Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Camouflage Brouhaha!

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Camouflage Brouhaha!

According to reports, the lady in this picture was forced to pull the camouflage she wore by soldiers in an unnamed Northern State.

Is this Right?I see Camouflage clothes outside Nigeria all time,why is Nigeria different?Please dont tell me it is to avert crime,when they are the same ones who aid robbers!

This has got to stop!

106 comments:

1. Actually, unless she's new to that part of town you dare not wear the military camouflage outside your home. Sorry for her sha

1. Apart from the stripping why is the soldier looking at her fresh thighs. He come even bend sef. Haba.

2. Stella with another stupid comment. How many countries have you been to that you saw civilians wearing military gears? Do you know if it is against the law in Australia, Austria, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Finland, South Africa, and many other countries? Perhaps you saw it only in one or two countries and started making a generalization. Even if it is allowed in Germany or wherever you have seen civilians wearing it, does it mean that because it is allowed there that it should be in Nigeria? Of course you bad mouth Nigerian soldiers as if German soldiers don't rape women in refugee camps, or the US and British soldiers don't massacre innocent citizens in cold blood in Iraq and others.

3. The person who wrote this comment is actually foolish. The German army cannot operate outside German unless for peace purposes. Secondly in all the civilised countries you mentioned, you can wear camo etc for all you want. The problem with us Africans is that we cannot give logical reasons for things we do such as beating people up for wearing camos. Like mumus we just continue doing nonsense and that's why we cannot compare to any of the other countries you Meade mentioned.

4. How can we improve with ur statement "civilized countries"?
      Wearing camoflage by civilians is forbiden to be worn in Nigeria since forever!!!
      How many people have lost their jobs becos they spoke to their clients about Jesus Christ or wear a cross pendant in ur "civilized countries'"?

5. It's called a work place moron and not a pulpit. Learn these basic facts, you are a mould of a silly country. I'm born again by the way and don't have time for silly people. As I said, what is the rational behind it.

6. 2 anonymous stop fighting.
      The fact is that to wear an outfit that looks like or to imitate the Nigerian army is against the law. Its in the constitution. HOWEVRr the fine is 20 naira oR two weeks imprisonment. The law is so old it has not reflected the new value of money.

1. It says nothing about beating.
      2. It means you can wear other camo like blue, pink, grey etc because Nigerian army is green.
      3. Just because it may be ok in other countries doesn't mean it should be OK here we should follow our own laws Stella.

Stop civilian mistreatment!!!!

2. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama9 August 2017 at 15:40

Stella that's outside Nigeria not Nigeria! the Nigeria Law is against wearing it Why not obey the Law? The soldiers were wrong to ask her to off it publicly sha

1. @monkey ur right,but the law dint say it that way, wearing camou. Is not against the law, but wearing it full kitted i.e boots, beret with the crown on it, the rope by the hand belt, name tag and all that.if u do so ur impersonating.

2. @anon, you stupid o. Who told you camou is not included and that the law says it has to be full-kitted? Are you just commenting because you want to? Stop talking nonsense.

3. And what did the law says about soldiers bending down to look fresh thighs? Is that offence punishable or not punishable?

4. She they have asked people to stop wearing camo will they hear, no. She should anyway sorry next time she will not wear again.

5. My reply is for anon 17:33. Are you serious? Most countries don't care about who is putting on their uniforms it's nothing to them. Even if it is I doubt they'll strip someone on a public road for that. The Nigerian military system is fucked up I tell ya, first of fucking all no military personnel is supposed to lay their fucking hands on a citizen no matter what, all the need to do if need be is to call the cops. That should be a police problem but no they wanna take laws into their hands for what I ask? In Nigeria military personnels beat up individuals at every given opportunity that is not even okay they are not supposed to do that. I'm well travelled and I know most countries don't condone that. So think before u type.

1. But have seen Nigerian artistes wear this and they don't get crucified?....smh

2. That's in music videos or instagram
      They don't wear it and leave thier house to meet soldiers oh. But really why would she wear It??? Why in 2017? Every Nigerian should know better.

