Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Childless Woman Commits Suicide In Anambra

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Childless Woman Commits Suicide In Anambra

Lovina Odo, a 38-year-old petty trader, on Tuesday took her life by hanging herself with rope tied to a ceiling fan at her residence in Anambra state.

Okechukwu Odo, the husband of the deceased, said he and Lovina had been married for over eight years without a child.

Odo, a car washer, said he returned home from work around 6:30pm and met sympathisers around his one-room apartment.

“I left home for work that morning after taking my breakfast; she had asked that I buy a tuber of yam for dinner when I return,” he said.

“When I returned, I saw people gathered around my apartment only to be told that my wife had killed herself.”

Odo said he and the deceased had no misunderstanding that could have led her to commit suicide.

Hassan Musa, divisional police officer (DPO) of Ogidi, confirmed the story to NAN, saying the corpse of Lovina had been removed and deposited at the Mortuary of Iyienu Mission Hospital.

“No suicide note was seen around her but preliminary investigation reveals that she might have committed suicide because she had no child,” Musa said.

The Cable

*What a pity.If this is true,she must have been frustrated by things or people around her.Please encourage anyone around you trying to conceive.I receive a lot of mails from woman TTC-ing saying they feel like ending it all out of shame and frustration.God is on your case,please dont give up if you are reading this and feel this way.
God has said that none shall be barren!

63 comments:

1. Oh dear, This is so so sad.😩😩😩😩😩

1. Really sad...
      May God accept her soul and grant comfort to her loved ones.

2. E whu hazzn't chue'd wota, dozznt no dat wota has bonez.... Nevadiless, suside is Neva an opshion.

3. This woman was frustrated 😀
    She couldn't take it anymore. I might not be wrong to say that she probably didn't get the internal support (which matters most) from people in her inner caucus - especially her husband.
    It can be suicidal for some women especially in places where children matter most than the union itself.

May your soul rest in peace, Madre.
    Che peccato

4. Aww Poor woman. This is so sad

5. This is soo sad😒
    Poor woman!

But suicide is never an option.
    Pls if you are suicidal,get help.
    Almost everything pales when u talk to an understanding person. You wil learn there is hope.

I remember this Art that hung in our sitting room when I was a child.
    "I was crying that I had no shoes. Not until I met a man without legs"

The way we see our issues has a long way in helping us deal with the challenge.

This is sad. No one should be soo miserable as to take their life.😒

6. I read the story it a pity, saw her pic it was not a sight to behold. Encourage TTC and those that have should love them.

7. Smh,suicide is never an option,

8. Exodus 23vs26
    Psalm 127vs3
    Psalm 113vs9

9. Stella, even me as young as I am they says terrible things to me especially women... Imagine one walking to me and saying "it's not about being beautiful it's about getting pregnant and giving your husband a child",another said "she no they even dress like who they find pikin". U don't even have to quarrel with then before they tell u such things, one man said women without kids are half women right in front of me oh...then some will judge you saying its too much abortion,when them go they waka waka for their youth..so many things that leads to depression but if u have a husband that is solidly behind u it won't be too bad for you..my motherin law was shunned by my husband and since then the whole family are afraid to talk because he will attack you once you talk about his wife,even at that I feel it at times and wonder how those whose husband's don't support feels, it's depressing indeed but am sure this year I will carry my own child...

1. Ameen. It is well with you.

2. God will help you My sister. My sister had her first child after 17yrs of marriage and was in her late 40s. Pls don't lose hope and faith in God, He will see to your miracle. Pls keep the faith alive.

3. Amen dear. This is your season to be fruitful. We will rejoice with you in Jesus name

4. You are fruitful. I use my pregnancy as a point of contact, May the faithful God that blessed me with this gift am carrying when I was not even expecting it, may that same God surprise you in double folds. Get set to be a mother, God cannot be mocked.

5. Abeg how woman wey dey find pikin dey dress ??? People and their mouth ! May God have mercy on us all. You will conceive and birth your baby in Jesus name. God will give you double for all your troubles.

6. Please dear if you can afford IVF or some other means of Assisted reproduction, go for it. May God come through for you.

10. Ohhh my God please answer my prayers and answer every woman TTC. Stella I swear it's the most frustrating feeling ever.you can even die of depression. God please answer us oooooooooooo Amen

1. Amen remain focused, don't let d buzzing noise distract u. God above and beyond

11. Not an excuse to commit suicide. Dont know what to say again. RIP woman

12. I can totally relate, some days it feels like what's d point especially when ur in-laws look at you like you have grown horns.

When sitting with them, and there's conversation going on, if I dare talk, all of them will pause and look at each other and then look at me like who is this one, then they will continue as if I didn't say anything. It's really frustrating but I am holding on to God.

Suicide is not the answer but it seems the best sometimes especially when tests has shown the man to be okay, the treatment from the family is worst than death. I dread December when everyone goes home.

