freedom would be re-arrested at the gate!

59 comments:

1. Stella it doesn't work like that. Each case is tried by its merits and demerits. U cannot run a concurrent sentence with unrelated offences. On the surface it may seem relative because it has to do with money laundry... but the UK laws are different.

Meanwhile this his pic is epic lol. It makes me laugh anytime I see it. His family should frame it and keep. Lol. Ibori ndo o!!

2. If it is in Nigeria now they will be screaming Buhari is a dictator.
      Lamooooooooooo. Diezani loading. No matter what,it is better to be tried in Nigeria than in the UK.
      Those interpol people, they will make coffee for you, give you handkerchief sef while listing all your charges for you.

No pardon. No propaganda. You will stay till you finish every single second of you term.
      Ibori be releasing press statement anyhow thinking his time is over. You never see, nexttime you hear London, you go get cardiac like Alams.
      You think Alams didn't know why he rather die than go bk to d uk.

3. I am sure his town dance group and market women would have planned how they will welcome him at the Airport.
      To celebrate his return with press men to splash it all over the news. And after Fayose will say it is Buhari that is telling everyone we are corrupt.
      I imagine how the English people will be pitying us. Suffering and smiling. Stone a man to death for stealing maggi yet celebrate corruption in high places.

2. PARENTAL ADVISORY
    ^^^Adult Content^^^

Stella shove it...they can even arrest him while he's having his 1st sex for all I care...

3. Serves him right! A million people are still suffering from his greed!

4. Dayummm!!!

That's not fair na.

He's done time, they've confiscated his properties, isn't that enough?

If this news is true, I'll not be surprised if this man dies of a heart attack.

* sigh *

Well, some people suffered for his greed in office, so, I don't know.

1. Keep supporting fraudulent activities pple like you are reason Nigeria cannot grow... Efulefu

2. The funny part is that he'll come out to enjoy the loots that he served time for. Thinking he has faced the consequences and can now enjoy it all in peace. No matter how much they recover from him, I'm certain that they'll be some that they cannot trace to him.

3. You think it is all these propaganda you people scream here in Nigeria? Suffered enough ke? It is the court that will determine that.

This is not the one you all keep calling Buhari Dictator. Wait until they knack Auntie Diezani her own. She will wish she was in Nigeria.
      Common hand cuff they put on Metuh, you all screaming rubbish.
      Ibori will trade anything to be on 1,000 handcufs, neck cuff, leg cuff, waist cuff but let him get off the hook of the British court.
      He might be released at 75yrs

5. God is not done with him yet. He will finally find Jesus this time around in prison for the 2nd time. Sorry Mr Ibori. How the mighty have fallen.....@@@@Bia Bia 👅👅👅👅👅👅👅👅👅👅👅👅

6. Stella no sentiments abeg!
    He haven't paid enuf!
    Let him rot there

7. why will they re-arrest him nah? they should have include all his crimes at the same time, why the carry over?

1. You think this is Nigeria? Where people like you will be blasting the government for criminal procedures you have no clue about.
      Where people like Dasuki will not appear in court because he was dressing up.

8. Stella wetin dey do you?.....you dey support these armed robbers?

9. See the money Ibori stole. My God. I dont know o.....

195 comment 2016

10. Same thing I said Stella this is rubbish, y didn't they do all the trials at once, they think prison is a fun place to be abi?

1. Prison isn't fun to be in but they love stealing what belongs to all... Grow up Igbo mentality!!!

2. Prison is a fun place to be?!!! That's not intelligent talk my dear! Nigerians like this are part of the problems we have. Sentiments where it shouldn't e

3. Where it shouldn't even apply! Ibori I honestly hope you spend a huge chunk of your life in prison or solitary confinement where you belong. May God have mercy on your soul.

11. I pity him!
    Sorry ooh,u are just an unlucky politician.

1. He is the scapegoat. But Diezani will join him soon. They take their time but no escape for you. Quietly they will dole out jail term and see you do the time.
      Nigeria, the court is in social media. Everyone will be shouting witch hunt witch hunt and in the end they won't near prison.
      I hope the Dasuki gate criminals gets Jailed. They did more damage than Ibori.

12. Let him be re-arrested after this re-arrest.. lolzz.. only one man wetin dey he brain... even the devil is not greedy as this..

13. If this true, then it is so wrong. Y didn't they sentence him for the crimes together?? And his wife and mistress are in jail too?? Who takes care of their kids or are they grown? I remember the mistress had a child for him then or something. A boy I think. And ibori's wife was so fine back then

1. Na your sister e marry abi??? Olosho fellow, keep supporting corruption.

2. I don't know about his mistress but his kids are grown. He should be a grandpa now sef. Daughter is even a legislator.