3. This anonymous soldier is raving mad. Why dropping stupid comments everywhere?

4. I have a camouflage top I got from an online store. So fine a top but I'm very scared of wearing it out because of this. I hate embarrassment

1. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama9 August 2017 at 15:49

Better not try it ooooo I bought one fineofine one outside the country rock and snap several pics with it and dump it there before returning back 😂😂😂😃 if u are in a rome better act like a roma😂😂😂😂😂

2. Even me o... Saw one fine camouflage all stars for my 2 yrs old.... Fear nor let me buy o..i hate embarrassment

3. Tankio! Its either you wear it just indoor or till you travel out. Simple!

4. Remain scared and don't wear it. Unless u want ur pic up there like that lady.

@Monkey,that's how u rock it. Wear over there and dump it there before coming back. Cos if u yield to the temptation of coming back with it,you wil be tempted to wear it.

Say No to that temptation and dump it before coming back home😂

5. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama9 August 2017 at 16:16

@TGW yes ooo I can't fucked myself up all in the name of fashion 😂😂😂

6. Hahahahahah🤣🤣😂🤣😂
      This online stores should stop selling it please.
      I'll just start wearing inside my house. I won't even step outeidr the gate with it. Before I'll make headlines here 😭😭

7. The lady up there seem to be fully kitted with camo.
      Her bandana, top and the almost off trouser.
      Chai.

Bad market

8. @TGW, you are allowed to wear Yeah?? I wore my camo cap and top to a club one time and a soldier walked up to me . I told him my Dad was a retired military personnel and he asked to speak to him and ,dude freed me😄😄😄Was I just lucky or fam of military personnel are allowed to wear them?

9. Hahahhahahahaha @ Winthy🤣🤣🤣

Let's just say that Angel Gabriel was there with u that day. While Angel Christopher and Angel Sabinus waited outside.

10. Proudly Anonymous9 August 2017 at 22:24

There's this lovely pair of camo-themed slip-on in Skechers'store inside Ikeja mall,this is one of the reasons I've not been keen to snap it up.

11. TGW you cracked me up with angel sabinus.

5. This is inhumane. This is a lady for crying out loud.

1. So it's right if it's a man?

2. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama9 August 2017 at 15:50

Are we not equal again?

6. Northern state again? can anything good come out of that place?

Sorry ooo to the lady, thank God she wear nika abi na boxer

1. Yes good things can come out from northern states..

2. So it doesnt happen in other states abi??is that want you are trying to say?is it not on this blog that i read soldiers asked a grown man to remove the camo he wore in enugu?why didnt you complain?so because its coming from north you are all worked up

3. MonkeyNoFineTheTafiaMama9 August 2017 at 15:51

Not only in northern state dearie it ain't allowed in any prt of the country!

4. Wow!..you must be a genius

7. Stella it is not allowed and people are aware its not allow but they keep wearing it🙄🙄look at how they disgrace her now

8. Give to Cesar what belongs to Cesar.
    If that's the rule in Nigeria then abide by that rule. Unless she is just visiting and doesn't know.

9. can a presidaint of any europian kontree lost for meny monts widout anyone north doin shit abuot eat? No!!

diferaint plaziz wid thier own diferaint ways of doin tinx....

yhu can freeli weer camo in sum oda kontrees but yhu aint alowed to do laikwize ear... wai north obay???

the thyme she uze teck beg doze sojas for dun reesh am teck enta balogun markate buy 1 bail of Okrika cum dey rock dem freeli.

10. The truth is I have never cared or bothered to know why the nigerian army laid down such rule. This is what majority know.
    Well, all I know is this lady right here deserved any embarrassment she was caused. Like, what is so difficult in heeding to a simple instruction knowing that these people have no chill?🙄😏

1. The truth is that she may even be ignorant of this.

And Some may argue that Ignorance is not an excuse but then,is stripping her naked the best way to go about it? Just look how she is pleading like she actually didn't know about it.

