Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: When A Woman Wants To Cut Down Her Hair.....

Thursday, January 05, 2017

When A Woman Wants To Cut Down Her Hair.....

HUH!

I just heard stuff like Once you are married you MUST consult your man before cutting your hair otherwise scary things will happen....EXCUSE ME?....The husband goes to the Barbing most times once in two weeks right?Does he consult or take permission from the wife?NO!

Or does this have a Biblical tone?..Unless you can prove this with a Bible passage dont even bother!

People and their Superstitious belief! *Tongue click*

146 comments:

1. Stella so if you wake up one morning and your husband's starts braiding his hair and all that, you will be happy that he didn't consult uou? How can you even equate cutting down your hair and him bathing when you should equate it to making of hair.

Please try thinking well before commenting.

1. Stupid comment alert @anon 11.32!!!

She said barbing, not bathing!! Hian!

Please try thing well before rushing to comment ! SMH!!

2. Even as a single woman, the barber will tell you to call any male in your family before he cuts your hair...happened to me in May,had to walk out of the barbing salon furious!!!!

3. it's just d right thing to do....stella is like u don barb ur brain cos nothing spiritual here

4. Stella you can't equate gents haircut to that of women. How would you feel if your hubby goes to fix Brazilian hair ?? Unless of course he's bobrisky.

5. Well, for me, I'll ask my husband. There are so many things he asks me first before doing. I don't see d big deal tho

6. As a single girl, I will seek the opinion of my mum and siblings. When I get married I will def do same from hubby abi I want make the man pursue me say na the hair attract am in the first place?

7. There is nothing there, it's just respecting his opinion.
      Excel

8. If you are married or in a serious relationship and you respect your partner, then you will know the right thing to do is to inform your partner about such decisions.

9. Nigerian women and his feminism thing, we have to know where to draw the line.

For me, it is never about permission but about the relationship. My husband and I are friends. We talk about everything.

When I decided to transition and then start carrying natural hair ( from very low cut) we have talked about it from the beginning. In the space of 12 years that we've been together, he has carried Afro 3 times, and we always talk about before he starts.. Infact he's carrying one right now.

Funny enough, people used to ask me if I AGREED to let him carry Afro..and I'd be like, it's a marriage, not a prison. Let the man express himself. It's not that serious.

2. Consult? Is it same as telling your man about your desire to have a new look is there a different kind I am yet to understand?

1. Its common with Igbos a woman at least a married woman must consult the husband before cutting her hair if not she is considered a widow. But the educated ones don't need all that s«»t.

2. You don't just go and cut your hair without his consent, thats NEGLIGENCE to me... What if he hates low hair cut on women, telling him does not mean you are asking for his permission, he deserves to be told b4 you take such step

3. @Valentine,do you know the meaning of the word NIGLIGENCE? hian!! Nothing wey person no go read for here.

4. I went to the salon to cut my hair and they refused to. Stating I needed to get written consent from my husband...dunno if it's superstitious or not but that's whats obtainable in Nigeria/Africa

5. I get the part about telling your husband you want to cut your hair but the word "Consult" sounded deeper than mere discussion to me, hence my question.

I'm a mother of children on low cut as well and all I did was tell my sposato that I'm tired of weaves and all, he simply said "non c'è problema, tutto ciò che ti rende felice, farlo. meaning: no problem, whatsoever makes you happy just do it". I didn't need any special consultation other than that.

I don't subscribe to taking some delicate decisions like that without uttering a word, either. It isn't same as going to the boutique to shop for new clothes with your money or family card.

My two kobo, are you for real? Wait, this is like in the movies. Written consent? Nawa

3. Africa my Africa.

Always putting pressure on women. 😣😣😣

1. Well it is up to the lady if she tells him or not. Some ladies prefer to do that and some don't. Whatever floats their boat

2. I don't see anything wrong in telling your husband that you want to cut your hair,what if you do and he didn't like it and you are no more sexy in his eyes,who is to be blamed,after all, he didn't marry you with a low cut.what if the hair was what he liked when he first met you?me I will seek for permission sef before embarking on such ordeal,i might like low cut and him,long hair,we should consider each others feelings

3. @ Lucille, telling your spouse about your decision to cut your hair is the right thing to do no doubt.

