Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: High Tension Wire Falls On Roof Of Football Viewing Centre Killing Over 50 People....

Friday, April 21, 2017

High Tension Wire Falls On Roof Of Football Viewing Centre Killing Over 50 People....

A high tension wire fell on the roof of a football viewing center in Nyakassang, Atimbo area in Calabar, Cross River State and Over 50 people have been rushed to the University of Calabar Teaching Hospital with a large number feared dead. 

The incident happened at about 8 pm on Thursday. Stella Dimoko Korkus  Blog visitor eye witness report says ''there is so much tears in the area as most of the victims just stay around here. All we heard was a loud explosion coming from a transformer located in a junction wall called first transformer and the next thing was wailing and crying coming from relatives of the people who were at the viewing centre. the match was a Manchester united match. Can't really confirm the number of people dead yet''.

40 comments:

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

1. Sick person with internet enabled phone!

2. Pipi what is funny?

3. I think pipi Lee meant to cry. I hope so

4. 10:18...absolutely nothing😐😐😐😐

Omolewa...thank you.

9:59...πŸ‘ŽπŸ‘ŽπŸ‘ŽπŸ‘Ž

2. Hnmnmm.. We aint promissed tumoro

R.I.p to d daed

3. Omg!!!!!! wrong smiley!!!!!

😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

1. I tot so cos you are not like dt at all.

2. omolewa, 10:50...thank you. God forbid that I laugh at people's misfortune. God forbid!

4. Eye witness report says,"cant really confirm the number of people dead". Stella,abeg,na where u come get ur own "...5o people dead"?

1. I must comment syndrome, that's what you're suffering from. 50 people rushed to the hospital is now interpreted as 50 people dead for you, innit? BTW, about 30 have been confirmed dead this morning.

5. Omg so sad,and I was watching that same match with love
    Rip to them

6. Jeeeeeeeeeeez! Very sad!!! May their souls rest in peace.

1. Amen!

This is sad!😒
      50 people just like that?😒

7. OMG... this is just a few houses away from mine...so sad!

8. Lord have mercy , I hope some ll survive. There is nothing in this life.

9. Jesus Christ, this is so so sad. May God help us in this country with inferior materials. Speedy recovery to the injured and rip to the dead

10. Chai!May their souls rest in peace and quickest recovery to the injured.May God see their families through.

11. This calabar people just dey reign for bad things. The death is just too much.

Abeg una need deliverance for that place. The witches just dey win dey go. Na wa.

God console the bereaved. RIP to those that passed away.

1. Isn't it the negligence of the phcn,wetin concern witch. All you thos upcoming christians,everything na witch,looting sef na witch abi?

2. Little wonder you're seen as lacking the most basic of sense. It is their fault that substandard cables were used. It is also their fault that although some can/could have watched same match at home, they didn't probably because there was a blackout. In your limited mind, it is also their fault for having the effrontery to go out and die. My prayer for you is that you live long and prosper so that you'll at least get a little sense when you're old. People freaking lost their lives, dummy!

12. Sad! This is not good!

13. Oh so sad. May their souls rest in peace.

14. I am pained not because I know anybody that's involved(haven't gone there yet, but I'm hopeful) but because lives have been lost and most likely through human negligence. Until I see the place for myself, I will only postulate that maybe the viewing center was built with no regard for the rules abi law that demands some distance both from the road and from the poles(especially those carrying the high tension cables) OR the quality of cables and those other(forgive my lack of knowledge) coils and nuts was/is poor. One thing I'm sure of, though, is that the people currently employed with the power company have little or no knowledge of the practical aspect of the job. Then the Nigerian factor comes in too. There is no maintenance culture. The transformer supplying light to my area is down and out just because the person/people saddled with the responsibility of putting oil in it neglected to do so. We've been without light for the past one month, with no end to the suffering in sight. Rather than come online to make insensitive comments about witches, can we start holding people accountable for their neglect? The person in charge of my area was queried after we mounted pressure and the man who had requisitioned the oil but sold it without doing the needful was fished out and is currently on suspension. We protested and now we're getting positive action. Has that given us a new transformer? No. We're hopeful though that we won't have to contribute money to replace it ourselves. Be the change you want. This "epistle" was triggered by Yori yori's comment. Pardon it's "Abati-length"

1. Don't worry about the length, you made sense. I wonder when we will start holding people accountable for things.

Did you people saying witches and such ask whose job it was to make sure that transformer is ok?

Did you ask whose job it was to make sure buildings were not close by? All I hear in his country is "Gods will" or superstitious things. We better get responsible and stop this nonsense culture of spirituality.

15. @Broomstick: pls,kindly mind ur bizniz esp if u dnt undastnd what angle my comment is coming from. Miss "i must reply comment syndrome". Kisses and hugs to u

16. It could have been any body. Journey of life.

17. Stella, a bit of update(I'm outraged in my grief). The viewing center was directly under the high tension junction(i.e where the double poles are linked and all). The building wall is mostly the aluminium(9ja term, zink) and the seats are wooden. Too many things working against that place. I'm just so saddened by the waste