Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Another $5m Found In Patience Jonathan’s Account

Sunday, September 11, 2016

Another $5m Found In Patience Jonathan’s Account

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has traced an additional $5m to the Skye Bank account of Dame Patience Jonathan, the wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan.

This brings to $20m the total amount so far traced to the former first lady.
As part of investigations into a money laundering case against a former Special Adviser on Domestic Affairs to ex-President Jonathan, Waripamowei Dudafa, the EFCC had traced four company accounts to him with a balance of $15m.

The EFCC subsequently charged Dudafa and the four companies with money laundering.
The four companies, whose accounts have since been frozen, are Pluto Property and Investment Company Limited, Seagate Property Development and Investment Company Limited, Trans Ocean Property and Investment Company Limited and Globus Integrated Service Limited.
A source at the EFCC said, “While we were investigating Dudafa, we traced the four companies to him. The companies have domiciliary accounts at Skye Bank with a balance of about $15m. So, we obtained a court order and froze the accounts.

“We then traced the directors of the companies who then denied ownership of the accounts. It was later that we were informed that the accounts belonged to Patience Jonathan and that she is the sole signatory to the accounts. She was given a special card which she used in making withdrawals across the world.

“We, therefore, wondered why the accounts were not opened in her name if she had nothing to hide. In fact, we later found out that her personal account, which bears her name, has a balance of $5m. One wonders where a person, who has never held a government position, got the money from. She was not our initial target but she certainly has questions to answer.”

Jonathan’s wife has, however, sued Skye Bank for freezing her bank accounts and giving the EFCC vital information about her finances.
Patience filed a N200m fundamental rights enforcement suit against Skye Bank Plc.

One Sammie Somiari, who deposed to an affidavit on behalf of Patience, claimed that the EFCC placed a No Debit Order on the four accounts in July, in the course of probing Dudafa.

The EFCC has now filed an amended 17 counts against Dudafa and seven others, including the four companies, wherein the suspects were accused of conspiring to conceal $15,591,700, which the EFCC claimed they ought to have known formed part of proceeds of an unlawful act.

Somiari said in the affidavit filed on behalf of Patience, who is said to be away for an urgent medical treatment abroad, that it was Dudafa who helped Patience open the four bank accounts which the EFCC froze.
According to him, Dudafa had on March 22, 2010 brought two Skye Bank officers, Demola Bolodeoku and Dipo Oshodi, to meet Patience at home to open five accounts.

The deponent claimed that Patience was the sole signatory to the accounts.
He, however, claimed that after the five accounts were opened, Patience later discovered that Dudafa opened only one of the accounts in her name, while the other four were opened in the names of companies belonging to Dudafa.
Somiari added, “The applicant (Patience) complained about this to Dudafa, who at his prompting and instance promised to effect the change of the said accounts to the applicant’s name; and to effect this change, Dudafa brought the said bank manager, Mr. Dipo Oshodi, who was purported to have effected the changes. This was about April 2014.

“The applicant is not a director, shareholder or participant in the companies named in the aforementioned four accounts.
“The bank official, Mr. Dipo Oshodi, as it would appear, did not effect or reflect the instruction of the applicant to change the said accounts to her name(s) despite repeated requests of the applicant.

“Besides, the ATM credit cards bearing the said companies’ names were brought to the applicant by Mr. Dipo Oshodi of the second respondent bank, who promised to replace them once the cards bearing the changed names were available, but he never did.
“However, since 2010 up until 2014 and thereafter, the applicant had been using the cards on the said accounts and operating the said accounts without let or hindrance.
“Even in May, June and July 2016, the applicant travelled overseas for medical treatment and was using the said credit cards abroad up until July 7, 2016 or thereabout when the cards stopped functioning.”

In her fundamental rights suit, Patience is urging the court to compel the EFCC to immediately remove the No Debit Order placed on her accounts.
She also wants the court to order Skye Bank to pay her damages in the sum of N200m for what she termed a violation of her right to own personal property under Section 44 of the Constitution.

