Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Woman And Her Niece Accused Of Being Witches Beaten To A Pulp

Monday, February 13, 2017

Woman And Her Niece Accused Of Being Witches Beaten To A Pulp

A 12-year-old teenager and her aunt narrowly escaped death in Akwa Ibom last week over allegations of witchcraft.

Mercy Ekwere, 44, from Edo Esit Eket, Akwa Ibom State, escaped death after police dispersed witch-hunters who cordoned her, tied her hands and legs, then tortured her with sticks and machetes, to a state of coma.

Her brother’s daughter who’s about 12 years old had been dragged to the town, over allegations of witchcraft as a result of the death of a 5-year old child.
After a lengthy torture, the girl was forced to tell the witch-hunters that her aunt, Ms. Ekwere, took the deceased child to the coven and strangled her to death.

Ekwere told PM News that as she arrived the scene, she was hurled with insults and abuses by a mammoth crowd and was not given a chance to say anything, only for a mob to descend on her mercilessly. .

Policemen, invited by her brother, Emmanuel, eventually came to their rescue. When she returned to her husband, she was not allowed entrance to the house.
She eventually made her way to the Child’s Right And Rehabilitation Network (CRARN) in Ikot Afaha, Eket, where she has been given a temporary refuge.

from Nigerian newspaperstoday.

30 comments:

1. Her brother’s daughter who’s about 12 years old had been dragged to the town, over allegations of witchcraft as a result of the death of a 5-year old child.
    After a lengthy torture, the girl was forced to tell the witch-hunters that her aunt, Ms. Ekwere, took the deceased child to the coven and strangled her to death.

Really? I don't know what to say

2. I hate hearing or seeing such incidents....whar gives them the right or what concrete evidence or proof do they have to back up thief barbaric act

3. Even if she is truely a witch, I don't think that's the right way to deal with it at all.

4. Calabar people and witchcraft, they are 5 and 6 pence.

I remembered when one of my colleagues asked me to help type his minutes and what he wrote as No 2 Agenda was witches. I laughed and asked him, oh man what is this na. This is what you are travelling to go and do meeting on

Chai calabar people, make una take am easy ooo. Pikin of 1 day na witch for their side

1. I knew you were a secretary, what with your watching Telemundo during work hours.

5. Their governor need to act
    Na only them get witches.
    They keep Taking laws into their hands
    It Is only a town that has NO laws, that its citizen can commit any crime and go free

6. But what is this, how can they identify a witch if they see one? Mtcheewwww, so pissed.

7. Na wah oo, will beating them solve the problem? mtchew...

God Bless Everyone.

8. Africans never cease to amaze me.
    And you begin to wonder why the whites make fun of africa.

9. Stella the kind of punishment human beings are subjected in that state is too barbaric.... Especially children. And the government is not doing anything to stop the evil act. Time for NGOs to step up and fight against this.....

That was how my neighbour chained his child like dog without food for one week trying to force the little boy to confess he was a witch.

Anytime I try falling in love with an akwaibomite, the thought of this dastardly act always spring up and becloud my feelings. God save that state.

#DontQuoteMe

10. Things are happening in this age and time too

11. Very pathetic story, read it few days ago.
    Akwa Ibom people and this their 'witchcraft' accusations is truly disturbing, to say the least.

12. This is terrible. Strange things happen everyday.

13. Witches, the child was not forced to confess. They are Witches. Who want to associate with Witches

14. Hmmmm. Na wa Na real wa. So Akwa-Ibomites never tire for this kind things. It is well. I pray they don't kill somebody with their barbaric act.

15. Witch craft is a menace in Akwa ibom, my question is: what is the best way to tackle this problem.

My former colleague told me a story how her grand aunt whom she leaved with in the village tried initiating her, she said the woman hated her for no reasons. One day she came back from school, her g.aunt told her to go carry her food in the kitchen (she has never served her food b4), she was about eating the food when her friend walked in and told her to come with her (her friend's brother just came back from the city), she left the food and followed her friend.

The g.aunt had another relation that stays with them, an eleven year old. The little girl suddenly started behaving strange,she became rude and arrogant, when questioned by the g.aunt's daughter about her sudden behaviour, she answered " is it not your mum that initiated me, after doing the whole house work in the day, at night i'll still go and arrange the chairs n tables for meetings, I'm tired, I'm having body pains", the silent from everybody around was deafening. Apparently, the little girl ate the food that was meant for my colleague. The story long but I'm tired.

This is just one out of many I've heard from people that have experienced witchcraft.

16. Calabar and witch craft, may God deliver them

17. Hmmmm!prayer is the solution and not treating them like they not human beings.

18. Africa
    Hahahahahahahaha
    The world laughs at you
    Tueh

Concerned lassie

19. Mumu 14:05 so helping a person typed his minutes is now secretary work. Please grow up and stop showing your mumu self on this blog