But saying you need his approval, is what I don't agree with. A married woman is also entitled to self love.

4. @ Uniq, how would you feel if your husband left the house on a Sat and appeared later with dreadlocks? Hmm.

5. I live cutting my hair and I do tell my dh before doing it. In fact, he does the cutting most times for me. Stella, as a married woman, u have to take permission from ur hubby to cut ur hair.

6. @ Whirlwind, that's over the board 😊. I'm not against 'consultations' with the hubs.

I told my hubs when I intended transitioning, he was cool with it 'cos he had always wanted that. But I didn't fail to let him know I was doing it for Me.

Attaching superstitions to this was what irked me.

7. When I wanted to go natural without barbing my hair, I had conversation with my boyfriend then! how much more barbing + hubby!! Stella no talk ham twice abeg!!!

4. As a married woman you don't just take decisions without consulting your husband.
    Single girls don't owe anyone any explanation whatsoever, but a married woman should seek her husband's permission.

1. Hum... And u are single? I love ur comment cod many singles wnt hv agreed with u cod the r yet to know what marriage is all about. God bless u.

2. You'll make a good wife my chi girl! You have said it all. A wife must ask her husband's opinion in any matter at all.
      Is bride price expensive where you come from? We may just be applying on behalf of my brother 😁

3. I totally agree with you Chi,I'd do it out of respect for my husband.Not necessarily cuz I want his consent.

4. Exactly, just the same way a married man should also let his wife know before taking major decision.
      When you are married, your body no longer belongs to you, but to your partner, therefore, your partner needs to be aware of any major changes you want to make on it. Its just like getting a tattoo without the permission of your partner.

5. My aunt Tetrina oh
      Bride price is expensive oh, but as my aunt I will make everything easy for you guys.

6. Chigurk you should seek his opinion not his permission. Your hair is your hair.

7. @Chi well said!! I totally agree with you.😊😊😊😊

8. Well said dear. The hair if a woman is her glory and how can u cut ur glory without consulting ur crown? It's wrong. There's something about a woman's hair(head) and the honour it's brings to her husband.

9. .... And just for the records, you are your husband's crown, not the
      other way round. Pro 12:4
      @ Asoge

5. The only reason i will consult my husband is to know his opinion about it and just so that he won't be taken unaware.

1. Spot on! This is the only reason there would ever be for me. I hate all these traditional rules on women. Rubbish!

2. Exactly! His opinion, not permission.

6. Lol this one be as e get oooo...it depends on the couple and thier relationship but its risky most especially if after cutting the hair he no longer finds you attractive(Na only u waka go barb o) but telling him is seen as a sign of respect to him and he might also advise you on cutting it or not with valid reasons,you never can tell if your hair is part of the reasons he fell in love with you...

1. Lmao @na only you waka go barb o.... You actually just spoke what was on my mind.

7. yes pls...he is d head of the house

8. I don't need to take permission from a man before I cut my hair. It's my hair mine not his.

1. *Yimu
      Its not taking permission, its basically asking for his opinion and two, once you're married there's nothing like "mine or yours" you guys have become one hence your hair is also his hair and one person cant make the decision for something thats jointly owned

2. See you, see divorce

3. If you are following Stella you go miss road. Like it has been said once you are married your body isn't yours any longer in fact in African mentality your husband 'owns' you. You might get away with it if you are married to a foreigner. Stella talks using the foreign dictionary so before you smash and grab step it down to the African level if not experience will teach you better

4. Honestly, I think in an ideal home where a husband and wife are close and have a good relationship, this shouldn't even be an issue.

5. Hahahahahahha lmao @ anon comment "see u see divorce"

9. But why wont you tell your hubby that you want to cut your hair?
    So he will just come back from work one day and meet gorimapa? What kind of a family is that?

