Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Stoners! This Is What Happens To Your Body And Brain When You Smoke Weed

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Stoners! This Is What Happens To Your Body And Brain When You Smoke Weed

It’s not as bad as drinking alcohol but the next time you light up to get that mellow high, think about what it is doing to both your body and your brain.

1. THC

THC, or tetrahydrocannabinol, is the chemical responsible for most of marijuana’s psychological effects. THC stimulates cells in the brain to release dopamine, creating euphoria and can cause hallucinations, change thinking and cause delusions. On average, the effects last about two hours, and kick in 10 to 30 minutes after ingestion. Users like it because of the effects, including feelings of relaxation, giddiness, and that characteristic stoner ‘chill.’

2. Inhaling

When you inhale, eat, or otherwise consume marijuana, THC enters the bloodstream (or the lungs first if you’re smoking) where it makes its way to special cannabinoid receptors in the brain that normally interact with naturally occurring body chemicals. Marijuana smoke contains a similar range of harmful chemicals to that of tobacco smoke including bronchial irritants, tumor promoters and carcinogens. when smoking marijuana compared to tobacco, there is a prolonged and deeper inhalation and it is smoked to a shorter butt length and at a higher combustion temperature. Inhaling from a ‘joint’ results in approximately 5 times the carbon monoxide concentration, 3 times the tar, and higher levels of ammonia as compared to tobacco, though no study has shown a correlation between cancer and smoking marijuana.

3. Your Brain

The active chemical in marijuana mimics a natural neurotransmitter called anandamide. Anandamide is often referred to as the “bliss molecule” because of its role in boosting memory and learning, dulling pain, and stimulating the appetite. Anandamide normally buddies up with dopamine, and together these neurotransmitters turn on and turn off different chemical pathways as needed. However, the feeling of bliss is just being mimicked and when THC gets its groove on in the cannabinoid receptors, it actually blocks the areas where short-term memory, learning, problem solving and unconscious muscle movements come from. When THC reaches the brain, all of those functions become overactive and scrambled. The receptors, in turn, release dopamine and give your body that recognizable, feel-good high.
4. More Weed, More Effects
Basically, marijuana messes with your brain’s processing system, disrupting the way it communicates within itself because all of the receptors are scrambled. The more you smoke, the more the system becomes addled. Some studies have shown that frequent adolescent marijuana use—especially when use begins at a younger age—can reduce IQ by middle age. Further research argues that smoking regularly causes overuse of the CB1 receptors, which can lead to a sloth-like brain. However, there are also studies that show that puffing the magic dragon won’t actually zap your brain cells in the long-term and that the effects can actually wear off after a period of time depending on the person.

5. Paranoia

The discombobulation of your brain’s mood and emotion receptors can also lend itself to feelings of paranoia or anxiety in some highs. “Paranoid” in this context means the unfounded or excessive fear that other people are trying to harm us. THC can make the brain produce negative thoughts about oneself and negative emotions leave us feeling down and vulnerable. Worry leads us to the worst conclusions. The good news for stoners is that this feeling goes away as soon as the chemicals begin to leave the bloodstream, and not everyone experiences this feeling.

6. When Eaten
When marijuana is eaten or ingested, it may take hours for THC to reach the brain and initiate the high effects. The good news is that it’s a natural plant product and unlike smoking the buds, it normally does not cause many side effects when eaten or upset the stomach. Food makers are now extracting THC and the other chemicals from the plant and making compounds with various foods like candy, cookies, yogurt, soda, and even hamburgers.

7. Stoner Eyes

People can tell when you’ve been smoking mary jane because most people get red eye. The brain receptors cause vasodilation, or the expansion of your blood vessels, which irritates your eyes and causes them to become red and itchy. Marijuana causes the inner-eye pressure to decrease after use. When the pressure drops in your eye, the small blood vessels have room to expand, causing you to look like you just lost a battle with allergies. The chemicals in Visine cause your blood vessels to constrict, minimizing your stoned glaze, the stoner’s friend since 1963.

