Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Late Henrietta Kosoko’s Family Allegedly Hijack Funeral From Jide Kosoko Because He Did Not Pay Her Bride Price..

Friday, June 10, 2016

Late Henrietta Kosoko’s Family Allegedly Hijack Funeral From Jide Kosoko Because He Did Not Pay Her Bride Price..

Henrietta Kosoko's remains has been moved to her hometown in Delta State this morning for burial.

Henrietta passed away on Monday June 6, a year after the actress survived a near-fatal accident along Sagamu-Abeokuta road.
Late Henrietta Kosoko’s funeral that was scheduled to hold today at Atan Cementry has been canceled.
A source close to the family disclosed that the family of the late actress does not recognize Jide Kosoko as her husband, hence their decision to take charge of her funeral.

‘Henrietta is Urhobo woman from Delta state, where they cherish their culture. Jide Kosoko didn’t go to her family house in Delta to pay her dowry,’ the source said.
He continued: ‘He met her here in Lagos and they got married and never made any attempt to go the village with her to do the needful. Because of this, her family doesn’t see him as their in-law.’

The source further revealed that even when Henrietta passed on, the family did not call to inform him, he got to know when the news surfaced online.
A source close to Jide Kosoko also confirmed to us that the late actress will be buried in Delta saying, ‘Her family has kicked against our initial plans to bury her here in Lagos. They said it’s against their culture. So we had no choice than to obey want they want.’

netng reportage

*wow,this is serious but he can still pay it if he wants..*

99 comments:

1. Lagos is my Home10 June 2016 at 10:47

I think even if he paid her bride price or not, Urhobo women are buried where they came from.

I think that's why the bride price is still 120 naira. They say they are not selling their daughter but giving her out to be returned in death ....

1. I guess they are well within their right. May she rip.

2. Hun?nawaooh..a whole jide kosoko didn't pay bride price? Hmmmmmm

3. Yea i think so too. But just kosoko why na?

4. I wonder how some men or will I say a woman feel so comfortable staying with a man that has not paid your bride price. Even if they did court wedding or white,paying of bride price matters a lot.

5. You are so right, all those putting out wrong information.

Urhobo women are returned back.
      My aunty had this problem blc her husband was urhobo who return women body back to their home and d woman was ibo who are buried in their husband place so there was great confusion where to bury her. They had to choose a neutral place due to clashes in burial culture

I am very sure Urhobo women are returned back whether the dowry was paid or not

6. Not just urhobo even itsekiri return their don't leave their dead body outside unless the deceased says otherwise before death.

My mum has even told us to take her corpse back to her home town.

This bride price thing is something else. I keep wondering why girls can comfortably live with a man and bear kids without him doing the needful. My cousin is in same situation. The mum has told her to leave, she refuse.

7. The woman should have ensured he paid her bride price while she had the opportunity and still well alive but with different information given by BVS here about her culture she would still have been buried in her home town either dowry or no dowry. RIP to her.

8. Lastest promixing training,sales of organic products,and all skin needs. BBM 26603613.whatsapp 0816084536010 June 2016 at 12:47

Not just urhobo most part of pure delta does dat.at death their daughter are returned to them.jide didn't do d right thing we delta don't joke with bride price.he can still pay d bride price at death to show respect.am sure she would have disturbed jide to do d right thing b4 now cos she knows d importance.

9. Na waoooooooo
      How much be bride price
      Chaiiii some men

10. Stella please correct this post so u dont misinform . Most Delta women even Urhobo or Isoko where you are from are returned back in death regardless of dowry paid or not .

******Ask your family if in doubt

11. I know of an igbo woman dat had 6 kids (one died) for a yoruba man, he didnt marry her, she doesnt bear his surname. The children claim dat their parents r separated to save face. Pls ladies stop doing 'love nwantiti' let a man do all the needful before taking u home to avoid embarrassment in future abeg!

2. Hian!!!!!
    Na wah oh!
    Just like my pastor always says,pay a woman's bride price and you're married to her.
    White wedding is just ceremony

1. I agree to some extent, but coming from a pastor sounds awkward!

2. Oby you think so? I don't know of any church that joins a couple that has not done traditional marriage.

3. Oby,there's nothing awkward about it.Traditional marriage is what even the Bible recognises.White wedding Na just ceremony.Which is why it annoys me a lot when people say,'she has only done traditional marriage' not white wedding.As long as your bride price has been paid,YOU ARE MARRIED!!!

4. No reason Church will wed u without confirmation about your bride price

5. No what i mean is, he can actually encourage the couple to perform both ceremonies.. It sounds like he's trivialising the church blessing thats what i mean...

6. The bible recognises paying dowry not wearing white gown and standing in front of pastor

7. The day the man pays your bride price,you are automatically his wife.white wedding is what the oyibos forced us to accept.