However, the EFCC is in moves to arraign Dudafa and his alleged accomplices for money laundering before a Federal High Court in Lagos.
Further proceedings in the case has been adjourned until September 15.
However, the Chairman, Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption, Prof. Itse Sagay (SAN), has said with the fresh admission by Patience that she owns the accounts, the EFCC has the right to probe her.

Sagay told one of our correspondents on the telephone that the Act establishing the EFCC gave the anti-graft agency the power to investigate anybody who is seen to have more wealth than he ought to have.
The senior advocate wondered how Patience, who was a civil servant and never held any government position, could have billions in her bank accounts.
He said, “The EFCC and ICPC Act have provisions under which they can ask the court to freeze the account of a person if a person’s capacity to earn is below the amount of money that the person appears to have.
“If you are living a lavish lifestyle and it appears you don’t have the means to have acquired the property and the wealth you have, the EFCC is free to probe you.

“If she is claiming the money belongs to her, she has put herself in a position where she must explain how she earned it.”
Attempts to get the comments of the wife of the former president were not successful.
Repeated calls and a text message sent to the Media Adviser to former President Goodluck Jonathan, Mr Ikechukwu Eze, were also not responded to as of 8:45pm on Saturday.
Punch cullage

Hmmm Patience Jonathan!!!....This story gave me headache...which one is open account and then somebody opened it in their company name and then the Bank refused to effect change of name?..The accounts belonged to her but was opened in someones company name simple!..No need for long story.

76 comments:

1. See our money ooo.God help Nigeria!

1. Huh!!!! All GEJ praise singers suddenly go dumb!!!!

2. See our money!!! Yes you are right
      But please what about the ones they've been recovery?

3. Which one is 'our money'.
      Some of you don't even pay your taxes. Please take a seat

4. Why is this woman always falling Jona's hand.. Chai

2. I certainly can't be bothered by this.

3. I am sure this just one of her many accounts housing stolen funds.

1. Her lawyers are stupid for advising her to sue. She shd have just let the money go after all, she has plenty more. Now she has thrown up her name into the media. Scandal brewing. And she's not so healthy, so the stress of a probe could kill her, literally.

4. WhWhy do i feel Patience will have answers to their questions? That woman despte her phonics is just to wise and smart..Shebi they would have just givn me ordinary $1m

5. There is a lot more to come.

6. The damage done by these people and their allies eeeh!

Let me ask again, this act by the bank and bank manager to deliberately fool the unwary by opening someone's account in another's name and still allowing the person operate the account just to fool people, is it not a criminal act on its own?

It is my belief that the bank manager and the bank also be araigned for forgery or some other appropiate crime since another person's name is used to transact business

1. Nay, ow it works is that a person can be a signatory to an account but not part of the board of directors, so in that regard the directors on their company's letter head writes to the bank introducing such person as a signatory to run the account... Other cases some persons mite not want to be traced either as a board of director or a signatory to an account but theyve full rite to the atm cards and internet banking without the bank being in the knwn... Alot happens

2. Asin ehn! It was a strategic plan from the get go. She def didn't want the funds in her name, saying she requested for the accounts to be re-registered in her name is a lie, and yes the bank should be questioned as it is a crime to make an individual who is not on the board of resolution of a company the sole signotory to the comapanys' account. It is also a crime to own 5 unlinked accounts in one bank in ones' name, so that she is claiming she requested that the accounts be changed to her name na impending yawa! Nawa o! All this billion sef, what is buhari duing with recovered loot? Why am I still suffering.

7. See contradiction left right and center.

How was she able to operate the account under somebody else' name? If the account name wasn't changed to hers? She was even using the debit card abroad? The bank has a query to answer regarding that, they are as culpable.

Suing the bank for giving out her details to the EFCC without her consent or legal backing may earn her a few points. Same with Fayose's situation. But if they've been approved by the court for the purpose of investigation, then she has no case. Such impunity.

1. Sisi eko do you still believe that Niger delta militants can survive under water for more than 48 hours naturally?

2. Sisi Eko, u can operate an account on behalf of another person if the person makes u a signatory to the acct and writes that only u shd transact on the account. In this case, it is a corporate entity so it is far easier as the only thing required is a board resolution nominating the person as the sole signatory to the account. There is no way she wld not have known this arrangement. As for the infor part,as a bank once there is an order from the court you must provide all the information required by the law both personal and otherwise. This is wld all die down soon ii blve.