8. Heart Rate

Vasodilation also causes a smoker’s heart rate to increase between 20 and 100 percent. Any smoke inhaled into your blood stream will raise your heart rate level substantially. The problem with it, however, it that not only does the heart beat faster, but it beats harder, increasing blood pressure. The good news is the effect only lasts up to three hours after smoking. This effect is also present when consuming the marijuana in foods or liquids form, so if you have a weak heart, smoking ganja is not a good idea.

9. Munchies

Your same receptors responsible for the ‘high’ feeling also play a role in energy regulation and food intake, which may explain why some people get “the munchies” after smoking. When THC gets thrown in the mix, the endocannabinoids can cause hunger and trigger food cravings through a heightened sense of smell. Next thing you know, you’ve eaten three cheeseburgers, half a pizza, and half the menue at Taco Bell.

10. Coming Down

As the drug wears off, so does the high from the dopamine. And that dopamine drop-off can lead to sadness or even depression, research shows. Between two and six hours after your first smoke, the ‘feel-good’ effects of marijuana start to fade and leave you tired. The quick drop-off in dopamine chemicals can sometimes inspire feelings of sadness or leave your brain feeling sluggish and burned out. Some people get headaches or muscle aches for a very short time at this stage, but after repetitive 
usage, this side effect stops occurring.

11. Your Body After Smoking

There are studies after studies on the effects of using marijuana. Most report that the use does decrease the number of receptors that control brain functions ranging from emotion to appetite. But those receptors usually pop back to normal levels once people quit the drug after two to four months, and the long-term effects are not as detrimental as smoking cigarettes or even consuming alcohol on a steady basis. Though the effects of THC fade after only a few hours, the chemicals stay in your body from anywhere between 20 hours and 10 days. So if you’re celebrating 4/20 the usual way, don’t bank on passing a drug test anytime soon.

culled - www.infoplaceng.com

45 comments:

1. He that has an ear,let him hear.

2. May be when i start taking weed then i will know the effect. for now obasaram

3. Stoners in d house...special piece just for you...courtesy SDK

4. Abegi, all this is bullshit. Marijuana helps a lot of cancer patients. One man even gives his baby marijuana in the US and it works for her epilepsy seizures. And she is doing very fine compared to before using Marijuana. My boyfriend gave me Marijuana for the first time a few months back. When he wants to get me in the mood cause his thing na die o. But Marijuana does not sit well with me, it keeps me in a spot with my head spinning when no ACTIVITY is going on. But when there is ACTIVITY i turn to tiger o. And the yeye boy likes it. But we have decided that Marijuana is not for me jare. The thing no just gel with me. He smokes it and I have no problem with that. But he knows he can't smoke it as often when baby comes, so let him enjoy till then.

1. Correct!...
      It helps me to eat wella...I can finish two plates of food after smoking...

2. Linda you are a really sad woman. Where you rejected as a child? Did you feel like an outcast in school? Does ur hubby make u feel unloved? Do u children make u feel unwanted? You struggle too hard to fit or "feel among" as your country people will say. U strike me as someone who would walk under a train if asked to do so by the tin gods you look up to. You are so insecure.

Perhaps if u get an education even if it's only primary school leaving certificate, it might help with ur struggles to fit in. Cheers

Concerned psychologist

3. The marijuana used in the states, Canada and Israel is medicinal, THC has been removed and they are grown differently. Please don't pass wrong info!

5. I pray they read this, and adhere to not smoking hemp and harmful substances.

6. Still beats me how one enjoys the taste of smoke.

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Yimu. Its electronic cigar for me all d way,I love the mint flavoured stick

9. Story!...
    Weed is the best thing that has happend to man kind!...
    It's 100% better than cigarette and alcohol...Infact,it is a blood tonic!...
    Tasted and trusted!,,,

1. Amugbo will u shattap dere!

2. Nor mind am,she go dey talk like say she dey really dey do those things,story,i know your type o Lol,una sabi deceive person do wetin them nor won do bcos they will first use themselves as an example,i can bet my life you don't even know how a weed looks like

3. A friend back in time takes weed before going to read books or exams... And funny enough, the guy passes his exams real good

4. Funny enough, the smell of weed in Nigeria is different from the ones in the states and Canada! Every plant or herb is either a poison or its edible. The weed here is both but the westerners removes the poison part and make it medicinal.