I dont believe in that superstition but couples should relate as they ought to...smh

1. Hahahahaha... happy new year

2. As in ehee? What kind of family is that indeed. Some pole Dnt jst take ds institution called marriage seriously. They jump in with the mindset to jump out anytime they like. Do things the way they like

3. .....another good wife in the making!

4. Esther thanks.
      Welcome to our year of blessings unlimited!

Aunt Tetri and Vivi you know i heart you both.

5. Anon when the marriage scatters they start playing the blame game.
      Common sense isnt so common.

10. The bible in 1corinthians made me to understand that the hair of a woman is the glory to her husband, so I suggest she consults before shaving

11. I think a married woman should consult her husband before cutting her hair, Just to avoid giving your hubby a heart attack.
    Imagine your hubby goes out in the morning and gets back home only for a woman with low-cut to greet him at the door. He might just clutch his chest, and.. Lol

I once heard a story about a man who told his friend that he had no idea that he was married to a fellow man like him, not until the day his wife sat in front of him in church. He said that was the day he saw that her shoulders are broad like that of a man plus her low-cut.he said if the wife had such low-cut on before marriage e for no marry am.

Carpe Diem.

12. Id xpect her to give me prior notice b4 such xtreme action is taken, i wouldnt want to come home starring at a masculine head as a wife, that'd surely kill my libido, & wen my libido is low, eveeryother thing will start going wrong gradually... but if she'd look like ToniBrax on low cut, i can still have a boner.

1. I se you're back to being a man...lmao

This blog sure has characters 😆😆😆😆

13. Stella the man would consult his wife if he wants to braid, loc or plait his hair

1. Are you minding the mumu blogger? Her logic sense is zero.

14. I have cut my hair twice and I didn't inform anybody before I did that!...
    My husband don't have a problem with what you wear,makeup or even your hair!...
    He will only compliment you and ask if this one dey reigh now?...

1. Ass lickers, lies from the pit of hell
      Any1 who yield to ur advise
      OYO is ur case oo

2. Your puppet.... Not husband, that ur charm get expiry date, no worry urself.

3. So what if he doesn't like short hair? As in its a pet peeve or turn off? But also it depends how shor. this solange pic is deferent from a Rihanna cut. Except you guys had discussed it hypothetically before and you knew he was ok with it.

4. Your husband has a liberal mind

5. Your husband has a liberal mind

6. Ijoye awon abuke.. Dey dere dey form super woman.....Mtcheew, u r irritating Aswear.

7. Madam stop deceiving yourself. Your husband doesn't care about what you wear? Or even your make up? I'm sorry to say this, but know thee this day that you're just the mother of his kids and not his wife. He has gat eyes for another woman out there. Be wise!

8. Why are all of you replying linda under anon???Jesus christ!!!hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha unaa dey fear?so none of you have the heart and mind to comment with your ID's?hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.all of unaa be chicken!madam linda i hail you ooo

15. To me it's not about superstition, if you want to 'transit' to low-cut from full hair, you should ask your husband if he will like it or just tell him it's what you want at the moment. Likewise if hubby wants to start plaiting, perming or carrying dreadlocks I expect to be consulted too.

1. True talk dear... It's called wisdom. Marriage is not a battle ground where you always fight for eminence. It's a level ground, it's friendship, it's oneness, I see nothing wrong in talking with your partner over it to seek his own opinion too inasmuch as you matter he matters too. You are one so love yourself dat much to seek ur opinion. He's yourself d oda half of you. Some of you mk us single folks see marriage as a cranky game of who's d more cunny of the two. Scary something!

16. Yes, I consulted my husband bfr cutting my hair. He agreed at first but few days later he heard someone quote that the woman's hair is her husband's glory. Na so guy man say make I abort plan. I begged and begged bfr he finally agreeed. There are some certain decisions u consult ur partner bfr taking. It is called respect. I pity all ds women forming feminist without understanding the real meaning. He also consults me bfr taking certain decisions. Six yrs and we r still waxing strong. I brought in that stupid feminist ideology when we first got married but I noticed he started withdrawing from me. Hubby is the cool type that will rather keep to himself than argue or quarrel with u. I had to give myself some brain and it has been rosy ever since.