3. Lesson to ladies!!!
    Don't live with a man that hasn't pay your dowry.
    All these Abuja marriages them..

4. So Jide you be chop and clean mouth. Lagos Marraige. Na their way be dat.

If he wants to bury the wife well, he should go and pay all the bride price including death price. That is what you get when you do lagos marraige. Na lagos i meet you, na here i go marry you not your village.

Shame this is coming out. I shame for all of them.

5. I guess he married her the statutory way.But then the family should let the woman rest in peace joor!

6. You r funny o Stella.. @he can still pay it if he want! R u insinuating him re- marrying a dead body?? This life na wa!

1. No!

He can pay the bride price post humously. And then bury her where he chooses.

Nothing beats doing it when you're supposed to, though.

2. Yes he can. It's done in my mum's place.

3. bride price or not. He cant bury her where he pleases. D woman will b buried wherever her fater hails from. The children of the woman will even be forced to build her a house in her home town where she is from cos its her own house she will be buried. No house no burial.

4. Urhobo woman bride price or not is buried in her hometown

5. Potable viv's side boo11 June 2016 at 03:53

As a Jesse man.lol If you like you pay billions, Traditional oo. Oyiboo, she must come home. Full stop

7. You r funny o Stella.. @he can still pay it if he want! R u insinuating him re- marrying a dead body?? This life na wa!

8. Mscheew... so he didn't pay her bride price? This will be a lesson to all other men out there that won't pay bride price on their live in lover. Do I even blame the men? It's those women that I would blame

1. Jide has been marrying tey tey. Maybe he don tire to dey pay bride price

9. Did not pay her bride price kwa, how possible is dt, well he can still pay Ebonyi people pay even in death.

1. I wonder how she "married" him all these years knowing he hadn't paid her bride price.

But then again,I thought Urhobo women aren't buried in Their hubby' place? Cos I know two cases where the corpses were taken back and buried in their Village.

10. Stella u wen be deltan suppose know as e dey go na?even if he had paid d bride price before her death,she would still be buried at her hometown...

11. That means they 2 children between them will not be his too except he goes now and pay the dowry. Complicated life!

12. Pay wetin Stella?that's its always important to pay a woman's dowry,don't just put her at home n start claiming husband on top her,Rip mam.

13. Yes the Urhobo's are like that. They won't allow the man bury his wife expect he pays her dowry, even if that means marrying her dead body. When my Urhobo friend wanted to do her trad marriage , the kings men in her village decline, saying her father must first of all pay her mother's dowry, because pikin nor dey first mama marry.

1. Kings men? OK o

2. @ Cy nor b small tin oh! If u see gbege ehen! Hmmm. My friend popsy gat pay the mumcy bride price oh, before them allow her do intro sef.

3. Ada nwanne m nwanyi, jiri ya nwayo na anyu ogbu. Kedu kwa nke bu kings men. I jekwara nke bu akwukwo

14. It is the culture of most towns in delta state...Stella ,you can't claim ignorance .
    He should not call her wife because no bride price was paid.Na baby mama she be till death.

1. Baby mama and years of pussy pounding without paying her bride price. See me see celebrity I must get this man. Like ashawo wen born after 2nd visit

15. After how many years?? The lady is dead n d family now remembered her dowry wasn't paid?? Assuming it was the husband that died, would she have any right to inherit his property? Let her rest in peace abeg

16. Did the Urhobo woman not know about her culture before she married him?. Was she forced to marry him?. Evidently she got married the way she wanted to get married, otherwise she should not have married him knowing how her culture is. I really don't understand why Nigerians cannot respect decisions made by adults and their choices.

1. Heard her family objected to their marriage. So it explains why he never went to do the right thing.

17. The other day I was saying to myself... Could her death have anything to do with the recent car gift her husband received?
    Pardon me but I trust no one.

1. Maybe the car gave her the diabetes that killed her Abi?

2. Oh please shut up!
      Pastor Iginla gives cars and other things out yearly on his birthday and no one has died so far.

Also Jide gas lost 3 out of 4 wives so far, so look towards him and leave the gift alone mbok!

3. In fact the last wife will be feeling funny by now. That is if they don't accuse her of being the "killer'. On the other hand, she sef go dey fear for her own life. Which woman will agree to marry him again? I don't envy them at all.

18. No matter where an Urhobo woman dies, tradition states that she MUST be returned back to her Father's village for burial. Whether her brideprice was paid or not is quite irrelevant.

1. That body won't be received just like that. A lot will be done. I'm urhobo. I'm telling you fact.

19. No matter where an Urhobo woman dies, tradition states that she MUST be returned back to her Father's village for burial. Whether her brideprice was paid or not is quite irrelevant.

