Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Says Payments For Trolleys At Nigerian Airports To End Soon....

Sunday, February 07, 2016

Minister Says Payments For Trolleys At Nigerian Airports To End Soon....

The fee currently being charged for using trolleys in Nigerian airports will soon be scrapped, the Minister of State for Aviation, Hadi Sirika, has said.

The minister made the disclosure on Friday in Abuja at the inauguration of the Ministerial Committee on Assessment of Security Situation in Nigeria’s Airports.
He said payment for trolleys would stop as soon as the current contractual agreement on the handling of trolleys was over.

He explained that the arrangement could not be stopped immediately as it could lead to litigation, adding that the contract would not be reviewed as soon as it ended.

According to him, there were petitions by some users who claimed that trolleys were covered by certain taxes and charges paid by passengers.
“We have had discussions with FAAN on this and we have decided that as soon as this contract ends, we will return back to the old system,’’ he said.

Mr. Sirika also assured that government would soon start the implementation of recommendations on the establishment of a new national carrier.
The minister said that President Muhammadu Buhari demonstrated his commitment to establishing a national carrier by setting up a committee for it, even before appointing his ministers.
According to him the committee had since submitted its report which had also been forwarded to the ministry for further action.

“The committee has done its work and its reports and recommendations have been forwarded to us; it is in the ministry and we are working on it.
“I want to tell you that we are on it and I want to add that within my purview of the management of this ministry, the committee report will not be swept under the carpet.

“It will be implemented and anywhere we do not agree, we will indicate so.
“We will be modest and courteous enough to inform the members of the committee and the public about it,’’ he said.
Mr. Sirika said Nigeria was not doing badly in the area of aviation security, adding that the country scored 92.6 per cent in the last International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Audit.

He said that the inauguration of the security assessment committee was necessitated by the quest for perfection and the determination to close the 7.4 per cent gap that could harm the industry.

Sahara reporters.

19 comments:

1. Slow and steady, we will surely get there.

2. Only in my country Nigeria that trolley is being paid for .trolley is free in all airports i have been to .

1. Not free in Istanbul. Though it's just one lira.

2. See this lair, close your mouth if you don't have anything to say. What airport have you been to? I can boldly say I paid to use trolley at Miami international airport, so pls next time keep quite jare. Only in your country Nigeria ko.

3. @ Bootylicious diva: why not hide the fact that the ONLY other "country" you've been to is Cotonou via Seme border and na alabaru you use as trolley service no dey?

Airheads dropping comments everywhere!

Most airports in the U.S you pay for your trolley, $5. (the last time I bothered with one)

SHARONNA

4. That s a lie! Trolleys are paid in airports in the US. Dont even know why they will want to scrap ours...its a service charge!

5. I paid for trolley in newark. Nj airport. Just a token though.

3. Ehn ehn.. about time o. There's no time I don't have a fight with those rude ladies that collect money for trolley at the airport. Usually when I travel alone and I have just two bags, I prefer to use the trolley myself instead of using the airport service guys.

That's how on my last trip, this girl was so rude that I scattered her front desk. Early in the morning that we just landed...i was pulling a trolley and she quickly beckoned on me, doing "hey psst psst" with her smelly teeth...like she was calling a strayed dog. She now said that I couldn't pick the trolley until she gave me a ticket. Fair enough, So, tired me not wanting to walk far to where she was, I asked how much it was so I could give one guy to give her the money, na so this babe no answer me..turn face. I asked like 3x, she was starring at me and refused to answer.

I got so angry that I went up to her, which was what she wanted, and told her she was rude. Then I made to pay her, that's how this girl started using me to gist with one guy that was passing... Chaiii.. Omo.. I just cleared her front and scattered the whole place. I was like wtf? Are u maddddd??????? Goshhh.
    She was now looking at me..scared and embarrassed.. na custom officers come settle the matter. They reprimanded her and said I wasn't the first to complain bla bla..

Anyway I'm happy now. Cos it's only in my dear country that you have to pay to use a trolley within the airport.

1. HahahhaHahahha. You Mrs prim and proper? You displayed your 5minutes of madness for the day for them. Some people just get on your last nerves and you lose all sense of decorum. Them no know say na wia their craze stop na der some people own dey begin.

4. To End soon abi, no fixed date? Or is it like the 'soon' associated with our Saviour's coming?

5. HMMMMMM dats good news but my heart goes out to the staff cos dats an addition to the already choked up labor market!!! Tis well oooo

6. HMMMMMM dats good news but my heart goes out to the staff cos dats an addition to the already choked up labor market!!! Tis well oooo

7. Don't know y some people are lying here saying only in Nigeria you pay for trolley, I paid to use trolley in Florida, Bali, and Malaga in Spain. So it is not just in Nigeria . I prefer paying sef, that way all the idiots in that Abuja do not hoard the trolley looking for people who look rich to help them push their bags. It was very frustrating then, because Na only alhaji and hajiya dem dey gree release the trolley to. Besides if you can afford to fly how much be #200 Naira?

1. Abeg relax ur skin. It's not every airport that people have to pay for a trolley. So there's nothing like lying here. U can only narrate what uv experienced first hand. Meanwhile some airports use a token or a coin for self service use...so that u can return them to where they are parked instead of littering everywhere. So really, u aren't paying per say. And besides, no one would complain in Nigeria if they were putting the money to good use at the airport.

8. That would be a good relieve for travellers. Nice

9. Used to be about $2 in Toronto airport in canada but now it's free!