Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Damilola Adegbite Says She Is Not Comfortable Playing "Good Girl" Roles

Saturday, August 05, 2017

Actress Damilola Adegbite Says She Is Not Comfortable Playing "Good Girl" Roles

In an interview with New Telegraph, the beautiful actress talks about the most challenging role she has played and how she's being stereotyped ...

"Honestly, I haven’t really had any of those yet. I think I’m usually stereotyped a little bit and that happens a lot in the industry. Now that I really think about it, there is this one movie that was shot by Seyi Babatope. I got a chance to play a different role. For most of the time, I’m usually stereotyped which is one of the reasons why I chose to do this one because it’s nice to test your range as an actor.

For me, I feel most producers or directors would just typically cast you in a role that you became famous with because that’s the light that they see you in. They see that you can play that kind of character comfortably. They feel that there wouldn’t be too much of a need to train you or anything like that. Maybe it’s because I look like a good girl

You can decide to keep taking the same roles and just be on the same wavelength for a long time. But if you’re an actor that wants to be versatile, you want to be able to experiment and have fun with it, then it’s up to you. Some people are fine, they have a particular message that they want to stick to; they don’t want to diversify too much. It’s really all about your comfort zone. But for me as an actor, I would like to experiment and see how far I can go"

Culled from New Telegraph

17 comments:

1. Yh like ur boring tinsel role

2. People see you or hear about you and give you the 'good girl' tag.
    Very difficult to shake off.

I don't know if it is a good thing reallyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    But yea,If you wanna advance in the film industry,you need to be versatile.

3. #You need to stop touching the wound for it to heal*

4. Make una give her roles where she'd off pant.

1. Yup. She needs to play the role of a drug-smoking nymphomaniac murderous prostitute with suicidal tendencies.

5. You that cannot act is selecting roles?

I wish I can delete Tinsel because of you

1. She looks like she cannot act in tinsel because the character she potrays is against her natural self. Apparently, she's a bad ass bitch in real life.

6. People see you as a good girl?
    Bitch, I love you but you aint a good girl.
    Well... maybe a good girl gone bad!

7. I get her point sha, Just like this Sambisa Nzeriba guy. Dude has been awarded the agbero/ thief/ bad guy/ second in command of boss in all he's movies. It will be difficult seeing him play a different part

8. Fine girl.
    Do you want a role where you are making out.
    Hmmm!!

9. "Maybe it's because I look like a good girl", she says. Lol. You don't look like a good girl one bit! Who's deceiving you? With the reputation you had? Don't let me spill.

1. I wanna hear it. Please what happened?