Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Strange Illness Breaks Out In Lagos......

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Strange Illness Breaks Out In Lagos......

An outbreak of febrile rash illnesses (FRI)  has been recorded in Otodo Gbame community in Eti-Osa Local Government Area of Lagos State,leaving at least 20 kids dead.

Thirty-four  other cases are currently under examination, Health Commissioner Jide Idris announced  yesterday.

The outbreak was first identified  by the Medical Officer of Health of the LGA on the 9th February, he said.
The victims  are said to be within the age range of  eight and 72 months.
Dr  Idris said his ministry has  already notified the Federal Ministry of Health (FMOH) and the World Health Organisation (WHO) on the situation.

It has also  constituted a team of Epidemiologists to investigate the outbreak and institute appropriate measures to prevent further spread of the disease.
But he said  although the disease causing the outbreak is yet to be confirmed, “the signs and symptoms are suggestive of Febrile Rash Illnesses.”

He added: “Blood samples (and throat swabs) from the patients and water samples from the community have been taken to the Virology Reference Laboratory at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) and Lagos State Drug Quality Control Laboratory (DQCL), LASUTH, Ikeja respectively. The source of the infection is still under investigation.”

-The Nation

33 comments:

1. Warrisdis?
    Uwa mmebi
    Chineke gbahara umu gi

2. Wow!...
    May God protect my children bikokwa!...
    The heat in Lagos now is terrible...I wonder how people without AC survives...
    RIP to the innocent souls!..

3. Nawaa too God pls not again save your Children. #EndtimeDisease#

4. Only this year zika virus, Lassa fever now febrile rash and we are still in the first quarter of the year. Hian God na your hand me and my family de.

5. Not another outbreak. Nigeria needs God intervention

6. Another strange illness? God have mercy!

7. Again? Another wahala? Hmmm God have mercy.

8. GOD save ur children
    Diff sickness surfacing.
    Lassa fever has not bin dealth wit nw dis 1.

9. OMG!!! We're still battling lassa fever, and now this. End time indeed. We look up to you O Lord.

10. God save our children.
    End time diseases every where

11. From one diseases to the other.

12. Lord bikoo not another virus abeg theee! RIP to the dead.

13. Jeez, another one again? God please protect my baby. I live in Lekki

14. Finally! All of you now know that there's a God and a leaving it to Jesus to fix. Even the pagans.
    But when it's about fornication, adultery, marriage, relationships, money and drugs, most of you will be giving advice based on your limited understanding and totally ignore God.
    Hypocrites!!!!

15. No be small knowing God and Jesus fix it. Lol @ limited understanding especially the Ekwensu Dede and boss of this blog...lmao. Stella if u like no post. Outta hia

16. When adeboye made a prediction u all were here insulting your fathers....anyway don't know if this is the one he is talking about

17. God please protect your children.