Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Instagram Fraudster Nabbed

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Instagram Fraudster Nabbed

This is one of the persons troubling buyers on Instagram but it seems he has bitten off more than he can chew...

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Ibadan Zonal Office has arrested a suspected internet fraudster, Afolabi Ojo, who allegedly specialized in defrauding unsuspecting members of the public through phony online shopping.

Ojo, a student of the Polytechnic of Iree (Iree-Poly), Osun State, was arrested following a petition alleging that sometimes in June, 2017, while window shopping on Instagram, the petitioner came across some slippers and shoes on a page “Best Classic Store” purportedly owned by one Kemisola with WhatsApp number 08106802815 displayed on the page.

According to the petitioner, a sum of N53,000 (Fifty-Three Thousand Naira) was paid for some items purchased on the online store (Best Classic), into an account purportedly owned by one Oyebola Olasunkanmi with account number 0027735703 domiciled in one of the first generation banks.

Strangely thereafter, the suspect not only refused to deliver the goods, but went incommunicado. Hence, the suspect was reported to the EFCC.

On arrest, Ojo confessed to being the one posing as ‘Kemisola’ on the
online platform to deceive people especially ladies into patronizing him.

He said: “I do not have any goods. I only pose as a lady using the name ‘Kemisola’ with the handle “Best Classic Store” on Instagram. Some of the items I used to display for sale include female shoes, slippers, hand bags and wallet. After I have lured my victim to pay, I will disable him from my chat so that he can no longer reach me”.

The suspect will be charged to court as soon as investigation is concluded.
Edited from New Telegraph

*This is one out of a million defrauding people on Instagram.May more be disgraced and exposed..Amen!

27 comments:

1. There are thousands of them on IG scamming unsuspecting victims thereby making it hard for the genuine ones to get sales.God will continue to fish them out one by one.Any online store with no address on their bio that tells you payment before delivery+ no refund,pls just remove whatever you are wearing and run as far as your legs can carry you

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. An online store can have no address because it's an ONLINE STORE and still say payment before delivery not because they are scammers but because of various reasons some of them are in Lagos and their client are in Kaduna, how will payment on delivery work?
      Payment on delivery has to be an option if you are in Lagos. But not even necessary with whay we online store see all the time

Aome fashion store don't do payment on delivery because by the time they deliver your items to you, some people change their mind and say things like I don't have enough with me, let me take just 2 instead of 10. Some refuse to pick their calls and no one responds at the Door when they deliver.
      Some when you tell them this is the last of what they are buying, they will ask you to deliver and when you go to deliver, they switch off their phones. Now you have to start telling people what you told them is finished is now available because someone didn't pick up their calls.
      Sometimes they spend delivery money to go and deliver and end up not delivering. Somemtimes you go to deliver for payment on deliver and scammers will hold you down, make you deliver without paying and even threaten your life. I have had someone pay my delivery staff fake money and he didn't know until he took it to the bank and they trashed the whole 35k. And you say people should continue?

There are genuine stores. Stores that have registered their companies with cac and they have their bank account either in their real name or business name. What you should be scared of is when someone says her name is kemi and you are asked to pay into an account of a man. That's shady. I don't sell wears, I sell something else online and I have had my tones of experience. I still do for Lagos residents but I'm planning on stopping because it's not easy. My company is registered in my business name. All my bank accounts are in my business name so people either trust us or trust us. No option

3. May all the Instagram scammers be caught and receive better prison terms.
      I can't be scammed sha. If you no get company account, bye 👋

4. My dear, thanks for the whole explaination, I sell wears and I can tell you it's stressfull delivering, I tell people within the state to come to my store o, no time, cus they like changing their minds and saying they spent the money they had or they start asking to pay deposit and pay the rest at a later date, it's really stressful, if you can't come to the store forget it except you pay for delivery.

5. @Anonymous 09:50 Thank you ooh, you've said it all. These scammers are spoiling business for genuine online business owner. Thank God I have a shop now, I just tell people to come to the shop. No payment on delivery because Nigerians can be very funny. Also customers from other parts of the country, know I have a shop, and are assured that I can't runaway with their money.
      May God help us

2. Top Fashionn you 're next

1. Say what you know pls. Don't just spit vile to destroy someone's business. Top Fashion is genuine #ChildOfAnger

2. Top fashion is genuine. She's no scam. She has her shop address in Ikeja and Abuja. The only problem with topfashion is paying for goods you thought were so fine only for them to deliver and they are substandard. One of the skirts she delivered to me had holes already. The tops I got from her sometime in May has gone into extinction already. Her clothes are very substandard for the price she sells them. I'll be a joker to shop with her again.

3. Holes ke? People no dey try. Smh. Later they'll say enemies killed their business

4. Top fashion sells mostly low grade china goods that's why it doesn't look so good. China goods are okay if only they buy higher grades

5. Fab Mum, really 😱.
      I was thinking of buying from her nextweek.
      Thanks for this insight.

1. So he couldn't even start the business and make it real with all the money he made, he could even post and when people make orders he will go and buy it... Just greed

4. Imagine all those people he has scammed.

5. You'll find thousands of them on IG whose intention is to defraud innocent people

6. #The only person you should try to be better than, is the person you were yesterday*

7. God must definitely punish him idiots

8. To whom it may concern:
    Many brands now delivers to Nigeria. Some Nigerian online malls gets stuff from Amazon and other brands delivered to you. You just have to exercise a little more patience. I maintain shopping abroad is cheaper with more quality options. Also have a dollar card. Shikena.

9. top fashion is a scam it will take forever to accept she has seen ur alert

10. I was almost a victim of something like this. I wanted to order online for bridesmaids dresses for my sister's wedding. The only thing that saved me was that the account got deactivated before I made my payment. Maybe na Stella for adopt me cos the amount I wanted to pay wasn't something I could've raised on my own if I had been defrauded

11. See the face of the THiEF....oniranu ole jatijati..

12. What happens to our political fraudster,they are the biggest thieves,yet they don't get charge to court.no consequences for all their stealing our billions...see person wey do all fraud being charged to court fiammm

13. My dear TOP FASHION is a scam,I was a victim. Don't be deceived by d ppl following her. So i orederd 4 stuffs n she got my alert n delivery included. She started acting funny,directing me to get geh in Abj n Lagos shop. That's how we were turning me around,ignoring my dms n msgs,weeks past 4 d delivery. Eventually after telling some of my friends to comment on her page to embarrass her she blocked dem n den was called by a transport company at waterlines for pickup. Only to reach dia I was asked to pay for delivery,Hah ok o said lemme pay sinz finally d tyns have cm. My dear suspected foulplay so I opened it dia,a gown was not dia n d tops were small instead of medium. Wen I complained n asked for refund she had changed d price of d gown on her page from 9k5 to 8k. Dats how I lost 1k5 plus my delivery fee I paid at the park I asked for refund. She's a theive. She owes her staff like kilode,Cos bcs of all dis I was communicating with salesgehs.one of dem was planning to use police at her Lagos shop. Abuja shop so empty,recently my friend who went dia said dia was a notice on the door to close d shop until further notice. D geh na better scam#packaged. U will be deceived wen u notice funke n yemi r following her. N u will notice she has so much followers with few likes n comment. Dats how u will know dem. Fake followers