Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saudi-bound Mother Of Four Arrested With Cocaine At Lagos Airport

Sunday, June 04, 2017

Saudi-bound Mother Of Four Arrested With Cocaine At Lagos Airport

Officials of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA) Lagos have intercepted a 54- year- old single mother of four children.

She was going on pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia with substances that tested positive for cocaine.

The suspect who hails from Kwara State was apprehended during the outward screening of passengers on a Qatar Airline flight to Saudi Arabia after testing positive to drug ingestion.

Preliminary investigation revealed that she ingested 32 wraps of substances that tested positive for cocaine weighing 330 grammes.The suspect who hawks tea and bread to earn a living in Lagos was found to have collected N300,000 to smuggle drugs to Saudi under the pretext of going for pilgrimage. She was also going to Saudi as a private pilgrim and not as a group.

NDLEA commander at the Lagos airport, Ahmadu Garba, said that this was the second arrest of a pilgrim at the airport. One Odeyemi Omolara Morayo a.k.a. Ariyo Monsurat Olabisi was caught with 1.595kg of cocaine on her way to Saudi Arabia in February.

He also added that the suspect, Owolabi Oluwayemisi Modinat, was cooperating with investigating officers and that she will be arraigned as soon as investigation was concluded.

The suspect in her statement explained that poverty led her into drug trafficking. According to her, “I have never travelled outside the country before now. I am a single mother of four children. I sell tea and bread to earn a living.

“At present, I have no money to continue with my tea business due to family problems. A man met me and promised to help me by sponsoring my trip to Saudi Arabia. As a Muslim, I was happy but he later asked me to swallow the drugs. I agreed because he promised to pay me N300,000. I have too many problems and nobody to help me.”

The NDLEA Chairman and Chief Executive, Col. Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah (rtd.), while commenting on the arrest of Oluwayemisi Modinat said that the agency is working to prevent those hiding under the cover of pilgrimage in trafficking narcotics.

Edited from The Nation

17 comments:

1. I tell people this everytime. Everything that shines is. not diamond. If she had gone without being arrested, people would have thought it was the tea and bread she sells, that made her to be successful.

2. See her face. Madame why naπŸ™„

2. Yes we all know the situation of the country is bad but that doesn't mean one should resort to carrying drug

3. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere4 June 2017 at 07:39

How come she did not reach out to nasfat in her area. Why resort to this? I have wealthy muslim friends who belong to all this muslim associations and know for a fact that they donate heavily to help people. They are even nicer and more generous to the poor than my fellow christian friends. This was a bad option you chose. Madam you are greedy and you will rot in jail. I have no sympathy for you.

4. Oh dear! The risk of something going wrong after digesting it is my fear. Aren't they scared?

5. Lucky her,they would have killed her if they had caught her in Saudi.

6. They always have same story to say,na wa

7. Waiting for comments πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜’

Or is it shuru shuru today?? πŸ˜„

8. What a shame!!!.😯😯😯

9. It's a pity,poverty has a way of erasing ur conscious it takes God to have good morals,judgement when faced with extreme difficult situation.

10. All these society women were into it at one time and not sure if they have stopped which I doubted. However, they have a cover up business and people always taps into their blessings without knowing there is more than meet the eyes. Hon. Titi Oseni
    erstwhile best friend, Bola Marshall, who returned from abroad after spending 10 years in prison for drug offense. Upon Biola's return from US, she opened a big gift store at the busy Opebi Road, Ikeja).
    The same Titi Oseni that was the former speaker in Ogun State under Gov. Gbenga Daniel. A good close friend of Modupe Oguntade who is the God mother/ 5 & 6 with Sade Okoya. Bola Shagaya knows a thing or 2 about drug Shade Alesh once ran away to Ghana for many years when many of her Carriers was arrested.then. NDLEA Chairman then - Gen. Bamaiyi was so desperate to arrest and put her in jail then but she ran away. She is the grand matron for all those drug women. in Lagos Island. Tunde OSHINOWO ( Teddy Shine) Former Hon. rep Ibadan - Folake OSHINOWO husband and Gov. Fayose close friend was arrested by Bamaiyi and locked up for drug related crime. Many of these socialites and celebrities just like the famous Ghanaian Socialite - Nayele Ametefe that shows off expensive designer items and cars was arrested in London with cocaine. Before her arrest, she gave the impression that she made her money through government contracts which was a lie. A lot of people believed her then because she had contact with President and top govt officials

11. See her face, so shameless

12. I’m going to read this. I’ll be sure to come back. thanks for sharing. and also This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. this is very nice one and gives indepth information. thanks for this nice article... how long does cocaine stay in your system