20. Yes it can still be paid even though she's dead, some cultures allow that.But nawao why do women allow this all because you wanna answer a mans name.What of your family's respect and honour.

21. Their daughters are buried in their fathers house o!

22. My issue is it seems this man and his wife aren't close. Your wife is admitted in hospital, if you had been going there daily wld the doctors and relatives not 1st call you before the news got out.
    If a child or relative was staying with her at d time, will ur no not be the first number they will call?
    Or you ppl were not living together as husband and wife bcos I am confused.
    I am confused how a hubby wld be the last to know abt his wife's death if there was genuine closeness and love.
    Even if you travelled, you shld still be called to cum down to Lagos before news got out.

1. He has several wives, you know?

2. I agree with you.

They were obviouly separated prior to her death.

How can your partner be sick or dead and you won't know?

Now he is lamenting when in reality, he abandoned her and wasn't a good husband.

3. They had issues so she moved out.

4. Yea u are right. I felt embarrassed for him when he said he had to confirm the news online. They didn't seem close at all.

23. uncle jide, so you no pay pride price? dat's bad naa.

24. There are so many things most of us don't know about culture. When you go home/village atimes, ask questions. Mr Kosoko, so you did township marriage without paying her bride price.....#shame. Even in Igboland, you must do it properly before you bury her. It's always good to settle it even if your parents are in the city ensure that they do the needful by travelling or informing those in the villa.

White/Oyibo people wedding is a borrowed culture and ceremony to us, while traditional is our main marriage.

25. Replies
    1. Nothing is wrong nowhere. If u av evidence he's responsible for their deaths, take it to the police.

If not, don't insinuate. Nigerians and their superstitions.

Rubbish

2. My sister let's liv that for God.

26. Na wa o. He should hv done d needful since to avoid dis embarrassment. U cnt eat ur cake n hv it

27. Be thankful, it could always be worse...

28. So the woman died in whose house? Or didn't I read well....

29. If he didn't pay the bride price,then he didn't act well. As for not informing him about her death,the family took it way too far.

All these won't bring her back will it? RIP to her.

30. Cheap man. I'm sure he uses these women for something evil.

3 women just vannor just like that hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

31. I beg what nonsense. So all the years they lived together why didn't they say anything. It's now.

1. I am not sure they lived toget her cos not even the maid or gate man called to inform him of her passing.

32. In My place, you will marry(double of the dowry) the dead b4 burial.

33. In My place, you will marry(double of the dowry) the dead b4 burial.

34. Why is everybody blaming the man and not the woman that married him since bride price is so important where she comes from. Was she forced to marry him? Nigerians just love blaming the wrong people, if he refuses to pay bride price then don't marry him because he is not ready to marry you.

35. Since he did not pay her bride price so it means if it was Jide kosoko that died she and her children are not entitled and cannot inherit anything from him right?

1. The Painful truth

2. Nope. Jide's culture isn't same as hers. And besides, the legality of their union doesn't affect the kids. He remains their father, so they are automatically entitled to his estates as well as their mom's. There's no formality between parents and kids.

36. That is why Toke's marriage didn't mean anything to her kindred.

You run to the registry without paying bride price and think your family will support you in the days of your troubles.

Not possible

37. This post amazes me, SDK you are from Isoko so why dont you know that Delta women are sent back married or not.

38. O my God, this Urhobo people serious o. Even at death? I can see their is no mutual understanding between the two families if not this case wouldn't have pop up. Why did they allow Jide to arrange for cemetery before deciding on taking their daughter? But she supposed know where she came from and try to obey their culture irrespective of the love. Jide sorry o, Henrietta RIP.

39. Bride price or not she must be buried in her father's house, that's their culture but trust Yoruba men Osh o free, I think that's why he refused paying d dowry cos to him is of no use since if she dies you can't bury her in your place

40. I am Urhobo. Without paying bride price you will never be recognized as a husband. Even when you go to church to marry you have to settle all customary rites before going to church. As an Urhobo woman you must be returned home at death except toubhave pleaded with the woman's family and they have agreed. According to our culture if Kosoko did not pay her bride price they were only live in lovers.

41. Fake gist
    Fake gist
    Fake gist
    Fake gist
    Fake gist
    Delta women (Urhobo , Isoko , Itsekiri) go back to their family compound when they die and are not BURIED IN THEIR HUSBAND PLACE . It has nothing to do with Dowry or not .

1. Say what you know! I am from isoko. My dad from oleh, mum from ozoro. When my mum died, she was buried beside my father in oleh. Ask well don't generalize.

2. Isoko don't go back but urhobo go back.

42. Nope.if they did court wedding,she and her childern will inherit everything if it was him that died.

43. My mum is isoko from Uzere and she was buried in her father compound . Which means some of Isoko go back

44. Liar of the highest degree