Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Woman Gives Birth On Mediterranean Sea

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Nigerian Woman Gives Birth On Mediterranean Sea

A Nigerian woman has delivered a baby boy on board a rescue ship in the Mediterranean after being plucked from an overcrowded migrant rubber dinghy.

BBC quoted Medical charity Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) as saying that the baby’s parents, Otas and Faith Osunbor, had named him Newman Otas.
They had been making the hazardous crossing to Italy with their two other children, aged seven and five, and were rescued just 24 hours before the baby was born.

An MSF midwife on board the ship MV Aquarius, Jonquil Nicholl described the birth as “normal… in dangerously abnormal conditions”.
Mrs Osunbor said she had been “very stressed” on the rubber boat and had been having contractions for three days.

Nicholl, who delivered the baby, said: “I am filled with horror at the thought of what would have happened if this baby had arrived 24 hours earlier in that unseaworthy rubber boat, with fuel on the bottom where the women sit, crammed in with no space to move, at the mercy of the sea.‎
“And 48 hours previously they were waiting on a beach in Libya not knowing what was ahead of them.”

“Just over an hour ago a baby boy was born on board the Aquarius. Mum, baby, dad and 2 big brothers are all well,” she said.
“The gorgeous little guy was born in international waters; so, his nationality is still under discussion”, she added.

Ms White told the BBC that such events were rare on rescue ships, although another baby was born on the Aquarius in May to a woman from Cameroon.

BBC story.

*Such risk!....I dont blame them,In Nigeria's economic hardship,at all at all na em bad,it is so bad for some that they might decide to die trying than just sit and wait.I pray they enter Italy safely.

23 comments:

1. I don't have single feeling for all these people risking their life to cross Mediterranean Sea.

2. Stella, it's been happening even before i was born.

Edo no dey carry last.

So madam, your baby na citizen of Mediterranean sea?
    Thank God for your life

1. Hahahahahah you got be laughing like to mad woman here @her baby na citizen of mediterranean sea

2. Hahahahahah you got me laughing like a mad woman here @her baby na citizen of mediterranean sea

3. The hustle is real!
    Congrats madam

4. Ever since Economy begin hard, Nigerians dun park their things go dey live for Mediterranean sea.

5. Thank God. The risk these people take na wa

6. Hustle is so real mehn.. lucky baby! Thank God you his/her life

7. I don't blame them too,ds country too hard abeg,God help us.

8. They will bundle them back soon.

9. Thank God for the baby and mummy! But what a risk

10. These are the ones giving us bad names around the world. Heavily pregnant and going to dump your problems on other tax payers abroad. Wicked mother! If you had died, would we have heard of it? Lazy idiot! These foreign govts should first jail such people before sending them back to where ever they crawled out from.

1. She risked it all to hi her kids a better life than u can dream of. They won't grow up bitter and hateful like you. Btw, a lazy person is one who stays in her comfort zone to judge... like... you guessed it... YOU!

2. I don't even understand how anyone would take such risk, not to talk of a pregnant woman with minors who by now will be stressed from the very awkward and dangerous journey. It's just unfair on the poor kids abeg.

11. Na wa for d desperado woman.if she die now Wetin she for talk.