Kai and she even tie camouflage head scarf join?😳

Them don see meat those soldiers🙄

2. I am an officer's wife, I don't allow my hubby do gragra to civilians when we are together. You will hardly know sef that he's a soldier. He's always calm when we are together. The only time I saw my hubby's madness to a civilian was when I was molested in the market. You know those igbo nwaboyi boys that usually drag customers to their ogas shop saying "my colour come buy from me ". That's how this guy pulled me and i cautioned him to stop but he insulted me and groped my boobs. Jisos I was speechless, with tears in my eyes, I entered a customer's shop and called hubby telling him what happened. Na so oga picked his boys and stormed the market. Before the guy would know what was happening, I pointed him out and you should imagine what he passed through. Till tomorrow I pass that line in the market, the way they respect me ehnnn, I have never seen anybody in that line of the market dragging or pulling ladies again

3. This is the problem with Africans on a whole. You cannot logically explain bull crap and like a monkey you come out to support this madness. What is the logical explanation for this law, when was it imposed and for what reason? Is this barbaric law still significant. Anyways in the next 25 years or so, all you azzoles would be wearing camo fighting in the bush based on your messed up minds and where you all are heading. Yup you heard me right, years ago if they would have told you suicide bombers should be in Nigeria, you would have laughed, in the next 25 years the war is sure coming as you fools have no sense at all. I'm naija by the way but done with you morons.

4. Not cool at all.
      I hate any form of molestation, jungle justice and this extreme public assault.
      They could have handled this better.

5. Nwunne, The Ignorant ones will learn and stick to it now after seeing this. Kikiki! Tooor
      Anon 17:47, Thats good. By d way, I can imagine and love what your hubby and his boys must have done to d dan banza cos those boys can be as annoying AF! To think d length d illiterate monkey went fa.😉😉😉😏😑
      Anon 18:16, You are sure talking to ya moron self.😝
      Iphie dearie, I know o but some people no dey hear aswear and deserve some extreme measure before e go enter. Lolz

6. Sadly sandy, you just filled the description of my script i.e not providing any rational behind your view. Sadly that's where you all are heading...

11. Even if you have it in your shop for sell, if they see it they will take it. Happened in my very before some years back when the owner of the shop refused and said they must pay for it first come see beating. Other shop owners came out to support him can't remember how it ended

1. That is bad men. The owner of the shop actually displayed it there to attract them to buy not for intimidation. This country ehn.

12. The law is the the law. Everyone in Nigeria is aware that it's illegal to wear a camou. By breaking the law... Wat u see is what you get. Even if it's allowed overseas don't mean we should allow it here. We know ourselves and how we can abuse things. We hear stories everyday of how people impersonate police and other armed force agency. Don't wear it is don't wear it. There are other type of clothes one can wear. She wore that clothes and left her house in defiance. I ain't sorry for her.

1. The law prescribes a punishment for this offence,it's not being stripped in public...know your rights

2. Doctor Samba tell us what punishment the law prescribes please? People just talking shit just because they want to talk.

13. I will never wear camou, not even in my dream. I hate embarrassment.

1. Lool@ even in my dream. I thought u have mind.

2. It's not about having mind. It's doing the right thing, I'm not a military man.. Lol

3. LMAO @ not even in my dreams🤣

DON DON,you and soldiers don get issue before?🤣

14. Replies
    1. It is not about feelin like semi-god. It is the law, she knows it and should have saved herself the embarrassment. Stella talking nonsense that it is done outside Nigeria and that nobody say anything. I would like to ask her if she knows how many countries of this world it is allowed for civilians to wear their countries' military gear.,

2. Ahhh, even if u beg me to wear I will not o! I won't forget what they did to me at forces avenue because of camo cap, till today I can't do 10 squats cos they rearrange my knee with one kick.

