Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Student Cries Out Over Alleged Fraudulent Activities Of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Student Cries Out Over Alleged Fraudulent Activities Of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)

I Hope the relevant people read through this and address the issue at hand!

''Hi Stella I am an ardent follower of your blog and a big fan, please help me post this on your blog. It is really a problem that is disturbing me. I work for every penny I spend and I feel cheated by the NOUN. Please help us stop this corruption at the NOUN.

The National Open University of Nigeria is more like an opportunity. It is an opportunity because it is a money making venture for some people.
Firstly, some of the fees student are made to pay are completely unnecessary. However, that is not the case at this moment.

It is expected that the NOUN being an institution which is formed out of an already existing educational system, should stand out in their management style. Instead, it seems like a malnourished shadow of the other universities despite how much money they make. They require lesser facilities and equipment than the other Federal, State, and Private universities, they do not hold lecturers, so they do not pay lecturers, all they are supposed to do is ensure efficient management of an open system of learning.

Yet this has proven to be a Herculean task for the principal officers of the institution.
Nigeria is a certificate based country, hence the NOUN is supposed to be a laudable project because it provides an opportunity for lots of busy people to acquire a various certificates (B.Sc, Masters, Ph.D)  not primarily to learn.
Though, I have lost faith in the Nigerian university system, but because I love to learn and I'm a little busy trying to survive in the skilled labour market, I decided to register for a course at the NOUN so I can earn a degree. 

My study center is the NOUN study center at Dutse, beside the Public Service Institute in Abuja. After my registration, and some staff making you buy files from them at a price triple what you pay outside, I was asked to pay for course materials (A total of N76k). I rushed to the bank, paid for course materials and I was asked to come back for the materials on a certain date. I got there on the day I was told to come only for the person in charge of the materials to tell me that there was no material. 

So I asked when I should come back for them, and he said next semester. I felt dazed by his statement because it sounded like I was being spoken too by an insane person. I should come back next semester to collect the course materials I need to study for exams this semester. I slowly turned and left in shock because I was confused.

I kept wondering what I have gotten myself into. That guy is a graduate and he just sounded like an insane man and was comfortable with it. I kept thinking to myself if I will be like him after 4 years. I'm I about to spend money to lose my sanity?
Isn't it enough that the institution is already making money off students by forcing them to buy course materials from them?

Then why won't they provide the materials? It is only logical that money and product should exchange hands.
It doesn't make sense for an institution backed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to be defrauding innocent Nigerians in the name of providing educational services. What excuse does the institution have for not providing course materials?or do we lack printing presses here in Nigeria?

Or is the institution waiting for government budget before they provide student materials, students pay for their materials, why shouldn't they get them?
If the institution cannot provide materials for the students, then the students should be allowed to source for their materials elsewhere. If not, it is a fraudulent practice for the institution to force students to purchase their materials from them, and still deprive them of these materials after collecting their money.

When I checked Google review regarding NOUN, some students were complaining the same thing. Nigerians are nice people but the institutions push them to the wall and it is disrespectful. If students begin to riot and vandalize the school facilities tomorrow, it's the students people will blame.

The government and the National Universities Commission should please look into supervising the activities of the NOUN as well as investigate this issue of lack of materials, else it will end up becoming one more failed institution.

WRITTEN BY SEGUN ADESINA

38 comments:

1. My Dear, it is everywhere. We are in a lawless country, my study centre is here in Ikeja, Lagos and they are animals there. If i tell you that from 100L up until now(400L) that i'm about to write my final exams,i haven't smelt one material. Is it missing results, rude facilitators, hungry departments, the list is endless.. all i have to say is STAY AWAY FROM NATIONAL OPEN UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA! they mostly employ animals to attend to students who strive to earn a good living.. STAY AWAY or just watch out for your study centres, do your research..

1. Biko anonymous aw did u rit 100l 200l 300l n 400l first semester exams without smelling any material. Let us try n tel d truth or at list lie wit sense

2. Me too. Mine is the same place as the poster. Infact unpublished result is the order of the day. They don't even have the decency/cutesy to explain why even after writing severally to them. All the staff will tell you is to resit and pay again to take the exams. Their practice is fraudulent and unethical. Knowing what i now know, i won't recommend the school to anyone

2. it's d same thing m facing here in uyo,hv paid for all my books but I got only 2...poster I'll advice u download d pdf n b reading thru ur fone...no tym 2 waste

3. Will read when I ve fuel @nyt.

4. So sorry segun. i understand how you feel. NOUN is crap i am tired of them. missing results here and there, they are so not organized.i keep wasting my hard earned money. Oh Lord see us through.

5. Soo true. The whole system is a mess. Currently runing a masters programme. They just uploaded last semesters results. And some courses are missing. Was told its a norm. The extortions are crazy. Exam registration,course registration. The so called staff are soo rude pluz most are half baked. God help us.

6. Replies
    1. Queen, you should have. It's a legitimate complaint and so unfair to the students. Some of them had to work for some years inorder to save up to attend NOUN only to have their efforts and dreams stomped on.