3. Sisi,a court order was obtained.The bank is not higher than the court,they have to give every info.to EFCC upon instructions from the court. The bank will be duly sanctioned by CBN for violating banking procedures. Mama pesse might not have access to the other four accounts,because they were not in her name(its obvious the guy was just fronting for the Jonathans). I now see the reason CBN had to change the management of the bank,easy access.

4. @ BA's last sentence, hmmmmmm

5. Keep asking silly questions, na you go tire.

6. Over sabi as usual!

7. This is the bank that had kunle aluko on its board bcos it was the bank used by his brother kola to launder stolen funds for himself and the politicians.This explains damola bolodeoku's connection bcos he's a childhood friend of the aluko.Naija's one big racket

8. Whirlwind, Lmao. You get time sef. Don't u know the anonymous asking the silly question? I'll whisper it to u later jare. Make e no tire na.

@Hope and BA, ok oh. I get your explanations. Thanks guys

Let's see how it'll all play out in the end.

8. Nothing person nor go hear for Nigeria. Patience claiming ownership of about 13 billion naira not asset. This is someone that has never held any juicy post. her gratuity in civil service cant be more than 10 million naira. Legally Jonathan her husband cant defend having such amount in his account. you see people that pushed us into recession yet everyone is blaming Buhari. Even a man that cant have erection to sleep with his wife will also blame buhari

1. They nearly sold Nigeria into eternal slavery.

2. @plenty money, God bless you for this

3. @BA they have already sold Nigeria out that is why we are in this mess. Sincerely when will the youth wake up and take charge? The most painful aspect of cases like this is that you will see same people that are suffering as a result of this thieves supporting them, well guess people like that are meant to suffer .
      God will judge all the people that robbed Nigeria.

4. Gbam!!! @plentymoney

9. Can they just give me some of this money they are discovering upandan even if it's just 100k naira o not dollar eh

1. Even ordinary 2k sef them no go give not to talk of the 100k you dey find

10. Hmmmmm
    I hav see why this woman campaigned seriously during election. APC would hav bn the best if not this economic recession.
    But probing this woman may land her into early grave. Make una carry the money and leave her. Na beg i beg una

1. Now we all know why we are in recession and those that brought us into this mess.The woman is shameless thief.

11. My Oga used to be patience Jonathan's acct officer, he was assassinated some months back, many pple believe he knew too much hence d reason he was killed

1. Hian!!! I alwayz adviced that account officers do more on dis KYC or KYCB to avoid any suspicious accounts esply wen these signatories are PEPs..May his soul find rest, it is well

2. Anon 8:02, it's for this reason the bank manager n her account officer spoke out bcos they got wind they were next on the chopping board.
      Even her former police officer CSO was shot at point blank range in his parked car in Abuja.Nothing was stolen as his phones and wallet were still on him when his corpse was discovered.It's believed he was having a meeting in his car with someone known to him and that was the person that pulled the trigger then exited the car.It's funny how people think some of these politicians're still human,pple that have sworn allegiance to the devil

3. Anon he knew very well o, he even had pdp account too, he was rich but he was mudered in cold blood infront of his wife in Abuja here, either Linda or stella carried d gist.

12. Yet they'll claim there's no money in this country. God dey?

13. This is nothing but a smear campaign against GEJ and his family.
    Why all these stupid and senseless Campaign of calumny?
    Is she the richest former public office holder in Nigeria ?

14. EFCC should also tell us how much the wives of Tinubu, Atiku Abubakar, Abdusalami Abubakar ,Amaechi ,Fashola and Sani Abacha 's widow have in the banks.
    Enough of this political victimization

1. May God deliver you from stupidity.

2. He just state d fact shey they lunch change starts with you campaign so let them starts with Apc's chieftains & their family. And u are here abusing him thisis pure political victimization.QED.