3. Hahahahahahahaha BB o🤣🤣🤣

15. I no dey fear embarrassment..I had a camp jacket once it was just sitting in d wardrobe gave it out to my frnd but I still have a camo shirt and I wear it inside my house or around my compound...i no dey fear embarrassment no mean say make dem embarrass me

1. 😁😂😂😁
      I started reading hoping to see where you sad you wore it out and Naah, you sef dey fear, and you are forming I no dey fear 😂😂

16. Lol.Look how terrified the smallie is.Sorry dear

17. Let the lawyers on this forum clear the air on this pls

1. You are waiting for lawyers to clear the air yet you wrote about the soldier's act to be against the law. You don't even have knowledge of it but talk nonsense

18. I have never been more proud of the Nigerian Army. Sometime in 2014 I was on my way to Terminus from Birkin Ladi and at a security checkpoint they stopped us and we were been searched ehen they stopped another truck where a white man an his police men escorts, they asked them to come down and asked the white man if he was a military man because he was wearing a camouflage shirt and he said No there and then they asked him to take it off, and his escorts wanted to say shit, their Army commander cocked his gun at the police man and said 'Dan iska walahi say another word.'

I fell in love with that Military man that day.
    It is WRONG to wear such in Nigeria. Shikina, but all this sexybootylicioustwisters no go hear word.

1. Take five jo.

2. A lot of you are ignorant and don't know your left from your right that is why Nigeria is in shambles. So let's assume it is a crime or illegal to wear camouflage, the punishment for it is death abi?
      Somebody cocked his gun and that seemed right to You? Mstchew.

3. I wonder how you some people, would come under anonymous and say crap. What that act simply meant was that he is an Army officer that doesn't condone nonsense. So in your village everyone that cock gun will shoot bah. Oh no need assuming it's actually illegal. People like you should go back to Colonial Era.

4. Another moron spotted. Such foolishness gives you the high I guess? Rather than coming here to tell us how the army were drafted in to areas with recent flooding, you are telling us about a soldier pulling out his gun.Can that silly arse soldier stand a soldier from a civilised country on a one on one? Useless fools are littered all over this country. Someone might ask why I'm so harsh on these idiots and I say that's cos the country is where it is because of such mindsets.

19. Two wrongs don't make a right.

20. what does the man bending down want to see oh!!

21. The law is the law why not save yourself the embarrassment. And knowing fully well that the soldiers are crude and are always on the lookout to embarrass civilians at the slightest given opportunity. A lot of people like the camouflage but avoid it like a plague Afterall it's not the only clothes that you can make a statement with. But people will not listen......Now she has made the fashion statement and has gotten her 5minutes of fame and 5years of shame.

22. By the time dem don beat am finish eh, if she see camouflage, she go call am Akamuflag...

23. There are laws which make it illegal for civilians to wear army uniform:

Section 110(1) of the Criminal Code makes it unlawful for any person who is not serving in any of the armed forces in Nigeria to wear the uniform of the armed forces, or any part of the uniform of such forces, or any dress having the appearance or bearing any of the regimental or other distinctive marks of such uniforms. Camouflage is a part of the military uniform and so it falls under this law. However, there are 2 exceptions: i) if it is worn with the permission and consent of the President or Governor of a State, ii) that it is not applicable if it is worn in the course of a stage play or in any bona fide public entertainment. (emphasis ours). The penalty for this is 1 month imprisonment or a fine of N10 (Ten Naira)
    Section 251 of the Criminal Code states that any person who, not being a person serving in any of the armed or police forces of Nigeria, wears the uniform of any of these forces, or any dress having the appearance or bearing any of the regimental or other distinctive marks of any such uniform, in such manner or in such circumstances as to be likely to bring contempt on that uniform, or employs any other person so to wear such uniform or dress, is guilty of a simple offence, and is liable to imprisonment for three months or to a fine of N40 (Forty Naira). No exception here, so it would seem that this section is used as a way to limit the exception in Section 110 i.e. you can wear the uniform in the course of bonafide public entertainment…but not if it brings the uniform into contempt.
    Section 110(1) is replicated in Section 79 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State 2011, however the penalty for the offence is 2 years imprisonment with no option of a fine.
    So, in answer to the question, yes there are laws which prevent civilians from wearing army camouflage.

