Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Etisalat Allegedly Going Down Today Over N541.8Billion Debt

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

Etisalat Allegedly Going Down Today Over N541.8Billion Debt

Premium Times is reporting that three Nigerian banks are set to take over telecommunications firm Etisalat today, Wednesday, March 8, over unpaid N541.8billion debt.

According to the report, the move follows the failure of the Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC) to broker a peaceful resolution between Etisalat Nigeria and a consortium of banks.

The banks involved are:

1. Guaranty Trust Bank

2. Access Bank

3. Zenith Bank

However, these are not the only banks as there are also some foreign banks that have also been reportedly having a running battle with the telecoms company over the loan facility totalling $1.72 billion (about N541.8 billion) and was obtained in 2015.

The report says the loan involved a foreign-backed guaranty bond and was given to Etisalat to finance a major network rehabilitation and expansion of its operational base in Nigeria.

After failing to service its debt since 2016, the banks reported the company to the Central Bank of Nigeria and communications sector regular NCC.

Etisalat blamed its inability to fulfil its obligation to the banks on the current economic recession in Nigeria but the banks replied that Asset Management Company of Nigeria regulations demanding immediate cut down on the rate of their non-performing loans give them no other option.

A senior bank official among those affected said Etisalat management was given option of filing for bankruptcy but it was not taken. This option, he said, would have required the banks just a management to oversee the telecoms firm’s operations.

Although the NCC is not happy with the takeover, a top source at the regulatory body NCC said on Tuesday, March 7 that it had approved the takeover that is now expected to happen today.

from Naij

21 comments:

1. Huh?

And their service is so good.

1. I pray that doesn't happen.

2. Is it becos of their numerous awuf dy are unable to repay dre loan. Abeg oh. I am enjoying dre services.

2. And I just subscribed yesterday.
    Tiyin o ma ni baje ke... LOL.

3. Ahhhhhh! My best network! Nooooooooooooooo, MTN carry ur juju away ooooo!

4. Etisalat is good I hear but one network I never used,recession !

5. What!???

Nooo make dem no try am oooh. I'm beginning to like the network now, Hian!!

6. Na wa o
    And my mom uses etisalat as her business line. Whew

1. Hmmm Oniro.your mama get business ni? Ohhh business line for boli business? That is to say boli don go int'l be that.SHIOR!

7. To think that their data is quite expensive of all networks.

8. Probably why they are charging N30 per minute#scammers!

9. They Are Good With Awuf.

10. This is bad. job losses looming there. terrible
    Pls God, help

11. Same old Keem Belo-Osagie. Asset stripper ask UBA. Ole

12. And they have about the best network. Their internet speed is quite good. They should just drop most of those their ambassadors. They are wasting money there. We are not patronising them because of them.

13. This is tragic, I pray it does not happen! You can invest in Real Estate by buying a plot of land in Festac for 7m, half plot of land for 3.5m with C of O. Contact Segun on 08052467442 for details.