1. Is cutting ur hair a major decision? Hian!!!

2. Whether Major or minor decision,I take permission. He takes permission too. And it has been wOrking for us. Like I said, it is called acknowledging ur partner. We r more than happy. Six years and we v never exchanged words

3. Jazz if your husband married you with hair on your head, then taking it off is a major decision. How would you feel if you marry a man on low cut and he just decides to go on dreads or plaits his hair without letting you know?

4. Well it doesn't seem to be like you are taking permission it seems you are asking opinion and you guys are talking it out. Reason I say this so what if you really wanted to cut yourr hair and say it meant a lit to you, and like you said he said no permenantly would you have just been there like that? That would be a lind of tyranny. Lol

17. Stupidity at its peak are wives slaves to their husbands nonsense

#GODWIN

1. Calm down, marry first then you go understand. Na your type go take permission to mess sef.

2. I'm very sure you are single.when you get married then do other wise,naa oly you go waka commot fron your husbands house

3. This cow is just trying to look cool in the face of the women here. We know your type. Biko go an siddon for dustbin

18. I've never really seen this as a real issue sha

I mean the men should be happy cos iit will really cut down the cost of buying human hairs and hair treatments lol

But you should sha inform him to avoid cardiac arrest

1. Carrying your natural hair can some times be more expensive than wearing hair extensions.

2. Beans. But it depends on the hair extensions sha. If you have real natural hair you wash and style yourself you don't ever go to saloon now...

19. I remember when I was a student at delsu abraka. I went to the salon to cut my hair and the barber asked me to go bring my boyfriend to get his consent. I was so irritated. He refused saying he didn't want confra problem that it his colleague almost lost his life for cutting a strongman's babes hair. So I called le boo. No we didnt get married. broke up after 4 years. Thank u.

1. That's different they guys was afraid for his life lol. As per cultists. That is not the norm.

20. Well, it's a sign of respect to take permission from your spouse (I said spouse and not boyfriend).

It could be that he doesn't like you on low cuts or if I wanna go deeper traditionally, cutting your hair while your husband is alive is a taboo, unless he grants his permission (he paid your dowry, didn't he?)

Me I went all natural and consulted my spouse before I trimmed my hair (he loved the new look)

1. You're right!
      Before I went natural, I also told my husband about it and I went further by informing him that I will cut my hair for the natural hair to grow out.

Most Nigerian women are so quick to join the bandwagon of what the western women are doing; forgetting that they don't always says what goes on in their private homes.

The West make the Africans see and hear what they want them to see and hear. Even some Africans who lives in the West knows nothing that goes on with the people, except if you really lives with them in the same home and also participate in their various activities.

21. There is a difference between telling someone something and a difference in asking...So I will tell him I want to get a haircut not asking him if I should.

22. So you will just cut your hair without informing your husband? You mean he will leave home in the morning and come back to a wife with kworiya molo? Ok na

Stella pls a woman's haircut and a man own are two different things abeg

23. Lol Nigeria men never cease to amaze me.

24. The only time I cut my hair I didn't tell him o but I tell him whenever I want to cut our son's hair bcos he asked me to always tell him because he is his first son. I confirmed from my mom and she said its so with tradition.

1. I cut off my son's hair, a nice hairstyle and hubby was not around. When he got back he was very impressed and shocked that I did it by myself. Now we do it together, I hold my boy while dassy cuts away.

25. Well I won't call it consulting your man. I will simply tell him, baby I'm cutting my hair today, just for him to know and not for his approval. But if he doesn't like it, he must state his reasons and if I don't agree with them, I'll go ahead and cut it well

1. Don't worry you will cut the next one in your parent house.
      All this small small girls thinking marriage is about what they watch on television and what they read on cheap novels.
      I just pity the kind of mindset most of you ladies have.