1. Great write up, however the fines show how outdated these silly laws are.

2. So why don't they arrest or molest civilians who wear black(police) or white(navy)? It is a dumb law.

3. Ashley, really? Try wearing the black with the police stripes or the white with the marks and icons associated with the navy. BTW, I'll advise you to NOT wear camouflage as long as the "dumb law" is enforceable

24. But I wear my camo skirt without ish in Lagos. It is well.

1. You go wear pant go house the day wey dem catch you

2. Na lie. Na for your compound you dey wear am. Come outside to the main road. You go know how far.. Lol

25. The Military cannot unilaterally constitute the Prosecutor and the Judge by charging a person for wearing army uniforms and has no jurisdiction to deal with civilians. If a civilian contravenes the law of Nigeria, in accordance with the rule of law, such a person is charged to court and not disciplined the same way the military court-martials can deal with their military personnel who are subject to service law.

It is, therefore, important that the public respects national symbols of authority including the use of uniform accoutrements because it’s a symbol of es­prit de corps which distinguishes the members of armed forces from the rest of the population

1. Thank you for
      that

Even if the constitution is not in support, they should be charged to court.

2. Apt 👌
      Be like say you be lawyer. Make i look your mouth 🙄
      In any case I've marked your ID.
      And I can't belive anyone will support what this military man did in the name of 'its against the law'. What is the difference between this and jungle justice? *in my niece's voice* this is herrible.

26. That is why all this danfo drivers no dey like carry them because they no go pay and they no born conductor to ask ask. Nwunye G how far, ask General to clear the air. You can gist us tomorrow.

1. Hahahahahaha

What they did right there is abuse of power.
      If the General should get him and whoever was party to this assault,they are gone be that.I wil try not to show him this post😉But if it goes viral,Then good for the over-zealous soldier. LOL

Ada Ada! Nne kedu Ije?

27. Now people want us to blame the military men because it is a woman. How many have accused these military men when they do same to a man? I don't want to be automatically favoured because of my sex. When something is against the law, it is against the law. She was fully dressed from top to bottom in camo. She's apparently pleading because she's been asked to strip. Sad show of shame but who took the picture?

28. This is barbaric. The Nigerian military though smh. What if she was on her period?

29. WTF! Even if it is against the law, they have no right to undress her on the road!

30. They do this to curb the number of fake "officers" that might decide to go and commit atrocities in their name. I'm sure she knew it was an offence but decided to push her luck

31. I remember the day I and a friend went to one of the satellite towns in Abuja just to get a signature on one document. The army guys flagged us down at a checkpoint and saw my friend's short. Na so we park. We spoke all the grammar in this world nothing. I'm an army child, you should know better toh. Imagine pulling shorts and continuing into a town with whatever he had under. We begged to be allowed to go and buy shorts and come back and he finally agreed. We got to the town, got the signature and started coming back. If you see the way my friend sped past the checkpoint ehn. At a point I thought they would pursue us. Whatever law it is, I think it has outlived its usefulness if any.

32. they'll just harass someone without knowing if they military or not. They better not try me when I come home.

1. You're being serious? Which military person do you know who does this? Don't comment for the sake of commenting biko

33. Wearing or having any military paraphernalia on your person is actually a criminal offence punishable under both the criminal code and the penal code. You don't have to wear the complete uniform, wearing only a cap with the camouflage pattern will suffice. I think it's a misdemeanour which carries a prison term of at least 6 months or a fine.

The problem with these military men is, they are so used to corporal punishments and drills that they have very little regard for the decency of the due process of the law, especially under civilian rule. They are hard wired to be judge, jury and executioner. What they ought to have done was to arrest the lady in question and hand her over to the police, who would then charge her to a magistrates' court where she will be duly prosecuted.

What that soldier did right there is a gross infringement of her basic fundamental human rights. If she can get a good lawyer (a human rights activist, preferably) and if she is motivated to follow the case to its legal/ logical conclusion, she will be well compensated and the soldier in question, sanctioned. We are not under the military regime where such barbaric and indecent acts will fly indiscriminately. True, she committed a criminal offence but the greater offence is usurping the inherent powers of a court of law and corrupting the powers further by striping a lady of her dignity, both literally and figuratively.

Well, let this be a lesson to all. Ignorance of the law may mitigate punishment but it, in itself, is no excuse.‎

34. They ought to be happy seeing camouflage designs on people