Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kano Records Three Lassa Fever Cases

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Kano Records Three Lassa Fever Cases

Dr Kabir Getso, Kano State Commissioner for Health, said on Monday in Kano that the state had recorded three confirmed cases of Lassa fever since the outbreak in December, 2015.

Getso who spoke while addressing newsmen, said two of the confirmed cases were recorded in Garun-Malam Local Government Area of the state.
The commissioner said that the patients died at the Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital (AKTH) on Dec. 2, 2015.

He said that the third confirmed case, a young businessman from Dawakin Kudu Local Government Area, came to Kano from Benue last week.
The commissioner said that all the contacts were identified and followed up.
According to him, more than 70 per cent of them have either completed their 21 days follow up or tested negative.

He, however, said that another two suspected cases were currently on admission at the designated isolation and treatment centre at Yar’gaya Hospital.
Getso said the State Ministry of Health had taken several control measures to check the outbreak of the disease.

“The measures include the setting up of rapid response team, establishment of the Lassa fever Emergency Operation Centre and the setting up of the State Committee on the Control of Lassa fever,” he said.

Getso said the state government had provided personal protective kits and other logistics in the isolation centre for the management and control of the disease.
The commissioner commended the World Health Organisation for donating some materials for the treatment of the disease.

culled:thenation

The Press coverage of LASSA fever Has gone down but the thing is still killing people.PLEASE BE ALERT AND BE WARNED.

8 comments:

1. Horrible looking rat.Gerrathere!

2. OPEN LETTER TO LASSA FEVER.
    Dear lassa fever first of all, your father. When bird flu came, we were told to abandon chicken, we reluctantly obeyed. When sister ebola came, we were told to abandon bush meat nd suya, we obeyed. Nd now u have come nd without the fear of God in u, you want us to abandon garri. GARRI ke?? Do u know how helpful garri has been to nigeria, especially stuudents. See let me tell u, if all the nigerian students gather nd swear for u, your reign won't last for one more week. NONSENSE!!!! #Successful

3. God pls help us.
    It will not come near us, just this morning I saw one big rat, I bind and cancel any form of evil in Jesus name - Amen.

4. dis kind rat wey keep face like dis,only God will deliver us.@ jay ur letter if funny,i believe God will answer it,amen.