Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Unions In Nationwide Protest Over Electricity Tariff Hikes

Monday, February 08, 2016

Labour Unions In Nationwide Protest Over Electricity Tariff Hikes

A wave of protest is underway across Nigeria, as labour unions and workers under the aegis of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC) have started a nationwide protest against the recent increase in electricity tariffs in the country.

The labour unionists refused to listen to officials of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) when they took a protest to the commission’s headquarters in Abuja today. All attempts by some officials of the commission to explain were rebuffed by the protesters who said the more than 45 percent increase in tariff by the commission which took effect since February 1, 2016 must be reversed.

They also demanded that all electricity consumers in the country be metered as they called for an end to estimated billing.
The protesters who chant solidarity songs are leaving the commission to the national assembly after they had visited the Abuja electricity distribution company.

"Mr President should quickly constitute the board of NERC to stop the inaction of the commission. Instead of increasing the tariff, increase generation', president of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) Ayuba Wabba said.

The mass protest is going on in all states of the country simultaneously, Daily Trust reports.

15 comments:

1. Good help Nigeria with strike

1. I prefer the tarrif increase to that monthly charge.

It's too high sha. I buy for 15.63 per unit now it's 25.79 per unit.

Went to buy unit on Feb 1st and I was given free 52units.

2. Wish something will be done, cause am still in shock how my bill rise from 1300 to 5300

3. Move on we are solidly behind u.

4. Good one esp d metre own. How can my mum in d villa dt only use bulb at night after her daily biz be paying 5k plus monthly?

5. Fashola is nuts with this new tariff.

6. Thank God for this. You wont have light for more than 14 hours. The worst is in the evening from 7 to 1 a.m. before they bring light. Yeye people

7. Today I was at Kedco to submit my Cv I just saw people carrying placards.police, civil defence, Nlc, Tuc were all there.

8. PDP no sabi do, Jonathan no be am and you all voted for CHENJI. Enjoy it

9. Yeah! The much awaited change is here! But the stupid APC touts will not see anything wrong with the hike in everything! Buhari promised to bring back Chibok girls, while OBJ finally thinks that the girls can never be found. Y'all talking from the both sides of your mouths. God will purnish you all!

10. May d soul of my uncles wife rest in peace! Am happy she has brother in sisters without borders thanks to u all for ur encouragement and support to her while she was alive. I want to use dis opportunity to say a big thank you to stelladimokokus love dis blog how do i become a bv lol

11. This hike is too much oh.. Chai... this APC government. The worse is that i dont think Buhari understands what is going on... Am not cursing him or wishing him evil.. How can the nation's budget be doctored, those PM sabi say the man dey forget things. He should step aside let his VP take over but fear don enter that one body.
    This hike i heard it was service charge added to the bill. And there isnt any service charge again. @ Sexy mama check on your bill if there is anything like service charge.
    #thatnigerdeltagirl