I love this man oooo and I don't like all these happenings at all

3. I think the mistress has been released. You guys are complaining about his re arrest, same way Dasuki was re arrested and some people went ballistic .. it doesn't work like that o. They can re arrest him to face other count charges that surfaced after the initial one

14. Stella it's called a confiscation order. He has to pay the money back, this is a large sum of money, £250M. If he cannot pay the money back, he could serve another prison sentence up to 10 years or more.

15. Stella it's called a confiscation order. He has to pay the money back, this is a large sum of money, £250M. If he cannot pay the money back, he could serve another prison sentence up to 10 years or more.

16. Chai....Ibori ooo

If only all Govt looters are dealt with the same way Ibori has bn dealt with,Nigeria wil be be a much better place. A Haven.

But wait o!Dude was stil running things while incarcerated?
    Oriegwu.

17. If this happened in Nigeria or by efcc,some idiots like queen n d boss and eka sorrow wld av been screaming witchhunt,apc etc. He should rot in jail n die there

Rainmaker

1. You dey mind those retards? They know next to nothing.

2. You dey mind those retards, they know next to nothing.

3. Don't mind that foolish eka sadness n that black snake called Linda .

4. Don't mind them. I am sure they will not comment here. Na team #jump and pass.
      Soon they will say it is APC that sent the British government. Those Metuh and Dasuki are supposed to suffer more than Ibori. I hope Femi Falanas case to the ICC is looked into.
      Imagine dasuki taking his time dressing up and missed his case. Rubbish! He even has the guts to sleep and bath. ...and they say Buhari is a dictator, if he was won't Dasuki be facing firing squad instead of dressing up to go to court. nonsense!
      Old people that has finished living their lives and cut into the lives of innocent young citizens.

18. First of all Stella you wrote, 13yrs

If he is serving 13yrs he shouldn't be done with his sentencing unless you made a mistake there. Because he has served just 3yrs

Secondly, please hope nuhu ribadu is answering to that 15m dollars he was bribed with?? We need that money now

1. Nuhu Ribadu didn't take the money.

19. All governors in NIGERIA ARE THIEVES. NO EXEMPTION. NO GODLY FEAR AMONG THEM.

20. No sleep for the wicked. Nothing happens by accident in life. That's what God wants so Stella please stop the ads licking. People die daily in Nigeria cause of poverty and hungry.... So good for ibori

21. Nawah, too many crimes everywhere, Stella good morning

22. A clear case of from frying to fire.

23. Stella I beg to disagree. Whether or not a convict is to serve his term concurrently or not is left for the court to exercise its discretion. In Ibori's case, I believe the court took into consideration, the crime for which he was convicted was committed over a long period of time so it would be unfair for him to get off easy. Besides let the wicked suffer abeg. I wonder if some of his associates would write articles and march in support of him and in protest against the British judicial system as they are fond of doing in Nigeria.

1. No mind Stella. She be lawyer!? Her comment sounds like she follow benefit from James looting spree, as per Delta connection... If u don't why he was rearrested, ask questions, that's why you're a journalist, do research & get back to us!

2. Upon completion he should normally face another punishment in Nigeria. But unfortunately he was acquitted in Nigeria of the same charges that found him convicted in the UK. What a disgrace to our judicial embodiment.

3. Couldn't have said it better! Do Nigerians even understand the import of the rubbish that happened with Ibori. Shame on all the parties involved to acquitted this greedy evil disgrace!

24. Nawa ooo, from frying pan to fire.

25. *crying. They should let my governor go. He has paid his dues enough. This is not fair. They should have done the trials at once

26. Meanwhile SDK bring us gist on his former mistress turned newest wife senami sosu aka senamiji on IG( senami James ibori) I heard he married her while in prison....maybe he married her in anticipation of his release from prison.....Theresa ibori....your God no dey sleep o.

1. Hmmm sharp guy. That will be because she prolly has a lot of their loot in her custody. And the only way to get them back would be to commit to her. He can't lose on both ends na. After all they've faced the consequences. Eheheheh

27. They can keep him forever for all I care.

28. Music to my ears....serves him right, a lesson to others looting already or anticipating it.

29. They would have run it concurrently. Sure he has been looking forward to his release and now this. This is enough to finish him totally.

30. See properties for only one man when we can't pay our rent.Ooh baba God punish all the present and past politicians in Nigeria cause none is clean.

31. i hope people now understand why Buhari has been doing Ajala travels. It is to make looters jittery both home and abroad. Once they cant find a save haven for their loots them go learn. Nigerians should save themselves from these embarrasement. Stop looting, develop your country!

32. Ibori God isn't done with you yet , just stay in that prison because Buhari is here waiting for you to come back......in the meantime return some of the loot!!!

33. He has not been released, this is why a good journalist should research their story well before writing rubbish.