Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Government Orders Beggars To Vacate State

Monday, March 21, 2016

Lagos Government Orders Beggars To Vacate State

The Lagos State Government has ordered beggars to leave the metropolis in their own interest.

Commissioner of Youth and Social Development, Mrs Uzamat Akinbile-Yussuf, said the government would take drastic action against those who did not leave on their own.
The commissioner said there was an ongoing campaign against the menace of street begging on radio stations to sensitise people on the need to stop it.

Mrs Akinbile-Yussuf urged residents to stop giving alms to beggars in order to discourage them, saying: “We have been campaigning against street begging on radio since January.

The campaign will run for three months following which the state government will take more drastic actions against perpetrators because there is anti-begging law in the state.

“What we are also saying is that people should stop giving alms to beggars on the streets because many of them are not beggars in the real sense of it. Many street beggars have been discovered to engage in criminal activities and hard drugs.”

Dailypost reportage.

*Where will they go to?

63 comments:

1. Abeg don't bring them come Ibadan as Fashola did o

1. Beggers too much 4 Ibadan...every corner u go see dem..

2. Take them to where???. I don't comment on blogs but this is too much!!!!! No one given a choice in life would choose to be a beggar! Or choose to be deformed. Every country has its share of the homeless,the underprivileged.
      They do not chase them away like vagabonds. That is unjust and inhuman!!! Countries make provisions for the underprivileged.
      Where should they go? Why don't you just round them all up and shoot them to put them out of the misery their life has been. Yea! Do that and let us know that we are back in the etareri of Hitler but amongst our own!!!!! We are all Nigerians! What is this? What is all this mess in the last 10 months????

2. They will go to Germany!
    They should start doing something biko.......like selling of satchet water n the rest of them .
    You can never see an igbo person begging on the road.

1. Wia dem wan go now..its in dia blood now or wetin we wan do now

Mc pinky

2. Am not being tribalistic here, just stating the obvious truth.

3. @portable viv, how about those men and women that sing in igbo for road? No be beggars?

4. God bless u miss ferragamo.......

3. Back to thr various states where they have free accommodation and maybe they can farm and sell in thr local markets...its a lot better than begging during the day and then sleep under the bridge at night....its not safe fr them

4. Some healthy and fit hausa's will always beg for alms,its part of them. They will relocate to another place. Heard they even do daily contribution from it,hian.

5. Some of the beggars work for occult people. The money given to them will be taken to these people who will give them new notes, and use the other money to steal people's fortune spiritually.

Begging is also a syndicate. Where the beggars submit a certain amount everyday. They come to check on these beggars randomly and collect from them.

Few cases are genuine but most are fruad! Spiritualist still needs them to give sahara! But they are three much in Lagos! They should go back to the north. They still give birth every day!

1. That's eh
      No one likes sex more than these people

They still have sex and give birth like everything is cool.

2. Ask am wetin he dey talk now..askin question like say u blind

Mc pinky

3. Anon...,you just nailed it! I dey fear to give them money o

6. I hope they're not coming to East? Cos no vacancy.They'd better enter ota farm,if only OBJ will employ them.

1. So you're from the east? I used to think you're a Yoruba lady

2. Yoruba lady? Cos i sent in my day to day pictures? Nne,okwa na Ogboete main market kam na hubby no na achupagide d thing.No time for see me far!

3. How can this bush girl be Yoruba, are you for real???

7. @ Stella, see question; where did they come from?

SHARONNA

8. Buhari come and take your people away from Lagos state!...

9. I can't wait to see a begging free society.

10. They should go to their states/country.

Most of them live well wherever they come from.

Begging is laziness.

Now people fake illness to beg.
    You will see an healthy person using his/her disable family to beg.

11. If I hear!
    They will not go

Even if they leave for now,just give them 4 days and they're back to their spot.
    Fashola tried this and it didn't work.

12. This may be as a result of the clash between hausa people and yoruba people in Lagos 2 weeks ago.
    They now want to push hausa people out of Lagos.

1. Lol...No vacancy for Ogboete main market ooo...

13. Stella see question, Where would they go? Back to their village,at times the song they sign in Hausa only God knows if na curse them they curse person

14. Is there any bigger on d street of Germany ??

1. Many beg gers in Germany and all over Europe in fact come to milano centra station .

15. They will have to move to the nearest state

16. They should all move to their states

17. Stella there should also be an anti begging law on this blog

18. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Ohh Anon onye o ga adiri nma, daalu rinne
      U sabi am hehehe

2. Big lie. Igbo's begging is most pathetic. In all the churches na dem do church almajiri pass. You keep hailing yourself when people know you. Who are you deceiving. Na una de tell story pass

3. Taaa! Some of d professional beggars are igbos ooo

4. You only see disabled Ibos beg if at all but Hausa and Yoruba na all categories.

19. They will go to north where they came from. Its so easy

20. All Promises Cancelled (APC) should allow them go to their states. Dont they have origin where they came from.

Since 19korodom we have been hearing of stopping beggars.

21. Yes its true. The average ibo man does not beg.

618 comment 2016

22. Not to talk of the ones who hire "twins" from day care centres or wherever to beg

23. You don't see Igbo people sitting on the streets to beg, you just see them going from blog to blog everyday begging for food and all sorts of things.

1. Nna keep shut

2. Atleast there is dignity in begging on blogs than begging on the street constituting nuisance. Kikiki

24. Back to their village, they no from sky fall.

25. Do not really see this intended action as a good development. We have to keep accommodating one another. Most of these beggars do not pray to be in the situation they find themselves, they are only victim of circumstances. I quite understand they are from different states and probably their states have failed them, but the fact still remain that they are Nigerians. I suggest Lagos state should collaborate with other states and well-meaning Nigerians to established a trust fund for them (beggars) and use this to take them off the street. It should be a gradual process.

26. Their comments is why eeboh people will always remain beggars. Even the rich among them beg. They always have one thing or the other to beg for through out their lives. Greedy pigs

27. I pray it work, because these beggars are very wicked and stubborn.

28. what is ambode talking about? Wont u create an alternative for them before u barn them? shuo!

29. Why not move them to a rehabilitation center?

30. Now there is dignity in begging because igbos do it on blogs, listen to yourself filthy dog.