It's institute/people like NOUN that deserves all those your heavy curses😩😩...oya goan read and come and curse them mbok😭

7. They are thieves, I pray Govt probes them

8. Exploitation @ its peak. Thank God I had not yet enrolled for my Master's program wt NOUN...

9. See her face like fight.

10. NOUN is fraudulent,they keep telling students they will go for NYSC before buying their stupid form
    How can an institution force students to buy materials from them,and yet they won't be given the material they pay for?
    Buhari since corruption is what you are good at,look into this before the students take the laws into their hands.
    Education in Nigeria is terrible, on top of that lecturers will be harassing students anyhow,
    That was how one called me into his office and said "Tayan you will be walking through my office, with this your big ass, you won't even think of coming in to say Hi to me". I Was like wtf

11. Most part time study centres are like that. Missing script, senseless fees, lecturers taking advantage et al. You are already there, make the best use of the opportunity. I won't advise my enemy to attend any of these senseless centres. Most times alot of students end up without result after investing so much money and time...

Naija my country...

12. Na wa. since Obasanjo left after graduation from NOUN, the place is now nonsense. Kwarruption everywhere. What a pity.

I hope Mr. Kwarruption should do something about NOUN or may be he dont know what NOUN is.

13. I did my PGD there, paid for materials, got one only n downloaded d rest from d school library, as for missing results, I got two missing, I re-printed my exam receipt n rewrote d two papers,i didn't complain to d school,i just did it like a fresh student n voila, d result came out with d next batch.

14. ***HAHAHA...MY DEAR, U'VE STARTED COMPLAINING AS A NEW STUDENT, WAIT UNTIL THE END OF ANY SEMESTER & SHED THE REAL TEARS BCS OF THE INCESSANT MISSING RESULTS THAT HAVE GOTTEN NO SOLUTION OVER 4 YEARS. IT'S SO WEIRD! ON NOUN STAFF, I THINK ALL OF THEM STUDIED "BSc - RUDE ADMINISTRATION" AS A COURSE BCS THEY TREAT STUDENTS LIK A PIECE OF SH*T WHEN BEING APPROACHED, WITH NO CONSIDERATION THAT THOSE STUDENTS ARE WORKERS LIK THEM. NO MUCH BLAME SHAA; BCS IT'S THE NEPOTISM DURING OBASANJO, YARADUA, & GEJ ADMINISTRATION THAT SECURED THIS JOB FOR THEM WITH NO PROPER SCEENING. NOUN OBVIOUSLY NEEDS RESTRUCTURING!

15. Shey that one na school too? Mtchewww

Ndo poster

16. Hhahaha! Ayah... this is just ur 1st semester and ur complaining. My dear that's what we face. Just pay ur sch tuition fee, reg ur course and get a good lappy to download ur courses so u can study, i've never for once gotten any handout frm d sch and I pay for it every semester and i'm almost in my final year. If u don't have a device then get contacts frm some peeps in sch to print out ur courseware (handout) binded copy for u, some charge 1k per course. If u negotiate like I do, u can get 8 courses for 5k. Dutse is my centre too and I don't go close to dat place till my exams cuz I knw d short cut to all this. Missing results? Don't worry! B4 ur next semester exams, it will come out... but Oga why u lying, course material (reg) ain't 76k biko, na golden book u dey pay 4? 76k is ur whole semester fee (including tuition, exam reg and course reg) it's better to be truthful than try to gain sympathy by lying, u inflated the price. But truth be told, don't wait for them to give u handout, find ur own way and study cuz ur exams are close. It's painful, yes I know,and if u start a petition, I will support u but for now... make a way, don't wait for NOUN/STELLA/PMB.

17. Hhahaha! Ayah... this is just ur 1st semester and ur complaining. My dear that's what we face. Just pay ur sch tuition fee, reg ur course and get a good lappy to download ur courses so u can study, i've never for once gotten any handout frm d sch and I pay for it every semester and i'm almost in my final year. If u don't have a device then get contacts frm some peeps in sch to print out ur courseware (handout) binded copy for u, some charge 1k per course. If u negotiate like I do, u can get 8 courses for 5k. Dutse is my centre too and I don't go close to dat place till my exams cuz I knw d short cut to all this. Missing results? Don't worry! B4 ur next semester exams, it will come out... but Oga why u lying, course material (reg) ain't 76k biko, na golden book u dey pay 4? 76k is ur whole semester fee (including tuition, exam reg and course reg) it's better to be truthful than try to gain sympathy by lying, u inflated the price. But truth be told, don't wait for them to give u handout, find ur own way and study cuz ur exams are close. It's painful, yes I know,and if u start a petition, I will support u but for now... make a way, don't wait for NOUN/STELLA/PMB.

18. I'm sorry to say but that school is just very useless.

They know how to exploit students wella. My friend has been there since 2011 yet she has not graduated.