10. That was how Onoche prepared beans with weed and we never knew (maybe he had ulterior motive) during Nysc days...was so hungry and couldn't wait for the beans was taking too long so I prepared golden morn and ate.
    The beans was ready and Onoche gave us a plate but I told my friend to keep my portion,will eat later probably when I'm hungry again. Few mins later my friend was jumping up and down,took off her clothes and said I'm shinning like halogen bulb😂😂😂😂 she got back to normal the next day.
    I said "thank u Jesus" cos if I was the one that ate that beans, e go be mental case.😂

11. I think cannabis is no different then booze and should be sold in the same way!
    Weed is even better than cigarette

1. So u can make a long sentence?? Wow!!!

12. Weed taken in moderation is the truth. The feeling is heavenly and the smell is an aphrodisiac.

13. Sterrarrarara I'm in love with yoooooo!!! Weed is my toothbrush! Chooi dat feeling after 2raps n small sk! Choiiiii my punna go dey hot lik hey Bobo come and scratch. I will shag tilll it enters infinity orgasms

14. We have heard that before now. It's no longer new. It's better than drinking alcohol .. My view.

15. Wake up smoke weed,eat,smoke more weed,fuck good,smoke some more weed,bath,smoke some more,sleep, wake up and do it all over again

16. And now, Whoopi Goldberg, has produced marijuana painkillers, for women with painful periods.

Well, each man to his poison.

Drugs, weeds, alcohol ; not my thing.

17. Now I know the queen is full of crap. If one were to believe your Sdk persona, it means you are indeed the definition of everything bad.
    Let me get this staight, you are a woman, you are happily married with kids, you have the body of an 18year old, you exude "sexy", you are bi-sexual, you are also a cougar, your husband is old and super rich, you are a human encyclopedia of all things negative, you are very "intelligent", a know it all, you are adventurous and now, a stoner too? Come on GERARAHIA!
    However on a second thought, you could actually be all these things while under the influence. If I did believe anything at all, its either you are high on kwale igbo or you have extreme low self esteem in real life hence your persona.

1. She definitely has got real psychological issues. Very low self esteem and self confidence hence her struggle to be different and be as unconventional in what she says as much as possible. She wants to fit in at Sony cost. She will say anything and do anything to fit in. I feel sad for her kids if she really has got any. She will end up passing her ways to them and corrupt those innocent minds. She's a disgrace with false nauseating braggadocio

Concerned psychologist

18. Thank you Queen. I need to learn it very well. hows family?

19. Weed makes you fuck well, gives u that cloud 9 feeling, and makes u reach multiple orgasm.gives you stamina in bed and energy. My bf and I love smoking together b4 getting down. It's a crazy mad aas feeling. And all these effects written up there isnt even harmful. Legalize weed jare.all the bankers, engineers and responsible ppl I know take it.

1. Hmmmmm. I shake my head when I read comments like this. U are in denial my dear. It's your life madam. If you have decided to live it this way what can I say? I am too unconcerned to care how ur life pans out. I only feel sorry for your mother. To carry a child for 9 months and be repaid with this sort of aberrant result is painfully sad. Ndo mama Ndo. Ur pikin na waste. Tueeeeeeh for u girlie.

Concerned psychologist

20. Parents should have as much kids as they can CARE for.
    CARE means a lot.
    Then there will be less of street urchins smoking everywhere.
    Some parents can't even take proper CARE of just one child.
    That's why whites have one yet a junkie.
    And I ask...why bother making babies?
    Why?
    Properly raised children rarely indulge in all these crap.