15. Na God dey open her nyansh small small.Some people will tell me "Hero" did not steal.

16. Stella, it appears quality thinking is not your strong suit. Who opens an account in another person's company then waits till the accounts are frozen before raising issues. Besides, the question is where did she get that kind of money? Not assets o, cash balance.

1. she's neither blessed with brains nor beauty

17. If they aren't probing the past administration before Jonathan, then I am not interested in any of this.

1. It was Jonathan's duty to probe the previous administration

18. Na wa! We are yet to finish discovering the massive looting from diezani now it is Patience turn. There is God.

19. Ok we don hear. Collect the money and REVIVE the economy

20. My take is that as many that progressively put this nation in this MESS BOTH MILITARY AND CIVILIAN, THE WRATH OF GOD WILL MERCILESSLY COME UPON THEM, THEIR GENERATIONS BOTH BORN AND UNBORN. ALL THE MONEIES THEY STOLE AND STASHED AWAY WILL BE THEIR SOURCE OF PAIN AND MISERY. THEY WILL NEVER HAVE PEACE. THEY WILL RUN FROM PILLAR TO POST. THERE IS NO HIDDING PLACE FOR THE WICKED. IT IS UNACCEPTABLE AND WE DO NOT DESERVE WHAT WE ARE GOING THROUGH IN THIS NATION, AN OIL PRODUCING COUNTRY? NO RESERVE AND NAIRA IS NOW OFFICIALLY INFERIOR TO OTHER FOREIGN CURRENCIES. CHOI THERE IS GOD OOOOOOOO.

21. Just shaking my head and duckling out of post.

22. You should see her hotel in Bayelsa close to one popular night club. They stole Nigeria blind.

1. Na she own that club too, have forgotten the name

2. She also owns Barcelona hotel, Wuse 2 abuja

3. Barcelona hotel in wuse 2 is owned by plus ayim o!d former SGF in jonatan govt!he owns d barcelona hotel and barcelona suites both in blantyre cresent in wuse2!

23. All this plenty plenty money people be chopping without conscience sha hmmmm...
    There is God ooo...

24. They should just give this woman a break for Christ's sake.

1. Stupid comment alert!!!

Are you giving Buhari a break? Emancipate yourself from mental slavery!!!

25. And it continues... people are continuously dying in our hospitals because of lack of adequate facilities. People are begging to raise funds for dying members of their families. People pay huge amount of money to travel to India to treat loved ones. Yet someone has that amount of money in their account and kept mute. This will definitely continue until we as a people start holding our leaders to account.

26. Please Stella what should we do? Lol

27. Nobody call this woman o. Na she bring herself out. Now defend this cash in your possession, so far you claimed it's yours.

28. I hate it when people come to defend the looting of these criminals because they are from N'Delta... My grandmother as well as the battalion of women selling kpekere, chips and pure water along Bayelsa/rivers road are all from N'Delta. Me and millions of youths here are all bonified N'Deltans. Don't we deserve the dividends of our common resources? She should face the music abeg..

29. Oh mama Peace. Na only you Waka come? All this đź’° they're seeing abi discovering in your account so. Hmmmm. Dia is God o.

30. President wife is entitled to dat kind of money so everyone face urself or work,do know u how much buhari wife is whot.nonsense.so make she non chop money b4,y buhari fight him self there if they re not after d money there

31. Thief, na GOD go punish u and ur imbecile hubby

32. Probe IBB Abdusalam Obasanjo and co too They all put Nigeria in this mess. If not, face your front Buhari

1. What's Buhari's business with them? If his predecessor GEJ didn't, what trail will be left to investigate? Bubu is rightly chasing the bird in hand, not the ones that have flown away

2. Anonymous 15:45 you have sense.

33. Can someone pls tell me why this is news when the present first lady and zara her daughter smuggle money within this Nigeria from one account to the other ! Which Buhari himself knows about. AISHA Buhari, has practically also overnight become a secret billionaire and her husband acts like he knows nothin. Well we are hearing o Mr Change, I hope she also finds asylum like miriam and co when they leave cuz she must explain her sudden rolex(s) and Hermes bag. Corruption fighting corruption. Please Nigeria just needs her Youths to stand up to what is theirs. AM OUT