2. Anon ,lol leave them make them dy form Jackie chan as singles

3. Tomorrow now somebody slaps or molest you outside, then you'll expect your husband to go and dk superman when you can't even afford him the respect due him as the holy book commands.
      You girls just come here to misyarn. Try it when you're married. We are waiting for your chronicles.
      Its girl like you that even have bfs slapping them but you come here to do superwoman. It's alright.

26. I remember when I wanted to cut my hair, my dad shouted. Said no o. With this your small skull? And ur smallish body? I pity u. Lol

I don't think u av to o consult anybody o coz when my mum became born again, she just came home one day without her hair. Ha!

Popsy no send you you. He's not bothered. Tho I know some men see it as a big deal but to me, it doesn't really matter.

27. Nothing wrong in telling your darling, babe I need an hair cut, hope it will look good on me

1. An hair cut? A haircut darling.

2. Matured thinking people are not hard to spot. Just tiring how many human beings jump into it thknking marriage should be a power tussle.

28. But its actually true. Its not about superstition or whatever, its just right for u to tell ur hubby u wna cut ur hair. Imagine if ur hubby goes out to dye his hair or shave some kind weird style u are not used to, ofcourse u wont be happy

29. Whenever I take out my braids, my hair falls out with it
    And it's getting worrisome by the day
    My hair is lengthy and I follow a regimen but it keeps breaking no matter how hard I try
    Cutting my hair isn't an option
    Fixing isn't also an option
    Weaving my natural hair makes me look smaller than my age
    Please I just seek opinions and advices
    Thanks

1. Steam your hair with a good protein conditioner mixed with olive oil for at least 20mins with a steamer or for an hour with a only a shower cap. Start doing it every 2 weeks. Wear a silky scarf to sleep and a satin pillow. Avoid always combing your hair all the time and avoid hair straightners. Stretch your relaxers to every 3 months and steam weekly with moisturising conditioners when you have undergowth. Thank me later.

2. Also, give your hair a break. Stop braiding your hair too often, invest in a good wig and plait your natural hair underneath. Moisturize daily. Shea butter is your best friend. Good luck

30. Stella Dimoko, go and read 1st Corinthians 11:5-12. Also, 1corinthians 7:4.
    Ask the Holy Spirit for knowledge and understanding for the bible passages.

If a woman is married, she's supposed to consult or informed her husband about making any changes concerning her body. Same also applies to men.

I am not talking about fornicators.

31. A married woman should consult her husband before cutting her hair cos he may be the type that loves seeing her lovely long hair especially. He just won't like it if the hair he admires everyday isn't there anymore.

32. Letting ur husband know is good, like I told hubby I want to cut my hair and he said ok but I should cut it, so dat I can fix it too.

33. Stella , so if ur husband wakes up tommorow,gets a tatoo, braids his hair and gets piercing without consulting u,ud be cool with it? My sis in law wanted to cut her hair cus she was tired of it ,she simply told my bro,and he took her to a good barbing salon. It's just logical that u acknowledge ur better half in little decisions.Not because they own u or anything, It just shows u respect their opinion and they are a huge part of ur decision making process,that's all.

1. I love your response. You are wise!

34. I cut mine without informing him,ordinary lowcut,no style, he just said I won't follow him to any function unless I wear a wig, he gave me money for wigs, I got like 8 different types until my hair grew back.

35. My on and off ex ended things finally with me cos I cut my hair without telling him...he thought twas intentional but I actually forgot he used to tell me he can never be with a girl on low cut...

1. U 4got? He indeed was off n on cos if he were important 2u,u wud remember even if u wil stil do wats on ur mind bt 4getn?mehn dats so not cool

36. There is nothing wrong in telling your husband you want to cut your hair. Stop equating everything to gender equality. Haba!!! Nobody is competing with you. Your husband should be your partner and friend, it will only be sensible to tell him. What if that is one of the most attractive things he admires about you? Haba! I just weak.