19. Ouch.... What an eye opener.
    To even think that Im planning on doing my MSc with them.

20. Geez! And here I was thinking of doing my masters there.

21. Noun, paying for materials is as good as dashing them money, finish payig then go n download, may God help his pple

22. NOUN IS NOT AT FAULT.. WIT ALL THE COMMENTS U WIL KNOW THAT ITS UNSERIOUS PEOPLE THAT ARE COMPLAINING... TO BE HONEST, THIS STUDENTS PAY FOR COURSE REG AND EXAM REG... THERES NO PLACE ON THEIR TUTION FEE BREAKDOWN STATING PAYMENT FOR COURSE MATERIALS.. THEY ONLY PAY FOR COURSE REG AND NOT MATERIALS.. AFTER THE COURSE REG, STUDENTS ARE TO MAKE DO WIT THE AVAILABLE MATERIAL IN PRINT FORMAT OR BETTER STIL GO ONLINE ALL THE MATERIALS ARE THERE FOR THEM TO DOWNLOAD.. THE SCH IS CUT ACROSS THE 36 STATES OF NIGERIA AND THERE IS NO HOW THE MATERIAL WIL BE AVAILABLE 24-7.THE SCHOOL POPULATION IS ON THE HIGH SIDE.THE SCH IS TRYING ITS POSSIBLE BEST TO PROVIDE THIS FACILITIES. IF BY THE TIME THE STUDENT GO FOR COURSE MATERAIL AND ITS NOT AVAILABLE THEY SHLD GET IT ONLINE WHICH IS ALWAYS AVAILABLE..THE PEOPLE SAYING FROM 100-400LEVEL PLS ASK THEM WHAT THEY READ TO PASS TO 400L IF NOT THE MATERIALS ONLINE.... I DID MY PDG IN INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND PRESENTLY RUNNING MY MSC.. THEY SHLD GET A SIT JARE.

23. I left NOUN in 400 level law! The endless promises about our law school got to me one day, so I just ran! Am in a conventional school now reading another course while bidding my time. I won't advise my enemy to go to NOUN, because all they care about is money, a 4yr programme will stretch to 8yrs because of their negligent and wickedness

1. If its as bad as u claim y wait til 400 wen u ad jst 1 year to go. Why waste it al only to go start al over elsewer

24. i'M TOO SURE THAT ANON 15;00 IS A FACILITATOR OR ONE OF THE BITTER STAFF, WITH THE MONEY THAT ACCRUES TO THEM DAILY, YOU MEAN TO TELL ME THAT THEY DON'T HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO PRINT AND THEY ARE SO CARING TO THE EXTENT WHERE THEY ASK STUDENTS TO COME FOR MATERIAL AND ON GETTING THERE, THEY TURN YOU DOWN RUDELY, LIKE SADISTS FROM HELL..
    OR MAYBE YOU ARE VERY VERY FINANCIALLY BUOYANT THAT YOU HAD ENOUGH MONEY TO PRINT YOUR COURSE MATERIALS YOURSELF, ITS A FEDERAL UNIVERSITY AND WE SHOULD BE CUT SOME SLACK!
    I HAVE BEEN THERE FOR 4YEARS RUNNING, THEY JUST EXPLOIT AND ACT STUPID THATS ALL

1. Noun as isues yes very very big isues bt lets b honest dey never promised hard copies of course material. They promised course material yes n dats y its online for ple to download or ptint at their convinience. Every skul as isues bt dat shldnt stop us from achievin our goals

25. I lost interest at "I'm I".

26. i graduated from NOUN , MADE 2.1 I NEVER HAD MISSING RESULT , YES THE MATERIAL IS AN ISSUE I ENDED UP DOWNLOADING MINE. IF YOU BEHAVE YOUR SELF THEY WILL NOT INSULT U. YES ALL MY SET HAD NO ISSUE AT IKEJA STUDY CENTRE

27. I see why thier lectures spend so much on red wines n fish pepper soup everyday in Navy barracks near Diamond bank.Dis pple are heavy spenders.

28. Segun adesina shld go find sumwer to sit down cos its ple like im dat r 1 of d many big problems dat noun faces. Yes noun as issues dat we all know bt biko wich 1 is 76k for course material what are you buying, book of life? Wait first aw much is skul fees dat u buyin course material for 76k dat aside. Mr segun adesina all skuls ve der ish bt i am certain dat no body wld ask u to cum n colect course material that you need for that semester next semester. Besyds havent you hrd of ecourseware ilearn and elibrary why are you waiting for hard copy to study if u as serious u claim why dont u jst download read n prepare for your exam or aint u aware that noun is distant learning and most things are done online. If you as busy as you claim u wouldnt be going up and down to their office like u forgot sth there cause am sure every noun student know the appropriate no to call the whatsapp no to send msges to in order to get ur complaints resolved n its only wen ur case is quite complex dat u ve to visit their ofice or wen its xam time. Yes scripts get misin so do exams n text bt pls wich uni doesnt dat apin. Am a student of noun n i ve ad sum isues n complaints and so ve other students bt lets cal a spade a spade u dont ve to reduce to trashin lieing n sayin unrealistic stufs to make ur point made.