God is on the throne since my case can be resolved with IVF, one day I will have enough money to go for it before my husband and family kicks me out.

Father lord have mercy on all TTC women . Its a heavy cross. Father forgive the woman that committed suicide, grant her eternal rest.

#wipes tears

1. It is well dear, do you believe there's nothing God cannot do? If yes then your babies are on their way. Keep calm.

2. Amen dear.

3. It is well dear sis. GOD will grant you your heart desires in Jesus name. But do you have to travel during christmass?

4. Be strong dear, stop going to places where you despice and talk down it. It wwill work

13. This is sad! I don't pray to find myself in such situation especially committing suicide God forbid!

I am going to conceive I am a fruitful vine and a mother

14. So sad. Pls suicide is not an option pls. Rip

1. A nosey neighbor could have insulted her, an insensitive in law might have called on the phone and said some unbearable things and she could be vulnerable at that time.
      TTC is a sensitive issue to me cos I have friends going thru it and it breaks my heart each time I think of the sadness they carry around. May She rest in peace.

15. Its never easy for women looking for the fruit of the womb.
    I'm an only child and I remember how much my mum prayed and cried because she need another child which didn't happen.
    I can't even begin to think of how much I prayed. The frustrations women face is epic..
    It is well.. May all the women here seeking the fruit of the womb find their heart desires.

16. Suicide looks so attractive to me right now
    Lost my 1 day old baby. After I miscarried 3 times before getting pregnant. If God knew he wouldnt let my baby live, why did he let me go through 41 weeks of pregnancy? Ehn? Why did he let me hope for anything? Why did he let me hold my precious baby boy and fall in love with him, only to take him away from me? This God sef! I'm getting tired of this whole 'waiting on God' thing! All my friends who had abortions have kids. Me that I was keeping myself pure, see my life? What was the point then?

1. Anonymous 10:57,for every test,there will be a beautiful testimony. You will rejoice. Remember the story of Job in the Bible. Do not lose faith dear. Your miracle is now. Ehugs

2. Dear I know how you feel I lost my own baby though it was pre term, had the opportunity to hold him for two weeks I couldn't breastfeed him directly since he could only feed via pipe. I have never loved anyone the way I loved him, dear channel that tears and pain to God he alone can console you he knows what is best.

3. For the fact he allowed u to see this one means u will c many more my dear... It's never easy bracing one self to try again. But FAITH conquers all things. U r God's special case! Keep that in mind... " only u can do, what no man can do, only u can do o, what no man can do Jehovah "

4. May God visit you all and give you double for your shame. I won't pretend to know what you go thru but I know how it feels to want something so bad and not get it. Please hold on to God, have faith in him, he never fails. We have recordeded tremendous of miracle babies on this blog, key in to them and keep believing God for your own joy. Weeping may last for a night but joy comes in the morning.

5. I am soo sorrry darling.
      Pls don't be soo sad anymore.
      Cos ur joy is coming. And plentiful too. Ok?
      Sending u loads of prayers and warm hugs.

@Anon 12:26,I can't imagine how sad and forlorn u feel. I am soo sorry. But u see,God's ways aren't our ways. He wil give u Back what u have lost. In ten folds. Ok?
      Never forget that in His OWN time,He makes EVERYTHING beautiful.
      Be strong sis. Be strong.
      Lotta love from me to u❤️

6. You just broke my heart with your write up.God shall make you smile again.

17. For those trying to conceive your husband should be your greatest support. Once you and your husband are tight you will find comfort with him regardless of what others say or do around you. I got married last year and 7 months trying to conceive was like forever. My husband always made me feel it wasn't an issue but from 1 month after we got married his siblings will be talking to me looking at my countenance and my tummy for a bulge. I always felt uneasy. When I'm alone at home I go naked and cry to God . God did it. I got pregnant and I'm about 6 months gone. TTC is a delicate phase in couple's life. It can drain you emotionally but you have to be positive. So sad she took her life. May her soul RIP. I will be having my first child at age 39. It can only be God.

1. Congrats, but what's the essence of praying naked?.everyone who's ttc, do not remember the former things, the lord is about to do a new thing in your life. Trust in the lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. For those who think it's thier past that's contributed to this delay, know that there is therefore "NOW" no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus. You shall all be victorious. My ears are tingling for praises to the almighty from you all.

2. Hmm u get hubby, me no get o, I tried For some time and one miscarriage in Dec. It was hell on earth but I moved past d pain, as Stella posted dat encouragement post about single and getting a babe, I jumped at it o, prayed one session of d Ttc prayer bingo but d whahala with this belle no b here, Pple r saying its a girl.... Hope, faith,courage, for pple trying they need to ZERO pain and other troubles ard them to b able to achieve it.... May her soul find rest

3. Congrats dear. May you carry to term and birth an adorable, healthy baby. God is indeed gracious.

18. So sadddd,my uncle's wife has been TTC now for about 20yrs or so. She's gotten pregnant several times iv heard but always looses it.
    On thing I appreciate is the love between them, if they even fight iv never heard of it. My uncle will even slaughter anyone that mocks her. Even my family will never mock the woman because everyone knows she's a good woman and we know better. Besides everyone has their own family they are facing.
    How a man presents his wife even if she's TTC, will determine how the family treats her when TTC.
    They adopted a beautiful baby girl from the East 5yrs ago. She is such a joy infact my whole family treats her like egg because she's the baby of the house. People even say she looks like me as a baby. The little girl is so precious and she has brought us a lot of joy.
    I feel for all TTC women.