37. Your husband should know if you intend to cut/shave your hair. It should not be equated to men shaving theirs.

38. Really?
    Me I did d big chop off last year during my pregnancy.... d barber kept asking me ma'am wat did u say u want to do blah blah blah! Had to yell at him for d many questions.
    B4 goin to d saloon hubby said dnt dare me,n I was like do ut worst....lol

1. True dat!
      lol
      Happy New Year Lafresh
      Laswag

2. You are lucky. You for go born for you papa house for Auchi. Stop pushing you luck.

39. Haaba, your spouse should be in the know naaa.
    I told mine when I wanted to cut hair, he didn't like me wearing low cut but he agreed anyway.
    My hair have since grown up welaa, almost bra length sef.

40. As a married woman in igbo land yes you should consult your husband before cutting your hair. Married women with bald hairs are known as widows. Let's not forget that we are still africans and start all this fake feminism stuff.

1. Speak for your own part of the Igboland biko.

2. It's done in all part of igbo land, go and find out.

41. Do not seek his opinion and cut the hair then send in your chronicle since the folder is empty.

42. What if I want to shave my Pussy? Should I tell him too???? Just asking.

43. In Igbo culture it is seen as a taboo for a married woman to barb her hair without the consent of her husband. It means the woman is mourning her husband alive. So for her to barb her hair , the husband must consent to it .

44. Wanted to cut my hair and my bf said'baby wont u ask me if m ok with it b4 u cut ur hair'?

45. It is simply because of women like these who think everything is a competition between a man and woman that marriages are parking up left, right, and centre.
    How can you not tell your husband and even get his consent before cutting your hair when you dont even know what it implies.
    No matter the amount of feminism some of us want to practice, the man is still the head of his home.
    May you not marry a man that would send you back to your fathers house to do IT because of such carelessness.
    You just go cut your hair and present him your bony head. most men would just keep quiet and ignore you, but they surely have a treatment waiting for you.
    This is exactly how the devils creeps into some homes.

46. Hahahaha anon 15:03 I don't want to laugh. You have to tell him, he might like seeing your pubic hair.

47. Yes,a woman should consult her husband before cutting her hair.. He might like u making ur hair.
    My bf consults me before making a decision and I do same too

48. 1 Corin 7 (around that chapter) it says the man has control over the wife's body and vice versa. I for one I had to consult my husband bf I can cut my hair and he told me NO even though I want to, but I have to consult him first. so yes as a married woman, you have to.

49. Hmmmmmnnn all this comments are even good, when my hubby met me I was rocking my super low cut but he told me he didn't like me on lowcut reason because they will think am G*Y since we live abroad na fast forward I take grow my hair back. No offense to G*Y people and please don't come for my head.

50. Yes, a married woman should consult her husband before cutting her hair.Any woman who cuts her hair without the husband's permission isn't really married but just cohabiting. Stells you know I love you but pls quit acting like u didn't grow up in naija.....this isn't just about naija sef, its just the right thing to do.

51. All this single ladies forming jackie chan and jetli and saying trash.ORDINARY boyfriend they have, they consult them for every little thing,if the guy says go ahead they they go ahead,if he says no dont do it,they don't trust me stellz.Most of you married women saying"for what will i consult my husband,is it not my hair"please you don't need to talk much why not do the practical instead of theory then you would know whom the hair belongs to shikina

52. Maam stellz,stay in germany all the yearz yea,u re still nigerian...dat bin said,a wise woman knwz best to consult her hubby as regardz thingz dah has to do wif her physical appearance e.g,he prolly got attracted to u coz of ur long hair or the scent of after do hair n vice versa,n u cut without tellin him,or he luvz u curvy n u shed so much weight n look skinny....plz letz b realistic pple.This isnt bin stupid,itz givinf watx for caesar to caesar.

53. Maam stellz,stay in germany all the yearz yea,u re still nigerian...dat bin said,a wise woman knwz best to consult her hubby as regardz thingz dah has to do wif her physical appearance e.g,he prolly got attracted to u coz of ur long hair or the scent of after do hair n vice versa,n u cut without tellin him,or he luvz u curvy n u shed so much weight n look skinny....plz letz b realistic pple.This isnt bin stupid,itz givinf watx for caesar to caesar.