Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 34

Friday, December 30, 2016

Service Year Boulevard 34

You either pass through it or it passes through you....

Good day Stella, am new on your blog and i have been an addict ever since. , never commented though. I enjoy all the sections. To my NYSC Story

I was posted late from my uni, which made me a bit depressed. So when my name finally came out for 2014 Batch A. My parents asked me where i wanted to serve, so i told them either Oyo or Osun State. When i went to collect my call up letter in school, i saw Osun State. 

I was so excited. Almost everyone in my school was posted to Lagos but will camp in Osun. We were so much from my school, that i decided not to mingle with anyone of them in camp. Best decision EVER!

So I got to camp early and did all my registrations, got my kit and got the best corner/ Room. Made new friends and my corner mates became my close friends even till now. I was in Platoon 6 and i joined in all the activities from drama, to dancing to volleyball.

The first social night, i represented my platoon in dancing and i won. I was so excited and i became popular in camp. I won alot of stuff tho(It saved me alot of money when i got an apartment). It was so cool. So every night some of myself and some of my platoon people will go to maami to goan dance. Lol

I didnt have any camp boo, but i really enjoyed my self. I became sick in camp with serious body ache after the varieties night, chai. But i recovered in the second week.

I was posted to osogbo and most of my camp friends redeployed, so i made new friends again from the church that carried us from camp. Me and my two new Wafi friends got 3 bedroom apartment for 90k, and our PPA was just 5minuites from the house. I was just a lucky girl!

During the one year, i took on 6 classes with 60 students in each! I was feeling like badoo. so my HOD liked me a lot. When we wanted to do our final clearance, some of the VPs wanted to use bad belle to extend our stay(me and my wafi girls) cause we always go to school late and all. We were reported to the Principal. We cried and begged!! But my HOD stood for me and said i wasn't that kiinda girl. I sha cleared and i still did shakara for all those winchi winchi VPs.

Some married men wanted to be on my case. But as a good girl that i is now. I didnt do anything with them, but i chop small money sha. But they became my good friends later on and one even got me job to start after my POP in febuary 2015 but i didn't want to stay back at osogbo, as a full blooded lagos chick!

I also learnt how to sew clothe and that has been my side business ever since.

NYSC is a wonderful thing and i really had mad fun!! For you to enjoy NYSC, u need to be free and friendly! If you are proud, NYSC will just be boring to you and it will be a wasted time.

Hope my story isn't too long. Thank you Stella

*Nice one..good t know you learnt how to sew from your service year.

26 comments:

1. Good one sha... that part that says you are a good girl so you didn't date married men but you chop small money tho. while do you toy with married men..is either you stay clear of them or you get involve..good girl dey eat money from married men. .issoright

1. She's lying pls, she definitely slept with them.

2. You don't have to sleep with married men to get small things from them..

2. Great story....glad you enjoyed your service year and made good friends as well

3. No it wasnt boring, short and precise

4. Isaacson how are you, no let them enter you ooo. You don dey carry first for commenting.

Hope you are preparing for your own service. You must give us good juicy news.

stay well

1. Of course I stay strong as always dear...and yes my service year must be juicy and adventurous and great,I can hardly wait anymore

5. Exactly. This is what I keep saying to all these spoilt and mannerless children we have nowadays. It's just a year, keep an open mind, learn and stop expecting too much.....after one year u are free, but no parents will be running heater skelter and girls sleeping with commandants for redeployment.. Except you are posted to a troubled state I.e boko states or very remote villages, sit your arse down and serve your country for one year then leave...

6. .... that's nice.
    Unlike most girls that'll turn their service year into 'servicing' every men they see.

1. No b small, thinking they went there to knack upandan

7. My service year was most eventful.
    Might share the story someday.
    FCT batch C 2010- Story of my Life!

#Flygirl

1. Hahah I was also FCT batch C 2010 - jeez, KD camp (Black Gold) - the service year was REAL!

2. You know this!
      Mine was Kubwa camp.
      Bitter sweet memories; #Coulda#Woulda#Shoulda

#Flygirl

8. It's not really interesting, but manageable. Atleast d poster no gbensh with fellow Corps. I rep keeping urself untill after wedding. From a jobless graduate