19. Anon 10:57 it is not attractive. Your own child will come and stay. You dont know what God seeth for the baby to leave after 1 day. Dont cry much and be happy

20. pple should understand tht no woman wish to be TTC for so long.my prayer for those ttc,God wil weep away ur tears and give u ur samuel ths month.To the woman thst lost her child after 3miscarage,it is hard but pls dont questn God,have faith and believe,he wil surely restore ur wasted years,very soon pple wil call u mother of twins,treplets in jesus name

1. Hmmmm, is this sister Esther? Lol @ God will give you your Samuel. Amen to your prayers o! God is still in the business of doing miracles and He will do it for you all at His appointed time.

21. Please those of us that are sisters in laws, let's stop tormenting these jewels, no woman will deliberately choose TTC. Let's be supportive and know that the burden is already heavy as it is without us worsening it with our inconsiderate actions and comments. May God bless every womb IJN

22. Ohhhhhh mine, so sad.......why na.....at 38 years old, there's still hope for her na.......gosh.
    O Lord remember all the TTC on this platform this year.....Amen

23. You are a woman... Yes!! you!... You are married yes. You have a child. Thank God. But you don't know what lies ahead of your child or grand child. That woman you are tormenting as a mother-in-law due to TTC is someone's child, Her parents never prayed or thought their child will be TTC. That woman you are tormenting as a sister-in-law... Continue....

Would there be anything as worst as seeing people mock you because of something you know sincerely comes from only God. Oh! she has finished all the children in her womb through abortion when you know honestly you have never done abortion before... Oh. she has spirit husband when you know sincerely you are connected only to God almighty. You spend every kobo you earn running from pillar to post trying to get a child. You go on permanent fasting just for God to have mercy on you and give you a child.

I hate the word TTC.. It has kept me stagnant for years. It has wet my pillow with tears for many years. It drained every kobo I had. It made me question the existence of God at a time. I stopped associating with friends and well wishers to avoid being called barren at the slightest provocation. Stopped touching friends children for the fear of being tagged witch. Stopped buying gifts for friends children birthday for the fear of my gift being a prayer point for holy ghost fire.

No matter what you do, no one will appreciate your effort in your husbands house.

What happens when the only source of joy in that marriage turns against you. He joins the whole world to laugh at you as a barren woman. You become a prey for the in-laws to feed on...... What a life..... What a TTC life

I know I will get a child soon. I need this child like the breath I breath... I will hand him over to God like Hannah did.. He will be good instrument in the hands of God... He will populate heaven and depopulate hell... His life will please God Almighty....

TTC breaks the heart

24. It's not easy TTC alone is emotionally drenching coupled with your MIL wahala had to leave a good paying job to move to the state hubby was working even though we saw every weekend when the pressure and crying was too much my family had to advise me to leave my job especially my sister that I was staying with I had to quit my job and move in 2015. My MIL pressure was now to the maximum and we leave in the same state chai I always avoid her and not to cause any issue between her and her son I just keep quite but my SIL were made in heaven they just tell me to enjoy my life that when the time comes I will conceive.
    The following year hubbys younger brothers wife now gave birth chai any little thing then my MIL would say don't you know she is taking care of her baby especially Christmas last year I cried my eyes out the boy was already 5months ooo,my wife was told not to do anything as she's taking care of baby.
    My God who is too FAITHFUL to fail has done it and I have no intention of telling MIL till she sees the bulge I trust hubby he won't even try to mention it because he knew some of the happenings

#Godsdeliveryroom

25. TTCing, is not child's play. The good thing about mine is that my husband is behind me.
    Sometimes, I feel drained but I try to stay positive at all times.

We shall testify this year.

26. Delay conceptio or child bearing is the worst thing that can happen to a woman. I've been married for 3 years,my diagnosis is tubal blockage. Did IVF last year October with all my savings, took in but miscarried at 8weeks. Now I'm just numb. My husband has been so supportive,infact,i call him my personal pastor. To all my TTC sisters, please don't despair, we Will testify.

27. Delay conceptio or child bearing is the worst thing that can happen to a woman. I've been married for 3 years,my diagnosis is tubal blockage. Did IVF last year October with all my savings, took in but miscarried at 8weeks. Now I'm just numb. My husband has been so supportive,infact,i call him my personal pastor. To all my TTC sisters, please don't despair, we Will testify.